If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

DCM 2015: Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

PJD wrote: »
    Is it still too early to mention the weather?? Yr.no is showing it to be damp, cool and breezy. Can live with that more than a heatwave!!

I think we got the all clear to talk about that now :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,636 ✭✭✭frash

chrislad wrote: »

Not until tomorrow :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,373 ✭✭✭Phoebas

Is it still too early to mention the weather??

I mentioned it once, but I think I got away with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

frash wrote: »
    It's ToeNailTuesday!

Check! Toenails trimmed.

Check for sharp edges - I typically leave one sharp little corner, which then turns into a bloody mess the first run after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭smashiner

Brace Yourself!! :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Pink11

Hi guys,

I've decided I'm going to try and stay away from this thread until after the marathon. Sad even admitting it but reading about the marathon is making me so, so, so, nervous and I honestly don't need any help feeling more nervous than I already am :D

I just wanted to thank you all for your support and believe me, reading all of your posts have kept me sane when I was ready to give up and think I would never be able to do this. And as twisted as it sounds, I was so relieved to read about others failed runs, disappointing results and 'easy' runs that turned out to be horrible. ALL of these stories and posts - you've no idea, have kept me going.

Dubsgal and the mentors - ye are wonderful and inspiring - to give up so much of your free time and to have head bashing convos and repeating yourselves to those of us (i.e ME) who found it hard to change running habits.

I'm scared, nervous and EXCITED about Monday and I get so emotional just thinking about it the last few days. I'm a wreck haha! I hope everyone has a great experience. The biggest thing I've learned is that time is not everything and enjoying this experience will be much sweeter than it being a blur and clock watching. We've all put the time and effort in - we need the reward of enjoying the experience.

I'm going to update the spreadsheet though with my runs, predicted times etc. I noticed people have filled that out. I'm going to be honest in mine and dying to compare my pre marathon thoughts and feelings to that of my post thoughts!

Thanks guys and speak to you all on Monday/Tuesday hopefully!!

P.S Hope to meet you all at the pub meeting spot after!

I've just filled this out: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1X4ruB5STPrJP1UXONBsWM-WTXFJQreeZbHiO6XHxohc/edit#gid=83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

It's ToeNailTuesday!
    Thanks frash!

Here's the history of TT:

Started by the genius RayCun
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=75125360&postcount=2356

Continued by the "quirky" Younganne :)
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=81365362&postcount=5388

And consolidated by Ososlo:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=92698251&postcount=517

No need - as Laois Man suggested last year - to flip and fry them. That's definitely another Tuesday :pac:

Today is the best day to cut. You won't be shaking with nerves, you won't forget to do them and if you cut them too short, they'll grow back just the right amount before Monday.

Try pick a calm moment in the day....let's not do a JacEim, eh?! Maybe clippers, not scissors? :D

Is it still too early to mention the weather?? Yr.no is showing it to be damp, cool and breezy. Can live with that more than a heatwave!!
    Too early :mad: Focus on the toenails man! :D
    chrislad wrote: »
    Nope :mad: :D
    Not until tomorrow :D
    Top of the class. Frash knows what day it is :D
    Phoebas wrote: »
    I mentioned it once, but I think I got away with it.
    Your card is marked Phoebz ;):p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

I can't take the credit, I'm pretty sure Rainbow Kirby had Toenail Tuesday the year before, and probably --amadeus-- the year before that...

I just realised that I only did one foot this morning :rolleyes:

Swear to god I get distracted by the simplest of things.

Let's hope there's nothing shiny along the marathon route.

There's a shiny medal waiting for you at the end. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭JacEim

[QUOTE=Dubgal72;

Try pick a calm moment in the day....let's not do a JacEim, eh?! Maybe clippers, not scissors? :D[/QUOTE]

And use proper scissors if you do.... not the ones we used for the kids when they were REALLY small :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭JacEim

I just realised that I only did one foot this morning :rolleyes:

Swear to god I get distracted by the simplest of things.

Dont forget the fingers as well... need to be looking our best for the finish line :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭aquinn

JacEim wrote: »
    Dont forget the fingers as well... need to be looking our best for the finish line :D

You're not getting engaged. Focus on the toes.

JacEim wrote: »

I shellaced my fingernails last night to distract myself from the fact that I'm sick.

I did both hands.

I have absolutely everything ready. I'm a bit *too* organised tbh. Lula is coming on Saturday with her notebook and highlighter and we're going to drive the route and point to things that she's to stand beside on Monday.

That's great, on the route and of course the nails, but people can be easily missed in crowds so it's been said before don't be fully dependent on a person in a certain place in case you miss each-other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭rovers_runner

If Carlsberg did marathon weather....

2eklsnk.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

If Carlsberg did marathon weather....

2eklsnk.jpg

is it tomorrow already?? :eek::eek:

aquinn wrote: »
    That's great, on the route and of course the nails, but people can be easily missed in crowds so it's been said before don't be fully dependent on a person in a certain place in case you miss each-other.

Miss her? She's going to make a holy fcuking show of me.

No seriously, she's for backup, I'll have all my jelly babies strapped to all my bits :D

That's the spirit. Other Novices last year were able to spot my Sister with her custom made sign so you could see it from far off which was great. Get her to the hobby shop and be creative.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭libelula

I'm a trained search & rescue person. I know about running. I will have this organised to military precision. I got this dooowwwnnnnn.

Jesus Christ if I fcuk up I'm a dead woman though :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭laura_ac3

That's the spirit. Other Novices last year were able to spot my Sister with her custom made sign so you could see it from far off which was great. Get her to the hobby shop and be creative.

So you're working on signs for the novices then and a special d3 one for annapr? Very kind of you.

I'll be out supporting (sans signs) but I'm afraid I don't know what most of you look like :) if anyone saw a slightly crazy lady shouting at people at the top of the upper Glen road at mile 12 of the half in a hi viz beside a bike that was me! Will hopefully catch sight of some of you out there or in the pub after.

Noooooooooooooooooooooo, that's BG and BG Juniors specialty.

Just roar at everyone in the 4:30 group and you'll get most of them Laura.

OFFICIAL CUT
    https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=10153689960213185&set=vb.291874688184&type=2&theater

THE EXPERIENCED CUT
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=97315716&postcount=5991
    Thanks yaboya :)

THE PERSONAL NOVICES CUT

Miles 0-3
    Denis b: Mile 1-2 Downhill to flat with great road surface. Will be well sheltered with the crowds. Containment on this section.. let space emerge and dont get carried away. Steady up on 100m steep incline on Patrick Street and steady down to Liffey on steep short decline.

Miles 2-3 - Some steep ascents & descents in these miles. You climb up from St Patrick's Cathedral to 'High' Street, before almost immediately plunging back down to the quays. This is followed by another more gradual (but steep) climb through Stoneybatter and Aughrim Street up to the NCR. The main thing here is to keep the effort you've dialled in from the first mile consistent. Don't worry about the mile splits. Since you'll be so full of energy and amongst a huge crowd at such an early stage it will be easy to hold PMP going up the inclines, but don't do this as you'll almost certainly pay for it in the second half. Loads of time to get those seconds back later. For once ignore your trusty leader (Sorry Dubgal ) and use your Garmin here to ensure you're not moving too quickly.

Unaaine: Having not covered the route from miles 0-3, I’m only guessing that it will be a slow enough start to DCM and am anticipating to be running PMP + 10/15 secs for these first few miles. I will definitely not be pushing myself and my (cunning) plan psychologically is to treat this part as a warm up to my ‘usual’ 20 miles lsr!

Singer: Miles 0-1: Should be fast because of enthusiasm and wide streets, but no doubt will be full of crowds and general mayhem. Planning on not getting too stressed here...
    Miles 1-2: Drag up to High Street is tough enough, but early so no doubt we'll all power through. I guess don't waste too much energy here.
    Miles 2-3: Some difficulties here - the downhill on Bridge Street to the quays is pretty steep, followed by a drag up Manor St., and then into a quite narrow Aughrim St., which is all uphill.

TFGR on
    Mile 1 https://thisfatgirlruns.files.wordpress.com/2015/10/01-patrick-street.jpg
    https://thisfatgirlruns.files.wordpress.com/2015/10/02-high-street.jpg https://thisfatgirlruns.files.wordpress.com/2015/10/03-bridge-street.jpg
    https://thisfatgirlruns.files.wordpress.com/2015/10/04-ushers-quay.jpg

Mile 2 https://thisfatgirlruns.files.wordpress.com/2015/10/05-blackhall-place.jpg
    https://thisfatgirlruns.files.wordpress.com/2015/10/06-manor-street.jpg
    https://thisfatgirlruns.files.wordpress.com/2015/10/07-aughrim-street.jpg

Mile 3 https://thisfatgirlruns.files.wordpress.com/2015/10/08-north-circular-road.jpg
    https://thisfatgirlruns.files.wordpress.com/2015/10/09-north-road-phoenix-park.jpg
    https://thisfatgirlruns.files.wordpress.com/2015/10/10-zoo-bypass-lords-walk.jpg

Miles 3-7
    Denis b: Mile 2-7.5 Pretty well all uphill although only marginally so over a long distance. Stoneybatter to North Circular Road is the steepest section but is sheltered from prevailing winds. Aughrim Street is pretty narrow. Cannot imagine too much passing room here. Passing Garda HQ and west along Chesterfield Ave puts us into the prevailing wind for a few miles so take Smashiners advice and find shelter behind some group at your pace. It good be a nice investment in this early part of the race.

Unaaine: So joining the route at NCR at roughly mile 3, this is a short flat section after what I’m guessing will have been a bit of a drag up Manor + Aughrim Streets. Turning into the PP through narrow gates and onto a narrow section of road I’m expecting to meet some congestion and there’s a little drag uphill passing Garda HQ and turning left onto Lord’s Walk (zoo carpark area). When I ran this section last Saturday there was a swirly breeze so I’ll still be running at PMP + at this stage. It doesn’t last for long though and once onto Lord’s Walk there's a bit of a breather on this short flat section. Turning right onto Chesterfield Avenue it’s straight here up to Castleknock gates and up through the village to Myos Pub. I do a lot of running in the PP and am very familiar with this stretch of road and I always find it a bit of a drag. However I think the route last year in through the main gates at parkgate street would have been much harder and combined with not having to run the length of Chesterfield avenue this change of route will reduce the monotony as well. Though I’m sure that the crowds and the cheering on the day will help to make it pass quicker than usual. The road flattens out a little after the Aras roundabout and it goes up again slightly through the Castleknock gate and on through the village. After a tight enough left turn at Myos the road narrows again and goes uphill slightly for a few hundred metres. When I ran these miles last weekend the drag overall really wasn’t that bad and the breeze was there but minimal. I’ll also be thinking of trying to tuck in behind a group and benefit from the shelter but I’ve never yet managed to do this successfully in any other race. I’d still expect to be behind target by mile 7 though and I won’t be aiming to hit PMP through any of these miles.

.Miles 5-7 - Almost three miles in a straight line up Chesterfield Avenue to Castleknock. Road is significantly wider here which should ease any congestion and allow you to get back into your rhythm. Slight drag all the way up but nothing major.

Singer: Miles 3-4: Should be wide enough on the NCR, but once into the park things get pretty narrow again.
    Miles 4-5-6: Slight uphill all the way through Chesterfield Avenue. Good surface and plenty of space, so should be comfortable, though don't waste too much energy here.

TFGR on
    Mile 4, 5 and 6 https://thisfatgirlruns.files.wordpress.com/2015/10/11-chesterfield-avenue.jpg
    Mile 6 https://thisfatgirlruns.files.wordpress.com/2015/10/12-castleknock-road.jpg

Miles 7-10:
    Denis b: Mile 7.5-10 Sweet section where I will be happy to make up any time I need, within reason. Prevailing wind behind us and we sweep back into the park before exiting to the Liffey. Might be worth checking out downhill running form to save the quads. Feel free to take revenge on the Upper Glen Road for all the hearthache it gave us in the Race Series

Unaaine: After mile 7 it’s onto Tower Road and the welcome start of some downhill sections of road. I’m planning to up the pace here, though not sure by how much. Maybe PMP - 10/15 secs is the way to go but I’ve haven’t discussed this with anyone yet. I will be especially concentrating on relaxing and allowing forward momentum to do some of the work. I have had experience of forcing myself to slow on a steep downhill before and injured my quads. So it’ll be about relaxing, smiling and positive thinking and making up some of the time lost over the previous miles. According to the DCM route map it’s roughly a mile of downhill here before we turn back into the Park through the Knockmaroon gate. The road goes uphill again but only for a short section until for once in a race we go the opposite way down the Upper Glen Road for roughly a mile and a half or so until exiting the Park for the last time at Chapelizod gate. As far as I remember it’s flat enough along Chapelizod Road over the bridge in the village turning onto St Laurence’s Road at the 10 mile mark. I hope to be approaching PMP by this point, but if I’m not, I’m not going to worry.

Singer: Miles: 7-8-9: More uphill to Castleknock, but expecting good support. Generally downhill down to and through the park (nice to be doing that goddamn hill at the end of the 5/10/13.1 races in reverse )

TFGR on
    Mile 7 https://thisfatgirlruns.files.wordpress.com/2015/10/13-college-road.jpg
    https://thisfatgirlruns.files.wordpress.com/2015/10/14-tower-road.jpg
    Miles 8 and 9 https://thisfatgirlruns.files.wordpress.com/2015/10/15-knockmaroon-and-upper-glen-road.jpg
    Mile 9 https://thisfatgirlruns.files.wordpress.com/2015/10/16-chapelizod-road.jpg

Miles 10 - 13
    Denis b: Mile 10-13 Over the Liffey at Chapelizod and catch breath for the St. Lawrence Road hill which brings you under the Dual Carriageway. Will be taking it easy here and just maintain the effort as the next 2 miles are flat enough, bar a very short hill or two in Kilmainham. I imagine that the running crowd will have thinned out so think about the bends ahead and line up to your advantage. Again it is fairly sheltered along this section and prevailing winds (south-west) should be behind us, generally speaking.

Unaaine: Then there’s the first ‘proper’ hill at the end of St Laurence’s Road. I’ve done this a few times during the LSRs and haven’t found it too bad. I’ve also done some hill training with my club and while my instinct would be to power up it and get it over with I think I’ll be dropping the pace and keeping the effort level consistent. I think it’s too early and the race ahead too much of an unknown for me to be thinking of any doing else. There’s a left turn then onto Sarsfield Road and a welcome stretch of flat road until the right turn under an overpass(?)/bridge onto Inchicore Road. To me this looks worse than it is but again I’ll be dropping the pace here. Straight again until the right turn at Kilmainham Gaol and another short enough uphill until the left turn onto SCR. Nothing too memorable in this stretch for me which winds right around by james Hospital and through Rialto until up and over the bump at the canal at Dolphin’s Barn.

TFGR on
    Mile 10 https://thisfatgirlruns.files.wordpress.com/2015/10/17-st-laurence-road.jpg
    https://thisfatgirlruns.files.wordpress.com/2015/10/18-sarsfield-road.jpg
    Mile 11 https://thisfatgirlruns.files.wordpress.com/2015/10/19-inchicore-road.jpg
    https://thisfatgirlruns.files.wordpress.com/2015/10/20-inchicore-to-south-circular-road.jpg
    Mile 12 https://thisfatgirlruns.files.wordpress.com/2015/10/21-south-circular-road.jpg
    And beyond.... :)
    https://thisfatgirlruns.files.wordpress.com/2015/10/22-the-future-is-unknown.jpg

Miles 13 - 15
    Denis b: Mile 13-15 Think SMASHINER here. Its Crumlin Road time up to Walkinstown Roundabout. It is a long but gentle rise with two very short less gentle rises at the very start. If its windy get behind SMASHINER. Once you pass the hospital things improve but it is very exposed to the south west. This section bridges the half way point so most of us will still be conserving some energy. That kind of encapsulates my approach on this section - mark time and enjoy the company.

Unaaine: Passing the halfway (yay!) mark, I’ve run this section encompassing the Crumlin Road on a few occasions and have had different experiences each time. For me this could be the make or break in terms of creating problems for later on. Once or twice I encountered a pretty stiff wind and while I felt that my effort level was high when I checked my pace it was unbelievably slow. On other occasions it was actually not too bad. It is a drag though for the 2 miles to the Walkinstown Roundabout so I won’t be hoping for PMP here either and if it’s windy the pace will be very very conservative. Not a lot more to say about this section - it’s long, boring and usually windy. If the brain is still working at this point I think it will be time to dig deep and focus.

Miles 15 - 20
    Denis b: Mile 15-20 Subject to advice I am going to be a little bolder on this section. It feels as though it is nearly all flat to ever so slightly downhill at times and again the wind, if any, should be behind us. I imagine that there will be a lot of support along here as people can also get out from the start and then back into town for the finish quite easily. Orwell Park is quite a narrow section and as you exit it there follows a short downhill section. Water and gel up here.

Unaaine: Turning left onto Cromwellsfort Road after the Walkinstown Roundabout if my memory serves me correctly this is an okay though long-ish section down to KCR. And it must be flat or downhill if I’m visualising it as ‘down’ to KCR. A right turn then onto Fortfield Road and then a quick left turn and for some reason I don’t like this section at all. Can’t put my finger on it but it just seems longer and tougher than it should. The route turns left at Terenure College/Bushy Park onto Templeogue Road and again it seems flat but I remember checking my pace here once or twice and it never reflects this. It is definitely faster and a relief once the route turns right onto Terenure Road East following into Orwell Park and Darty Road and all the way to Milltown is pretty okay overall. Then there’s a hill at Milltown after the underpass and it’s pretty steep and looks daunting. I’m hoping to be able to draw on the benefits of the ‘easier’ miles beforehand to get up and over this one. But really no idea how this is going to pan out on the day as I’ve only ever hit it at 16 miles and not 20 so I guess it’ll be slow and well below PMP. It’s a right turn then onto a flatter Clonskeagh Road and a chance to draw breath again.

Miles 20 - 23
    Denis b: Mile 20-22.25ish Man up time!!! This is what we trained for. Nothing that cant be done but will have to concentrate hard. Short steep sections at Milltown and end of Roebuck ( 40 and 50 double strides will pile you over each respectively). The rest of this section is on a gentle uphill section most of the way. Its not so bad but its late in the race. I have tried to run this section a few times late in my LSR's and it worked fine. The Roebuck hill did require a bit of grit to be fair.

Unaaine: This section is a series of gradual inclines interspersed with flatter sections (breathers) which I’m guessing will be challenging enough given the miles already in the legs. The route winds around the perimeter of UCD with a left turn onto Roebuck Road culminating in the hill at the end - called Heartbreak Hill by some. On my LSRs I’ve never found this hill too bad and have managed to get up it with an increase in cadence and a small increase in effort. But again given the stage we’ll hit it at it will be ‘interesting’ to see how much more it will hurt on the day. Foster’s Avenue is a welcome flat or downhill I think and mile 23 is a left turn onto the Stillorgan Dual Carriageway and up and over the flyover at UCD.

Yaboya on 'Heartbreak Hill' :)
    "I came around towards the famous Roebuck Hill and started to get a bit annoyed that it had such an unearned reputation. I saw people ahead of me stopping to a walk, so decided I wasn't putting up with this sh*t. I ran up it as fast as I could, through the Wall of Support trying to make eye contact with someone in the crowd so I could say: "Heartbreak Hill my b*%&@x".

Miles 23 - 26.2+

Denis b: Mile 22.25 to Finish Relatively straight forward with the sweep of Fosters Ave in front of you. Watch the speed ramps on Nutley Lane... so easy to catch one with tired dragging legs. Again I think this is the give it whatever you have left section but I would be careful with the Stillorgan Road as it can be very exposed if its blowing from the west.

Singer: Miles 23-24: Still more downhill, then a slightly annoying drag up to the UCD flyover. I'm sure at this stage "slightly annoying" will mean "completely head wrecking" but it's the last hill...
    Miles 24-26: Slight downhill on wide enough road, some nice landmarks to pass and straight on through to...
    Miles 26 - 26.2: ...an easy sprint to the finish line, even though it's slightly uphill, to Merrion Square, the gateway to McGrattan's

Unaaine: Coming off the UCD flyover (downhill obviously) there’s a barely noticeable incline up to the right turn onto Nutley Lane. This is a nice stretch - flat to downhill and then a right turn at Merrion S.C. onto Merrion Road. Not a huge fan of this section as it seems long and I’ve only run it towards the end of the LSRs when the legs were feeling heavy. Past the RDS onto Northumberland Road and the end is in sight. The pseudo finish is at the intersection of Mount Street and Merrion Square where we will all be immediately upping the pace to PMP -100% to slake our thirst in McGrattans.

YOUR APPROACH, some tips:
    Clearlier on dividing the race up:
    "Somewhere between 10 and 13 miles is where you should first feel that you've done a bit of work, not much but it stops being a jog at around this point, this is where you start to focus a little more - still enjoying it though.

By 20 miles you'll be tired but still controlled as you start to enter into uncharted territory. Keep it steady at this point and you'll be passing runners left, right and centre. The effort levels required to maintain pace will start to rise, let that happen but don't try to push on until the last 4 miles.... to finish strong."

Murph D posted this a while back and it's definitely worth a read:
    http://old.centralparktc.org/training/coach01.htm

It really is a 20 mile warm up for a 6 mile race! Keep the racing line, i.e., take the shortest option from point A to point B, this includes not weaving :)

USING A PACING GROUP
    From what I've heard and seen, boardsie pacers (and the whole Dublin crew) are the best and most reliable pacers, bar none. They're like tins of Ronseal: do exactly what they say they will. However, like both meno and clearlier advise, you need to take responsibility for your own race. They're there as a guide, just like your gps etc. Saying that, I just have to run in one of marthastew's pacing groups one day :) The 4:30 group is looking pretty cool too this year :D

See meno here for general pacing approach:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=97357128&postcount=6243

Clearlier and Neady on using pacers as a guide:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=97360233&postcount=6256

"You'll notice I've not mentioned the pacers much so far. Pacers are great and fantastic and the boardsies doing DCM are some of the best but remember, they're running at their own rhythm not yours. You should use them as a guide as to how well you're doing rather than how fast you should be running for at least the first 20 miles. In the meantime you can settle into your own rhythm and focus on your own performance. If you can do that I think that you'll run a great race."

You can slot in with them, behind them or in front. But you'll never be too far from a pacing group :)

INDEX/INDIVIDUAL OVERVIEWS:

Annapr
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=97220723&postcount=33

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=97222775&postcount=34

Beepbeep and belcarra
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=97431008&postcount=177

Denis b
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=97358474&postcount=6250

Singer
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=97313382&postcount=5973

Smashiner on yaboya
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=97319507&postcount=6002

TFGR
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=97321050&postcount=6007

Tunguska legendary post, 2014 (course has changed, do not commit this to memory :eek: )
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=92595815&postcount=754

Unaaine
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=97432428&postcount=6728

Yaboya
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=97315716&postcount=5991

YABOYA LAST YR ON Heartbreak Hill :D
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=97321592&postcount=6015

Thanks everyone for your excellent contributions! This is your (calm and focused ) bedtime reading Novices :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭ratracer

Sometimes the unknown is better......I know I have to run 26.2 miles, I'm hoping I will do it in four and a half hours or so, there is a people with a big flag on their backs to follow!! That's all the info I need to consume for now:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

ratracer wrote: »
    Sometimes the unknown is better......I know I have to run 26.2 miles, I'm hoping I will do it in four and a half hours or so, there is a people with a big flag on their backs to follow!! That's all the info I need to consume for now:eek:

We will have balloons this year, not flags. They'll be hard to miss.:)

ratracer wrote: »
    I'd go along with this.
    I don't know a lot of the course too well and I'm happy enough with that. I've a few bits of key information that I'll bring with me into the race, and the rest can sort itself out as we go.

- heartbreak hill isn't so heartbreaking.
    - most of the bigger inclines are in the first 10 miles or so, when the legs should still be feeling fresh.
    - the course is reasonably flat overall - no major climbs.
    - the last few miles are nice and flat.
    - it'll be busy at the start.
    - it's pretty much a neutral elevation overall, so every incline will eventually be paid back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

laura_ac3 wrote: »
    So you're working on signs for the novices then and a special d3 one for annapr? Very kind of you.

I'll be out supporting (sans signs) but I'm afraid I don't know what most of you look like :) if anyone saw a slightly crazy lady shouting at people at the top of the upper Glen road at mile 12 of the half in a hi viz beside a bike that was me! Will hopefully catch sight of some of you out there or in the pub after.

Laura will be relying on you for that supportive shout !!! You got me through the last mile at the HM :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭hillsiderunner

Just in *case* some of you are disobeying orders and still reading the thread, have a great run next Monday everyone! Enjoy the day (looks like a good forecast for it)

Stress fracture is more-or-less healed here. Not unlike yourselves, I will be hitting my longest mileage in 3 months next weekend - looking forward to 30mins continuous running on Sunday :rolleyes:. Who knows, I might even pass you guys out in those few weeks after the 26th ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭sideshowbob321

I'm still a bit torn re pace on the day
    I originally thought (at the beginning of my training) my PMP would be 9.30m/m and my LSR's in June/July were around 10.25m/m
    I felt that this was a bit too slow and my comfortable pace was around 9.30/9.40m/m
    My 21 miler was 9.25m/m and it felt okay

So my original plan of going out with the 4:10 pacers is an avg of 9.30m/m which I think/hope I should be able to maintain OR do I start off with the 4:00 pacers and see if I can nick the sub4???

My DHM time was 1:54
    And my Fingal 10k was 49.58

It's not wrecking my head too much and I will see how I feel on the day but I think I could be close to a sub4
    Any thoughts or suggestions?