Homeworld: Shipbreakers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,988 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

i think it's more of a return to epic single player RTS

does RTS stand for Return To Singleplayer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,772 ✭✭✭✭degrassinoel

very good dude :D

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

OK, I'm gonna throw this one out here and brace for impact:

I've never played these Homeworld games... * grips his seat *

At this stage, I think I'm gonna wait for the remakes and play then cause I have way too many other things to play ATM, but seeing the way so many people talk about them here and on other parts of the tubes, it makes me realise that I've clearly missed out on something magical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 974 ✭✭✭Remouad

Shiminay wrote: »
    OK, I'm gonna throw this one out here and brace for impact:

I've never played these Homeworld games... * grips his seat *

At this stage, I think I'm gonna wait for the remakes and play then cause I have way too many other things to play ATM, but seeing the way so many people talk about them here and on other parts of the tubes, it makes me realise that I've clearly missed out on something magical.

If you like strategy games you'll love the Homeworld series.

I just wish they were remastering Homeworld:Cataclysm. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,772 ✭✭✭✭degrassinoel

I'd be surprised if the remastered version of the original doesn't grab you by the first few minutes. It really is a masterpiece that deserved to be remastered and not rebooted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭stillalive88

OH MY GOD it is finally happening? After so long?
    Can't wait! Even just the remastered edition is something already!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,455 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

Looking good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Jaysus... 'The mother ship is standing by' actually gave me a nerd tingle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭Xios

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,455 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

Totally forgot about this tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,635 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Same. Still have to get around to replaying Homeworld as well. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,369 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Xios wrote: »

Meh?

It really seems like a step backwards. Obviously it is literally a step backwards timewise, but somehow a ground-based RTS is just so less exciting than space. Really I would just like if they did Homeworld 3, and did it better than 2.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,457 ✭✭✭✭beauf

Did the remastered one get released?

beauf wrote: »
    Did the remastered one get released?

Yeah not cheap though: http://store.steampowered.com/app/244160/

Worth it though I think. If you like the genre/originals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭mahoganygas

nesf wrote: »

A bit steep... I might wait till Christmas sale and see will it go down much.

It's a good remaster from what I've played of it. They did nice things like clean up Homeworld 1's UI to make it more like Homeworld 2 and similar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭mahoganygas

It's a good remaster from what I've played of it. They did nice things like clean up Homeworld 1's UI to make it more like Homeworld 2 and similar.

I have fond memories of playing Homeworld 1.
    My old PC could just about support it without crashing every hour.

It was laggy as hell but I kept going back for more.
    Nowadays I'd give up on an unstable game after a couple of tries.

They don't make em like they used to! :)

I have fond memories of playing Homeworld 1.
    My old PC could just about support it without crashing every hour.

It was laggy as hell but I kept going back for more.
    Nowadays I'd give up on an unstable game after a couple of tries.

They don't make em like they used to! :)

When this first played in that game is etched in my head forever probably:

...Kharak is burning...

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,784 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

Definitely one of the best, and most moving episodes i've ever played. That music was absolutely perfect. Saving all the pods was tough, but definitely worth it to hear "500,000 people secure".

And I always loved the line after that mission..."The subject did not survive interrogation".

To ****in right he didn't :mad:

Finally got around to giving the remastered collection a go last night and holy God is it pretty. They've fully dragged it into this decade, I'd totally believe it was a new game with fresh eyes.

I did ten missions in a row last night and had to convince myself to go to bed. Screw that one with the asteroids though, boring irritating nonsense. Everything else is gold, even that ancient wee fecker who
    steals cap ships
    Kiith wrote: »
    Saving all the pods was tough, but definitely worth it to hear "500,000 people secure".

Technically there are six pods, but I don't think it's possible to save the first one.

The asteroids, and the radiation one were a pain in the ass. I'm actually on the same level as you on my playthrough. I'm going to try and cheese it like i did originally though, and send my salvager up over the top of the map. Used to let me avoid most of the hassle in that mission if i remember right.

If only they had been able to give Cataclysm the remake treatment. Would love to go up against the Beast again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

Zillah wrote: »
    Finally got around to giving the remastered collection a go last night and holy God is it pretty. They've fully dragged it into this decade, I'd totally believe it was a new game with fresh eyes.

I did ten missions in a row last night and had to convince myself to go to bed. Screw that one with the asteroids though, boring irritating nonsense. Everything else is gold, even that ancient wee fecker who
    steals cap ships

Technically there are six pods, but I don't think it's possible to save the first one.

I certainly managed in the original but there's fleet scaling that spawns enemies in proportion to the size of your own fleet so your only option in the remake is to only have about 8 salvage corvettes and nothing else at the start of the mission.

Haven't given it a go yet.

So the Remastered version is gorgeous and rather buggy. I repeatedly had enemy fleets fail to hyperspace in and attack me, making things far too easy. Elson didn't bother showing up at the end, which made the whole thing rather anticlimactic. Last mission was boring. Second "ambush" fleet jumped in but never moved towards me. I had one mission with a bug that meant I had to restart to be able to advance, apparently not a rare experience.

Really disappointing in that regard. I'm currently trying to convince a friend to play it but I'm thinking he's probably better off playing the original with the remastered version so buggy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

The asteroids, and the radiation one were a pain in the ass. I'm actually on the same level as you on my playthrough. I'm going to try and cheese it like i did originally though, and send my salvager up over the top of the map. Used to let me avoid most of the hassle in that mission if i remember right.

If only they had been able to give Cataclysm the remake treatment. Would love to go up against the Beast again.

I'm surprised they wouldn't include Cataclysm :( But I too totally went up and around that map, which in reality is what any fleet admiral would have done: they really didn't put any impetus on you to get it done the normal way vs the safe way.
    Gbear wrote: »
    I certainly managed in the original but there's fleet scaling that spawns enemies in proportion to the size of your own fleet so your only option in the remake is to only have about 8 salvage corvettes and nothing else at the start of the mission.

Haven't given it a go yet.

That's sad to hear, I much would prefer such a narrative game to have a more or less pre-determinate amount, within certain boundaries: for the first few levels, definitely the same fixed numbers regardless of size. I could see it being cool though if the enemy fleet started trying to counter your arranged fleet (eg. you have a lot of ion frigates so they produce and fight you more often with fighter/bomber craft)g.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,094 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Worth every penny.

I've not really run into any bugs while playing. At least none that have caused me any issues, so hopefully I've avoided them. And I'm guessing they added the fleet scaling to fix the issues of people just capturing everything and just strolling through the enemy. I dunno how many Turanic and Kadeshi Ion Frigates I had...but there was a lot. They absolutely slaughtered any capital ships I came across. Was fun, but the new way is grand as well. Makes for some more epic fights.
    Overheal wrote: »
    I'm surprised they wouldn't include Cataclysm :(

Apparently the source code for Cataclysm was lost a few years ago, so they weren't able to give it the remaster treatment. They'd have to rebuild the game from the ground up, which i guess they didn't see as being worthwhile. Shame, as i absolutely loved it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭Wossack

heard a lot of reports of its being very buggy, so I was going to let it sort it self out - doesnt sound like its there yet though? has there been any patches?

Apparently the source code for Cataclysm was lost a few years ago, so they weren't able to give it the remaster treatment.

How on earth does this happen? Good God, you'd think programmers and game developers of all people would remember to have backups.

Wossack wrote: »
    heard a lot of reports of its being very buggy, so I was going to let it sort it self out - doesnt sound like its there yet though? has there been any patches?

Updates were semi-regular until August by the looks of it, nothing since.