DCM 2015: Mentored Novices Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

frash wrote: »
    Is there a finalised list yet that we might be able to see?

Ill put up a list later in the week as there is still changes to be made...but due to popular demand the happy Mr and missus Stew will be defo doin sub 4 hr pace..unfortuntly grumpyscemo will be joining them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭Bez Bing

Laois_Man wrote: »
    Don't mind if I do :)

Even if it does go perfectly, the main thing I learned last year as a novice was not to rely solely on gels anyway. You'll need something else - especially if it goes wrong with the gels - but IMO, also even if it doesn't. Try to have supporters at say roughly the one-third and 2-third points (say the 9 mile sign and the 18 mile sign). Have them hand you something. Know exactly where they'll be, what side of the road they will be on and know exactly what they will hand you - make sure they know all this too - and roughly what time you should be at the meeting point at. Even practice the hand-over strategy - don't stop or it may be a struggle to get going again. I noticed last year a good number of people had support from cyclists who would come up and cycle beside them for a short time and even taking a shopping list to get, to go away and come back with further up the course....because needs might change.

I would not necessarily agree with this. For whatever reason people may not be exactly where you need/expect them to be (you're ahead of time, behind time, weather, crowds, gone for a toilet break, other distractions (a sneaky pint sure he's not due for another 20 mins), etc) and if are depending on them and you miss them it can have a negative impact on your race.
    The marathon is a very individual race, you will all be going at different paces and feel good and bad at different points. Try to bring what you need with you and budget for the aid stations. There are lots of kind souls along the route giving out banana, jellies, jaffa cakes if you really need them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,636 ✭✭✭frash

Bez Bing wrote: »
    There are lots of kind souls along the route giving out banana, jellies, jaffa cakes if you really need them.

Might have to practice eating some of them :D

I said this earlier in the thread, but it's more relevant now that the end is nigh! A friend and I went to hand out sweets at the edinburgh marathon earlier in the year, we had bags upon bags of haribos that didn't last all that long, we also had jaffa cakes which we handed out at the last water station (you know, so they could take a drink with them - we're so smart :D), they were everyone's second favourite thing (haribos coming in third).

We also had a net of tangerines or whatever you call them thrown in the backpack, so when we ran out of eveyrhitnng else we started handing out segements of them. Well. the runners nearly took our hands and all when they saw them!

Moral of the story: if you're a supporter and you want to have treats for runners - ORANGES - LOTS OF ORANGES :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

Bez Bing wrote: »
    I would not necessarily agree with this. For whatever reason people may not be exactly where you need/expect them to be (you're ahead of time, behind time, weather, crowds, gone for a toilet break, other distractions (a sneaky pint sure he's not due for another 20 mins), etc) and if are depending on them and you miss them it can have a negative impact on your race.
    The marathon is a very individual race, you will all be going at different paces and feel good and bad at different points. Try to bring what you need with you and budget for the aid stations. There are lots of kind souls along the route giving out banana, jellies, jaffa cakes if you really need them.

True story:

At the half marathon I was cheering away at mile 4, holding on to my stick with the balloons and a few of you spotted me as you ran past and yelled 'hi' at me. I heard a lady say to her daughter that it was a great idea and that 'at the marathon we should have a balloon so daddy can spot us'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

@Whoopsy - Barcelona marathon gives out orange slices and nuts at 30km and it makes a lovely change. Not as tooth-rottingly sweet as endless gels and sweets.

A random one for those with an iron stomach and plenty of water - for the London Triathlon this year I wasn't able to take on much sweet stuff at all due to being 8 weeks pregnant and a little averse to anything really sugary. I had two mini pork pies and citrus Nuun in my bottle on the bike and they set me up very well for the run.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

@Whoopsy - Barcelona marathon gives out orange slices and nuts at 30km and it makes a lovely change. Not as tooth-rottingly sweet as endless gels and sweets.

Milan too although they had fruit the whole way round, maybe its a continent thing?

OK Whoops, will add oranges to the bag of strawberries :) just need to find the best location, possibly the junction of Milltown & Clonskeagh Road between mile 20 & 21..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭Stevo1983

No aches or pains during today's training. Think my body might be fully recovered after running it into the ground over the last month:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 Leecheryl

Thanks Mrs Mc (I have to admit i'm struggling with these pseudonym's)! If i don't see you at the start, i'll see you at the finish or should I say McGrattan's :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Laois_Man wrote: »
    Don't mind if I do :)

By the way – I haven’t followed this thread that closely. Maybe it’s been mentioned – but I haven’t seen it. Is today “Toenail Tuesday”? :D

Thanks for all that Laois Man! You're way ahead of us :D Toenail Tuesday is next week, as will be the final fuelling strategy talk, although most here have theirs nailed down over the last weeks and months. Will you be around on the 26th?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 Leecheryl

Thanks Toulouse! I'll be sticking close to PJD for the big one, don't worry :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭PJD

The t shirt has been printed!!! Mad wee shop on Bolton st. €10 to print it on a tried and tested (and clean!) Running top... bargain!

Just quietly leaving this here....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 916 ✭✭✭JMSE

hi dubgal & co, havent been logging into boards at all as I havent been able to run, I find it hard to read running reports the instant my own training goes off the rails a bit. I've done maybe two good runs in 3 weeks since I picked up a knee bother. I dont even think its running related, I think I banged it once too many times at work and running then aggravates it. Find walking on it even a problem all last week.

So u mightnt hear from me til after the day, either way, best of luck to one and all.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭unaaine

Last interval session done! Was not up for this at all and really dragged my feet going out but glad I went. 9km with 3* 1,600m @ 4.45 p/km with 70% of interval time recovery. Left calf a little tight but nothing serious and have physio tomorrow who'll hopefully work on that a bit. Good one to have over & done with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭unaaine

Dubgal72 wrote: »

Puts it all in perspective. Well done TFGR.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭jake1970

Great post on Target Talk Dubgal.

I said from the start that my target time was sub 3:20 and well, it still is sub 3:20. This target is based on how well The Controllables went and they went very well. The plan im doing is a 12 week plan, which might look short but its on the back of a 10 week 10k training cycle. I have completed 47 out of the 48 training days in the plan so far, i missed a LT session due to a slight injury. Apart from the missed session i have completed all the rest of the key sessions, 3x20 miles, 1x18 miles and all the PMP sessions, on target.
    Apart from a good training cycle there are 2 other things that i think are worth a mention that make me confident of reaching my A goal, they are

1. half way through the plan i ran a sub 1:30 PB in the Athlone half marathon.
    This gave me an unbelievable boost in confidence, im still on a high from it.
    2. since the start of 2014 i have ran approx. 3200 miles. The last 6 miles of the marathon really is a step into the unknown, so im hoping the mileage that i have put in over the last 22 months will stand to me on marathon day.

As for the Uncontrollables thats what they are uncontrollable, best not to spend any time worrying about them:).

The immediate goal now is to reach the start line on the 26th fit and healthy.

A goal: sub 3:20
    B goal: sub 3:30
    C goal: Finish my first marathon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Emsy 1

Very moving, you are an inspiration TFGR I wish you the very best in the marathon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Toulouse

PJD wrote: »
    The t shirt has been printed!!! Mad wee shop on Bolton st. €10 to print it on a tried and tested (and clean!) Running top... bargain!

Awesome! Must sort mine.

What did you get on it or is it a surprise for us on the day? :D

unaaine wrote: »
    Puts it all in perspective. Well done TFGR.

Proud to know ya C!

I think I'm losing my mind but at least I don't think I'm getting any sicker!

Went to bed early last night feeling rotten. I have no doubt I have something, had a bit of a headache on Saturday but put it down to the annoyance of being let down. Felt a little rough and out of sorts on Sunday, again I was putting it down to Saturday but I think perhaps I just have a very very mild dose of something.

Eitherway, I set my alarm for 5.45am this morning so I could do 6 miles but said if I wasn't feeling well that I wouldn't get up. Low and behold I wake up feeling fine so got out there. First frost of the autumn but was still a beautiful morning for a run. Did a little gym sesh this evening and feeling fine. Another early night (with another whiskey shot for luck) and I should be back to my normal self in the morning with any luck. Thanks for all the well wishes :)

Will save the planned pace talk for tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭diego_b

4 miles easy completed tonight, knee felt grand throughout. Avg pace was 9:09 with splits of 9:25, 9:07, 9:03, 9:03.
    Tomorrow night I will do 40mins or so on the bike and then run again on Thursday. For now I am avoided running consecutive days, the strategy has worked well for two weeks now so not going to change it.

I put the strapping on myself this evening before, the physio said I should practice doing it so he showed me how to do it last time I was in. For now I am only wearing it running and all is well. I take it off then, I hadn't heard of hypafix till this very thread less than a month ago, super stuff! For DCM day the physio is going to put it on on Friday before I travel up but just in case something goes wrong with it I am getting more confident that I can put it on pretty well myself.

I put 4 strips of hypafix (5cm wide) across my knee to act as a base and then the zinc oxide tape goes on on top, one piece about half way down the knee cap, then two pieces goes each side of the knee cap so it looks a bit like an upside down triangle.
    Interestingly I believe there's a decent placebo effect goes on with the tape, I wore it around the house with just the hypafix only on....it does nothing on it's own and yet my brain goes that feels better that way! Good oul stupid brain.
    Talked about the placebo effect with the physio and he thinks there is a certain amount to that for sure as some studies he said are unsure how much a small bit of tape can help a joint. But like myself he believes if the placebo effect works for you then when not use it.

Night night novices, talk tomorrow :) Sleep well!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

Thanks for all that Laois Man! You're way ahead of us :D Toenail Tuesday is next week, as will be the final fuelling strategy talk, although most here have theirs nailed down over the last weeks and months. Will you be around on the 26th?

Oops....I shouldn't have just done my toe nails this evening then! :D

Sorry for jumping ahead - I was sure Toenail Tuesday was earlier than that!

Yeah I am running the marathon on the 26th too. Although every twinge I feel at the moment has me convinced I'm about to collapse in a heap and not be able to even walk again 'til at least the 27th ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭PJD

Toulouse wrote: »
    Awesome! Must sort mine.

What did you get on it or is it a surprise for us on the day? :D

Just got 'PAUL'.... if you saw the shop you would understand! Didnt want to over complicate things! Suppose it is my name after all!! :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

Just popping in here to say good luck to everyone on the 26th, I've been following the thread for a while now and the advice\guidance being dished out is really something else. ( loved the tapering and target posts DG!)

Really enjoyed seeing the progress people have made as they worked their way through their plans.

The marathon journey ( and it is a journey :p) represents something different to everyone and we all have our own targets, hopes and dreams for the big day, enjoy the rest of the taper and well done for getting this far ( coz it ain't easy!). for anyone who is missing out with injury - there will be other marathons, don't fret!

Fingers crossed for favorable conditions on the day but as others have already said in the thread - there are uncontrollables that we just have to put up with.

Give it socks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭JacEim

Target time!

My background:
    Returned to training in January after a year out with meniscus injury/surgery after an Adventure race. Weighed in at 16 1/2st on Jan 1 and couldn't run 5k without stopping. Started cycling / running with the target of getting down to
    14st.
    Training went really well and had originally planned to do Gaelforce West in August, but was a little nervous of knees again. Always wanted to do a marathon so signed up in the first week of July. Downloaded the Asics sub 4 hour plan and felt I had a decent base done as I was running 3-4times per week for the previous 5-6 months.
    I have pretty much hit every deliverable of the plan, and have for the most part felt very good in doing it. I have no injuries except a tight Achilles which I think I have had all year long so doubtful it's going to cause an issue now. Weight is down to 13 1/2st which is great also! I have probably done more than the plan mileage every week and did one extra 19M LSR more than the plan asked for. My paces have been much too fast for the Sub 4 plan and despite the good advice from here I have consistently not taken it. I have only run 1 race since starting the training program, it was only 4 miles and while I was very happy with it, it is not relevant for Marathon target setting. I did run a 1:37 HM training race over 2 months ago which I was very happy with. 1:37 x 2 + 20 gives me a projected time of 3:34. This is rubbish as it's not remotely achievable, but based on 2 of my 20M runs (2:46 and 2:43), I am feeling that 3:45 is my A target for the 26th, with 4:00 being the B target. What do people think of this as an A target based on my progress so far?
    I have just realised that the pacers are 3:40 and 3:50. I feel like I should go out with the 3:40 Pacers and let them gradually pull ahead of me, as it is easier to keep an eye on something that is in front of you than something behind. Make sense?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

If your goal is 3:45 ignore the pacers. You don't want to go out too fast and crash and burn as a result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭JacEim

I originally signed up for wave 2 based on a sub 4 target (Wave 2 is for sub 3:50 onwards). Rang the marathon helpline this morning to see if I could change to wave 1, and they told me that wave 1 is now full :(

Advice on the call was to position myself near the front of the wave 2 start and get away relatively easily from this.

Does this make sense? Assume there be loads of people in wave 2 who are targeting a sub 3:50 time or much faster than this ?
    I don't want to be in a situation where a smaller number of people are running out on their own with a gap to the people in wave 1 in front. Sorry if this is a silly question, have no idea how these things work....

I walked my friends to their pens last year, and there was absolutely no one directing people to the correct waves. It was self policed. There were people with Wave 3 colours in Wave 2 etc (I was also in Wave 2 for a few minutes!). I don't know if this normal and I don't know if it will be the same this year, but it might be the case that you can still run in Wave 1 on the day?