Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Warwick student rejects consent lessons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭Kev W

conorhal wrote: »
    I'd say the same of the organizers, who will no doubt smugly suggest that this incident demonstrates why these classes need to be mandatory.

I love the phrase "no doubt".

It allows one to cluck their tongue and roll their eyes at the completely imagined actions of others.

Good stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Candie wrote: »
    Then he's playing right into their hands.

When I come across something obviously ridiculous and unrelated to my life, I do the sensible thing and I ignore it.

He should have done the same, but now he's all notorious and bad-ass and sticking it to those crazy rad-fems. So he's no different, really.

Yes he is. He's demonstrating and publicly speaking out against idiocy like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,080 ✭✭✭conorhal

Kev W wrote: »
    I love the phrase "no doubt".

It allows one to cluck their tongue and roll their eyes at the completely imagined actions of others.

Good stuff.

A bit like the student union in this case, no?

These loons have pretty much taken over university politics as a result of that kind of shrugging apathy, a halt needs to be called to their antics at some point, but it would of course be a braver (or more foolish) person then I to do so.
    In truth the 'reaction' is just another example of the 'no-platform' shouting down of dissent that has become all to common, even here, where national issues of immigration or travellers or no doubt this nonsense will be quietly moved and closed on 'Irelands biggest forum'.

Correct me if I'm wrong but these examples of social Darwinism don't seem as prevalent in Ireland thankfully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I love it, the reactions are that he should've taken the course or shut his mouth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭Kev W

A bit like the student union in this case, no?

The imaginary one that you said called for the lecture to be mandatory? Yes, I suppose.

Why was he invited to attend the classes? Who else was invited?

This kind of sh1t really bothers me and I would absolutely not go either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,247 ✭✭✭Maguined

Duggy747 wrote: »
    I love it, the reactions are that he should've taken the course or shut his mouth.

We don't care about your consent now shut up and learn about consent!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,961 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

Why was he invited to attend the classes? Who else was invited?

This kind of sh1t really bothers me and I would absolutely not go either.

RAPIST!

The PC brigade is coming woo woo woo woo woo

Time for some re-femication

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

TOXIC MASCULINITY

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭strelok

discus wrote: »
    TOXIC MASCULINITY

bit redundant, surely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,369 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

On one hand I can completely understand someone being outraged at the implication that they are a potential rapist.

On the other hand, I think a huge amount of rape revolves around the perception that certain things aren't "really" rape in the mind of a lot of people, especially young men, especially when it comes to alcohol. Contrary to popular perception rapists aren't slavering monsters stalking in the shadows. A lot of them are otherwise normal guys who see someone vulnerable and convince themselves that it's not that bad. They probably have a little voice telling them no at the same time, and I think that voice would be a lot louder and stronger if they had had someone look them in the eye previously and tell them with no ambiguity that if she is too drunk to talk to you properly then it is rape.

Problems specific to this situation: if he personally was invited, as opposed to blanket invites, that's outrageous and deserves to be called out.

It's an invite only course, as opposed to something mandatory done, say, at the end of second school as a part of sex ed: so the only people that will attend are the people you're probably not worried about.

It's hijacked by a bunch of strident misandrists that want to demonise men: calling him a rapey creepbag for insisting that he understands consent and would never violate it, with or without such a class, is an abhorrent, idiotic, and self-defeating thing to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭EazyD

It's just the feminists shouting again folks, back to work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,080 ✭✭✭conorhal

Kev W wrote: »
    The imaginary one that you said called for the lecture to be mandatory? Yes, I suppose.

No doubt you intended that sentence to make sense.

Is it just men that are "invited" to attend?

Surely this is no more than gender profiling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Such bs. Gay guys sit it too do they? Just because theyre male

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

Medusa22 wrote: »
    I disagree with his posting a photo of himself holding a sign that reads ''This is not what a rapist looks like'', unfortunately there is no way to identify what a rapist looks like, they don't wear signs and there is no certain ''look'', otherwise we'd be able to identify them for ourselves.

Or indeed herself, as women can be rapists too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,369 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

The vast majority of rapists are men though, in fairness; are we really going to throw a hissy fit over anti-rape campaigns being focused on men?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭EazyD

Tarzana2 wrote: »

Or indeed herself, as women can be rapists too.

Not in Ireland anyway, one must possess a penis to be able to do so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

I would never in a million years have thought Ched Evans could be found guilty of rape based on the fact that the girl was too drunk to be able to knowingly consent. So, considering that's a law now and you can go to prison for it, I think it's quite important that people learn all the ways you can get to being called a rapist. The 'knock you over the head and rape you' type of rapist most likely wouldn't be influenced at all by classes such as these.

Zillah wrote: »
    The vast majority of rapists are men though, in fairness; are we really going to throw a hissy fit over anti-rape campaigns being focused on men?

Actually yes we do. Should we have science recruitment fairs aimed only at men because scientists have historically been men?

If somewhere had a "how not to steal" course aimed at Black people, you'd know there'd be uproar about it.

And it's not a "hissy fit", it's justified annoyance and anger over being labelled a potential rapist because I have a penis.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭strelok

If somewhere had a "how not to steal" course aimed at Black people, you'd know there'd be uproar about it.

And it's not a "hissy fit", it's justified annoyance and anger over being labelled a potential rapist because I have a penis.

they took all the arab students out of my first year orientation and made sure they all understood strapping explosives to your chest and blowing yourself up in a lecture hall was just not accepted behaviour here in the west

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,247 ✭✭✭Maguined

Probably not, it seems that as it is run through the students union they have made it mandatory for two members of each society to attend the courses so of the 300 invited many of them were women. It seems from the website you were meant to voluntarily sign yourself up to the course if you so desired but obviously George did not sign himself up.

It also seems I was wrong as they are not just targetting freshers as George is not a Freshman in the college as he is in his second year so either he is a society executive in which case the other execs named him as one of their two mandatory attendess or else someone invited him to be one of the 300 on the event page out of the 12k undergraduates (as I was wrong and the page says it is not just for Freshers). I guess someone felt he did look like a rapist and would benefit from the course.

strelok wrote: »
    they took all the arab students out of my first year orientation and made sure they all understood strapping explosives to your chest and blowing yourself up in a lecture hall was just not accepted behaviour here in the west

And then had "invited" them on a course on how not to do mass killings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭blue note

steddyeddy wrote: »
    Actually yes we do. Should we have science recruitment fairs aimed only at men because scientists have historically been men?

Do you think we should have anti suicide campaigns aimed solely at men because the majority of victims are men? Maybe domestic violence campaigns should only target men too because more of the victims are female?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 607 ✭✭✭sonny.knowles

strelok wrote: »

Did it work? How many are still alive?

blue note wrote: »
    Do you think we should have anti suicide campaigns aimed solely at men because the majority of victims are men? Maybe domestic violence campaigns should only target men too because more of the victims are female?

Em no I don't that's my point. I don't believe in gender profiling negative stereotypes.

blue note wrote: »

I think you're misunderstanding the point they were trying to make ..

I think I explained my point arseways there. I'll try again. ANother example would be sexual abuse. Most perpetrators are family members. Would it be acceptable to give classes to family members on something self evident like how not to commit abuse?

Sure there are more male rapists but what proportion of men are rapists? Is it fair or effective to aim a campaign at all men because a small proportion of the gender makes up a large proportion of rape statistics?