Is Political Correctness gone over the top?

• Site Banned Posts: 2,094 ✭✭✭BMMachine

Time for Stewart to once again undermine and confuse right wing Clarkson fans. Prepare to get salty

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭cowboyBuilder

I was doing my review in work through some new US software nonsense, below are two of the warnings I received

I was trying to say I have worked on a broad range of projects
    Word: Broad
    Why it might offend: Gender Orientated
    Replace with Suggestion: Woman

"Short term" was the phrase I used
    Word: Short
    Why it might offend: Negative Connotations
    Replace with Suggestion: none

Am gonna have a play round with it now see what else it comes up with

Are you f*cking serious ???

Is this where we are going ?

It will become so far to the left, that we will swing right around to the right - 1984 George Orwellian society.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

BMMachine wrote: »
    Time for Stewart to once again undermine and confuse right wing Clarkson fans. Prepare to get salty

Oh no, not the condescending idealistic 50 year old student, who has carved out a living by regurgitating PC high horse bollox to high brow arseholes like himself, who all of course think they are deep and profound cause they 'get' him.. yeah, he really stumps people with his smug strawman 'everyone's a racist deep down but us' excuse for comedy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

Oh no, not the condescending idealistic 50 year old student, who has carved out a living by regurgitating PC high horse bollox to high brow arseholes like himself, who all of course think they are deep and profound cause they 'get' him.. yeah, he really stumps people with his smug strawman 'everyone's a racist deep down but us' excuse for comedy.

What are you on about? He's only 47.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

No, THIS is political correctness gone over the top:

http://www.theguardian.com/film/2015/oct/05/meryl-streep-backlash-suffragette-t-shirt-slogan

Pankhurst’s full quote:

Because only African Americans have ever been slaves. :rolleyes:

People getting annoyed at a person like Meryl Steep are funny, they also threw a strop at her when she didn't identify as a feminist but rather a humanist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭Skullface McGubbin

Hitchens wrote: »
    Is Political Correctness gone over the top?

Political Correctness has been over the top for quite some time and you've only just noticed it now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭Radly

Political Correctness has been over the top for quite some time and you've only just noticed it now?

I think it has gone over the top and is now coming through the middle in all its mask slipping glory. A lot of 'your average man on the street' now waking up to this bullsh1t. A very telling year it has been for those peddling this crap over and over. May it long continue ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,074 ✭✭✭pmasterson95

Radly wrote: »
    I think it has gone over the top and is now coming through the middle in all its mask slipping glory. A lot of 'your average man on the street' now waking up to this bullsh1t. A very telling year it has been for those peddling this crap over and over. May it long continue ;)

Theres still far too many eejits lapping it up. Its a while from ending yet.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,094 ✭✭✭BMMachine

and theres the salt. Would be a nice little rant if there was anything meaningful in there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭seenitall

I came across this PC version of the Little Red Riding Hood recently:
    Little Red Riding Hood

There once was a young person named Little Red Riding Hood who lived on the edge of a large forest full of endangered owls and rare plants that would probably provide a cure for cancer if only someone took the time to study them.
    Red Riding Hood lived with a nurture giver whom she sometimes referred to as "mother", although she didn't mean to imply by this term that she would have thought less of the person if a close biological link did not in fact exist.
    Nor did she intend to denigrate the equal value of nontraditional households, although she was sorry if this was the impression conveyed.
    One day her mother asked her to take a basket of organically grown fruit and mineral water to her grandmother's house.
    "But mother, won't this be stealing work from the unionized people who have struggled for years to earn the right to carry all packages between various people in the woods?"
    Red Riding Hood's mother assured her that she had called the union boss and gotten a special compassionate mission exemption form.
    "But mother, aren't you oppressing me by ordering me to do this?"
    Red Riding Hood's mother pointed out that it was impossible for womyn to oppress each other, since all womyn were equally oppressed until all womyn were free.
    "But mother, then shouldn't you have my brother carry the basket, since he's an oppressor, and should learn what it's like to be oppressed?"
    And Red Riding Hood's mother explained that her brother was attending a special rally for animal rights, and besides, this wasn't stereotypical womyn's work, but an empowering deed that would help engender a feeling of community.
    "But won't I be oppressing Grandma, by implying that she's sick and hence unable to independently further her own selfhood?"
    But Red Riding Hood's mother explained that her grandmother wasn't actually sick or incapacitated or mentally handicapped in any way, although that was not to imply that any of these conditions were inferior to what some people called "health".
    Thus Red Riding Hood felt that she could get behind the idea of delivering the basket to her grandmother, and so she set off.
    Many people believed that the forest was a foreboding and dangerous place, but Red Riding Hood knew that this was an irrational fear based on cultural paradigms instilled by a patriarchal society that regarded the natural world as an exploitable resource, and hence believed that natural predators were in fact intolerable competitors.
    Other people avoided the woods for fear of thieves and deviants, but Red Riding Hood felt that in a truly classless society all marginalized peoples would be able to "come out" of the woods and be accepted as valid lifestyle role models.
    On her way to Grandma's house, Red Riding Hood passed a woodchopper, and wandered off the path, in order to examine some flowers.
    She was startled to find herself standing before a Wolf, who asked her what was in her basket.
    Red Riding Hood's teacher had warned her never to talk to strangers, but she was confident in taking control of her own budding sexuality, and chose to dialogue with the Wolf.
    She replied, "I am taking my Grandmother some healthful snacks in a gesture of solidarity."
    The Wolf said, "You know, my dear, it isn't safe for a little girl to walk through these woods alone."
    Red Riding Hood said, "I find your sexist remark offensive in the extreme, but I will ignore it because of your traditional status as an outcast from society, the stress of which has caused you to develop an alternative and yet entirely valid worldview. Now, if you'll excuse me, I would prefer to be on my way."
    Red Riding Hood returned to the main path, and proceeded towards her Grandmother's house.
    But because his status outside society had freed him from slavish adherence to linear, Western-style thought, the Wolf knew of a quicker route to Grandma's house.
    He burst into the house and ate Grandma, a course of action affirmative of his nature as a predator.
    Then, unhampered by rigid, traditionalist gender role notions, he put on Grandma's nightclothes, crawled under the bedclothes, and awaited developments.
    Red Riding Hood entered the cottage and said,
    "Grandma, I have brought you some cruelty free snacks to salute you in your role of wise and nurturing matriarch."
    The Wolf said softly "Come closer, child, so that I might see you."
    Red Riding Hood said, "Goddess! Grandma, what big eyes you have!"
    "You forget that I am optically challenged."
    "And Grandma, what an enormous, what a fine nose you have."
    "Naturally, I could have had it fixed to help my acting career, but I didn't give in to such societal pressures, my child."
    "And Grandma, what very big, sharp teeth you have!"
    The Wolf could not take any more of these specist slurs, and, in a reaction appropriate for his accustomed milieu, he leaped out of bed, grabbed Little Red Riding Hood, and opened his jaws so wide that she could see her poor Grandmother cowering in his belly.
    "Aren't you forgetting something?" Red Riding Hood bravely shouted. "You must request my permission before proceeding to a new level of intimacy!"
    The Wolf was so startled by this statement that he loosened his grasp on her.
    At the same time, the woodchopper burst into the cottage, brandishing an ax.
    "Hands off!" cried the woodchopper.
    "And what do you think you're doing?" cried Little Red Riding Hood. "If I let you help me now, I would be expressing a lack of confidence in my own abilities, which would lead to poor self esteem and lower achievement scores on college entrance exams."
    "Last chance, sister! Get your hands off that endangered species! This is an FBI sting!" screamed the woodchopper, and when Little Red Riding Hood nonetheless made a sudden motion, he sliced off her head.
    "Thank goodness you got here in time," said the Wolf. "The brat and her grandmother lured me in here. I thought I was a goner."
    "No, I think I'm the real victim, here," said the woodchopper. "I've been dealing with my anger ever since I saw her picking those protected flowers earlier. And now I'm going to have such a trauma. Do you have any aspirin?"
    "Sure," said the Wolf.
    "Thanks."
    "I feel your pain," said the Wolf, and he patted the woodchopper on his firm, well padded back, gave a little belch, and said "Do you have any Rennie?"

I had a few chuckles, anyway...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Thought there was a shorter version of that ^^^^^

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

seenitall wrote: »
    I came across this PC version of the Little Red Riding Hood recently:
    Little Red Riding Hood

<snip>..
    OMG, let me stop you right there
    "Little". I mean what have you got against persons of smaller stature you insulting b....
    "Red" hair colour is not a choice and one shouldn't be singled out for it or it's pale freckley fiery consequences.
    "Riding" wouldn't even lower myself to discussing this, what were you thinking to put that in a kids story
    "Hood" why assume that every non native kid is in a gang of some sort? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,008 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

no as i'm not governed by it nor do i buy into it. it has no effect on me what so ever

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,442 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Great, now I can't get this song out of my head!

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Can't say anything any more. Literally shot on site for causing offence.

http://theoatmeal.com/comics/literally

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

A part of the issue - on both sides - is a serious lack of filter when talking about it. Within five or six posts on any given incident, it's become polarised. Personally, there's several phrases I loathe and despise in these debates;

"I call a spade a spade, I'm just blunt and honest."
    Translation: "I have never been taught manners and the occasions I do think of them, it's far too much effort to put it into practice".

"No-one has the right not to be offended".
    Translation: "I have never been taught manners so it's your fault for not understanding poor snowflake me when I say something crass and mean."

"If you don't like me at my worst, you don't deserve me at my best"
    Translation: "I am a self-entitled windbag who is the centre of my own little world and I have no regard for anyone around me. WHY DON'T YOU UNDERSTAND ME?"

With THAT little rant out of the way...

Manners. That is the core of it. Not insulting other people. Yes, people have a certain need to have a thick skin and not take offence at every little thing. It's counter-productive and intensely frustrating to everyone around them that isn't intending to be a dick but keeps phrasing things in a way that gets taken up wrong. Have some dignity and empathy and don't seek reasons to be upset.

And, conversely, not going out of your way to be crass and rude and insulting to those around you just because it's easier not to use manners. Teach yourself them if it comes to that. We all live with each other. We should, if we want a decent society and the benefits that brings, be able to treat those around us in a sensible, pleasant way, rather than aiming to make the lives of others harder. And sometimes that means giving up some words that we might find fine to use in a limited context when confronted with a wider one - like the internet.

Can it go over the top? Of course. But that doesn't mean the whole idea should be thrown out just because the odd person takes a particular figary to completely unrelated words (niggardly and manhandle are two that come to mind, neither of which have any relationship to the words or terms they get conflated with. There are only so many syllables in the English language.)

I do not get why this concept is so difficult.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

I really dislike Stewart Lee, but you really hit the nail on the head on why.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

He annoys the right kind of people...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

Billy86 wrote: »

That's kind of what I was getting at

You`ve been shot we a web link??

SOMEBODY CALL THE POLICE!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭Martial9

People hoping to go to ‘Shag a ginger’ night yesterday were disappointed after the student event was called off due to complaints from parents that it was ‘racist’.

Flame-haired lads and lasses were going to get in free and be given condoms on entry – but people in Donegal weren’t happy.

Apparently the name of the party at Pulse nighclub in Letterkenny was ‘tongue in cheek and not to be taken literally’, but not everyone shared the joke.

One mum called Donna told Donegal Now the event was ‘derogatory and demeaning’ and said Pulse should issue a public apology.

‘Redheads have been the butt of jokes for a long time. Many in my family have red hair and it’s really derogatory. You wouldn’t see a black or Asian night and this seems every bit as racist as that,’ she claimed.

Organisers had to tone down their promises and call it ‘Kiss a Ginger’ night instead, after the parish priest phoned up to express his disgust.

People in the town were alerted to the night after this promotional poster appeared on Facebook:

DJ Ginger Nuts was scheduled to spin the decks and hairdressers were booked to give wannabe gingers a dye-job.

But the club said in a statement: ‘Given recent controversy surrounding a promotional poster advertising the event, the management have removed it and wish to make it clear it was not their intention to cause insult or offence to anyone.

‘The promotion of such events on student nights are commonplace throughout the county and have occurred in the past without knowingly causing offence.’

http://metro.co.uk/2015/10/08/shag-a-ginger-night-cancelled-after-parents-complain-it-is-racist-5429036/#ixzz3o5galdLs

Gingers are a race now. They should have told the old wan and the priest to feck off. It is not like they were going to attending.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,947 ✭✭✭20Cent

I'm sick of people being offended by pc people being offended.

You`ve been shot we a web link??

SOMEBODY CALL THE POLICE!!
    Oh I was being full-on sarcastic (I hoped it would be hyperbolic enough). People who think this counts as censorship are morons.

Everyone can have an opinion/make a statement, but no one is required to listen. This clearly upsets some people whose views have become outdated as of late.

Just find it funny when people use the word literally out of context. Well that, and the Oatmeal is hilarious!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I'd say DJ Ginger Nuts is a right mad bastard.

Just find it funny when people use the word literally out of context. Well that, and the Oatmeal is hilarious!

As do I

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Just find it funny when people use the word literally out of context.

It makes me figuratively piss myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

RayM wrote:
    It makes me figuratively piss myself.

Really? There's feminists out there pissing for equality and you make an offensive, ignorant statement like that? Shame on you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

Problem with this in my opinion is what people define politically correct - or liberal.
    There tends to be a focus on the extremes in discussions like this, as if anyone who's liberal leaning will subscribe to the ludicrous stuff. Who the heck knows anyone who says "Cisgender patriarchy suppressing womyn" etc? Sure, we've heard of it, particularly on the internet (where plenty of us just laugh at it) but who encounters it day to day? This is why I don't think political correctness has gone over the top, because while there is some woeful stuff, is it honestly affecting people in their daily lives, apart from the odd exception?

A liberal can be someone who: isn't anti immigration but realises there have to be limits too, someone who is atheist but doesn't have a problem with other people being religious, is accepting of other cultures but not of fanaticism/customs that harm people, believes in social supports but not in people taking the piss out of them and doesn't have a problem with private enterprise either so long as it isn't created via people being absolutely screwed, will take into consideration the circumstances that shape violent criminals but would also agree with them being punished with a good stint in prison, etc.

I don't care whether that guy's comment was left on the recording or removed, but I think it was a creepy, tasteless thing to say. I don't see how political correctness comes into it.

Free speech doesn't exist either - if there truly was free speech people could say absolutely anything ever, and we can't. If people are offended by things, they have the right to say it too - if there is to be limited free speech (a contradiction in terms, but anyway...) then it's a two-way street.

The Stewart Lee sketch isn't that great - it's a bit too self satisfied and strawmanning, but one point he does make which I agree with is: the way some people seem to resent any bit of consideration and politeness towards people who are members of minorities or whatever. It's not "oppressive" or political correctness gone mad if you are condemned for making wild sweeping allegations of entire communities. At the same time though, there is some tiptoe-ing around for fear of causing offence, e.g. Rotherham. It's something like this where excessive political correctness is a problem.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 436 ✭✭Old Jakey

What if he wasn't joking? As in he would genuinely like to have 20-30 year old women living in the house?

Wouldn't mind a few 20 year old Syrian hotties living in my house myself.