Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*********Motors Chat - Round 9 *********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,294 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

job seeker wrote: »
    Its that easy? :eek:

I knew where the oil filter was.. And you can just slide under to undo the sump nut...

Yep. It's that simple. If you stick your head under the car and have a look, you'll see the oil sump - it's painted black and is kinda cube shaped with rounded edges.

This is the sump upside down
    mFg9Zd907sazOnGsU4ft1ng.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 694 ✭✭✭5W30

GvidoR wrote: »
    You can drive one or two wheels onto a curb if you have one nearby for a little extra room.

You got that right :P

GuwGI3M.jpg?1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,127 ✭✭✭job seeker

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Yep. It's that simple. If you stick your head under the car and have a look, you'll see the oil sump - it's painted black and is kinda cube shaped with rounded edges.

This is the sump upside down
    mFg9Zd907sazOnGsU4ft1ng.jpg

Cheers, ye saved me 30 quid.. :) then can't the nut be open with a socket?

job seeker wrote: »
    Cheers, ye saved me 30 quid.. :) then can't the nut be open with a socket?

Socket or spanner, anything will work. It's easily accessible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,871 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

I think I've found a new future wheel choice:

3916095738_200c4dc205.jpg

3915277207_66034b3693.jpg

drooling-homer.gif

5W30 wrote: »
    Socket or spanner, anything will work. It's easily accessible.

I'm liking this car more and more...

Ugh I hate Thursdays! My first lecture starts at 9 am and the traffic is brutal.

I literally had to undertake everyone on the M50 to get in on time. Funnily enough a Focus ST was stuck right up my arse and followed every lane change like me.

At first I thought it was a copper :pac:

Anyone know if it's worthwhile getting an activated carbon pollen filter instead of a normal one?

On Micksgarage it says the activated carbon one is for cars with automatic climate control units but people on other motoring forums are saying they use them in normal manual heaters.

Has anyone tried one?

Focus Mk2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,894 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Feck it anyway, the 3.0 B7 I wanted to go and see is gone :( had all the goodies I wanted. Now I can't find a single feckin 3.0 that I like. There is a 2.7 one though but I'm reading that it's a pointless engine.
    Anyone have any opinions on it?

Ugh I hate Thursdays! My first lecture starts at 9 am and the traffic is brutal.

I literally had to undertake everyone on the M50 to get in on time. Funnily enough a Focus ST was stuck right up my arse and followed every lane change like me.

At first I thought it was a copper :pac:

Reminds me of the other night coming home from work aty half 11... My commute is on mostly back roads and I mean the small roads with grass in the middle, anyway was on way home from work and seen blue lights flash in my rear view mirror. No siren, just lights. Pulled over and a lowered mk2 fiesta passed with tinted windows, a CB aerial and a loud exhaust..... :pac: Turned out to me some young fella with the blue lights on his car...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

OSI wrote: »
    In saying that, I think the likes of the 523i are pointless to.

I hope Big Nasty isn't here. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭RandomAccess

Anyone know if it's worthwhile getting an activated carbon pollen filter instead of a normal one?

On Micksgarage it says the activated carbon one is for cars with automatic climate control units but people on other motoring forums are saying they use them in normal manual heaters.

Has anyone tried one?

Focus Mk2

That text on micksgarage is wrong I think.
    Apparently the activated carbon version is better at filtering odours. Theres a small price premium I think.

OSI wrote: »
    Pretty much this:

In saying that, I think the likes of the 523i are pointless to. It's what you want from the engine I suppose.

A nice powerful one :) but still returns reasonable MPG and doesn't look like a diseased ridden dog's pair of bollocks.
    I read on the Audi forum that it's pointless in the sense that it has only 10bhp more than the 2.0 version and 24bhp less than the 3.0.
    Also that it suffers from more problems. Pity as well :(
    I also would imagine it's pointless to map it when you could get a 3.0 and still be better off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,917 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

bear1 wrote: »
    Feck it anyway, the 3.0 B7 I wanted to go and see is gone :( had all the goodies I wanted. Now I can't find a single feckin 3.0 that I like. There is a 2.7 one though but I'm reading that it's a pointless engine.
    Anyone have any opinions on it?

Have you looked at 330/335?

Outside my budget I would say, plus I think those are a bit on the small side SW wise.
    Need to a SW unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,917 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Outside my budget I would say, plus I think those are a bit on the small side SW wise.
    Need to a SW unfortunately.

Can be got in Touring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭CIP4

Has anyone tried one?

Focus Mk2
    That text on micksgarage is wrong I think.
    Apparently the activated carbon version is better at filtering odours. Theres a small price premium I think.

Yes the main reason for using activated carbon is to remove odours going into the cabin as the activated carbon absorbs them. Activated carbon is extremely porous and is used in many industries as a purification/ filtration technique for both products and emissions to atmosphere in some case. It's used in some gas masks and it's very important in waste water treatment plants for example.

So ultimately it does work and is not some gimmick. However if the activated carbon one is allot more expensive the normal is fine but having activated carbon will lead to better filtration lower amounts of cabin odour.

Sanded down the the body filler, went into the garage to get the primer... Can only farted out a bit of compressed air, no primer left what so ever... Now the weather will play hell with the filler....fcuk :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,294 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

The filler will be grand. Don't panic.

Ah thank god.. Nearly had a nervous break down... Ah this car ownership jazz is not easy.... :D

CIP4 wrote: »
    Yes the main reason for using activated carbon is to remove odours going into the cabin as the activated carbon absorbs them. Activated carbon is extremely porous and is used in many industries as a purification/ filtration technique for both products and emissions to atmosphere in some case. It's used in some gas masks and it's very important in waste water treatment plants for example.

So ultimately it does work and is not some gimmick. However if the activated carbon one is allot more expensive the normal is fine but having activated carbon will lead to better filtration lower amounts of cabin odour.

Thanks. It's about €22 for the activated carbon one compared to €15 for a standard one. I guess I'll just invest in the dearer one for better filtration :)

Can be got in Touring.

Saw a 330d 2006 that is within budget, cloth seats though and no sat nav which I would like to have but not bad looking all the same.
    Aren't I right though in thinking that this was the year where they suffer from potentially serious engine issues?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,465 ✭✭✭ofcork

Anybody seen the new lexus GS F not great looking and less power than the german trio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Dartz

NCT Fail.

Borken Droplink.

Arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Taxed the car for another year today bastards :( never easy handing it over but with it imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Saw a 330d 2006 that is within budget, cloth seats though and no sat nav which I would like to have but not bad looking all the same.
    Aren't I right though in thinking that this was the year where they suffer from potentially serious engine issues?

The 330d never had any serious engine issues afaik.

I couldn't live with the cloth interior personally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭Interslice

Should have the 156 back on the road for the weekend :). Just have the drive shafts and suspension to screw back together. Can't wait.

Dartz wrote: »
    NCT Fail.

Borken Droplink.

Arse.

Did you not hear strange sounds when going over bumps? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭Interslice

Aye and primer is porous so probably better left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Dartz

Did you not hear strange sounds when going over bumps? :pac:

I did. And I checked the side they were coming from and it was fine......

Wrong link.