S***-A-Ginger-Night.

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

Candie wrote: »

Imagine if they had a Shag A Short Person night or something. :(

Any port in a storm ;).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭The Randy Riverbeast

Non red haired people are making a bigger deal of this.

Seriously, stop cock blocking me. I just need to convince my girlfriend to let me go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

Amongst my peers,my red haired friends are,for the most part,excellent swordsmen.The cynical side of me says this is an attempt to fill a nightclub in the arsehole of Donegal on a drab tues night.That said,I hope all the socially inept red haired lads get their hole,and wish them the best.

Any port in a storm ;).

You ole romantic, you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,605 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

The local PP was on George Hook . Apparently someone complained to him,for some reason.
    Of course if one person complains it takes precedent over everybody else's opinion.

Candie wrote: »
    You ole romantic, you!

Ah shure any hole's a goal :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Some of the newspaper articles are like something from Waterford Whispers. The fecken local priest ringing the gardai about it! And surprise surprise, the catholic priest is against casual sex and contraception.

If it was called shag a black there'd be uproar.
    But it's not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 506 ✭✭✭Ant695

[QUOTE=Management at a Donegal Nightclub have done a u-turn after a controversial promotion caused uproar with parents.

The 'Shag A Ginger' night planned for tonight at Pulse Nightclub in Letterkenny hit the headlines because of objections from local parents.

Even local Glenfinn priest, Fr Lorcan O Searcaigh labelled the event as a disgrace.

The nightclub claimed however, that the event was only a bit of fun.

They had planned to give out condoms and to even have a hairdresser at the club to help people dye their hair.

However, the club has now rowed back on their ambitious plans and apologised for any offence caused.

Pulse management have now confirmed the original event has been changed to ‘Kiss Me, I’m Ginger’.

In a statement they said: “Given recent controversy surrounding a promotional poster advertising the event, the management have removed it and wish to make it clear it was not their intention to cause insult or offence to anyone.

“The promotion of such events on student nights are commonplace throughout the county and have occurred in the past without knowingly causing offence.”

LYIT Student Union say the event has nothing to do with them.[/QUOTE]

Colour me shocked... :eek::eek::eek::eek:

http://www.donegaldaily.com/2015/10/07/nightclub-do-a-u-turn-on-controversial-s-a-ginger-night/

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 31,620 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Even local Glenfinn priest, Fr Lorcan O Searcaigh labelled the event as a disgrace.

The use of 'even' gives this sentence a rather bizarre emphasis...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Tzardine

The nightclub should have given the priest the middle finger.

Now he has won. Next he will be on the look out for his next moral crusade.

The use of 'even' gives this sentence a rather bizarre emphasis...

Do you mean Ol Ginger Lorcan - he's usually a great craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,457 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

kneemos wrote: »
    The local PP was on George Hook . Apparently someone complained to him,for some reason.
    Of course if one person complains it takes precedent over everybody else's opinion.

He obviously isn't a Ginger so ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

i wish they had this in my days in dit :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,442 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

Tbh, had I advance knowledge amd where I in the area, would probably have popped over given I have orange hair.

Pretty awesome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

I have basically treated every day since puberty as a shag a ginger day. Sometimes I even managed to convince a ginger to play along. Those were good days:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,915 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

If it was called shag a black there'd be uproar.

In our modern free-spoken society
    There is a word that we still hold taboo
    A word with a terrible history
    Of being used to abuse, oppress and subdue
    Just six seemingly harmless letters
    Arranged in a way that will form a word
    With more power than the pieces of metal
    That are forged to make swords

A couple of Gs, an R and an E, an I and an N
    Just six little letters all jumbled together
    Have caused damage that we may never mend
    And it's important that we all respect
    That if these people should happen to choose
    To reclaim the word as their own
    It doesn't meant the rest of you have a right to it's use

So never under estimate
    The power that language imparts
    Sticks and stones may break your bones
    But words can break hearts
    A couple of Gs - jeez, unless you've had to live it
    An R and an E - even I am careful with it
    An I and an N - and in the end it will only offend
    Don't want to have to spell it out again...

Yeah

Only a ginger can call another ginger, ginger