Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*********Motors Chat - Round 9 *********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

YbFocus wrote: »
    That's Paddy that had the beautiful 3 series!

I believe he took all those photos and wrote that article too. Much respect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

GvidoR wrote: »
    I believe he took all those photos and wrote that article too. Much respect.

Yeah that's what i meant :)

His photos are all over speedhunters amongst others.
    Fair play to the man!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

YbFocus wrote: »
    That's Paddy that had the beautiful 3 series!

I'm sure this is going to stir up some **** here but I just can't work out why people loved that 3 series so much. Always looked like high end 'felt spec to me basically....

I suppose it doesn't help that I really don't like modifying cars at all and the only BMW I really like since the E34 is the new 2 series (not the front wheel drive beast KIA would be ashamed of obviously!!!!) the real 2 series. Actually I like the E38 in the right spec too.

Each to their own man, the work the chap put into it was enough to earn my respect alone.
    But i also thought it looked fantastic.

People who don't like modified cars just won't like a car like that :)

I honestly thought there couldn't be a better example though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Modifying is a sickness, have mercy on us :(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,575 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

But surely everyone’s entitled to their opinion? No. Nobody is entitled to an opinion unless you can back it up with facts, experiences or legitimate and thoughtful debate. You also have to be willing to concede and change said opinion when your opinion has been undoubtedly proven wrong. People become so obsessed with being right, that they forget what they’re arguing about in the first place. Life becomes much easier when you’re open to having your opinions and thoughts challenged and changed on a regular basis.

Several large sacks of respect for that man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,917 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Who here has 6cyl tt? :eek:

I had in my 335, Ferris has in his current 335 and there's a few more of them on here too.

Who here has 6cyl tt? :eek:

I have 8 cylinders! Between two cars...
    I'll get me coat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,127 ✭✭✭job seeker

Took the plunge and went with that 850 euro quote from FBD.. It's exciting for me to have my first car.. Even if it's a 99 1L Yaris... Tis a s***box.. But its my s***box.. :D

job seeker wrote: »
    Took the plunge and went with that 850 euro quote from FBD.. It's exciting for me to have my first car.. Even if it's a 99 1L Yaris... Tis a s***box.. But its my s***box.. :D

Congrats. :)

The same yellow/gold one or a different one? You should put some pics up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,127 ✭✭✭job seeker

Congrats. :)

The same yellow/gold one or a different one? You should put some pics up.

Cheers

Ya, yellow on the log book, gold to the naked eye. its my mothers like the last two years. so I bought it back off her as it's good mechanically and water pump was done on it too. But best off all I know the car and the main reason I bought it was it hasn't cost a penny apart from general maintenance. So just going to run it to build up the no claims bonus. I have a thread started, but just not a lot of time to update it due to working long hours.. Must take up to date pics tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    I'm sure this is going to stir up some **** here but I just can't work out why people loved that 3 series so much. Always looked like high end 'felt spec to me basically....

I suppose it doesn't help that I really don't like modifying cars at all and the only BMW I really like since the E34 is the new 2 series (not the front wheel drive beast KIA would be ashamed of obviously!!!!) the real 2 series. Actually I like the E38 in the right spec too.

I used to be the same was never a fan of that car and the fact it was a run of the mill 320d made it even less appealing to me.

But since I got my latest car I have kind of changed my perspective a bit.

Before this car especially with the CL7 Accord and M Sport e90 I loved the way they looked factory spec they stood out from the crowd in different ways.

My current car didn't and left me feeling very meh so I have modded this car more than I have any other car beforehand and the list keeps growing it's kind of addictive and striving for perfection that may never arrive or that may go to far but it's fun and addictive imo.

Big Nasty wrote: »
    Go as fookin mental as ya can when you've little to no obligations. ;)

That's why I went for the 330i at the time it didn't bother me spending large amount on fuel two kids later hard to justify 80 to 100 euro a week on petrol that an the 3 series had a feckin tiny boot. Still miss that car awfully have dreams of buying it back in 15 years time :pac:

Still kinda regret not going for an 8 series at the time though :o

Least I'm still in a 6 cylinder and have a family I adore though :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,871 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Some serious fog about now, couldn't even see my exit!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Yep, same as that. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,269 ✭✭✭Brian Scan

166man wrote: »
    Wasn't meant to sound harsh, just fed up with someone telling me that forking out €10k for a diesel hatchback is the right thing to do financially.

I like Renaults quite a lot actually but I completely agree with you, you'll never have a better time to buy something a bit mad and if you buy the right car insurance can also be reasonable. Sure I was insured in my own name on a 525i BMW for €1k @ 21.

400km a week is not even 300 miles, easily petrol territory.

I think the point is that he has already bought the diesel hatchback.

Anyhow he's not telling you what to do , but you would appear to be telling him what he should do.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,318 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Herself said there was a wobble in her car when she went around corners yesterday. I took her car to work and thought the same. Suggestions on what it might be? Wheel alignment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

beertons wrote:
    Herself said there was a wobble in her car when she went around corners yesterday. I took her car to work and thought the same. Suggestions on what it might be? Wheel alignment?

Stupid question, but are all the nuts fully tightened?

Is the onyx showroom still in rathcoole?

Probably long gone.

The car is in getting the remap done have one the kids with me but play centre around the corner doesn't open till eleven so if it's still there might take a stroll down for a nose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,921 ✭✭✭Wossack

in traffic behind a very patriotic license plate the other day - 11 d 1916

what got a chuckle, is that it was on the back of a range rover..

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,318 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Stupid question, but are all the nuts fully tightened?

First thing I'll check when I get home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,196 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Several large sacks of respect for that man.

Thinking is difficult, that's why most people judge. -- Carl Jung. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,972 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Me too.:D

jimgoose wrote: »
    Thinking is difficult, that's why most people judge. -- Carl Jung. :D

I have to think about that one to see if you're insulting me! :p:D

What is vodoo's 7 series?

4.0L N/A V8, 302 HP

She's a 740i :)

Oh ya, his is a petrol. Seen this earlier, a 745d, not too common I don't think?

For sure. That one is on French plates though so possibly won't be here for very long. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,866 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

That was outside where I Work one morning a week ago.... Tourists!