Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*********Motors Chat - Round 9 *********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Hal1

We had one until a stupid room conversion was done. Nobody in it at all now only shíte :(.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭CIP4

When I say garage I mean detached I don't consider a garage door at the end of a house a garage but your right any of them have been converted to sitting room/ bedrooms. Ye literally garage would be number one on my priority list as I want to start properly working on cars as a hobby I'll buy some cheap banger and take it from there. It needs to have a high roof too for a lift. I don't really care what the house is like that goes with it sure who would care about them anyway :pac:

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,319 ✭✭✭✭beertons

No one on my road has a garage. 2 had room for it but built utility rooms. I sort of have room. It's 8 foot wide at the front of the house, but 6 foot wide at the back. I'd have to reverse in, but sure what do I know about poking around with engines!

beertons wrote: »
    No one on my road has a garage. 2 had room for it but built utility rooms. I sort of have room. It's 8 foot wide at the front of the house, but 6 foot wide at the back. I'd have to reverse in, but sure what do I know about poking around with engines!

Ah sure anyone could learn our old garage was 45 by 25 foot. So I'd be aiming for that but will end up taking less ah 20 by 20 wouldn't be a bad size I suppose plus just at the 400 square feet no planning permission limit if I'm correct.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,319 ✭✭✭✭beertons

I want to build something alright, but it would be a strong room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,902 ✭✭✭power pants

Most garages connected to houses, particularly the older larger houses in Dublin are too small to fit modern day cars in them. Either converted to a room or just left doing nothing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Was filling up the mondeo at the pump there, and some random old man says "you're keeping it looking well". Ah shucks, it really is the little things :o

beertons wrote: »
    I'd take the connect. If a berlingo arrived, I'd try swap it.

I won't have a choice unfortunately.

"Heres the keys to your van new guy. John has the jump leads for when you need em" :pac:

Could be anything to be honest.

Was filling up the mondeo at the pump there, and some random old man says "you're keeping it looking well". Ah shucks, it really is the little things :o

Ye someone said to me recently "Christ a Renault I hope you have a warranty on that yoke sure it will break your hearth" it's the little things alright :pac:

Ah no infairness from the pics you make a fierce effort to keep your cars very clean fair play :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

CIP4 wrote: »
    Our old garage was the size of an average house would fit 4 cars when empty with space to work around them. As the saying goes you don't know what you had until it's gone. I used to love just deciding at 8pm in the night I wanted to do something to the car and go out to the garage lights on work till 2 am if I wanted radio on pure blis. But my parents were sick of the country and so now we're in town far better location but no big garage now. 1.5 years later in still in mourning :pac:

Whatever house I buy in a few years if it doesn't have a biggish garage or space to build one I won't buy it end off.

I'm the same, except I want to go one further. Buy an old Georgian pile with a bit of land .
    Most of them come with lovely old outbuildings.
    What I'd love to do is convert them to garages and have a person who welds in one, a upholsterer in the other, spray booth with expert painter in another and a few master mechanics.

Make it into a centre of excellence for classic car restoration in Ireland. Along with that those big farm sheds could be used for car storage with each car getting its own garage within the garage.

CIP4 wrote: »
    Our old garage was the size of an average house would fit 4 cars when empty with space to work around them. As the saying goes you don't know what you had until it's gone. I used to love just deciding at 8pm in the night I wanted to do something to the car and go out to the garage lights on work till 2 am if I wanted radio on pure blis. But my parents were sick of the country and so now we're in town far better location but no big garage now. 1.5 years later in still in mourning :pac:

Whatever house I buy in a few years if it doesn't have a biggish garage or space to build one I won't buy it end off.

My cousin has a garage like that. It's huge with an unused mancave upstairs (yes, the fcukin thing has an upstairs). It annoys me whenever I see it. Full of house and kids stuff. Stupid responsibilities :P

CIP4 wrote:
    Ah no infairness from the pics you make a fierce effort to keep your cars very clean fair play

Ah ya, I do try. Took all the pics of cars I've done, put them into a portfolio, and I was offered a job over it, so I must be doing something right :pac:

I won't have a choice unfortunately.

"Heres the keys to your van new guy. John has the jump leads for when you need em" :pac:

Could be anything to be honest.

I now have this imagine of them handing you the keys and saying ah it's been sitting up for 2 years there but you should get it going easy enough just clear all the spider webs and your good to go :pac: I'm sure it's happened in some places.
    My cousin has a garage like that. It's huge with an unused mancave upstairs (yes, the fcukin thing has an upstairs). It annoys me whenever I see it. Full of house and kids stuff. Stupid responsibilities :P

Ye ours was the same massive up stairs pool table air hockey play station all it needed was a bar to be a proper man cave:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

Something similar happened to me recently but didnt end well..I was filling up at the garage and this guy came up behind me admiring the car and started chatting as he has something similar.Anyway his girlfriend/wife (I presume )finished at their pump and walked past and gave him a bit of a dig as she was passing.He didnt bat an eyelid but I started to feel a bit awkard:o and I glanced over at their car where I could see 2 fellas in the back cracking up laughing.Anyway out your one comes after paying and gave him a really hard dig in the ribs:eek: He eventually fecked off back into the car and she reversed at speed(everyone usually drives through) and took off up the link like a lunatic.
    Its the small things alright but she took the good out of it (a bit:D)...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,294 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Probably thought you were a guard and was being nice just in case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

ba_barabus wrote: »
    Been offered a Passat B4 with a 2l petrol engine. Any VAG heads able to advise if they're good or shyte?

They're nice. Very rare too so shouldn't go to waste. They're a lot like MK3 Golf / Vento. That 2L engine is what's in the MK3 Golf GTI.

I say go for it, especially if it's an estate and cheap. Worst case scenario, you can give it to me for Christmas. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

GvidoR wrote: »
    They're nice. Very rare too so shouldn't go to waste. They're a lot like MK3 Golf / Vento. That 2L engine is what's in the MK3 Golf GTI.

I say go for it, especially if it's an estate and cheap. Worst case scenario, you can give it to me for Christmas. :P

Its a saloon, well specced and not cheap.........and UK reg but it's mechanically 100%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

The usual responses when someone sees the front of my Punto are "Did you crash it?", "What's wrong with it?" or something along those lines. :pac:
    Its a saloon, well specced and not cheap.........and UK reg but it's mechanically 100%

Hmmm... I'd say it might be worth a look. Then again, depends how much interest you have in it yourself, you know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

I got that a lot with the e90 and the Accord might sound simple but it sure makes you smile afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,294 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I can't see the appeal tbh. It's just a big Vento with a meh engine and probably basic enough spec wise.

GvidoR wrote:
    The usual responses when someone sees the front of my Punto are "Did you crash it?", "What's wrong with it?" or something along those lines.

Or did you try to burn it out :pac:

I got that a lot with the e90 and the Accord might sound simple but it sure makes you smile afterwards.

It definitely does we all have pride in our cars so when someone compliments them it can't but make you happy. Use to get a lot of positive comments on the golf but infairness it was spotless credit to the previous owners. Sure there was even that girl that snogged it if anyone remembers that :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

Most garages connected to houses, particularly the older larger houses in Dublin are too small to fit modern day cars in them. Either converted to a room or just left doing nothing

Not left doing nothing, here are some of the many things they are used for stoing:

*Empty iKea boxes
    *"Dad"'s unfinished woodwork project (just some badly cut sheets of chipboard with a Made in China jigsaw from Bee and Queue)
    *Childrens toys, on a heap, most of them worthless
    *A Honda 50, it's owner has taken up socialising with the posh crowd and allowed the cylinder to seize up from lack of use while the body rusts away to sh1t
    *A Fiat 500 that some pub-goer with a few kids and a career has been ""restoring"" for the past 20 odd years.
    *The box for the new 60" telly and the old telly it's owner was too stingy to give away, however it has since succumbed to the dampness.
    *Pat flack furniture that turned out to be not needed in the end, perfectly good except the bottom of the cardboard box got wet and now the veneer on some of the edges inside is peeling off.
    *Patio Heater, bought during the tiger to keep up with the Joneses. Sure f*ck it I have so much money I'm just going to sit outside and send a sh1tload of butane up in shmoke for the laugh

Service done on the focus today, 153k miles. Needs rear shocks soon too though. Where my big query is, is with the clutch.
    Does be a bit groggy when taking off on a slight hill, you'd find yourself needing to give it an extra boost for it to go. So I decided to mess around abit and see. Stopped half way up a hill of about 20 degrees, knocked her into first and slowly came off the clutch, but with no accelerator. Now it struggled, and I mean struggled (almost conking) to pull itself up the hill, lights dimming, and rattling. I know the clutch is knackered, but I want one of ye to confirm the results of my experiment! Assuming it wasn't done before, I take it 150k miles is a good longevity for a clutch?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Dartz

Today marks 10,000km on the RX8 since I bought it.

****'s gone wrong, sure. But no worse than any other 10 year old car.

I don't regret buying it. Even if it can be a bit of an albatross at my income level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Just watched jurassic world.

Well fook me if theres not more mercedes badges less dinosaurs and less drama than the post a pic of your car thread.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    I can't see the appeal tbh. It's just a big Vento with a meh engine and probably basic enough spec wise.

It's had a full mechanical overall, 70k miles since new. Spec is good including all electric Windows, aircon and twin airbags. Not bad tbh. Better than a 161 Corolla or Auris

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,083 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

It's had a full mechanical overall, 70k miles since new. Spec is good including all electric Windows, aircon and twin airbags. Not bad tbh. Better than a 161 Corolla or Auris

Ryou still looking for a 19?

Yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,083 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Yes

Theres a class 21 auto gone up on donedeal

The tax is up on the saloon at the end of the month and I'm in two minds as to what to do with it. Loads of jobs to do that I've been putting off :/