Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*********Motors Chat - Round 9 *********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,871 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

So I was doing the lights on an X5 4.6 V8, take it for a spin he says, don't mind if I do :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

CIP4 wrote: »
    I'm kind of surprised that everyone is so upset over the fuel obviously it's annoying but I had kind of excepted that there would be 1 or 2 cent on the price which will equate to under 50 quid extra per year for most people. I'd be more concerned as to what they will be doing with PAYE and USC. USC in particular as to me that's a fcuking joke and a step too far. It's sickening looking at your payslip looking at how much your down especially once you go over the low bracket of 35k euro which most do.

What you need to remember is that it's not 1 or 2 cent onto the price of fuel. It's more than that as vat is then added on top.
    While oil prices might have fallen you also need to remember that it's price is highly volatile for two reasons.
    One it's priced in dollars, so as Europe keeps the printing presses on or any volatility in major European economies has an effect on the oil price we pay.
    Then you've opec who can decide feck this we're shutting down for a while to push the price up (opec flooded the market to make shale oil extraction too expensive damaging the us and to punish Russia over Syria)
    Added to that any conflict or word of conflict in the middle east could shoot the price of oil up again.
    Or an increase in demand from China.

So while prices are low at the moment, it's no guarantee that we won't see 1.69 again and Mr Noonan won't be lowering the rate of tax to give hard strapped motorists a break.

Ireland already has the fourth most expensive fuel prices in the world. Being first on that list is nothing to be proud off or something we should aim for

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

So I was doing the lights on an X5 4.6 V8, take it for a spin he says, don't mind if I do :D:D

Is it manual ?

Did you learn to manual better than when you almost dropped my Duratec bottom end on the M7 ? :p

Is it manual ?

Did you learn to manual better than when you almost dropped my Duratec bottom end on the M7 ? :p

Automatic of course!

To be fair, she had plenty of go in her, the M7 didn't see me coming. To be fair, you almost sent me through the windscreen in my own yoke :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,575 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

5W30 wrote: »
    I was taking the Ballymun exit on the M50 northbound this morning.

Lane 1: empty.
    Lane 2: L-plate driver undertaking
    Lane 3: Citroen van doing 90~ km/h and a cop on a bike behind him

The sirens went on and the van was pulled over. Unfortunately the dashcam didn't pick it up as it was to the right side of the car :pac:

Success! :)

You can be absolutely sure the cop got an absolute earful from yerman. Points mentioned certainly included, and most likely were not limited to, "I Am Entitled To Be On The Road!", "I can drive however I see fit as long as I don't speed", "what about dem boyracers", "I've been driving accident free for 20 years!, I Know How To Drive!", "Go catch some real criminals" and maybe asking the cop if his mum was proud of him. He will now go through the rest of his life telling everyone how he was victimised, picked on and hard done by. Probably ring Joe "There I was minding my own business and going the speedlimit when I got pulled over for no reason, they're just picking on innocent motorists!"
    If he's a real thick head on him, he will probably now make a point out of holding people up.
    Because when's the last time anyone in Ireland has said "fair enough, I did wrong, sorry, won't happen again". I certainly can't remember...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,575 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Obviously, these are everywhere

if you see Cameron, don't forget to say "oink oink"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,569 ✭✭✭166man

Basically with me I'm kind of this cycle where I have a completely different idea each they on what I want and it kind of goes around in a cycle.

Day 1: keep the Megane for 3 years plus it's a good car and ultimately the cheapest option leaving you loads of money to spend elsewhere and not have tied up in cars.

Day 2: buy a mk6 golf in 2017 good mixture between getting newish car and not huge money but would still cost a huge amount with the Megane.

Day 3: fcuk this secondhand car bullish!t come 2017 buy a brand new 150bhp 1.4tsi golf highline you only live once and you might as well do it now while you have fcuk all else to spend your wages on and no wife, mortgage or kids.

Day 4: new car are you crazy 25k euro on something that someone is going to bash up and make sh!t of every time you park it anywhere what you want is a late mk5 golf that you have fcuk all money tied up in and can mess around with and simply replace whenever you want too.

Day 5: some complete random car dream varies weekly.

Repeat to day one.

I still find it hilarious that you're still convinced your Megane is the "cheapest option"... It's bizarre really.

If you're going down the route of only live once do it properly and buy the RenaultSport Clio or Megane, not a jumped up Skoda/Seat Leon.

The cost to you in depreciation or even OC compared to buying the Megane or Clio would be very interesting to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

166man wrote: »
    I still find it hilarious that you're still convinced your Megane is the "cheapest option"... It's bizarre really.

If you're going down the route of only live once do it properly and buy the RenaultSport Clio or Megane, not a jumped up Skoda/Seat Leon.

The cost to you in depreciation or even OC compared to buying the Megane or Clio would be very interesting to see.

While I agree with you you could have said it a little nicer. ;)

@ CIP right now is the best time to pick up a big ass car for small money. If you'd ever like to have a V8 barge or a 6 pot turbo or the likes do it now. Never mind wee Clio's.

Used to have two V8's and an I6 myself. Now I have a wife, kid and two mortgages. While I wouldn't give them up for anything I'm thankful I had the opportunity.

Like the cream I will rise to the top again. ;)

Big Nasty wrote: »
    While I agree with you you could have said it a little nicer. ;)

@ CIP right now is the best time to pick up a big ass car for small money. If you'd ever like to have a V8 barge or a 6 pot turbo or the likes do it now. Never mind wee Clio's.

Used to have two V8's and an I6 myself. Now I have a wife, kid and two mortgages. While I wouldn't give them up for anything I'm thankful I had the opportunity.

Like the cream I will rise to the top again. ;)

You ate all the fecking cream ya ya wisdom dispensing auld fecker :p

Runaway :pac::pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,569 ✭✭✭166man

Wasn't meant to sound harsh, just fed up with someone telling me that forking out €10k for a diesel hatchback is the right thing to do financially.

I like Renaults quite a lot actually but I completely agree with you, you'll never have a better time to buy something a bit mad and if you buy the right car insurance can also be reasonable. Sure I was insured in my own name on a 525i BMW for €1k @ 21.

400km a week is not even 300 miles, easily petrol territory.

Let the lad finish uni and get a years work under his belt before buying something fun tbh.

Im the opposite im getting more old and decrepid by the day and need something more comfy, like a couch

Wasn't meant to sound harsh, just fed up with someone telling me that forking out €10k for a diesel hatchback is the right thing to do financially.

I like Renaults quite a lot actually but I completely agree with you, you'll never have a better time to buy something a bit mad and if you buy the right car insurance can also be reasonable. Sure I was insured in my own name on a 525i BMW for €1k @ 21.

I do about 300 miles a week, costs me about €70 in a 2.5 Petrol 6 cylinder, tis grand!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 694 ✭✭✭5W30

I do about 300 miles a week, costs me about €70 in a 2.5 Petrol 6 cylinder, tis grand!

fcuk me man!

€70 a week?!

A tank gets me 730~ km (€55 of diesel) here and it still feels expensive :pac:

5W30 wrote: »
    fcuk me man!

€70 a week?!

A tank gets me 730~ km (€55 of diesel) here and it still feels expensive :pac:

For the engine, it's oh so worth it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,903 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

The last month I have done 900 miles a week in my Celica, do I win :) ?

Yes :pac:

If my trip computer reads 60 miles to empty i can tear from a standstill to 60 and make the fuel light come on in one swoop :p

BUT I NO GO 10 MILES STUPID COMPUTER ! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Let the lad finish uni and get a years work under his belt before buying something fun tbh.

Im the opposite im getting more old and decrepid by the day and need something more comfy, like a couch

Go as fookin mental as ya can when you've little to no obligations. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,866 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

+1. My college days were d-turbos, Mercs and BMW's :cool:

Whats wrong with a well minded auld humpy diesel corolla? Plenty of parts, tea-oooooaty will keep stocking parts for it untill you're a pensioner, surprisingly easy to work on (mostly), cheap (mostly) and quite practical....

Sure its quite an eyesore and reg snobs/spoilt mammys boy's wouldn't be seen driving something so old and dangerous because mammy and daddy can't have precious brat driving something for the peasants... But it is a cost effective way to get about as they are peanuts to buy and tax (at most €710 for the 2.0 mule)

Thanks to cars like humpy I can actually afford to run something nice for the weekends! Actual cars that are nuts to drive, that you can appreciate their over engineering, their old high tech, they're lethal power delivery in the wet :D you know what I'm on about :D

Now doesn't that sound much more fun? :)

I need moar cylinder :(

Join the 6 cylinder tt club :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,485 ✭✭✭Donnelly117

You can never have enough 6 cyl BMWs on one forum!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Join the 6 cylinder tt club :)

Who here has 6cyl tt? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭CIP4

Infairness I think you miss read the context when I said the cheapest option as in looking forward it's going to be the cheapest option to keep it as it doesn't need anything has low tax insurance and all that. I mean obviously if I was back buying again spending 10k on it would not of been the financially cheapest thing to do and that's not what I meant in my post.

At the time of buying it I was struggling to get insurance on anything older or anyway high powered. Once I build up my ncb for another year or two it might be a bit better maybe not much with the way prices are going. I mean I know you think of it as having huge depreciation and all that which it will certainly loose a good bit over the next two years or whatever but it's not something I really think about too much maybe if I was paying a loan on it I would I don't know. And I'd agree with you 400 km is petrol territory but as it is in doing a lot more than that now it's only when I start work in June it will drop to that.

It's grand saying go out and buy Clio 197 or whatever but ultimately it's Sh!t roads to work so I don't want to buy something too sporty that will be uncomfortable and I'll be sick of after a month. So I'd say the likes of a GTI golf would be one of the more practical hot hatches. Anyway not sure what I want and I wouldn't really know what to pick if I had to choose in the morning but I'm going to try and hit a good middle ground whenever I do buy something.

Sure its quite an eyesore and reg snobs/spoilt mammys boy's wouldn't be seen driving something so old and dangerous because mammy and daddy can't have precious brat driving something for the peasants... But it is a cost effective way to get about as they are peanuts to buy and tax (at most €710 for the 2.0 mule)

Thanks to cars like humpy I can actually afford to run something nice for the weekends!

I hope that first bit wasn't referring to me anyway :pac: I'd like a weekend car always have wanted one. It will realistically be 5 years before I get one. I always thought it would be class having something comfy for the weekdays and then mad for the weekends. I think it would be nice being able to change between two yokes rather than the same car everyday.

You're not an eyesore are you...?! :p can't picture you being a spoiled brat either! :D

Why not get something now and do it up for when you're ready to drive it? Worked out for me :D

Wanna try and get myself a 406 V6 someday. In saloon guise. D8 front. Exec trim. Pre 98. Vulcan red again. Would make an unusual weekend warrior :cool:

I think it would compliment my French engined scrapheap very well :D

You're not an eyesore are you...?! :p can't picture you being a spoiled brat either! :D

Why not get something now and do it up for when you're ready to drive it? Worked out for me :D

Wanna try and get myself a 406 V6 someday. In saloon guise. D8 front. Exec trim. Pre 98. Vulcan red again. Would make an unusual weekend warrior :cool:

I think it would compliment my French engined scrapheap very well :D

Ye I definitely would have done that only for a case of moving from the country last year which had loads of space to the town with no space. It has its benefits but lack of a decent size garage is a right pain altogether. And nowhere to even park the car while doing it up hence why I'll have to push it out a few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

GvidoR wrote: »

That's Paddy that had the beautiful 3 series!