DCM 2015: Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭healy1835

An easy enough week....had two 12k runs on Tue & Wed and really felt the 32k in my legs.....lethargic wasn't the word but got through them at a fairly gentile pace...both in and around 5:28/km. Had a Session on Thursday. 2k w/up, 2k Tempo Run @4:10/km, 6 x 400m @ 85 - 80 secs with 90 secs recovery between each. Really needed the session to blow cobwebs off, felt good afterwards. 10k race tomorrow, looking forward to that.
    Drove DCM course with my mate today. 2 & a half hours!Interesting experience, and got a good few pointers on the course.....got pretty antsy on the way around, loads of people out running, felt like I was missing out or something...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭KingMambo26

24k run out of the way and I have to say it was one of the most pleasurable runs i've had all year. I ran from Blanch through Castleknock towards College Road, into the park and back. I normally don't like running with my phone but today i brought it with me and i was like a Japanese tourist stopping to take photos of the route every few miles. I still kept an eye on my pace but today it was all about the experience. I came back home in great form a full of positive thoughts. This is why i run!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭davedanon

healy1835 wrote: »
    lethargic wasn't the word but got through them at a fairly gentile pace

Oy vey!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭BIRDCAGE1

I've just had what can only be described as my worst week of running so far. I had four runs scheduled this week.....

Monday 4 miles - went reasonable well,
    Tuesday 8 miles - only managed to complete 4 miles of this before stopping, it was after a 12 hour shift in work, I got rained on from about mile 3 and my heart just wasn't in it, no matter how much I tried to push myself:(
    Wednesday 4 miles - I got home from work put on my gear, did my usual pre running routine headed out the door, walked a 100 yards up the road and then turned around and came home. My head this week is just not feeling it. Lasts weeks LSR really took it out of me and this week I'm paying for it I think.:mad:
    LSR: This was my last LSR before D day and I wanted to hit the 20 mile mark, my schedule was between 18 & 20 miles - the same as last week, where I only managed 19 miles - so I had to hit the 20 mark this week. But I only managed 16.5 miles before I had to stop, I was so frustrated with myself.

Positives from this week: 1. the missed run on Wednesday was only the second one in my whole training schedule. 2. My longest run to date turned out to be last week at 19 miles, so in essence I started my taper a week earlier!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭mobfromcork

Some good reading on this thread over the last few days folks. Good solid week's running for me. When out running on Monday evening I fell into step with another runner who was out with the local AC. I ended up heading back to the club with him and chatting to a few people there who are doing DCM as well. Did the rest of the runs this week with the AC.
    Mon - 5.4 miles @ 8.39 average per mile
    Tues - 6.2 @ 8.16
    Wed - 3.3 mile speed interval session (felt great to stretch the legs and my first time doing any session like that in a long time)
    Thurs - 4.7 @ 8.24
    Sat - 15.7 @ 8.41

Some of the runs were slightly too quick but I felt good the whole way around. According to HRM I was under far less pressure on today's LSR than last week's even though there were a few good long drags and some shorter steep hills. It felt good knowing that I had the legs and lungs for the hills as I haven't seen a lot of them since started running near the river for most of my LSRs. Really enjoyed the week's running and looking forward to the 26th. Having people to chat to on the runs was great as well, especially for the LSR today.
    Booked a sports massage for Thursday evening (my first massage of any description) so hopefully that'll give my legs a bit of a overhaul.
    Best of luck to everyone doing their LSR tomorrow. Enjoy the week.
    Mark

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭jake1970

Friday: 5 miles @9:15 REC

Saturday: 9.3 miles Donadea 10k chip time 42:16

2.1 miles warm up @9:06
    6.2 miles Race @6:50
    1 mile cool down @ 9:35
    After getting some advice here from FBOT & Clearlier i decided to run this race as a LT session. LT pace is my current half marathon pace(6:47). The race went well enough but i did struggle a bit to maintain pace over the second half of the race. The average pace overall was 6:50 so i was happy enough with that. While doing my cool down i noticed a pain in my left calf which is still sore now. It certainly doesnt look good for my 16 miles in the morning.Its time now for some foam rolling, hopefully that will help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,373 ✭✭✭Phoebas

Did my 14m lsr on the Boards plan this afternoon. 14 miles is still a long enough run so this week didn't really feel like much of a taper.
    Looking forward to an easy couple of weeks now and I'm now looking forward to and dreading the big day in equal measure.

Best of luck to anyone running lsrs tomorrow. Anyone who had a bad week or a bad run - don't stress it, one bad run doesn't mean much in the context of an 18 or 20 week plan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭FeenaM

Just a quick update from me. Stupid chest/sinus infection wasn't clearing so went to doctor on Tuesday and he put me on steroids (not the performance enhancing type :D). Didn't think they would have much affect on me and actually felt better within about 2/3 hours of taking them so I set off the next morning for my final LSR of 21 miles. I knew within the first mile that I was not ok and HR was elevated, felt weak, effort level felt higher than usual. Anyway, I managed just over 15 miles at close to 9m/m which is slower than my usual lsr pace and then fell in the door in a heap. Am happy that I didn't push myself to do the 21 as I don't think I actually could have and probably would have done more damage than good.

Felt great on Friday so headed out on a 'sure I'll just see how it goes run' and did 11 miles @ 8.19 average so faster than my lsr pace but not quite the PMP I am still hoping I have a chance of... I definitely couldn't have done the 11 miles any faster on that day.

Did a session this morning with the club and effort level seemed ok. Thought I would have found my 1k intervals easier as went for the times I would have done them in a few weeks ago but I'd say they were still a lot of effort so not much more to give there - hopefully still a side effect of the steroids. Had a run in (literally) with a dog that ran at me and I don't know if he was about to bite me but my knee collided with his jaw and we both fell to the ground. Of course, me being me, jumped up and kept running (after I asked the owner if the dog was ok) and seemed fine but now Ive a big bump on side of my knee and it feels a bit twisted??

I have my head done in now (sorry DG if its' still too soon to talk about this) trying to decide if I need to rethink my pace for the marathon. I suppose I'll just have to do a run at PMP next week and decide then :pac:

Hope all runs tomorrow go well - sounds like it's all coming together for most of you :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,899 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Fieldsman wrote: »
    Hi to all. although I'm following this tread for a while this is my first time posting. Since giving up the day job eight years ago I've done the Dublin marathon each year with a best of 4 15 in 2012. Previous to that I've done several of them back the years but my best then was 3 31 in Belfast 1987 and that was on a limited 25/30 miles a week. I still recall that race which was sponsored by Guiness with a free guiness bar after the race. Many people left Belfast that evening walking rather unsteady and the 26 mile run wasn't entirely to blame. I know everyone is finding the training fairly tough of late but if your like me well into the 8th decade it get's that bit harder. Last year I didn't have a good race all, hit the wall around 18 miles finishing up over 5 hours. This year I'm getting in 45/50 miles a week so I'm hoping for a less than 4 45 hopefully. Best wishes to all doing the big one.

Hi Fieldsman,
    Heard about that Guinness bar from my late Dad who ran a good few marathons, including Belfast, in the 80s. At the time I was too interested in playing football to appreciate what he was doing - would love now to be able to say I ran with him but it never happened. Strangely I ended up taking up running at about the same time as he did, around age 50. People did marathons differently back then - forget gels, a glass of water and maybe a banana was the height of it, from what I understand. Would love to hear more about your training then and now. All the best on the day. Would great to meet you n McGrattans if you can make it in. Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 calle_c

Hello! This is my first post here!

Dublin Marathon will be my third marathon. I ran Stockholm last year in 2:48 and Rotterdam this spring in 2:46. I'm in better shape now and aiming for sub 2:44.

I have a couple of questions.

I'm starting in the first wave but are the different starting pens or groups in the wave? There is a big span to the slowest runners in the wave (3:50). How long time before the start do you recommend to be at place to have a chance to get to the front of the first wave?

Is there km marks along the course or just mile marks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

You know what? I'm kinda looking forward to taking a break from porridge. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭stepster

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Talking of niggles, how are you guys doing today:
    BobDylan, Diego, Wolfyboy, ZV Yoda, Stepster calf, Alan30 foot, Smashiner hamstring, Chrislad calf, Nop, Mrs Mc knee, Duffer? Anyone else?

Any concerns over the weekend - ANY - play it safe and get onto that physio for Monday or Tuesday. Too much to lose at this stage....

Thanks Dubgal, did a lot of rolling and icing of the calf since Wednesday when the trouble began. Sat morning felt good so I jogged up to Parkrun completed it and jogged back - 8 miles altogether. Felt great, a little stiff but touch wood I now know I'll be at that start line fit!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Notwork Error

calle_c wrote: »
    Hello! This is my first post here!

Dublin Marathon will be my third marathon. I ran Stockholm last year in 2:48 and Rotterdam this spring in 2:46. I'm in better shape now and aiming for sub 2:44.

I have a couple of questions.

I'm starting in the first wave but are the different starting pens or groups in the wave? There is a big span to the slowest runners in the wave (3:50). How long time before the start do you recommend to be at place to have a chance to get to the front of the first wave?

Is there km marks along the course or just mile marks?

Hey calle,

There isn't any separate pens in the waves. I'd say do your usual rountine as there's always a few open barriers along the start that you can walk in, the footpaths along the start are open so you can walk down along them all the way to the start. It really doesn't feel packed and can be fairly easy to make your way towards the front anyway.

There were mile markets for the last few years with Km markers every 5k, I don't know about this year though, I'd presume it will be the same again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭Stevo1983

Blasphemy :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Toulouse

I think I have a problem, I'd eat it for lunch and dinner too if I was let!

Hope the LSR goes well!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭smashiner

Toulouse wrote: »
    I think I have a problem, I'd eat it for lunch and dinner too if I was let!

Hope the LSR goes well!

Ha ha, I opened up Boards and I laughed out loud at 2 things:
    The first was that this thread is enormous versus most other threads (now it is well over 6,000 posts and 28,000 thanks :D) and second that I was eating of bowl of......yep you've guessed it.......porridge......before I go on my last LSR!!

We are all a bit nuts on this thread.........we are marathon runners ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Emsy 1

Well done on all the lsr's especially to the people who found it tough going we are nearly there we have this in the bag.

12 miles done yesterday first 6 went grand I met a friend out walking and stopped for quick chat then when I started off again I felt exhausted and willed the last 6 to pass quickly so I could get home and devour a cream donut I had in the fridge.legs felt heavy near the end glad to have it done looking forward to a nice relaxing Sunday. Good luck with the lsr"s today guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

duffer247 wrote: »
    Heading out for 12 miler today, really can't put my finger on issue in back of legs. It's not stopping me run, its not sore, sometimes it feels like if I was to sprint for what ever reason that I would tighten up.
    Some advice on when to stretch would be welcome, at present I only stretch and foam roll after a run. What else should I be doing?

Hi duffer, no harm in seeing a physio or maybe even a chiro. Could be a simple muscle release but better to be safe now than sorry later....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭ZV Yoda

Did my last double digit lsr this am. 12 miles in the bag. Ran a different route with a mate. It was a lot more hilly than I'm used to, so I struggled a bit here & there. Took a couple of gels & ran with the water belt.

I took a tumble in the last mile. Nothing major - grazed knee & hands. Wasn't paying attention to the surface. I tripped on a raised foothpath & hit the deck. It was a bit of a wake up call for me to maintain concentration throughout the run in future.

Anyway, roll on the taper!

unaaine wrote: »
    Had a strange accident with the nail on my big toe last weekend, not sure what happened but as I turned to cross a road, I think my nail caught in my sock and my shoe went the other way and it felt as if my nail had been twisted off. Was at 25km of a 34km run and didn't want to cut it short so kept going. At the end my toe was really sore and nail was bruised looking but was still firmly in place. I didn't do my recovery run the day after as it was too sore to put in my shoe. I tried soaking in warm water / tea tree oil / epsom salts and all sorts of natural remedies but as the week went on and with 2 further uncomfortable runs done it became well and truly swollen, throbbing, red and infected and was really getting me down. I can't count the number of stubbed toes and things I dropped on it. Electric shocks each and every one. No choice but to get an anti-biotic which I'm disappointed about but it wasn't getting better and I was finding it hard to walk on nevermind run. The anti-biotics kicked in fairly quickly though and I managed to get my last 20 miles in last night without too much discomfort though it was a little slower than the previous one. Anyhow a timely reminder for race day - no new socks, trim the nails, and vaseline the feet a bit. And make sure laces are tied properly.
    Hi unaaine, ouch ouch ouch but hopefully the antibiotics will sort it out. You may already know but IME, antibiotics really drain the body so lower your expectations when you make it out to run, even after you stop taking the course. We'll all have a reminder on the 20th of this month: Toenail Tuesday :D

Sixteen miles yesterday morning, felt pretty good. That was six miles shorter than the previous week's lsr, and six miles was the gap in total miles ran all this week compared to last week, so it feels like the taper is only really starting now.
    Met someone I hadn't seen in months on Friday nite. Was talking to him for just a few minutes, but he rang me then on Sat to ask if I was okay, he wondered was I sick when he saw how much less weight carrying now. The running has fairly eaten into my belly😅

healy1835 wrote: »
    An easy enough week....had two 12k runs on Tue & Wed and really felt the 32k in my legs.....lethargic wasn't the word but got through them at a fairly gentile pace...both in and around 5:28/km. Had a Session on Thursday. 2k w/up, 2k Tempo Run @4:10/km, 6 x 400m @ 85 - 80 secs with 90 secs recovery between each. Really needed the session to blow cobwebs off, felt good afterwards. 10k race tomorrow, looking forward to that.
    Drove DCM course with my mate today. 2 & a half hours!Interesting experience, and got a good few pointers on the course.....got pretty antsy on the way around, loads of people out running, felt like I was missing out or something...

Hi healy, any news yet on the 10k?!

jake1970 wrote: »
    Friday: 5 miles @9:15 REC

Saturday: 9.3 miles Donadea 10k chip time 42:16

2.1 miles warm up @9:06
    6.2 miles Race @6:50
    1 mile cool down @ 9:35
    After getting some advice here from FBOT & Clearlier i decided to run this race as a LT session. LT pace is my current half marathon pace(6:47). The race went well enough but i did struggle a bit to maintain pace over the second half of the race. The average pace overall was 6:50 so i was happy enough with that. While doing my cool down i noticed a pain in my left calf which is still sore now. It certainly doesnt look good for my 16 miles in the morning.Its time now for some foam rolling, hopefully that will help.
    Hey, how's the calf today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,413 ✭✭✭Steroo

I've been on holidays for a week - no running. Did a 20 mile the week before, 9:15aavg.

How far should I be aiming for for a long run today? Legs are fresh

FeenaM wrote: »
    Just a quick update from me. Stupid chest/sinus infection wasn't clearing so went to doctor on Tuesday and he put me on steroids (not the performance enhancing type :D). Didn't think they would have much affect on me and actually felt better within about 2/3 hours of taking them so I set off the next morning for my final LSR of 21 miles. I knew within the first mile that I was not ok and HR was elevated, felt weak, effort level felt higher than usual. Anyway, I managed just over 15 miles at close to 9m/m which is slower than my usual lsr pace and then fell in the door in a heap. Am happy that I didn't push myself to do the 21 as I don't think I actually could have and probably would have done more damage than good.

Felt great on Friday so headed out on a 'sure I'll just see how it goes run' and did 11 miles @ 8.19 average so faster than my lsr pace but not quite the PMP I am still hoping I have a chance of... I definitely couldn't have done the 11 miles any faster on that day.

Did a session this morning with the club and effort level seemed ok. Thought I would have found my 1k intervals easier as went for the times I would have done them in a few weeks ago but I'd say they were still a lot of effort so not much more to give there - hopefully still a side effect of the steroids. Had a run in (literally) with a dog that ran at me and I don't know if he was about to bite me but my knee collided with his jaw and we both fell to the ground. Of course, me being me, jumped up and kept running (after I asked the owner if the dog was ok) and seemed fine but now Ive a big bump on side of my knee and it feels a bit twisted??

I have my head done in now (sorry DG if its' still too soon to talk about this) trying to decide if I need to rethink my pace for the marathon. I suppose I'll just have to do a run at PMP next week and decide then :pac:

Hope all runs tomorrow go well - sounds like it's all coming together for most of you :D

Not a good week for you :( How's the knee today? Still lots of time FeenaM, and hopefully the target talk will help you settle things (coming up soon :) ). The important thing now is that you pull back and allow your body to recover and strengthen before next week's PMP run. You've just reminded me of last year: I did a 3:30 paced 10 mile run (two days after a hard 5m tempo) and didn't feel great. Ten days or so later I did a 12 mile pace run at 3:40 pace and felt so much more comfortable. Shoulda listened to my body :rolleyes:

Steroo wrote: »
    I've been on holidays for a week - no running. Did a 20 mile the week before, 9:15aavg.

How far should I be aiming for for a long run today? Legs are fresh

Hi Steroo, I wouldn't jump into a long run today. Try 5-6 very easy (10 m/mi pace) to ease your legs back into things. I see from your log that you're aiming for around 4 hours in which case your last lsr was done nearly at PMP....a bit fast or what has your plan been recommending?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,413 ✭✭✭Steroo

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Hi Steroo, I wouldn't jump into a long run today. Try 5-6 very easy (10 m/mi pace) to ease your legs back into things. I see from your log that you're aiming for around 4 hours in which case your last lsr was done nearly at PMP....a bit fast or what has your plan been recommending?

That sounds good to me! Feeling lazy

I've no plan this time, higher mileage leaves me injured. I might actually head out behind the 3:30 Pacers and see what happens but I think the last few miles will be a struggle so I aim for 4 hours / not the ideal strategy I know

Steroo wrote: »
    That sounds good to me! Feeling lazy

I've no plan this time, higher mileage leaves me injured. I might actually head out behind the 3:30 Pacers and see what happens but I think the last few miles will be a struggle so I aim for 4 hours / not the ideal strategy I know

Ouch. That is all :pac: Sure if you've run a marathon before, you know what you're in for....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

Last high milage lsr finished 20 miles avg pace 9.56 3.18 hrs
    Legs felt fresher during last week LSR even though no pmp
    This week.

Taper begins, only 12 next week lsr. 4 mile time trial on plan
    For Saturday before, Sunday lsr but think I will knock on the
    Head, don't see point in tempting faith and not to sure what
    It can add at this stage.

So will be wrapping up in cotton wool and taking all easy from
    Here in. Well done every one for getting this far and enjoy
    Nice relaxing couple of weeks ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Kennyg71 wrote: »
    Last high milage lsr finished 20 miles avg pace 9.56 3.18 hrs
    Legs felt fresher during last week LSR even though no pmp
    This week.

Taper begins, only 12 next week lsr. 4 mile time trial on plan
    For Saturday before, Sunday lsr but think I will knock on the
    Head, don't see point in tempting faith and not to sure what
    It can add at this stage.

So will be wrapping up in cotton wool and taking all easy from
    Here in. Well done every one for getting this far and enjoy
    Nice relaxing couple of weeks ahead.

Well done G ye all looked very fresh when I passed you this morning you are fading away :)