Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clare GAA discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,485 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

Hidalgo wrote: »
    Malone doesn't really qualify as an isolated player of course.
    He's from a hurling club and transferred to another.
    Nothing like Lissycasey/Kilmaley or Ballyea/Clonegad.

as you say it's complex.
    For me it's just wrong

has happened alot down through the years in club football where lads left junior or intermediate clubs and joined up with senior clubs usually neighboring clubs
    a number of players down through the years have left my own club and won county titles with better sides without exactly leaving the parrish either its something that has always existed if you ask me and yes it is wrong in my opinion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,845 ✭✭✭Hidalgo

Clareman wrote: »
    I may have had a beverage or 12 when I entered that last night so I'm not sure to be honest.

Colin Lynch was part of the Eire Óg 25 year team today, he'll be up in a few years again as captain of Kilmlaey, probably the ultimate isolated player in Clare, I think he played for Ballyea underage as well.

Kilmaley would have been the natural club for Lynch.

He was only 17-18 with hair to his shoulders when he won that title with Eire Og

I may have had a beverage or 12 when I entered that last night so I'm not sure to be honest.

Colin Lynch was part of the Eire Óg 25 year team today, he'll be up in a few years again as captain of Kilmlaey, probably the ultimate isolated player in Clare, I think he played for Ballyea underage as well.

think himself and martin daly from lissycaesy played underage for eire og , i think it was fergie o'loughlin who embraced the isolated players rule in ballyea a few years back when he was involved with there under age setups he had half of west clare training with them at one stage

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Kilmaley and Lissycasey always shared players, I think they won a minor championship when over half the team were from Kilmaley. Conor Clancy played football with them as well.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Hidalgo wrote: »
    He was only 17-18 with hair to his shoulders when he won that title with Eire Og

When I saw Barry playing for the Clare minor footballers a few years back it was like looking into a time warp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

Anyone else feel that the inclusion of cathal malone on the bridge team kinda sullies the idea of gaa being a parish game? ? Its no different to soccer now really. .... a lot of lads describing the match tomorrow as clonlara v the bridge/ennistymon amalgamation. ...

I have a soft spot for Clare hurling. Is the solution not a West Clare amalgamation in hurling? Between fellows hurling in St. Flannan's and guards, bank clerks etc from hurling counties living and working in West Clare, surely it would work, even if it had to start as a junior or intermediate team. And I think it would get good support.

feargale wrote: »
    I have a soft spot for Clare hurling. Is the solution not a West Clare amalgamation in hurling? Between fellows hurling in St. Flannan's and guards, bank clerks etc from hurling counties living and working in West Clare, surely it would work, even if it had to start as a junior or intermediate team. And I think it would get good support.

tradition is the only way i can answer that , clare have very little of that at inter county but loads of it at club level

in the boom years my own club in west clare had a hurling setup that was on par to what they were doing at football , when the recsision kicked in things changed it just cost too much to run a bus to whitegste tonight broadford or kilaloe the next and then the same for a football squad at u12 u14 and u16 level

reality is we can barely field one football team at the moment ,clare has a small tradition built up in the last 20 years at inter county level but before that it was always about what happend at club level.....it still is to be fair , newmarket , the mills and cloony quinn tried football in the good years too but had to abort when thing started to get tight so its probably best the way it is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭tatoo

Anyone else feel that the inclusion of cathal malone on the bridge team kinda sullies the idea of gaa being a parish game? ? Its no different to soccer now really. .... a lot of lads describing the match tomorrow as clonlara v the bridge/ennistymon amalgamation. ...

Wait until you see whom they have lined up for next year !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭N20

Castletroy & Flannans first into fray for Harty today

Love a report if anyone at it

Beautiful day for hurling I hope its a good game

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭sasta le

tatoo wrote: »

Go on tell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,434 ✭✭✭Gael85

feargale wrote: »

Kilkee/Bealacha had a team there a few years ago with lads from West Clare clubs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,187 ✭✭✭opinionated3

tatoo wrote: »

I'll assume you are referring to the impending rumoured arrival of bugler? In a way i think i can kinda understand it as i believe he is actually resident in the bridge. Having that said, personally I'll never understand abandoning ones own parish. It was what the gaa was always based in in my opinion. Also it doesn't say much for the underage structure of a thriving town like the bridge where they have to transfer players from other parishes to get ahead. The malone one especially seems to have struck a raw nerve with followers of the game. They didn't need malone as such. They have almost got too many hurlers in the bridge it's gone that big there. ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Figerty

I'll assume you are referring to the impending rumoured arrival of bugler? In a way i think i can kinda understand it as i believe he is actually resident in the bridge. Having that said, personally I'll never understand abandoning ones own parish. It was what the gaa was always based in in my opinion. Also it doesn't say much for the underage structure of a thriving town like the bridge where they have to transfer players from other parishes to get ahead. The malone one especially seems to have struck a raw nerve with followers of the game. They didn't need malone as such. They have almost got too many hurlers in the bridge it's gone that big there. ....

Very true. Malone was apparently doing the rounds of clubs to see what was on offer. I know that he didn't transfer to Inagh....around the same time the two boys over there jumped ship to Dublin.....wasn't much chance of him going there when that happened.

What the Bridge have done by accepting him is undermine the value of their victory.. but you can also argue that very few teams have won a championship without outside players coming in. In this case it's the nature of the transfer that has annoyed people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,187 ✭✭✭opinionated3

Totally agree. A lot of hurling folk that i have discussed this with are actually more disappointed with the county board for allowing this carry on rather than with the club themselves. ...but then again who is running the county board? !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,845 ✭✭✭Hidalgo

I heard a story last weekend of a different name. The man that passed it to me didn't know if there was a grain of truth in it or just bs.

If it does turn out to be true, it'll be a farce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,368 ✭✭✭letowski

Just on the Clare hurling panel, Podge is going to be back, again as a duel player.

Have to say, Im really not sure about this. He still has a cruicate injury and going duel, this seems excessive. That and along with Davy going back on his words that playing both codes doesnt work, is surprising. This is quite new for me as Davy is quite a stubborn individual as we know.

Anyways it should be viewed I think as a positive too that Podge is back hurling and that there is an agreement between his dad and Davy. Also strong rumours of Kinnerk back is great aswell.

Speaking to a few people my understanding is that Podge is back with the hurlers for pre-season and a decision about the whole dual thing will come around early in the new year, at the moment it's purely around getting him back fit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭deaddonkey15

Waterford up first in the Championship next year. A good test. It will be very interesting to see if they have will have sustained their form from this year. I personally think we'll be going the qualifier route again next summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

Waterford up first in the Championship next year. A good test. It will be very interesting to see if they have will have sustained their form from this year. I personally think we'll be going the qualifier route again next summer.

Imo not a great draw for waterford as if clare sort there house there much more refined sweeper system with serious forwards will cause waterford problems
    Podge Collins is going back so it yet again proves it is totally united camp despite rumours which were incorrect

Davy knows waterford inside out and also waterford will be huge favourite on last year and waterford don't do favourite tags well
    Imo cork with new management, limerick serious problems in camp, Tipperary in transition would have been better

Clare yes have problems but with Collins coming back it is huge progress and clare have huge talent with like him or not in davy a proven management
    I heard Kinnerk is coming back also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭tatoo

Imo not a great draw for waterford as if clare sort there house there much more refined sweeper system with serious forwards will cause waterford problems
    Podge Collins is going back so it yet again proves it is totally united camp despite rumours which were incorrect

Davy knows waterford inside out and also waterford will be huge favourite on last year and waterford don't do favourite tags well
    Imo cork with new management, limerick serious problems in camp, Tipperary in transition would have been better

Clare yes have problems but with Collins coming back it is huge progress and clare have huge talent with like him or not in davy a proven management
    I heard Kinnerk is coming back also

"A more refined sweeper system with serious forwards"

What do you mean by that ?
    Apersistance with playing SOD out on his own upfront without a comrade within sixty yards, and possibly the best forward in Munster ( CMG) playing wing back,
    And this "system" could cause problems for Waterford ??

Can we not forget about systems for other teams and just concentrate on the best setup for OUR team, for me that's a 2 man full forward line with 3 in midfield who cover or attack as needed, nice and simple

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭Hurleratheart

Delited to see Podge back

Dual not perfect but solves more problems than it creates

Good luck to him

Can we not forget about systems for other teams and just concentrate on the best setup for OUR team, for me that's a 2 man full forward line with 3 in midfield who cover or attack as needed, nice and simple
    I'd agree a two man full forward line would be good as it would create space inside with runners from deep hard to defend against.
    Who would be your full forward line.
    Cunningham and o Donnell for me

In relation to the question tattoo asked me.

Firstly If your going to quote part my post no problem but don't quote sub text, quote all the sentence as you will find the start of the post has huge significant value to my point which started with as I quoted as below :in my full quote was as below :

if clare sort there house there more refined sweeper with serious forwards will cause waterford problems.

Quoting parts of it is not correct.
    The full part is key.

The key part is i said I quote
    if clare sort out there house which means sort out there problems , which no doubt there was problems last year but Collins coming back shows unity and if Kinnerk joins then whether people like or don't like Davy him and Kinnerk worked before so the sweeper system that clare had to win the all ireland two years ago Imo would possibly come back and be as effective.
    The defence needs to be improved but clare were scoring hugely last year all league and championship and with kelly Donnell, Collins, Cunningham, Ryan etc clare have one of the best forward units around.

Last year there was problems as results showed but clare system when played correctly is more refined than most sweeper as clare score a lot.
    A lot of uncertainty until it's confirmed Kinnerk is coming back as it may be true or untrue.
    If Kinnerk comes back it does look better than last year surely.
    Clare have intermediate all ireland and under twenty one and senior winners.
    People don't Rate davy but Kinnerk rejoining would alleviate such concerns going forward Imo and of all the Munster counties clare would be better placed imo.
    I am not doubting problems don't need to be fixed.
    But all of the problems clare have imo can be fixed.

I'd agree a two man full forward line would be good as it would create space inside with runners from deep hard to defend against.
    Who would be your full forward line.
    Cunningham and o Donnell for me

We've so many options it's crazy, you could play any 1 of about 6 players in there and not weaken the team. I don't think that Cunningham or SoD are strong enough to play as target men, they are better running onto ball, so who I'd play in there would really depend on the type of game we're planning on playing.

I'd agree.
    I said it on the cork thread that the one team i did not want to play was clare.
    If and it's and if Kinnerk does come back but if it's true clare will be very strong and Cork with new management tipp in transition and concerns over Ryan management, limerick having according to the leader problems within clare imo could be the real danger.

Waterford would be ahead of the others but they still imo haven't beaten anyone of note yet and clare would have no reason to fear them having beaten them at under twenty one.
    Clare record in munster is very poor but that will change some day and they have huge motivation next year as if they loose next year davy probably would have to go.
    Is Kinnerk coming back?

Next year HAS to be an All Ireland semi final at least, nothing else really matters, well relegation in the league would be a big kick in the nuts but we have to get back to the business end of the championship, how we get there doesn't matter in my eyes. Probably going through Munster would be the easiest

I'd agree and if not davy should go as would have outgrown clare.
    I think beating waterford means yere in an all ireland quarter final.
    Munster with the long gap is not worth winning and wouldn't imo suit clare and kk are likely be easier to beat in a semi final than final so clare could meet kk in a semi
    Nobody will beat kk going physical or the direct route. The only hope is pace, width of the ptich with dynamic movement imo.
    Clare if the coaching is sorted offer the best chance of that imo.
    There's talk David Fitzgerald at full back is called up and he's a good full back.

I'd agree and if not davy should go as would have outgrown clare.
    I think beating waterford means yere in an all ireland quarter final.
    Munster with the long gap is not worth winning and wouldn't imo suit clare and kk are likely be easier to beat in a semi final than final so clare could meet kk in a semi
    Nobody will beat kk going physical or the direct route. The only hope is pace, width of the ptich with dynamic movement imo.
    Clare if the coaching is sorted offer the best chance of that imo.
    There's talk David Fitzgerald at full back is called up and he's a good full back.

IF Clare don't do anything next year Davy has to go cause he clearly isn't up to it, 4 All Ireland Under 21s and a Senior means you have big targets to hit.

No doubt about that.
    I was of the view of that last year that this year was key but wanted management to get one more year.

If Kinnerk joins with Collins it does mean that some unity is found and I think Collins coming in shows the management are willing to compromise

Im not a fan of dualism and as Cork proved I don't think it can work and imo clare were right to say no last year but it shows there willing to meet players half way which is good.

Even last year when clare weren't winning as I posted in the league clare pushed kk in kk in a relegation final all the way and if Kinnerk comes in with Collins they will be improved from last year and the two kk league games with beating kk twice at under twenty one in final imo shows clare don't fear kk.
    The key will be if Kinnerk joins.
    Any news when it will be confirmed the clare coaching team next year.