Lucinda looking for an unpaid intern.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭allibastor

Thought you were not allowed an intern if there was no possibility of full time employment at the end?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,060 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

allibastor wrote: »
    Thought you were not allowed an intern if there was no possibility of full time employment at the end?

It's not jobbridge.

How common are political internships in Ireland?

I'd have thought that there would be plenty of people keen to get involved with this (who would already be involved with the party at youth level), but of course, Renua doesn't have the pull that other parties do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

allibastor wrote: »

Supervalu seem to have no bother employing shelfstacker interns. So something tells me the chances of regulations ever being enforced are slim to none.

Internships are a free for all, wageless, job market right now. And many old farts see them as a chance for graduates to "prove themselves" - despite the fact that they never had to work for quite literally nothing back in their day.

At least pay them €8.65 per hour. Give the person some form of dignity and allow them to pay for food, a single room, bus ticket and clothes ffs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,772 ✭✭✭✭The Corinthian

Acacia wrote: »
    Except you don't get the dole for doing nothing- you get it for actively seeking work. In theory, anyway. Of course, people abuse the system- but to say people get paid the dole to 'do nothing' is not true.
    Well, not really. It's a social payment, so it's not an actual 'wage' for seeking employment - we're presumed to be doing that if we need money regardless and the condition that we do for Dole is simply a condition of eligibility, rather than what we are paid to do. Seriously; paid to look for a job? Think about it.

It's a social right, not a wage. It's almost a semantic point, but important nonetheless.

I certainly did not mean to suggest that people on the Dole don't bother looking for a job, only that technically they're not actually paid to job seek and some, as you've accepted, indeed do not.

Principally, I cited the Dole, not to attack it, but because of the comment I was responding to - bellyaching about an honest day's pay for a honest day's work - the 'worker' is not always on the short end of the stick and just as there are companies that abuse the internship system, there are workers who will abuse the Dole.
    I appreciate that the Social Welfare department themselves, in supporting private companies' exploitation of the unemployed by allowing them access to free labour via internships, have confused the entire issue as one is not actively seeking work when they are 'interning' for 40 hours a week stacking shelves, but I don't think it's fair that the unemployed should be punished for Social Welfare's incompetence.
    The shortcomings of the JobsBridge scheme are a bottomless can of worms. I left Ireland before it's introduction and have seen well organized internships abroad (indeed, these already existed in Ireland before JobsBridge - apprenticeships, deviling, etc). To me JobsBridge is the usual half baked scheme dreamed up by some moronic civil service committee who were more interested in getting people off the live register than creating something useful. Reminds me of the Student Summer Jobs scheme that was introduced in a rush twenty-odd years ago which ended up being utterly abused and scammed.

As the expression goes; an Irish solution to an Irish problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,815 ✭✭✭imitation

OldGoat wrote: »
    If I had the available time I'd stick in an application. The opportunity to see the inner workings in the corridors of power, of seeing Politics at work firsthand is very tempting.

I would say George Lee thought the same but he was gone like a shot after a few months, and that was with a healthy salary !

Admin
    Based in KINGSCOURT Ref. INTE-979747
    Description
    The intern will gain practical experience in dealing with customers in person and over the phone and handling and balancing a till and office administration e.g. scanning and filing and working in a team environment. The intern will receive formal/informal training in the following: Customer service and services the credit union provides. Learning the company policies and procedures. Training in credit union activities to cover customer care, loan structure and delivery. On completion the intern will have attained skills in customer interaction, working as a team, working with figures and experience in a large number of areas to do with office administration.

Sales Assistant
    Based in DUBLIN 17 Ref. INTE-979730
    Description
    The intern will gain practical experience in retail sales. The successful candidate s daily tasks will include general sales, processing sales orders on computer, dealing with customers on a face to face basis, assembling customer orders for shipping. The intern will receive formal/informal training in the following : - sales, computer systems, manual handling and forklift training. On completion the intern will have attained skills in sales, people skills in relation to communication with customers and other sales team members, computer skills in relation to software packages.

IT Engineer
    Based in CORK CITY Ref. INTE-979735
    Description
    The intern will gain practical experience in IT customer support role. Shadowing Senior Engineers, helpdesk support, taking & logging calls, onsite work, fixing PCs, printers, changing hard drives, data backup. Service and maintenance support for clients. The intern will receive formal/informal training in the following: PCs, printer & server maintenance. On completion the intern will have attained skills in: PCs, printers & server maintenance. Team work. Customer care. Organisational skills.

I'm not sure which is worse:

A) Taking advantage of work hungry, desperate graduates who will mostly be in their early 20s

B) Taking advantage of experiences, qualified people who are stuck on the dole and are forced to be someones overqualified slave

C) Taking advantage of unqualified people, most likely working class, denying them even basic jobs like Sales Assistants. These jobs are often used to finance getting out of a poverty trap by going to college. But no. They can't even get paid work to support themselves to go to college just so they can, wait for it, end up as position A - a graduate forced to do an unpaid internship where they'll learn nothing.

Really introducing high value skills into the workplace, these internship things.

€14.99 ticket to London is the better option for graduates.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

i bloody hate the concept of unpaid internships. I'm glad the places I've worked in have paid interns something (above minimum anyways). Putting myself in their shoes, I honestly don't see how I would have managed an unpaid position having to move up to Dublin for example. My family aren't well off and could never have floated me (nor would I ever, ever ask).

Treat people decently ffs. If you can't afford to give a student/grad E8.65 an hour then you've got big problems and a fresh face ain't gonna turn things around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Fukuyama wrote: »
    €14.99 ticket to London is the better option for graduates.

They'll never make it over there without Sandwich Artistry skills. Better train up before getting the plane
    Sandwich Artist

Based in TUAM (URBAN) Ref. INTE-971808

Description
    The intern will gain practical experience in customer service, sandwich preparation, health and safety within the work place and inventory control and stock ordering The intern will receive formal/informal training in the following health and safety food hygiene practice, POS training and stock control. On completion the intern will have attained skills in customer service, online courses within Subway, Food preparation, health and safety and Food hygiene.

Skills Requirements
    A willing to be part of a team and to gain customer service skills

Please Note:
    This is an Internship. An allowance of €50 per week will be paid in addition to your current Social Welfare payment.See eligibility criteria above.

Department
    Subway Tuam

jobsbridge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,098 ✭✭✭conorhal

Whatever happened to an honest days pay for an honest day's work in this country? Seems the working class are expected to work for nothing yet again.

Probably the same thing that happened to political activism, idealism and a vocational engagement with democracy. does everybody expect be a 'hunderd grand quangocrat' in return for democratic engagement?
    I knew we'd rue the day we started paying county counsellors, next people will be refusing to vote unless paid to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

The worst one is doing a Jobbridge in a Dealz store.

Everything in there is worth €2.

Except you.

• Administrators Posts: 56,584 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Seems like a really good opportunity for someone wanting to get into this sort of work.

At least she is being honest and up front about it with regards to it not being ever permanent and being unpaid. Better than pretending that there is a job waiting at the end of the three months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

What about a chap from a poorer background trying to make a go of things and better himself, what if he wanted to do this?

He can't. And that's appalling. It's more of this 'closed to the elite' culture of the political class. No equality of opportunity.

There are already significant barriers for young men from poorer backgrounds wishing to advancing oneself, and now perpetuated by a politician that is for a new fairer Ireland? Bull.

Pay the lad ffs.

myshirt wrote: »
    What about a chap from a poorer background trying to make a go of things and better himself, what if he wanted to do this?

He can't. And that's appalling. It's more of this 'closed to the elite' culture of the political class. No equality of opportunity.

There are already significant barriers for young men from poorer backgrounds wishing to advancing oneself, and now perpetuated by a politician that is for a new fairer Ireland? Bull.

Pay the lad ffs.

If it's in Leinster House then it'd be shoes, shirt, slacks and tie at a minimum. Equivalent office wear for females. All can be expensive. 5 days a week. Factor in travel, lunches, supporting yourself (rent, foot, clothes, bills) and maybe going the cinema/pub once a week to stave of isolation - nobody from a working class background could do this.

Definitely not without very understanding or wealthy parents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,647 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

myshirt wrote: »

Pay the lad ffs.
    He can't? Why not?

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

OldGoat wrote: »
    He can't? Why not?

3 months. No pay.

Young, working class graduates don't have three months of living expenses saved up. Particularly when in three months they'll still be looking for paid work and not be entitled to the dole.

c_man wrote: »
    They'll never make it over there without Sandwich Artistry skills. Better train up before getting the plane

jobsbridge

any chance that's a p!sstake?
    The successful applicant will be trained as a Sandwich Artist

you have to register as a company for Jobbridge though, so it's probably genuine.

EDIT: No, definitely real:

https://www.mysubwaycareer.com/Home/JobDescriptions?clt=en-US
    The Sandwich Artist® greets and serves guests, prepares food, maintains food safety and sanitation standards, and handles or processes light paperwork. Exceptional customer service is a major component of this position.

The joke has become reality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,098 ✭✭✭conorhal

osarusan wrote: »
    It's not jobbridge.

How common are political internships in Ireland?

I'd have thought that there would be plenty of people keen to get involved with this (who would already be involved with the party at youth level), but of course, Renua doesn't have the pull that other parties do.

Most people involved in political parties are unpaid members, in fact most pay a membership fee to become involved. It's an act of volunteerism by folks that want to be involved in the democratic process so I don't see what the problem is with looking for a voluneteer to intern on a political campaign. Perhaps RENUA are advertising what most parties would offer to a party activist because, as you say, the don't actually have that many members?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

The joke has become reality.
    To be fair, it's not a criticism of JobsBridge, it's the actual job title that Subway give to their bread stuffers.

It just makes it even funnier that it's being called that in an internship.

seamus wrote: »
    To be fair, it's not a criticism of JobsBridge, it's the actual job title that Subway give to their bread stuffers.
    I know, that's what I meant.

This is the joke people made years ago - a sandwich artist or a sandwich technician, or similar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Paramite Pie

3 months. No pay.

Young, working class graduates don't have three months of living expenses saved up. Particularly when in three months they'll still be looking for paid work and not be entitled to the dole.

I'm working class and I worked up 6months of living expenses working in Dunnes after I left college. It's possible, and this was in the very midst of the recession in 2008/9. If ya save the piss-up money it can be done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭FalconGirl

Forget the laptop, the most telling statement in this has to be

"Please note that the position cannot be made permanent, but may be extended in duration".

Does she have nobody in her own family willing to work for free or did they all tell her where to get off ?? Maybe family are only 'suitably qualified' when there's a nice wage packet attached :rolleyes:

Basically she is getting a few people to join her for the upcoming election. They probably spend most of their time going door to door or putting up posters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭mosesgun

I have a bit of a thing for Lucinda so might stick in an application. Not sure though if it's a fella in his mid forties with feck all interest in politics that she's looking for. I have my own laptop and even and iPad that she could borrow if she was stuck. We'd have a great laugh me and Lucinda. I'd have to give up my job though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,457 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

mosesgun wrote: »
    I have a bit of a thing for Lucinda so might stick in an application. Not sure though if it's a fella in his mid forties with feck all interest in politics that she's looking for. I have my own laptop and even and iPad that she could borrow if she was stuck. We'd have a great laugh me and Lucinda. I'd have to give up my job though.

The plucked eyebrow look turns you on then ?

Not too sure why one has to be working class for that. It's not as if someone who's from a more wealthy background is guaranteed to be bankrolled by their parents. Roof over their heads, sure. Meals and washing, no problem. Expenses and spending money, that was my problem. But TBH, that level of parental support not unusual regardless of your background.

I get the impression that many of those who make such comments about the working class, have never met a member of that particular tribe...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

The requirements of that unpaid job are so high I doubt Lucinda would be successful (or any TD).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

To capital, its interest.
    To land, its rent.
    To labour, its wages.
    To enterprise, its profit.

Breaking those rules does not offer any kind of sustainable future. It betrays a lack of basic understanding of economics.
    If that is what Renua are about, they will be getting no preference on any ballot paper from me as they don't deserve to have their hands anywhere near the steering wheel of this country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,824 ✭✭✭RoyalMarine

I know, that's what I meant.

This is the joke people made years ago - a sandwich artist or a sandwich technician, or similar.

Like a forecourt worker pumping petrol for 8.65. I remember vaguely a job advertised stating that they were looking for a fuel injection technician.

I remember vaguely a job advertised stating that they were looking for a fuel injection technician.
    Sounds like something Finbarr Saunders would apply for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭jprboy

Anyone interested in an internship as a Transparent Materials Maintenance Engineer at my house should PM me.

I have lots of windows that need cleaning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭mosesgun

gandalf wrote: »
    The plucked eyebrow look turns you on then ?

Yes. That and her lovely genuine smile and warm persona :)