People that skip queues!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

Oh and just to be absolutely clear, I have no idea what you're not agreeing with and there's not a chance you do either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,054 ✭✭✭Firewalkwithme

In my experience Travellers are terrible for doing it, especially the kids. Usually the shop owners just serve them and nobody challenges them because they are afraid of the repercussions.

As for buses, most stops serve several routes so how can you form a queue when you don't know who is waiting for what bus? Like most people, I just stand around to in the general area of the stop and when the bus I am waiting for approaches I walk to the kerb. If the bus doors happen to open right in front of me I will of course step on first. If they happened to open in front of someone who had just turned up, well that's just the luck of the draw so what's the point in getting worked up about it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,054 ✭✭✭Firewalkwithme

In my experience Travellers are terrible for doing it, especially the kids. Usually the shop owners just serve them and nobody challenges them because they are afraid of the repercussions.

As for buses, most stops serve several routes so how can you form a queue when you don't know who is waiting for what bus? Like most people, I just stand around to in the general area of the stop and when the bus I am waiting for approaches I walk to the kerb. If the bus doors happen to open right in front of me I will of course step on first. If they happened to open in front of someone who had just turned up, well that's just the luck of the draw so what's the point in getting worked up about it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭Kev W

LDN_Irish wrote: »
    Chip vans are the height (pronounced Hythe just to differentiate myself from the Brits on here) of orderly queueing and good manners compared to Supermacs Galway at club closing time.
    Oh and just to be absolutely clear, I have no idea what you're not agreeing with and there's not a chance you do either.

I was disagreeing with your assertion that mispronouncing the word "height" to "differentiate myself from the Brits" is laudable.

Kev W wrote: »
    I was disagreeing with your assertion that mispronouncing the word "height" to "differentiate myself from the Brits" is laudable.

Jaysus lad, put a *TRIGGER WARNING* on that! You could've killed me. Next you'll be telling me there's no silent H in "height" and that chip vans aren't the height of orderly queueing.

Of course there is. It's just not at the end.

That trigger warning bit was pretty funny though. Well done. Very original. Certainly not bizarre and out of context. Oh my no.

Of course there is. It's just not at the end.

That trigger warning bit was pretty funny though. Well done. Very original. Certainly not bizarre and out of context. Oh my no.

I'm gonna take a leaf out of your book and not understand that you're being sarcastic so, thanks :)

Many years ago we arrived into JFK and were heading for immigration. There was an officer directing passengers to the different numbered booths. Myself and himself were told to go to a particular number. We were behind one or two other passengers and as time went by the queue behind us steadily grew. All of a sudden a woman marches to the front of the queue with two kids. My b/f says to her, "Excuse me there's a queue." Without turning around she snaps, "YEAH WELL I WAS TOLD TO QUEUE HERE." Himself says, "We were all told to queue here." Woman huffs, picks up her bag and goes to the back of the queue.

Another time at Hong Kong immigration I was nearly sent A over T by another passenger who decided to barrel past me as I was headed to the booth. Luckily the immigration officer saw this happen and told the other passenger to go to the back of the queue.

Hate queue skippers!

(Also thinly veiled I've been on a plane post :pac:)

Many years ago we arrived into JFK and were heading for immigration. There was an officer directing passengers to the different numbered booths. Myself and himself were told to go to a particular number. We were behind one or two other passengers and as time went by the queue behind us steadily grew. All of a sudden a woman marches to the front of the queue with two kids. My b/f says to her, "Excuse me there's a queue." Without turning around she snaps, "YEAH WELL I WAS TOLD TO QUEUE HERE." Himself says, "We were all told to queue here." Woman huffs, picks up her bag and goes to the back of the queue.

Another time at Hong Kong immigration I was nearly sent A over T by another passenger who decided to barrel past me as I was headed to the booth. Luckily the immigration officer saw this happen and told the other passenger to go to the back of the queue.

Hate queue skippers!

(Also thinly veiled I've been on a plane post :pac:)

Edit to add: When I worked in a shop I always told queue jumpers there was a queue. Most apologised and joined the queue. Some would get argumentative about it :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭R.D. aka MR.D

Orizio wrote: »
    I've lived in Singapore nearly two and a half years and I've yet to see anyone bar the odd old woman skip queues. In general, the only people with bad manners over here are white tourists.

I haven't had the pleasure of visiting Singapore but I imagine it's somewhat like Hong Kong in terms of etiquette. I was visiting Hong Kong after a year in China and witnessing the Hong Kongese giving out **** to the mainlanders when they tried to skip the queue brought a tear to my eye.

Everywhere, not only the customers but the staff would be getting really irate. They seem to take their manners really seriously there.I imagine that Singapore might be similar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

If there is a shower worse than the black n tans, its queue skippers.

Nonsense, they're worse than the Nazis, there's an absolute holocaust of queue-skipping going on these days! Even Hitler used to stand in line for his vegetarian special of the day in the Nazi bunker canteen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

mrDerek wrote: »
    I dont mean to pry but when you say visually impaired and you have a white cane how do you read stuff on the internet (im not being ignorant just curious)

How is he supposed to read/answer your post if he's visually impaired!?!!?! Insensitive!!!! :mad:

EDIT: That's a joke btw for those of you who are humour impaired. ;)

MadDog76 wrote: »
    How is he supposed to read/answer your post if he's visually impaired!?!!?! Insensitive!!!! :mad:

EDIT: That's a joke btw for those of you who are humour impaired. ;)

It's so kind of you to make jokes especially for the humour impaired. Nobody ever thinks of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 gavoreilly

I've noticed this a lot with buses myself. Old people tend to do it quite a bit, which I don't mind. But otherwise I get very frustrated when someone skips me in the queue, and very often it is women who do so. Of course, I can accept if someone walks by me because they are going to swipe a pre-paid card or swipe their LEAP card. But sometimes people just cut in front of me when they are using their LEAP card at the driver's terminal, or else paying him with coins. Drives me mad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭XplaygirlX

mrDerek wrote:
    I dont mean to pry but when you say visually impaired and you have a white cane how do you read stuff on the internet (im not being ignorant just curious)

No, no probs your grand. I have the font on me phone big or if I'm on the laptop its big too so I can see it perfectly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

It's so kind of you to make jokes especially for the humour impaired. Nobody ever thinks of them.

Ridiculous! Sure they have shows made especially for them, what else the Big Bang Theory for?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Had a glorious run in with one of the worst type of queue skippers today... the traffic light queue skipper! Now I dont mind these types if they hurry across the road after, probably in a race to catch a bus or running late for work or whatever... no big deal. But there are few things in this world more infuriating than someone pushing and nudging their way to the front of the crowd at a busy bus stop... then walking across at a snails pace. Dublin actually isnt that bad for it, but its a massive pain in Toronto and was in Sydney too. I would have no sympathy if I saw someone throw one of these types out in front of traffic at times to be honest, its hard to put into words how infuriating they can be.

So today I was at a busy set of lights and REALLY needed to sneeze. I was at the front and they were not turning green anytime soon, so I made sure to look ahead and cup my hands around my mouth and nose... as you do. Out of nowhere I felt a sharp nudge and elbow, but I was already in that full on squint you get ahead of a big sneeze, it was split seconds off. My hands got knocked away from my face with this hit, and out came the sneeze... all over the back of this womans head and hair. To say she was displeased was an understatement, all I could say, trying not to laugh TOO hard, was “you shouldnt be elbowing past people about to sneeze like that!“ :pac:

I can easily say I have never been so satisfied from sneezing on someone ever before, and probably never will be again. Today was the absolute pinnacle of my career in sneezing. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,130 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

try to avoid ques where possible. big online shopper so dont really buy things in town, go to atms instead of inside the banks (pissed off at this 0.12c charge bolexe, when working in retail people lose it if u cant put through everything on the card in one transaction), normally ring in my food orders.

im a misrible git :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,321 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

I thought this thread was going to be about someone with someone else holding a skipping rope whilst a queue of people jumped over it. :D:D

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

Lads are awful for it as well
    Queue oh no I don't see a queue I'll just saunter up here
    you will in your hole, piss off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,976 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

People who don't understand personal space in a queue are nearly just as bad.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 266 ✭✭Clive Bisquette

People who don't understand personal space in a queue are nearly just as bad.

Agreed ..your in the line ...behind the person in front ...and the person/s behind don't stand directly behind ..but keep nudging up on your outside...you move they move !...Christ he is almost level..

Sometimes almost feel like sayin .."hey pal if you want it so bad go ahead of me" ?

Have resisted the temptation to date ....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 367 ✭✭justchecked

One satisfying memory. Was in a bank and unaccustomed to filling out a deposit form at the time.

So lined up and patiently waited, finally got to the teller and began the transaction.

Ms teller after answering a question ... probably the iban number or branch code....decides that i need to step aside and fill out the document while she takes on the next in line and then i can go directly back to her ...thus having to skip a queue and look like a complete fckwit in front of a line of queueing people.

I disliked the idea of the stares and general fckery of explaining myself to a line of strangers, (after waiting on whoever was behind finish whatever complex bs they had before returning too) so filled in the part i needed...then asked about the next part and was given the answer and asked again to step aside for the real people.

Filled it in as she was explaining to me that she could serve the next person if id just step aside.
    (As im just an inconvenience who merely allows them to loan out my money at profitable rates and charge me service charges for ... maybe some service)

Finished all sections and handed it over now complete, she finished the transaction while explaining that she could have served the next person in the meantime, to which i responded 'yeah but i dont care' and left.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

mfceiling wrote: »
    Yet the amount of you that will let a car in after he's driven the whole way up the outside and decides he's pulling in at the front.

GO FCUK YOURSELF

I've been sitting in traffic for 5 mins yet you think it's ok to waltz past everyone and bang on your indicator at the last second.
    Please folks....keep the gap closed and don't let them in....cnuts
    Easily one of the most annoying things. 'Left lane closed ahead', see a load of cars flooring it trying to get ahead and then the indicator last minute. Just enabling this behaviour by letting them in!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

One satisfying memory. Was in a bank and unaccustomed to filling out a deposit form at the time.

So lined up and patiently waited, finally got to the teller and began the transaction.

Ms teller after answering a question ... probably the iban number or branch code....decides that i need to step aside and fill out the document while she takes on the next in line and then i can go directly back to her ...thus having to skip a queue and look like a complete fckwit in front of a line of queueing people.

I disliked the idea of the stares and general fckery of explaining myself to a line of strangers, (after waiting on whoever was behind finish whatever complex bs they had before returning too) so filled in the part i needed...then asked about the next part and was given the answer and asked again to step aside for the real people.

Filled it in as she was explaining to me that she could serve the next person if id just step aside.
    (As im just an inconvenience who merely allows them to loan out my money at profitable rates and charge me service charges for ... maybe some service)

Finished all sections and handed it over now complete, she finished the transaction while explaining that she could have served the next person in the meantime, to which i responded 'yeah but i dont care' and left.
    Are you the type of person to count out their coins, penny by penny, beginning only after the cashier has given you the cost of everything?

Yours sincerely,
    Former disgruntled Topaz worker. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭superfurry1

The worst culprit is the one who just wants to ask a question and has follow up questions and then gets served before you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,157 ✭✭✭keithclancy

mfceiling wrote: »
    Yet the amount of you that will let a car in after he's driven the whole way up the outside and decides he's pulling in at the front.

GO FCUK YOURSELF

I've been sitting in traffic for 5 mins yet you think it's ok to waltz past everyone and bang on your indicator at the last second.
    Please folks....keep the gap closed and don't let them in....cnuts

Opposite rule on the continent .. the person who merges straight away will get people behind them blowing their horn at them.

Just wasted a load of road ahead of you, or you jammed up all the traffic behind you.

Drive all the way to the end and merge one car for one car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,187 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Tonight in the supermarket.. im buying a couple of beers on way home from work.. guy ahead of me also some beers. Long Q behind us.. then his mate comes along who was never in the Q at all and looks around and they start whispering and he sheepisih says to me ' we are together ' . First guy pays for the beers he had.. mate procedes to lash up his basket of 15 items and proceeds to pay seperately... i just called him a fuxkwit inbread inconsiderate rude degenerate ćunt and that was that... another till opened beside us and i got served...

Another one is at a bar.. im waiting to be served and a couple of people there before me.. bar person askes me what i want ill always point out that it was the other person who was next... i just think its civil and good manners...

You know with the sexisim and stuff... im not down on generalising but its an example of something females often do.. not next ? Just give the order anyway... females ? Let them out in traffic or give way ? Often not an acknolodgment at all. Somone indicate late and merge in front of you or not indicate at a roundabout properly... mostly a bloke...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 367 ✭✭justchecked

Billy86 wrote: »
    Are you the type of person to count out their coins, penny by penny, beginning only after the cashier has given you the cost of everything?

Yours sincerely,
    Former disgruntled Topaz worker. :p

Nope. Just wont be fobbed off by poor service.

Sounds like great service to me, you got taken care of and so did other people. You could have been made to rejoin the queue each time but you weren't. The only bad behaviour was your spiteful actions at the end.