Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Milk Price- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,170 ✭✭✭WheatenBriar

kowtow wrote: »
    How many votes do you need to requisition an EGM of GIIL?

Seriously? Its 40%owned by what is now an anti farmer greed corporation who get the coop to bribe shareholders with their own money..
    Won't happen
    The only answer to this thundering disgrace of a situation is to move en masse the hell out of there
    Maybe GII management would feel it in the pocket then when the whip's at the plc decides to close their job down in this new ruthless era

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Seriously? Its 40%owned by what is now an anti farmer greed corporation/quote]

My mistake, how many to requisition an EGM of the co-op / i.e. the vehicle which owns the farmer side of the Jv?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 607 ✭✭✭jack o shea

Its time for glanbia suppliers to visit their own solicitors and get a route out of that milk agreement thing?

A better use of time and money if you can't get an EGM would be to get someone to compile a detailed written record of the various representations which were made to farmers prior to them signing up - and not just what was said in public or in writing.

I'd be surprised if a few over-exuberant things weren't said to reassure and calm "fussy farmers"

That's where you'll find the underbelly of the contract, not in the small print.

Nobody should buy a ton of meal or fertilizer off the pricks again either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,817 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Nobody should buy a ton of meal or fertilizer off the pricks again either.
    interestingly they were cheapest quote for meal buying group by a long shot..... work that one out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,733 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

kevthegaff wrote: »
    Reckon arrabawn will follow suit, glanbia could be under pressure with investment in belview. Youd imagine they would have held like kerry/lakeland. I always disagreed with a plc structure for a co op, that is why i stayed with the devil i know..

Agree Kev ,board were told last month one more price correction was needed .they were all off on a junket to the us 2 weeks ago .a price cut after that will leave a bad taste .think our sole objective on price now will to stay a nudge ahead of dg and Glanbia .rumours also of a Msa for us to sign before next year after been told at this years agm that he never envisages us having to sign one .there was a few new Glanbia boys at it and no Msa was one of their big pluses for coming to us

You can bet they wont be cutting back on their free bars at all day long xmas partys either, only small money towards what the ****ers are wasting but still its the farmer getting shat on in the pit thats paying for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

Just to add a little bit of balance.

You are lashing out at Glanbia because they are leading the race to the bottom, and rightly so as they hyped the whole 'boom' in dairy.
    Everyone (bar Glanbia and the dairy establishment) warned against price volatility...

I've been warning about this for years now.
    I'm harvesting maize for the THIRD year in a row at sub CoP...

I know that's little solace. But that's world commodity markets.

Lord Sugar would fire GII
    They wouldn't make the 2nd episode

Dawggone wrote:
    You are lashing out at Glanbia because they are leading the race to the bottom, and rightly so as they hyped the whole 'boom' in dairy. Everyone (bar Glanbia and the dairy establishment) warned against price volatility...

Quite true.

Every extra litre we produce in this country is worth no more than the gdt price unless and until someone finds a premium market for it.

Clearly Glanbia either does not presently have the premium market which it's producers thought it had, or has succeeded in stripping the premium for the benefit of the PLC.

Unless Glanbia producers are content to produce commodity priced milk and rely on their direct or indirect dividend from the PLC for part of their farm income they must rightly be questioning what it is they have voted for over the years.. and whether they might have underestimated the value they have given away.

Time will tell, but in the meantime I hope that this month's milk prices are remembered by those who blindly advocate mergers among co-ops as a silver bullet for our industry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭6480

Quite true.

Every extra litre we produce in this country is worth no more than the gdt price unless and until someone finds a premium market for it.

Clearly Glanbia either does not presently have the premium market which it's producers thought it had, or has succeeded in stripping the premium for the benefit of the PLC.

Unless Glanbia producers are content to produce commodity priced milk and rely on their direct or indirect dividend from the PLC for part of their farm income they must rightly be questioning what it is they have voted for over the years.. and whether they might have underestimated the value they have given away.

Time will tell, but in the meantime I hope that this month's milk prices are remembered by those who blindly advocate mergers among co-ops as a silver bullet for our industry.

I am not or would ever be a glanbia supplier but it is gone beyond a joke wat they are able to get away with this year ,it's a potty farmers wouldn't hold their milk from them for a day or two

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

Quite true.

Unless Glanbia producers are content to produce commodity priced milk

Very hard to argue with that Kowtow.

For me, and I must add that I have no idea of the structure of the Coop, Glanbia bet the farm on China being an everlasting source of growth. That was a ballsy bet because Fonterra had/has the inside track into China. So now a plan B is needed...or do they ride out the storm and wait for things to turn around in China?
    You and a few more (including myself) bang on about the need to break into premium products, but I think the MO of the Coop now is to produce commodity product cheaper than NZ. My question is, were farmers informed of this being Glanbia's plan B?

Also, you know well that the tradition and know how is not in Ireland to produce premium products...so the industry is now in a difficult position.
    Without the devaluation of the euro there would be carnage on hard pressed farms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭wats the craic

Timmaay wrote: »
    Any Strathroy suppliers here, what are yous on? Buying in extra heifers and more expansion was what I was seriously thinking about, but likes of this sh1t, why bother.

i am a strathroy supplier left wexford on the 1 april 2014 very one around said i was cracked to leave , ya never get payed etc . it was a huge step into the unknown but boy i am quare glad i stuck my guns and left on ave over the yr and half i have got 3.5 cent better base than with glanbia .last month base price was 27.25 cent a litre not set for sept yet not for another 4 days or so .

remember earlier in the year some one on here said Glanbia will be paying 24cpl for September milk. They were right

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

i am a strathroy supplier left wexford on the 1 april 2014 very one around said i was cracked to leave , ya never get payed etc . it was a huge step into the unknown but boy i am quare glad i stuck my guns and left on ave over the yr and half i have got 3.5 cent better base than with glanbia .last month base price was 27.25 cent a litre not set for sept yet not for another 4 days or so .

Are they mainly liquid milk and fresh products? So technically there price shouldn't be droppping as much as the rest as less powders sold. By the same extent it shouldn't reach the heights when world prices peak.

Dawggone wrote: »
    Very hard to argue with that Kowtow.

For me, and I must add that I have no idea of the structure of the Coop, Glanbia bet the farm on China being an everlasting source of growth. That was a ballsy bet because Fonterra had/has the inside track into China. So now a plan B is needed...or do they ride out the storm and wait for things to turn around in China?
    You and a few more (including myself) bang on about the need to break into premium products, but I think the MO of the Coop now is to produce commodity product cheaper than NZ. My question is, were farmers informed of this being Glanbia's plan B?

Also, you know well that the tradition and know how is not in Ireland to produce premium products...so the industry is now in a difficult position.
    Without the devaluation of the euro there would be carnage on hard pressed farms.

Aside from fresh products and speciality cheeses what type of premium products would be suitable for export?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭alps

Milked out wrote: »
    Aside from fresh products and speciality cheeses what type of premium products would be suitable for export?

I would suggest you do a little trip into any one of the major supermarkets, go through the dairy shelves and look at the country of origin on the packaging. You will see yoplait yougurt, philidelphia cheese,edam cheeses and dairy products from many European countries. They can get perishable here...we can do the same going out.
    Friesland are a major exporter of value added product....the only have a 12 hour distribution advantage on us....
    We have an image and chemical distinction advantage over them..

Google dairy products and get a listing and you will see how many products we could export outside of the lowest common denominator...

The pity is the future of the major processors is now cast in powders, easy production, easy marketing, tied in suppliers. All they need to do is take their required margin. .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭mf240

whelan2 wrote: »
    interestingly they were cheapest quote for meal buying group by a long shot..... work that one out

they must of foward bought the malt sprouts and remills:eek:

mf240 wrote: »
    they must of foward bought the malt sprouts and remills:eek:
    the ingredients were all very good. After yesterdays stroke I will not be buying from them .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭mf240

the ingredients were all very good. After yesterdays stroke I will not be buying from them .

Wait till they decide that we all have to purchase a certain ammout of inputs to get full milk price.

alps wrote: »
    I would suggest you do a little trip into any one of the major supermarkets, go through the dairy shelves and look at the country of origin on the packaging. You will see yoplait yougurt, philidelphia cheese,edam cheeses and dairy products from many European countries. They can get perishable here...we can do the same going out.
    Friesland are a major exporter of value added product....the only have a 12 hour distribution advantage on us....
    We have an image and chemical distinction advantage over them..

Google dairy products and get a listing and you will see how many products we could export outside of the lowest common denominator...

The pity is the future of the major processors is now cast in powders, easy production, easy marketing, tied in suppliers. All they need to do is take their required margin. .....

How much would it cost to develop those products and get them to market? It would end up with us as farmers funding the coops to do that. Has there been research done on the return from it? Dairy research levy should be going towards this surely? Should we stick to producing milk and trying to sell it to processors or are we to go further down the road of producing these products ourselves, which is where we have gone a bit already. We are already funding extra driers how far can we go. Carbery ingredients business in us was an acquisition and is non dairy afaik and is very profitable if these were taken away would it's products from the plant in ballineen allow them to be so far ahead of the curve?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭milkprofit

Quote try a competive merchant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭milkprofit

remember earlier in the year some one on here said Glanbia will be paying 24cpl for September milk. They were right

Now they pay 22.9 how low can they go

Milked out wrote: »
    How much would it cost to develop those products and get them to market? It would end up with us as farmers funding the coops to do that. Has there been research done on the return from it? Dairy research levy should be going towards this surely?

We're not going to produce delicious food products if we keep waiting for some eejit in a white coat with too many low grade university degrees to research it.

FFS it's milk, cream, cheese, butter we've been doing it for Millennia.

Somewhere along the way we either forgot how or became lazy and started to depend on what was handed to us .... a situtation which continues today.

We're not going to produce delicious food products if we keep waiting for some eejit in a white coat with too many low grade university degrees to research it.

FFS it's milk, cream, cheese, butter we've been doing it for Millennia.

Somewhere along the way we either forgot how or became lazy and started to depend on what was handed to us .... a situtation which continues today.

If it's so straight forward why are we not doing it or why did we stop? Didn't mean research the products as such but just to work out the return on the investment required. Not against any of yer points but if it's the answer why aren't we doing it. Industry and government more concerned with optics and their own return rather than ours or whole dairy sector?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Glanbia are more concerned with their sports nutrition division than their farmer suppliers.

RobertKK wrote: »
    Glanbia are more concerned with their sports nutrition division than their farmer suppliers.
    We thought things were bad under john Moloney, they are a hell of alot worse now

Do you know what,I love my job,its been a life long committment, even when I was in college moons ago
    On beautiful days like today its brilliant, youll have bad days sure but do ya know on the whole all good
    I fail to see how the likes of GII management and the plc can stand over the price insult (versus other buyers) they've been giving the people ultimately responsible for them,themselves being able to be in their cushy jobs
    They have no perspective and obviously no conscience
    Maddening and I do hope most are smelling the coffee by now,this bad planning, bad management and frankly codding of the farmer must be stopped

Any suggestions what we do?