Sean O'Rourke Today Show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,812 ✭✭✭zoobizoo

Interesting read in the Guardian yesterday about North Korean Defectors...

http://www.theguardian.com/world/2015/oct/13/why-do-north-korean-defector-testimonies-so-often-fall-apart

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭Jadaol

touts wrote: »
    Compelling interview about the hardship of people in the socialist utopia of North Korea. But jasus could he not stop for a few minutes and give the poor girl a chance to compose herself.

it was dreadful
    so what happened, you were sold to be married - yes
    and how long was that for - one year
    and were you raped in that time - yes
    how many times????????????????

seriously, dense :mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

... and it wouldn't be anything to do with gambling now would it????????????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭touts

zoobizoo wrote: »
    Interesting read in the Guardian yesterday about North Korean Defectors...

http://www.theguardian.com/world/2015/oct/13/why-do-north-korean-defector-testimonies-so-often-fall-apart

It's the Guardian. The paper of record for Socialism since Pravda went bust. You always know when they are on shaky ground when they resort to the "George W Bush met them so they must be wrong" argument.

Having listened to the lady being interviewed by Sean yesterday and read the article I'm fairly sure who I believe.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭my friend

It's the Guardian. The paper of record for Socialism since Pravda went bust. You always know when they are on shaky ground when they resort to the "George W Bush met them so they must be wrong" argument.

Having listened to the lady being interviewed by Sean yesterday and read the article I'm fairly sure who I believe.

Careful now, the Guardian is the go to copy and paste source for the Irish Times and RTE

my friend wrote: »
    Careful now, the Guardian is the go to copy and paste source for the Irish Times and RTE

As I said. Paper of Record :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,708 ✭✭✭serfboard

Consider this - the media are paying for stories.
    does ... payment change the relation between a researcher and an interviewee, and what effect will it have on the story itself?
    the more exclusive, shocking or emotional, the higher the fee ... the power of the west’s curiosity and the media’s desire for a good story cannot be overestimated ....

North Korean refugees have become well aware of what the interviewer wants to hear. Whether speaking to the UN, US Congress or western media, the questions are the same every time: why did you leave North Korea, and how terrible is it?

... first-person testimonies have become the norm, and have increasingly come to involve younger victims with more tragic, dramatic, visual and emotional accounts.

And finally, North Korea isn't going to sue anyone for defamation, so you could say whatever you like without fear of it being contradicted.

We all know that newspapers will print any old sh1te - the only thing that stops them is the fear of being sued. Take away that fear and ...

Does this mean that everything she said is wrong? No, but it does mean that in listening to her story, we should consider the points raised.

And North Korea is not a "socialist" country - it's a dictatorship.

serfboard wrote: »
    Consider this - the media are paying for stories.

And finally, North Korea isn't going to sue anyone for defamation, so you could say whatever you like without fear of it being contradicted.

We all know that newspapers will print any old sh1te - the only thing that stops them is the fear of being sued. Take away that fear and ...

Does this mean that everything she said is wrong? No, but it does mean that in listening to her story, we should consider the points raised.

And North Korea is not a "socialist" country - it's a dictatorship.

Ah go away and listen to that poor woman when Sean foolishly asks her how often she was raped. She didn't sound to me like she was making it up.

Personally I thought that question was necessary & prurient

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭Jadaol

Callan57 wrote: »
    Personally I thought that question was necessary & prurient

prurient yes
    necessary no - but ridiculous - was she supposed to have counted?? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 907 ✭✭✭foxtrot101

A media report this morning claimed that one of Mr Noonan’s advisors warned producers of the Today programme on RTÉ Radio One that Mr Noonan would refuse to go on air unless the questions were vetted first.

http://www.independent.ie/business/budget/news/rte-denies-threat-minister-for-finance-wouldnt-appear-on-sean-orourke-show-unless-he-got-listeners-questions-in-advance-31612292.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,936 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

foxtrot101 wrote: »

And there is something wrong with that, is that your implication?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 907 ✭✭✭foxtrot101

And there is something wrong with that, is that your implication?

Emm...given questions before hand because of the detailed nature of the some the answers - no. Having a veto over what questions could be asked - yes. It's not totally clear from the article which actually happened. There's a lot of counterclaiming going on.

I didn't hear the show yesterday, I was just interested what others who had thought about it.

Jadaol wrote: »
    prurient yes
    necessary no - but ridiculous - was she supposed to have counted?? :rolleyes:

Of course I meant to say unnecessary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,895 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

That yearly feature usually made for excellent listening.

Unfortunately in recent years it has been hijacked by hot air merchants who only want to attack and name call.

O'Rourke really needs to take a firm hand on these wind baggers....Ask their question straight away or cut them off, it's that simple.

Christ, Paddy O'G really annoys me with this rubbish "he's such a pleasant fellow"
    Yea, sure he is ... to quote Hamlet 'smile and smile and be a villain'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

A litre of vodka two E and some sleeping tablets:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,127 ✭✭✭✭neris

A litre of vodka two E and some sleeping tablets:eek:

and the ambulance guy didnt give him a smack for been a twat. so when your relative is very sick and in need of an ambulance thats delayed it could be coz of some idiot whos to thick to not know when to stop boozing or poping pills

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭my friend

neris wrote: »
    and the ambulance guy didnt give him a smack for been a twat. so when your relative is very sick and in need of an ambulance thats delayed it could be coz of some idiot whos to thick to not know when to stop boozing or poping pills

Or a night I was in Beaumont A&E and two of our finest non contributors arrived by ambulance both in their early to mid 20s , a girl with a sex toy lost in her *ahem* and her partner who when not allowed in the ambulance transporting her called another ambulance and it carried him to A&E to join her.

I witnessed this and have the date it occurred, this is one observance of the crazy impositions certain welfare lifestyle heads cripple the HSE with. Disgraceful stuff

Yea. Imagine you have an accident but instead of calling an ambulance and taking up their valuable time you manage to drag yourself to A&E, pay €100 to be left in the front door because you don't have a letter from your doctor giving you advance permission to have the accident. You then sit in appalling filth and overcrowded conditions for 12+ hours waiting to be seen by a doctor. And just as you are about to be seen this waste of space is swept straight in ahead of you via the VIP backdoor, is seen immediately, doesn't have to pay the $100 and still gets violent because he hasn't been brought to his preferred hospital. He'll probably arrive hours after you do but swagger out smirking and giving you the figure as he passes through the waiting room. Guys like that should be dumped in a holding cell in a drunk tank at a local Garda station.

It's true what a doctor once told me. You're better off to lie down on the road outside the hospital and call an ambulance than go into A&E.

oh gawd mlod drivel n fawning

Second Sean mention her I "move the dial" :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,930 ✭✭✭PeterTheEighth

MLOD

What is a "handy sized" robbery?

another fecking author to drone on in ort speak to us mere plebs

is rte now the broadcaster & mouth piece for:

- The garda representative association
    - gardai who feel hard done by with pay
    - garda families who think their garda relative would be a better garda with a bigger pay packet
    - bitter retired gardai who are so long retired their views have no relevance now a days
    - any garda whos a problem with Noreen O'Sullivan or Frances Fitzgerald or Both

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,224 ✭✭✭alaimacerc

is rte now the broadcaster & mouth piece for:

- The garda representative association
    - gardai who feel hard done by with pay
    - garda families who think their garda relative would be a better garda with a bigger pay packet
    - bitter retired gardai who are so long retired their views have no relevance now a days
    - any garda whos a problem with Noreen O'Sullivan or Frances Fitzgerald or Both
    Pretty much, it seems. That'll teach a minister under time constraints to give a shortish, reasonably to-the-point interview, and then leave the field clear for a ranty "yes-but-no-but!" panel of givers-outters.

The VP AGSI, having just complained several that there wasn't enough Garda recruitment... eventually admittedly there wasn't the capacity for any more recruitment. Spoofer. Or as she's a GTC apparatchik herself, not wanting to sell the pass on "future productivity payments" if they are asked to train more, perhaps! Essentially ended up implying that the solution was to time-travel back five years, and not make any AGS cuts in the first place. Tell you what, Antoinette, travel back a little further and take out some key members of the previous government, save us all a good deal of trouble...

alaimacerc wrote: »
    Pretty much, it seems. That'll teach a minister under time constraints to give a shortish, reasonably to-the-point interview, and then leave the field clear for a ranty "yes-but-no-but!" panel of givers-outters.

The VP AGSI, having just complained several that there wasn't enough Garda recruitment... eventually admittedly there wasn't the capacity for any more recruitment. Spoofer. Or as she's a GTC apparatchik herself, not wanting to sell the pass on "future productivity payments" if they are asked to train more, perhaps! Essentially ended up implying that the solution was to time-travel back five years, and not make any AGS cuts in the first place. Tell you what, Antoinette, travel back a little further and take out some key members of the previous government, save us all a good deal of trouble...

the other thing the gra shill came out with was a line about there being too much papaerwork to do. im sure if recruiting civilian/civil service people to do the paperwork in the stations while the lads go out on patrol and police theyd be up in arms about that too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,224 ✭✭✭alaimacerc

the other thing the gra shill came out with was a line about there being too much papaerwork to do. im sure if recruiting civilian/civil service people to do the paperwork in the stations while the lads go out on patrol and police theyd be up in arms about that too

Absolutely. Vote to have ourselves an allowance for having to give our paperwork to a mere civilian to be done, comrades? Passed. </IrishPictorialWeekly sketch-in-the-making>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,962 ✭✭✭Greenman

Re never getting the fine by letter. Ye right.

Are they stupid or something? meaning the state.

Registered post would sort this out plus it would boost An Posts coffers.

Come on Pascal.