Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Milk Price- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

We can't expect premium prices for seasonal production with the sort of peaks and troughs we have here.

Very true.
    That's going to be another furore in the making.

The low production months here are July August and September. Peak months are March April and May.
    Every litre produced at peak is deducted by 1cpl and then divided back out on a per litre basis on the off months. I'm happy with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 693 ✭✭✭slippy wicket

Surprise surprise, Glanbia connect doesn't have September milk up yet.
    You'd think that they'd make an effort after riding their suppliers earlier in the week.
    Shows a certain contempt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

Dawggone wrote: »
    Very true.
    That's going to be another furore in the making.

The low production months here are July August and September. Peak months are March April and May.
    Every litre produced at peak is deducted by 1cpl and then divided back out on a per litre basis on the off months. I'm happy with that.

Is there much of a difference in costs of production to you between those peak months and off peak months

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Simon Coveney was on Newstalk, he was asked about the Glanbia price cut.
    Coveney supported Glanbia, he said it wasn't such a big issue this time of year as farmers will be drying off their cows in the next few weeks, and he expects when farmers re-start sending milk in March and April that prices will have recovered.
    He also said farmers are getting more than 24cpl as protein and butterfat are high this time of year and the co-ops have been helping out farmers with top up payments.
    I was disgusted listening to him.
    He said that the government will be announcing the aid package next week or so for dairy farmers.

But we are alright if you listened to Coveney.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭alps

RobertKK wrote: »
    Coveney supported Glanbia, he said it wasn't such a big issue this time of year as farmers will be drying off their cows in the next few weeks, and he expects when farmers re-start sending milk in March and April that prices will have recovered.
    He also said farmers are getting more than 24cpl as protein and butterfat are high this time of year and the co-ops have been helping out farmers with top up payments.
    He said that the government will be announcing the aid package next week or so for dairy farmers.

Sickening feeling I'm sure when you doubt that your Minister is on your side...

Very fair commentary from Patrick Gowing of Teagasc reported on Agriland

"Gowing also highlighted the results from Glanbia’s Profit Monitor Programme. The average herd size on these farms currently sits at 155 cows with an average net cash per cow of €1,260, based at a milk price of 39c/L.

As the milk price drops so does the net cash figure, added Gowing, so a milk price of 25c/L will return a net cash value of €125/cow on average.

However, the Teagasc specialist added that there is a problem with using averages as a marker of profitability or net cash flow as 50% of farmers will be below average."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭atlantic mist

Ferdia co op .. never knew the name of it, is that the small tipp coop who supply glanbia but are not in glanbia coop, father was going on bout them a while back lads in tipp getting a different price, do ye get paid a different price?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,170 ✭✭✭WheatenBriar

Another minister that knows nothing about farming
    He's the ass that brought in the bord bia thing
    I still have to vote for this current government though at the next election , the alternative is a frightening concoction

Ferdia co op .. never knew the name of it, is that the small tipp coop who supply glanbia but are not in glanbia coop, father was going on bout them a while back lads in tipp getting a different price, do ye get paid a different price?

No its a paper co op set up years ago by the Leinster milk producers (Waterford co op liquid suppliers)
    all current glanbia liquid suppliers have shares in it,except new ones

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭alps

Sickening feeling I'm sure when you doubt that your Minister is on your side...

Very fair commentary from Patrick Gowing of Teagasc reported on Agriland

"Gowing also highlighted the results from Glanbia’s Profit Monitor Programme. The average herd size on these farms currently sits at 155 cows with an average net cash per cow of €1,260, based at a milk price of 39c/L.

As the milk price drops so does the net cash figure, added Gowing, so a milk price of 25c/L will return a net cash value of €125/cow on average.

However, the Teagasc specialist added that there is a problem with using averages as a marker of profitability or net cash flow as 50% of farmers will be below average."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭Cow Porter

seeing as thread has been taken over by glanbia talk (and ye are all right to be angry)

if you go to the excel sheet in this link you'll see that glanbia paid:
    0.59 cent per litre more than eu avg milk price since jan 2013
    2.95 cent per litre less than eu avg milk price in 2014
    3.40 cent per litre less than eu avg milk price from jan to aug of 2015

and on average paid 1.74 cent per litre less than eu avg milk price from jan 2013 to aug 2015

http://dairy.ahdb.org.uk/resources-library/market-information/milk-prices-contracts/eu-milk-prices-lto/#.ViEtNn6rTIU

someone point me out if Im wrong, id be glad if i was!!

must listen back to coveny if its possible, sounds bad that minister is backing what seems an unjustified price drop, he should know where cost of production is on majority of farms in ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

alps wrote: »

Not unless it's a median rather than a mean they won't.

Which is a bit worrying, if he's in charge of calculating them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

Milked out wrote: »
    Is there much of a difference in costs of production to you between those peak months and off peak months

Hard to say as peak is off of grass with poor yield, whereas off peak yield is much better...mental note cost it out next year!
    The real difference is messing with cows in 35degrees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Any word in arrabawn?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,732 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

kevthegaff wrote: »
    Any word in arrabawn?

Don't think news is good ,everything top secret till Monday .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

We wont get the news till xmas, getting later every month!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,817 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

net milk price of 29.02 -statements are up on line now and milk cheques in bank account

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,866 ✭✭✭visatorro

anyone know what linwood are paying?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

Maybe it's just me, but there seems to be a different language used on this thread. Hard to follow at times. Everyone chatting like they were at the water cooler on a trading floor. :rolleyes:

That's just kowtow and Dawgone, I nearly have to take time off and concentrate really hard when reading some of their posts just to figure out what they're on about!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 693 ✭✭✭slippy wicket

Net milk price of 31.32 cpl, not in bank a/c yet :(

3.77 p & 4.21 f
    That's made up of :
    2014 fixed price 35.85
    2015 fixed price 34.75
    Base price 26.75

Would be bad but for the fixed price schemes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

31.74c here
    Bf 4.78
    P 4.08
    Scc 131 for the month

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,327 ✭✭✭orm0nd

That's just kowtow and Dawgone, I nearly have to take time off and concentrate really hard when reading some of their posts just to figure out what they're on about!!

I don't even try to figure them out, without doubt 2 very knowledgeable guys that really know their stuff , but now I just happy to produce the product & let others do the economics

just 1 point however ( & this just a general comment & aimed at no body on here or elsewhere)

milk price is 1 thing , profit is a different matter

orm0nd wrote: »
    I don't even try to figure them out, without doubt 2 very knowledgeable guys that really know their stuff , but now I just happy to produce the product & let others do the economics

just 1 point however ( & this just a general comment & aimed at no body on here or elsewhere)

milk price is 1 thing , profit is a different matter

And cash in hand another!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

My understanding is glanbia invested with the view to exporting milk powder to china which has now go e south, protesting , dumping slurry , sacking the board or leaving for that matter isnt going to change milk price one bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,817 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

keep going wrote: »
    My understanding is glanbia invested with the view to exporting milk powder to china which has now go e south, protesting , dumping slurry , sacking the board or leaving for that matter isnt going to change milk price one bit.
    China and Africa were the never ending markets they mentioned , whats the story with Africa?

keep going wrote: »

From my understanding that's the route Glanbia and thus bellview took.it was a risk taking a gamble on a volatile market and product .peaks will be high and not last long now Europe has no production constraints and troughs could be long and painful.questions need to be asked and boards and management need to be held accountable .whilst not totally agreeing with the French way of protesting ,it works .biard and management want ye to lie down ,don't do it yer all shareholders as well as suppliers ,demand action and sooner rather than later .nothing to stop them cutting another cent next month if they want ......

Has belview lost its China contract? :eek:
    That would be a disaster of multi sacking proportions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

It's very easy, basically 3 glanbia execs went out to China. Went out to dinner , cracked open 3 fortune cookies and came home with a business plan.
    - Live horse and you'll get grass
    - Build it and they will come
    - easy spend someone else's money.

And so Belview, producing powder for the Chinese market at 25c/l was born.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

If there was no contracts out there or you were contract free, what would people's coop of choice be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭wats the craic

Has belview lost its China contract? :eek:
    That would be a disaster of multi sacking proportions

they never had the contracts in the first place thats the problem . they built it thinking they would have in the future as usual farmers have to carry the can not board members . and i thought wexford was badly run gil takes the biscuit altogether

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

Does anyone know how the co-ops product mix changed over the 30 years of qoutas or did it stay similar?