DCM 2015: Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,413 ✭✭✭Steroo

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Ouch. That is all :pac: Sure if you've run a marathon before, you know what you're in for....

Ah stop! Anyway fair play to you doing the thread - a lot of work - it was a huge help to me in 2012.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Last LSR for me today 16 miles easy on the plan. Legs had been very niggley all week and a new niggle in the knee had me a bit concerned but the icing and grass running this week have helped and the knee didn't give out at all. The calves are definately tired but putting that down to the the last number of weeks training as I broke 500 miles this week on marathon training. Had my usual running team with me this morning even MrsKennyG who had sent me a picture of a cocktail during the night so fair play to her after her late night turning up to keep me company. Thanks to HelenAnne for changing her running route to run with me for a while this morning too while I was doing a stretch on my own. We also passed AQuinn looking like she was about to head off sailing for the day nice change from running A. Run felt good. Looking forward to taper next week. Average pace 11.10. Well done on LSRs everyone, we are nearly there now.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭jake1970

Week 10 of 12. 39.3 miles
    Hey, how's the calf today?

Not as bad as i first feared, i foam rolled last night and again this morning and then i decided to do the TRR pain test and i ended up running 12 miles:). Both calves feel tight with the left one worse. I had the Physio prebooked for Monday week anyway but if the calves get worse i will try and get an earlier appointment. In the mean time plenty of foam rolling and stretching and i will drop the speed sessions in the plan and just run easy miles for this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭unaaine

Hi unaaine, ouch ouch ouch but hopefully the antibiotics will sort it out. You may already know but IME, antibiotics really drain the body so lower your expectations when you make it out to run, even after you stop taking the course. We'll all have a reminder on the 20th of this month: Toenail Tuesday :D

Thanks Dubgal yes I really didn't want to take them at all but had to weigh it up against possibly not being able to run at all if I let it go any further. Have started taking udo's choice super 8 as well in the hope that it might balance it out. Did my 20 lsr on Friday and an easy recovery run today and didn't feel under any more pressure than usual!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

Mrs Mc wrote: »
    Well done G ye all looked very fresh when I passed you this morning you are fading away :)

Looking in fine spirits yourselves, G only got in after 2.30
    Don't know how she went out this morning. But in fine form
    Now so must have done her good.

Just looked at next week, mileage falls of a cliff. Lots of
    RNR to come, enjoy the taper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭Peter D61

Last long run done this morning, 20 miles av pace 10:47. The first 15 miles were great, felt strong, took gels as planned, hydrated. Then my legs went and the last 3 miles were really hard. I've done a lot in the last few weeks including the athlone 3/4, so I suppose my old legs are just worn out. Massage booked for tomorrow evening. Hoping for a nice uneventful taper. Training done, time to prepare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 Howdylimk

Howdylimk wrote: »
    Hi, all and apologies in advance for jumping in on this thread so late in the training year. It was me googling for advice about my own DCM training that led me here. Basically I'm a bit concerned I haven't enough done, given the time left. Running over 2 years and started training for DCM in June, however due to continuing work commitments changing I havent been very diligent in sticking to my plan. Here's my last 6 weeks as an example,

Mon Aug 3rd 3 Miles Recovery @ 26.50
    Tues Aug 4th 10 Miles steady @ 1.41
    Wed Aug 5th 3 Miles Easy @ 30.06
    Mon Aug 10th 3 miles @ 27.09
    Tues Aug 11th 10 Miles @ 1.36
    Thurs Aug 13th 3 miles @ 26.05
    Sunday August 16th Clonmel Half @ 2.04.20

Holidays in Portugal

Friday August 21st 5 miles 46.29
    Sun Aug 23rd 3 miles @ 29.00
    Tues Aug 25th 8.5 miles @ 1.24

Home From Hols :-(

Sun Aug 30 16.2 miles @ 2.56
    Tues Sept 1st 8 miles @ 1.15
    Sat Sept 5th Dingle Half @ 2.03
    Tues Sept 7th 6.5 miles @ 1.02
    Sunday Sept 13th 17.2 miles @ 2.47

So here I am this week with nothing done as I've a touch of a sore heel and got the mother and father of a deep tissue massage on Monday. I felt a slight twinge behind my knee on Sunday's long run, which was down to tight calves which should now be worked out. I just getting a bit panicky that I haven't enough done, or am not doing enough going forward for the next few weeks until taper week.

My long run plan going forward is
    Sunday 19th 14 miles
    Sunday 26th 18 miles
    Sunday 4th Oct 20 Miles
    Sunday 11th Oct 16 miles
    Sunday 18th Oct 8 miles

My midweek runs are going to all over the place for the next few weeks and I could end up skipping a good few, however I'm not missing my long runs. I'm hoping to be realistic and look at a 4:30 - 4.50 finish. Any advice appreciated.

Hi Dubgal, apologies for not keeping in touch over the last few weeks, my internet living out in the sticks is brutal bad, when it's even working. Anyways I've signed up to DCM. My LSR's since my last post were Sunday 19th 15.5miles. Sunday 26th 20.5 miles. Monday 5th 20.0 miles and today I did a taper middle distance run of 9.5 miles as i gave my ankle a little twist during the week. I've done a few shorter distances and tempos in between LSR's. Both 20's I did at PMP and both came in at 3.30ish. I found the second 20 tougher than the first as I went out half hungry, which I now realise was beyond dumb, however on the first 20.5 I still had a little in the tank but didn't want to push into injury territory. My dilemma now is which pacer team am I best off sticking with. I'm thinking 4.20 or 4.30 but would 4.40 give me an even more comfortable pace allowing more in the tank for the final 6.2 miles. Any advice appreciated. In the mean time I must catch up on the last few weeks of posts on this thread while I've some quality WiFi!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭healy1835

Hi healy, any news yet on the 10k?!

10k was good.....did the Marie Keating one in the Park. Not the best organised run ever, and the 5k loop was at least 250m long......but hey, I wasn't trying to qualify for Rio.....43:53 for 10.6k.....my Garmin had me going through 10k at 41.30ish so I was pretty happy...I know that you should allow some distance for not taking the proper line but I was fairly on the money as I ran the whole race by myself basically....not quick enough to keep up with the few sub 40 people in front and then there didn't really seem to be anyone else running in or around my pace. Weird experience, only when I started catching up with the 5k walkers towards the end did I feel like it was a race. I felt fast though :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

A lacklustre 4 recovery miles with the young fella on his bike for company.

He brought his hurl and started pucking balls over the goal on the big pitch, when I continued to slog away. However, a few laps later, he suggested "daddy, let's go home and make pancakes" (he means, "daddy, let's go home and you can make me pancakes while I watch the rugby", but we'll forgive him). "Screw the running, I want pancakes too!", I thought, so I packed it in. :)

Thus week 16 concludeth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭ratracer

12 miles done today and I was feeling pretty good after it too!! Now to look back over my training to date and try figure out what I can comfortably run at!!

Another question for the experienced ones on here:- I have booked Physio for sports massage on Mon 17th in the morning. I've been rolling and stretching pretty regularly, and I don't have any 'problem areas' as such so it's just as a treat to myself really. Is this date far enough out from M-day to allow recovery? I can't get in at the end of next week due to my own schedule.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

ratracer wrote: »
    12 miles done today and I was feeling pretty good after it too!! Now to look back over my training to day and try figure out what I can comfortably run at!!

Another question for the experienced ones on here:- I have booked Physio for sports massage on Mon 17th in the morning. I've been rolling and stretching pretty regularly, and I don't have any 'problem areas' as such so it's just as a treat to myself really. Is this date far enough out from M-day to allow recovery? I can't get in at the end of next week due to my own schedule.

Hi ratracer, good call on the training review, you've just reminded me to post about that :)
    A week out is plenty of time, even from a deep massage from what I remember of Myles Splitz post a while back.

We'll be starting some target talk tomorrow (*cheers* ). I'll have a post of some things for you to check and some tips for settling on a range (yup, no one target until race morning).
    In the meantime, have a review of your training over the last 16-18 weeks. Tally and map your number of long runs (14 miles+), how many missed (if any), pace run at and overall gaps in the plan.
    Overall, I think most of you will be pleasantly surprised at the work actually done. It's a very useful exercise and will help you ascertain what is possible on the 26th.

Howdylimk wrote: »
    Hi Dubgal, apologies for not keeping in touch over the last few weeks, my internet living out in the sticks is brutal bad, when it's even working. Anyways I've signed up to DCM. My LSR's since my last post were Sunday 19th 15.5miles. Sunday 26th 20.5 miles. Monday 5th 20.0 miles and today I did a taper middle distance run of 9.5 miles as i gave my ankle a little twist during the week. I've done a few shorter distances and tempos in between LSR's. Both 20's I did at PMP and both came in at 3.30ish. I found the second 20 tougher than the first as I went out half hungry, which I now realise was beyond dumb, however on the first 20.5 I still had a little in the tank but didn't want to push into injury territory. My dilemma now is which pacer team am I best off sticking with. I'm thinking 4.20 or 4.30 but would 4.40 give me an even more comfortable pace allowing more in the tank for the final 6.2 miles. Any advice appreciated. In the mean time I must catch up on the last few weeks of posts on this thread while I've some quality WiFi!!!

Hi howdylimk, great to hear from you. Will you have reliable wifi tomorrow? I'll try get the target post up tonight so you can download it/copy for access without internet....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

Planned 15 mile LSR today. Last of the big ones. This week I found myself fretting about it; after my first 18 mile run was so erratic (good, but inconsistent), and my run last week was such a disaster (good start, baaaaaad finish!) I knew today's run could go either way. But what was I going to do if it went badly? Yesterday I decided...whatever. As in, whatever happens, however it goes, it's a run and I'll learn from it. Miles in the legs and all that. I calculated that since April, when I started my training, I've run over 535 miles. That put a lot of things in perspective for me! I know it's a drop in the bucket for some, but for someone like me, that's a number to be proud of. And I am. I am so bloomin' proud of what I've done this year and realizing that helped me relax about today's LSR. (Can't say all this without giving a HUGE big massive thank you to Dubgal! Honestly wouldn't have gotten this far without you! And my fellow novices, you've been a huge help in getting me to this point, you don't even know. I can't thank you all enough!).

Ok, enough with the feels! :P In the end, the run went well. Really well. So well that I'm calling it my redemption run. And I learned a few more things that will help me on marathon day.

So I slept well (unusually so, but thankfully!), got up for my usual routine of porridge (yup, getting sick of the stuff!) but made with water (last week I had it with milk, don't think it sat well with me) then back to bed for more rest. Took it easy on the water and only had a few mouthfuls. I changed some things about my routine and run, including having a sliver of a Clif bar as I was getting ready.

At 8.30 I left the house and started in. I walked a full mile, then jogged a very easy second mile, trying to give myself every advantage for the later miles. This turned out to be a good decision. I did spot the 'Expect Delays' marathon signs on the route and stopped to take a photo. Really hit home how close it's getting!! Two weeks, guys. Two weeks!!

Anyway, my fueling strategy is now decided. It worked really well for me today so I will do the same for the marathon. At mile 5 I slowed to walk, ate another sliver of my Clif bar, sipped my gel, sipped some water then carried on running. Same again at mile 10. Worked a treat! I took my 300mL bottle with me and didn't even finish it.

I'm really happy with my splits for this run. I worked at keeping it consistent, listening to my body and speeding up when needed, pulling back when required. I did walk some of the hills and walked when I took my gels.

Mile 1: 16:12 (walk)
    Mile 2: 15:37 (warm up)
    Mile 3: 14:36
    Mile 4: 15:08
    Mile 5: 14:57 (gel)
    Mile 6: 15:30 (hill)
    Mile 7: 14:41
    Mile 8: 14:39
    Mile 9: 14:42
    Mile 10: 15:07 (gel + hill)
    Mile 11: 14:59
    Mile 12: 14:35
    Mile 13: 14:33
    Mile 14: 14:18
    Mile 15: 16:17 (half at recovery pace, half walk)

At the last minute on Upper Glen Road, I decided to change my planned route and follow more of the marathon course instead. I'm glad I did it. I think the change helped! I also ran (and PRd!) the Sarsfield Road climb. That was tough but felt so good when I got to the top!

I am absolutely chuffed with today's run. Towards the end I was really feeling it in the legs (not sure how I pulled a 14:18 minute mile at the end!!) but I remember thinking at mile 13 that I felt a heap better today at this stage than I had during my half marathon at the beginning of August. Today I was tired, my back was feeling achy and my legs were really tired but overall I felt good. I felt I had run strong so I was happy, even though I was aching :p

I got home, stretched for a good 15 minutes then wobbled back out to the shops to get groceries. Must also remember to stock the fridge before Sundays! Usual post run routine and now getting in some well earned rest (and I finally treated myself to an ice cream :D I earned that too!).

Interestingly, I weighed myself again before and after the run and it was pretty much bang on from the last time I weighed myself a month or so ago. 99.2 kg before, 97.3 kg after. Good to know I've not gained weight, weird I haven't lost it though either! But anyway, that's another topic/thread for another day. I just thought it was interesting.

Oh yeah, I'm bad at remembering names so whoever of you I passed on Parkgate Street, hi! I was on mile 12 at that stage, it was nice to see a friendly face!

Lastly, had two funny things happen on my run. First was on Upper Glen Road where a group of kids were on a field trip or something. Saw one girl (8 years old maybe) nudge her friends and say 'look, look at the fat lady'. I smiled and waved at her. Sure, maybe she was impressed :P The other funny thing was the well meaning advice from a lady who said as I passed that 'I think you should do power walking, not running'. It was funny because she was a lot older, a lot larger and sitting smoking a cigarette. I just called out over my shoulder 'ok, thanks!' and kept on running :pac:.

So that's me done. Next week getting stuck into tapering proper. 4 mile mid-week runs with a 10 mile LSR. It's going to feel like such a holiday!

But I gotta say. I try not to compare myself as a runner to you all (novices) because we're all different, running different paces with different expectations and different routines. But where I CAN compare myself to you is in our determination and will power that has gotten us all this far. We've got guts, the lot of us, and I'm darn proud to be part of such a determined, gritty, awesome group. Fist bumps all around!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 Howdylimk

Hi howdylimk, great to hear from you. Will you have reliable wifi tomorrow? I'll try get the target post up tonight so you can download it/copy for access without internet....

I'll make it my business to get access tomorrow. Cheers

healy1835 wrote: »
    10k was good.....did the Marie Keating one in the Park. Not the best organised run ever, and the 5k loop was at least 250m long......but hey, I wasn't trying to qualify for Rio.....43:53 for 10.6k.....my Garmin had me going through 10k at 41.30ish so I was pretty happy...I know that you should allow some distance for not taking the proper line but I was fairly on the money as I ran the whole race by myself basically....not quick enough to keep up with the few sub 40 people in front and then there didn't really seem to be anyone else running in or around my pace. Weird experience, only when I started catching up with the 5k walkers towards the end did I feel like it was a race. I felt fast though :)

You're flying, great result (both of them!) :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭duffer247

Hi duffer, no harm in seeing a physio or maybe even a chiro. Could be a simple muscle release but better to be safe now than sorry later....

Thanks dg,
    Probably on reflection it was an inaccurate post; the issue is the sciatica, where it affects my running is the back of my thighs. I've been to Physio 3 times over last 3 weeks so we're working on it. Credit to her that it hasn't affected me over this period except for hyper awareness /concern I have. Back is very stiff after yesterday - so I'll be sorting that tomorrow too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭healy1835

Been off the sauce since the start of August for the DCM.....I have the biggest goo on me for pints ever after watching the game. Biggest. Goo. Ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭MrMacPhisto

Been off the sauce since the start of August for the DCM.....I have the biggest goo on me for pints ever after watching the game. Biggest. Goo. Ever.

The smart decision was to get the run done early, ignore all friends, and watch all from the couch with a glass of water and bucket of fish-heads :D #2moreweeks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

I'm having a glass of wine ! Cheers :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b

Hi Folks,

Just checking in. Did my 14 mile LSR this morning and ran out from the city to Dolphins Barn to follow the DCM route for the last time. Would not describe it as a joyous run and am pretty tired at this stage. Age has caught up with me!!! and just when I though I might get a sympathy vote I see that I have lost that TITLE. Fair play to FIELDSMAN...... much respect and best of luck on the day.

The taper has arrived on time and I am now happy to take it easy for 2 weeks and concentrate on recovery. No more heading to bed with my head full of numbers for the week ahead. I have not had any of these rubs, physios, therapists or facials so I am going to get one in next week. No harm and I can see the value at this stage.

Ended up working long hours the last few days, hence the LSR today and have not got around to posting anything about the route. I see that others have provided super detail and it would be difficult to improve on that. Will get something done in the next day of two. What I did notice today, and measured, were the the hills at Milltown and Roebuck. They are 40 and 50 double strides, respectively, to the top of the steep sections. A blink of an eye.

TFGR's story about the encouragement she received today reminded me of finishing the FD 10 miler in the Race Series. I had powered, up the Glen Road and around the bends to finish strongly at the finish line, pretty well passing out people the whole length of this section. I was well impressed with my pacing and was catching my breath when a lad came up behind me and clapped me on the back saying that I was an inspiration and (wait for it) that people like me really drove him on with his training. (Oh dear) He then added that he hoped that he would still be running when he was my age and then asked me what age was I? I doubt that he was more than 7-8 years younger than me (the cheek!!!) but I told him my age and he was mortified. He didnt actually manage to say anything else. He just stood there so I broke the ice and congratulated him with finishing so close to me. Maybe I should have added ..... and behind me. Had a good laugh retelling the story to friends and family after.

Its only half time and the soccer is on next. Enjoy it all folks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭smashiner

Last LSR done.....thank's be to God!!

I had a good chat with myself quite a few times on how long should it be and I settled on 28K, as I was fairly knackered at this stage anyway and doing an extra 2-4K just to tick a box didn't seem like the 'right' thing to do, as I was getting a bit nervous of picking up an injury, so good call I think.

Overall it went well and my visit to the physio on Friday was well worth it as I felt 'balanced' on my run with no real niggles. Like TFGR I came across 2 signs for the DCM in the Phoenix Park and my heart skipped a beat every time :):)

Now I am in full party mode with Ireland doing the business against France in the rugger (some game) and now the soccer is just about to start....c'mon Oireland :D

Celebratory can or two of Guinness will go down well for me, go on novices, have a beer/glass/bottle of wine..you deserve it!!:D

Back to being good for another 2 weeks tomorrow morning.....bring it on!!

My friend is doing a triathlon "the week before the marathon"

She said this evening about her Tri next week and I was like, huh? Next week? Then it hit me :eek:

I went to the Gerry Duffy talk this morning, thank you Stevo :)

I've decided I am going to finish this marathon. There is no hopefully. It's going to happen and there is no other option.

I left there FULL of information and motivation and inspiration and ALL the ations and I have so many plans now for 2016 and am going to take every single thing I've learned his year to make next year even better.

I'm going to start believing in myself.

I get told that I'm a very strong person because of the hell that I've been through (personal life, not marathon running!) and I always shrugged it off and said "sure I'd no choice but to get on with it".

When I finished the Warriors run last year, and my first half marathon, both in serious pain from 2 dislocated ribs and what I now know to have been sciatica. People said I must be tough as nails to have done that. I shrugged it off saying that I had no choice and sure didn't I have to finish because where else was I going to go.

I realised that maybe I should actually start giving myself the credit that I deserve. Yes I am strong. Yes I am hard as nails. Yes I will finish this feckin marathon if it kills me.

I learned loads of stuff this morning but this is the one thing I will give you all:

When you're struggling at mile whatever and you're digging deep. Remember you don't have to be there, you can stop at any time, you can go home at any time. But ask yourself, would you go home? After all you've done to get here, are you going to go home? The answer will be no, so stop wasting time and energy thinking about how hard it is and just keep moving forward. Do what you're here to do. You're going to do it anyway, so stop making it harder for yourself and just keep moving toward the goal and the goal will come.

My goal is of course, McGrattans :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Cruel :D

Sorry that was a lot of different things in one post. Spent ages typing it while watching the football so I went on a few tangents :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Toulouse

I had 2!! And accidentally located McGrattans so feel like I'm all set now :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭ratracer

Obviously in T-1 there will be a picture and an address for this famous mythical 'McGrattans' ðŸ˜႒

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭PJD

Toulouse wrote: »
    I had 2!! And accidentally located McGrattans so feel like I'm all set now :D

Im sticking with you all day cos i doubt i will be able to find mcgrattans with a map, compass or a gps after running 26 miles!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Toulouse

PJD wrote: »
    Im sticking with you all day cos i doubt i will be able to find mcgrattans with a map, compass or a gps after running 26 miles!

I can promise that there's no chance of me getting lost! Just top me up with some chocolate milk first :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭FeenaM

Do you think if I rang the Dcm people and told them I just need another 2 or 3 weeks to get a few more LSRs in, that they might take pity on me and put the race off for a bit?

Seems fair to me? :D