Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*********Motors Chat - Round 9 *********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

YbFocus wrote: »
    That is amazing!

GvidoR will have a conniption :)

I googled "conniption" but still have no idea what you meant. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,294 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Google "conniption fit"

Jaysus lads that Seat Ibiza TV ad with the text message is dire.

http://youtu.be/0looGLxW_zI

For some reason the Irish version is slightly different.

Is there any point in SEAT anyway?

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Google "conniption fit"
    conniption fit ‎(plural conniption fits)

Anger or panic expressed verbally loudly and with overt bodily gestures.

Why would I be angry or panicking? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,894 ✭✭✭✭bear1

I love bastards that tell you a car is in mint condition, never crashed and everything works only to drive to the fecker and find that the car has panels not aligning properly, paint obviously different than the rest of the car and when you turn the car on the lights stay on as if it was times square.
    ****er.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

GvidoR wrote: »
    Why would I be angry or panicking? :D

Panicking mostly, at what that golf/vento hybrid must look like to you! :)

24198046.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭CIP4

bear1 wrote: »
    I love bastards that tell you a car is in mint condition, never crashed and everything works only to drive to the fecker and find that the car has panels not aligning properly, paint obviously different than the rest of the car and when you turn the car on the lights stay on as if it was times square.
    ****er.

That's just part and parcel of buying a used car these days I've seen my fair share of them. There has been 'mint' ones I've went to see that I just looked at the engine and body and said no thanks didn't even bother starting or sitting in as I didn't want to wreck my clothes yes that mank inside. Amazing what you fail to see in photos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭nd

Jaysus lads that Seat Ibiza TV ad with the text message is dire.

http://youtu.be/0looGLxW_zI

For some reason the Irish version is slightly different.

Is there any point in SEAT anyway?

It's totally mind boggling that that got approved to be an ad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,083 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

The Golf front end looks rubbish as do the white wheels but otherwise that is class

The front end doesn't look that bad.

12088497_1221735771186950_5697274769446686652_n.jpg?oh=829e3c6c3fcfa02c86fdbdc7add923d5&oe=56881908

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,894 ✭✭✭✭bear1

CIP4 wrote: »
    That's just part and parcel of buying a used car these days I've seen my fair share of them. There has been 'mint' ones I've went to see that I just looked at the engine and body and said no thanks didn't even bother starting or sitting in as I didn't want to wreck my clothes yes that mank inside. Amazing what you fail to see in photos.

Fair used to it at this stage but I cant decide what's worse, the fact that he thought no one would notice or the fact that he straight out lied to my face about the car hoping id be too stupid to realise. Thank god I didn't lose time off work

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,540 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Diesel fanboys in the states are now in full on "we'll just pretend it's gonna go away" mode.

http://www.dieselforum.org/diesel-drivers/clean-diesel-vehicles-available-in-the-u-s

Paraphrasing slightly here :

Diesel cars and questions regarding their emissions have been “in the news” recently. We want you to know that diesel is as awesome as those Euro guys said. And clean, really really clean and quiet. Here's a thorough list of clean diesel cars*, trucks and SUVs currently available in the U.S. Clean diesel is a proven technology that is quiet and fun to drive No, really, it's really quiet. And the drive? Pure bliss. Did we mention it's quiet? And clean, so so so clean!

*Check with the manufacturer or your local dealer to confirm current model listings & availability for any VAG cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,485 ✭✭✭Donnelly117

Question for ye fine gentlemen! Ive googled this and am pretty sure I know the answer but have there seems to be some difference of opinion on various forums etc...

So I'm planning to bring a 2008 Gen 3 Impreza STi over from the UK, not to everyones taste but there ya go :pac: So the particular car of interest was first registered on June 16th 2008. From what Ive read, regardless of the fact that this was registered before July 1st in the UK it will still be caught for CO2 based tax here? Are all 08 cars imported to Ireland automatically taxed under the CO2 system?

So am I right in thinking this? The difference between the cc and CO2 tax is massive for this car (1080 vs 2350 :mad:) so I want to be sure before I get caught paying half what the car is worth per year in stupid overpriced tax!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,917 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Would it not be right to say that all 2008 cars are automatically given the cheaper rate of tax or was that just for cars registered in Ireland in 2008?

I do know someone who imported a 2008 Mazda RX8 R3 in 2011 and it was put on the old tax system which was a lot cheaper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

The Gards are getting unmarked BMW'S interesting.

I wonder what engine they'll be getting in them.

OSI wrote: »
    When the VW and Skoda plant is winding down at a models EOL, rather than bin in it all they can just ship it to SEAT and use it their for the new model.

Is this true anymore though? AFAIK the current Ibiza came out before the current polo, the Leon is on the latest platform, the Alhambra and sharan were launched the same time, the mii is the same as an up. The only leftovers I can think of recently is the exeo.

I'd say they'll be 530d BMWs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,871 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

The Gards are getting unmarked BMW'S interesting.

I wonder what engine they'll be getting in them.

Specially outfitted Q7's and BMW's, no harm really, they need a bit more power in the fleet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,146 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    Gardai in RWD saloon cars well that will end well.

They end up in these:

[IMG][/img]HkYsdxa.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Not that it will happen but if they get in any m series I'd nearly apply to become a gard :pac:

There saying it's to combat burglary gangs I'd say a 530D would have to be the smallest power they would be looking at I'd like to think they don't mean a 114d.

Last thing you'd be expecting to get pulled over by is a q7 or shiny new bmw.

OSI wrote: »
    I'm nearly sure they had an unmarked blue E92 in Tipperary for a while.

There's a dark blue e92 335d in Thurles alright but it's a Garda's own private car. I actually saw it yesterday while on lunch.

Also:

https://www.carthrottle.com/post/this-guy-found-an-abandoned-bmw-e30-m3-and-returned-it-to-its-former-glory/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

There's a dark blue e92 335d in Thurles alright but it's a Garda's own private car. I actually saw it yesterday while on lunch.

Also:

https://www.carthrottle.com/post/this-guy-found-an-abandoned-bmw-e30-m3-and-returned-it-to-its-former-glory/

I ended up being late for work this morning from reading the build thread
    I'd say there's a few left to rot around the place here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,830 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Is this true anymore though? AFAIK the current Ibiza came out before the current polo, the Leon is on the latest platform, the Alhambra and sharan were launched the same time, the mii is the same as an up. The only leftovers I can think of recently is the exeo.

It's not true but for some reason some of the tastier options aren't filtered down (or maybe communicated) as quickly. But the last while the Seats have actually been the first to get the newer engines. I think they don't know what to do with SEAT overall at this stage. They've failed miserably under Audi to be made a niche brand.

Not that it will happen but if they get in any m series I'd nearly apply to become a gard :pac:

There saying it's to combat burglary gangs I'd say a 530D would have to be the smallest power they would be looking at I'd like to think they don't mean a 114d.

Last thing you'd be expecting to get pulled over by is a q7 or shiny new bmw.

Given there's this...

Garda-Yaris.jpg

I wouldn't be too surprised if they got a 114d. :D

It's not true but for some reason some of the tastier options aren't filtered down (or maybe communicated) as quickly. But the last while the Seats have actually been the first to get the newer engines. I think they don't know what to do with SEAT overall at this stage. They've failed miserably under Audi to be made a niche brand.

I always saw seat as a potential Alfa Romeo type brand for VW, where VW does the normal stuff, skoda does the cheap stuff with intentionally clumsy styling, Audi does the premium stuff and seat does the more daring stuff that won't appeal to everybody.
    Problem is that skoda wanna do performance stuff while styling the cars properly VW has gone premium, Audi has gotten more mainstream, and god knows what seat is supposed to be at.
    I can see seat getting the chop if VW group needs to rationalise its lineup.

I can't see them getting the chop...could see them as the new budget brand though. Pity as the Mii and Leon are really decent cars. Don't consider the Toledo yoke a car and the Ibiza is well past it.

Didn't even think of the Toledo/rabid

Third world motoring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Hal1

A 2 part show with James May...
    James May Tv show BBC2 Tonight (Live)
    Special 2 part show is aired live tonight by the BBC and is called "BUILDING CARS LIVE !", also hoisted by the fabricator mechanic from the hit car tv show "for the love of cars" Ant Anstead and kate humble team up with May in this 1st of 2 live shows

got to be worth a watch

air's tonight at 7.30pm and part 2 tomorrow at 7.30pm also

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,540 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Featuring the MINI car plant in Oxford.

She's happy with MINI, I'm happy with robots and shizzle. Looking forward to this, nice one hal1.