Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Milk Price- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,732 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Relations of mine moved to arrabawn. Seem happy enough with the move

We have lots of faults too gg,were setting price tomorrow and from what I'm hearing we could be up in arms with ye Glanbia boys as well .a few Glanbia suppliers at our agm moved to us on back of having no Msa to sign ,our CEO when questioned by me on matter replied he doesn't envisage having to introduce one ,it's now in pipeline

ya forgot about them ah few near me have moved there too from glanbia , it shows you have opitions lad

There's always options !!!!,so have any of ye been in touch with yer local Glanbia board reps ????,where is the justification in the 1 cent drop when markets are stabilising???whats the story with bellview ,I hear it's pratically shut down atm and also was too big a punt placed on it the Chinese baby food market and pumping highly volatile milk into a commodity

ya forgot about them ah few near me have moved there too from glanbia , it shows you have opitions lad

There's always options !!!!,so have any of ye been in touch with yer local Glanbia board reps ????,where is the justification in the 1 cent drop when markets are stabilising???whats the story with bellview ,I hear it's pratically shut down atm and also was too big a punt placed on it the Chinese baby food market and pumping highly volatile milk into a commodity

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

mahoney_j wrote: »
    According to pat o Keefe the markets aren't returning what milk is worth atm. Be 10th jan before first meeting is held

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,817 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

around the 23 of the month . wat part of the country ya from whelan2

Louth

According to pat o Keefe the markets aren't returning what milk is worth atm. Be 10th jan before first meeting is held

Isn't he a pr guy or something for them ??,I certainly wouldn't be waiting till Jan 10 ,find out if you don't know your local board reps and demand action and answers .if these guys are been paid 35 k and ye believe they ain't delievering I wouldn't be sparing it on them ,they need to be held accountable.how can Lakeland and Kerry hold price over 2 cent above yer base price ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

That's not the point gg, we all know markets are down and have taken it on the chin. Why are Glanbia dropping NOW when the likes of Lakeland and Kerry can hold. And why was it done in such an underhanded way when 1c drop really means a 1.2c drop. They're playing us for fools now

+1 Clyde I'd be spitting fire right now if in yer shoes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Isn't he a pr guy or something for them ??,I certainly wouldn't be waiting till Jan 10 ,find out if you don't know your local board reps and demand action and answers .if these guys are been paid 35 k and ye believe they ain't delievering I wouldn't be sparing it on them ,they need to be held accountable.how can Lakeland and Kerry hold price over 2 cent above yer base price ??

Said it here before, Kerry got a shock in 2010 with the extremely slow recovery in stock numbers and milk supply after 2009.

Kerry will make its margin on lagging behind recovery in return for holding now. They are playing the long game.

Oh, and I'd like to welcome Glanbia suppliers to the world of PLC pricing. You'll get used to it after a while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

Usual IFJ rubbish, they should worry more about the people that buy their paper than their advertisers.

This is a typical example where the IFA farmers aren't worth a sh1te.

big difference in the talk on here and the attitude out in the real world....is there many farmers really that bothered

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭milkprofit

Who has the money to take them to court?

If 50 farmers left together I don't think that farmer board members would allow a court case

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

I thought the went doen 1c??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

kevthegaff wrote: »
    I thought the went doen 1c??

Higher solids basically mean the average farmer actually ends up about 1.2c down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

kowtow wrote: »
    I really, honestly, don't know.

I think it is significant - perhaps - that of the 50 or so farmhouse cheese makers in Ireland an overwhelming number have a husband / wife who came from overseas, or spent a long time overseas.

Somewhere along the way we got used to becoming dependent, despite the fact that on a local and individual level we are actually entrepreneurial and inventive - as any gap in an Irish hedgerow will testify.

Too much respect for men in suits and teachers - perhaps, and we're too easily enthralled by glitter and ribbons, even in the food products we do make.

Take wonderful ingredients with a good story behind them, make fantastic products with them, and the rest will take care of itself. More common sense from the farmhouse kitchen and the local creamery (thankfully we still have both of these, we are a family farming nation) and a lot less power point presentations.

It's food, not rocket science.

There's the power point presentation to Glanbia's board! ( Just before ye Fire them).

"It's food not rocket science"...!

Ye were sold a pup....

I would be tackling up the slurry tank and filling up a good load of duck shyte...
    (I must be turning native!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,817 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

As said earlier the september price was fixed by them months ago, they were just following through, the last few years they didnt even have to look for markets and now when they do they dont know what to do. Who decides the price ? Do our farmer board members just nod their heads to our md?

My last few posts have been glib and of no relevance.

However, I am and have always been against big Cooperatives/Corporations. They never have the interests of suppliers or family farms at heart. The larger operations use their power to bully their way to a position that suits their shareholders and management.

Smaller,farmer controlled operations that can duck and dive will serve the minnows (family farms) better.

My point being, bigger is not necessarily better. Never forget that. Never.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

According to pat o Keefe the markets aren't returning what milk is worth atm.

If those were his words he understands neither milk nor markets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

milkprofit wrote: »
    If 50 farmers left together I don't think that farmer board members would allow a court case

It's very easy to form a co-operative.

If enough Glanbia suppliers were to satisfy themselves that they could exit the MSA then they could easily form one or more co-operatives among them.

No need for milk lorries, buildings etc, they could simply contract the milk on their own terms to whoever was willing to come and get it at a sensible price.

Presumably Glanbia would be among those who needed some of it.

What Glanbia suppliers need to do is get an MSA for Glanbia to sign up to, not the other way around. That was always the case but most were too blinded by shiny PLC shares and the brave new world to think of what they were trading for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Glanbia busy with Bord Bia getting all farmers QA for milk, and all we are getting is price cuts.

Pity we don't have quality assured management of GII and Glanbia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭milkprofit

If enough Glanbia suppliers were to satisfy themselves that they could exit the MSA then they could easily form one or more co-operatives among them.

No need for milk lorries, buildings etc, they could simply contract the milk on their own terms to whoever was willing to come and get it at a sensible price.

Presumably Glanbia would be among those who needed some of it.

What Glanbia suppliers need to do is get an MSA for Glanbia to sign up to, not the other way around. That was always the case but most were too blinded by shiny PLC shares and the brave new world to think of what they were trading for it.

We have one Ferdia co op

Dawggone wrote: »
    Ye were sold a pup....

I would be tackling up the slurry tank and filling up a good load of duck shyte...
    (I must be turning native!)

How bad.
    If Glanbia pulled a stroke like that in France, they'd be looking at the business end of Joskin tank in their foyer before they'd have a chance to say "oh Merde"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

farmerjj wrote: »
    Anyone know how,s Dairygold price is?

25.5 base. Unlikely to be an announcement before the weekend if a cut is proposed because of the dairy show in Millstreet. DG have a stand there and a cut in milk price would make the day uncomfortable for them.

How bad.
    If Glanbia pulled a stroke like that in France, they'd be looking at the business end of Joskin tank in their foyer before they'd have a chance to say "oh Merde"

You pinged it! :)

Saying that I can understand the disappointment.

Very true.
    How easy is it to form a successful co-operative ? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭wats the craic

strathroy milk price to be held at 27.25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭alps

This little stick is finding it's way all over the world. Fair play to lakelands...simple functional product...on Ryanair flights now, and recently found it on Emirates and Virgin Australia, even in meals packed in Sydney for Emirates homeward bound.
    Now let's get rid of the excuses of us being too far from market...

NZ production down 8.7% for Sept, down 5.3% June to Sep
    http://ow.ly/TtgoN
    Glanbia, take note, low price = less milk & less meal. Play the long game instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Maybe it's just me, but there seems to be a different language used on this thread. Hard to follow at times. Everyone chatting like they were at the water cooler on a trading floor. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

alps wrote: »
    This little stick is finding it's way all over the world. Fair play to lakelands...simple functional product...on Ryanair flights now, and recently found it on Emirates and Virgin Australia, even in meals packed in Sydney for Emirates homeward bound.
    Now let's get rid of the excuses of us being too far from market...

Too far from the market is a poor excuse you're right about that. But looking for "premium markets" for fresh products where the demand on the first of June is ten times higher than the demand on the first of Dec and there's no demand Christmas week is a tall ask. Belview and dgs new powder plants can only be a safety valve for peak production other than the one in five years prices are high and anything that says milk on the package is in demand. We can't expect premium prices for seasonal production with the sort of peaks and troughs we have here.

All that said there's no justification for glanbias cut. We need to see any further cost cuts coming inside the factory gates. In fact we should be questioning every cost esp salaries going forward. Happily by taking full advantage of company rules GII will post abridged 2014 results in time for the easter parades in 2016. So they'll be able to spin any line they want about current performance.