Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2015/16 (*EVERYONE READ MOD POST in OP)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Knex. wrote: »
    Agree with Daithijjj re Skrtel, and would not be surprised or saddened for him to fall out from the first team. The opposite in fact. Its insane to see him take up a starting berth for so damn long.

Not sure I can agree on the Lovren thing, not after looking back at his history with Lyon in detail.

Skrtel is a starter. He's the best centre back we have. That's not a compliment to him, more a sad indictment on the state of our defence. But he's our best CB all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,475 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

monkey9 wrote: »
    Skrtel is a starter. He's the best centre back we have. That's not a compliment to him, more a sad indictment on the state of our defence. But he's our best CB all the same.

Sakho, though.

Forgot about Sahko actually :o I don't think Sahko's much better or any more reliable than Skrtel though. I think Skrtel should always be starting.

But I've wanted an upgrade on Skrtel for a few seasons now and we've never got one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

In Skrtel, it's a long while since we've had a non british captain. It's a populist move. We should get rid of him t h ough as I still have to check the spelling of his weird ass name before I post it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭corwill

monkey9 wrote: »

Skrtel was grand when Carragher or Agger were there to do his thinking for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,983 ✭✭✭✭NukaCola

You can argue that Lovren is/is not a good player. The fact is, for us he has been a disaster, and the clean sheets he was involved in does not show the full picture as he was making a lot of awful mistakes in them also. My worry with him is not the goals we conceded or how we setup in defence with him but how terrible he was in the absolute basics of defending and decision making.

Its definitely a mental thing and not necessarily a coaching thing IMO, maybe a combination of the two. Maybe Klopp will be able to get something more out of him. As bad as some people think Skrtel is I'd trust him far more than Lovren, and he shouldn't start ahead of Sakho either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Lucas on first day of training with Klopp.
    “So far, so good. Monday was our first day on the grass with the new manager in charge. It has been very positive.

“There is a lot of information and as players we need to listen a lot now, and learn and try to put everything he asks us to do onto the pitch and off the pitch as well. It has been very good, very positive and hopefully it will keep going like that.

“He seems to be very passionate – he likes to put in everything that he has and he asks the players for the same. Be very intense, be aggressive with yourself, is what he has been saying.

“Always try to be better, always give 10 metres more, because that will be the key to success. That is what he has been saying to us in the last couple of days.

“He seems to be a very open manager and someone that likes to be close to the players, but very straight as well. That’s what I’ve learned from the last couple of days and I think it was a positive way to start.”

http://www.liverpoolfc.com/news/first-team/195829-lucas-reveals-jrgen-klopp-s-impact-so-far

klose wrote: »

I see suso is in line to get the chop at milan in january too, pretty crazy move that.

Milan will make a few quid out of that presumably? £1m ish they gave Liverpool, they'd defo get £5m+ you'd imagine for him.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,606 Mod ✭✭✭✭spockety

I predict a 10000% increase in sales of red New Balance baseball caps. Hope they've the production lines ready!

• Subscribers Posts: 737 ✭✭✭FlipperThePriest

spockety wrote: »
    I predict a 10000% increase in sales of red New Balance baseball caps. Hope they've the production lines ready!

Not to mention this and indeed these bad boys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭Nerdlingr

Skrtel and Agger had more clean sheets when they played as a pairing than Sakho and Agger or Sakho and Skrtel, despite people believing otherwise.

According to a few on here the re-introduction of Sakho and Lucas back into our first 11 a few weeks back was meant to solve all our defensive woes, and look how that turned out.

Halloween is just going to be a fecking load of Klopp's walking around the gaff in hipster glasses and a baseball cap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

Halloween is just going to be a fecking load of Klopp's walking around the gaff in hipster glasses and a baseball cap.

Can't wait

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,020 ✭✭✭brevity

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Nerdlingr wrote: »
    Skrtel and Agger had more clean sheets when they played as a pairing than Sakho and Agger or Sakho and Skrtel, despite people believing otherwise.

According to a few on here the re-introduction of Sakho and Lucas back into our first 11 a few weeks back was meant to solve all our defensive woes, and look how that turned out.

Liverpool's woes at the back are systemic ultimately. Focusing on personalities is distracting us from that (still think Lovren is crap though!).

Klopp's brain is missing! :eek:
    Jurgen Klopp is set to be missing one of his assistants for Saturday’s clash with Tottenham Hotspur, with Zeljko Buvac facing work permit issues.

Klopp is heavily reliant on Buvac as his tactical mind, but the German is set to be without his assistant for the first game of his Liverpool tenure.

The Bosnian is yet to obtain a work permit for his move to Merseyside, according to numerous reports on Wednesday.

“The man who Klopp has described as ‘his brain’ has not arrived in England yet as he is still waiting to obtain a work permit,” explains the Independent.

“Liverpool are hopeful that Buvac will be granted clearance in time to be on the touchline for their new manager’s first game against Tottenham Hotspur on Saturday.”

Kloppo and the Brain, Kloppo and the Brain. One is a genius, the other insane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,567 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Kloppo and the Brain, Kloppo and the Brain. One is a genius, the other insane.

Fairly accurate description of them too.

Did people know that Gerrard had a new book out? He's been very quiet about it.

Here's a bit:
    I had been straining the whole half to make something happen, so had Luis. Chelsea just kept blunting us. And then I’d slipped. The dressing room was hushed.

‘Look,’ Brendan said, imploring the other players, ‘if anyone deserves to be bailed out it’s him.’ His finger pointed at me. ‘Your captain needs you to all pay him back. The amount of times he’s pulled this club out of a mess and changed impossible situations and got players out of trouble are the stuff of legend. Now it’s time you repay him. You’ve got forty-five minutes to do it.’

Brendan looked at me. ‘Stevie, forget it,’ he said. ‘It happens. Let’s all go out and win this game. We can do it.’

Here's a bit:

"Your captain needs you to all pay him back. The amount of times he’s pulled this club out of a mess and changed impossible situations and got players out of trouble are the stuff of legend. Now it’s time you repay him. You’ve got forty-five minutes to do it."

And the players thought the best thing was to keep giving him the ball at every shooting opportunity.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,890 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

I'm looking forward to seeing how our play and tactics change and evolve under Klopp. I'm not expecting miracles of course, and we might be slow to see how things are different even perhaps. I hope we can see a change in the way personnel are used and how we set up in attack and/or defence, but that may take time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,567 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Here's a bit:

If he got through that whole speech without mentioning character once, that is probably his biggest achievement at the club.

brevity wrote: »
    "Your captain needs you to all pay him back. The amount of times he’s pulled this club out of a mess and changed impossible situations and got players out of trouble are the stuff of legend. Now it’s time you repay him. You’ve got forty-five minutes to do it."

And the players thought the best thing was to keep giving him the ball at every shooting opportunity.

I think we have a lot of evidence over the years that points to the team being sadly lacking in leaders and characters, especially when in a dog fight. That was just one more example of it. They all looked for Gerrard and Suarez to take charge.

You take Gerrard, Carra and Suarez aside from our players over the last 5+ years, and its hard to put you're complete trust in many others in those scenarios.

Hopefully we can get a few players who step up now under Klopp, but I still question the character of this squad, being honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,316 ✭✭✭✭K-9

you must not follow lfc news at all if this is what you think based on what went on before and since his departure regarding agger's performances and quality.

he was done unfortunately,its not a secret. no other big club wanted him.

using it as a stick against a former manager is unnecessary,there are plenty of factual sticks to use,this aint one,and its been repeated several times on here.

Didn't somebody put up his appearance stats in Denmark?

Good and all as he was Rodgers and the club did the right thing, its OK to say that?

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

I actually finished Gerrard's book last night. It's a decent enough read, interesting to read about the last few seasons. Rodgers comes out of it very well, but so too does Hodgson so whatever.

Jesus, Gerrard loves talking about how great he his and how much the fans love him. I mean, it's true an all but he hasn't a bother saying it.

He's also a bit of a Captain Hindsight. When he's talking about defeats or when things went wrong, it's either somebody else's fault or he talks about how he wouldn't have set up this way or that that should have been done differently etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

I look forward to that inspirational speech in 'Gerrard: The Movie'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

brevity wrote: »

Not bad, but does it top Rodgers at the 2013 Malaysian Bowls Championship?
    OBEVuSV.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,983 ✭✭✭✭NukaCola

Did people know that Gerrard had a new book out?

Read it. Quite good actually. It mainly goes into the last two seasons.

One thing that kinda stood out, at least to me, was SG said that Emre Can at HT in the 6-1 defeat at Stoke stood up and started to speak to the team taking the full responsibility before SG and others stopped him and then collectively took the blame.

Also, its clear from the book that he has a lot of respect for BR, despite not always agreeing with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

The brain has landed