Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

S***-A-Ginger-Night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Subscribe only site?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 506 ✭✭✭Ant695

Ruu wrote: »
    Subscribe only site?

Usually only get that if you try to access it outside Ireland. Body of the article:

LYIT Students Union is under fire today for promoting casual sex and 'targeting' people with red hair in a 'sick' night out at The Pulse this Wednesday night.

Anthony and Michelle Dunleavy, from Glenvar, say they were so "disgusted" at the event due to take place at the Letterkenny's nightclub they made a complaint to gardai.

The club says free condoms will be given out on the night which LYIT Students Union is calling 'Shag A Ginger' Night.

"It's so crass, it's hard to even think of the words," said Anthony Dunleavy today.

"It's cyber-bullying and basically discriminates against redheads."

A Garda spokesman confirmed today a complaint was made but that there are no laws against discrimination on grounds of appearance.

Said Anthony: "It's thoughtless, crude and horrible. This is outrageous. It is promoting casual sex as well."

The Students Union is yet to comment on the issue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Ant695 wrote: »
    Causing quite a stir in Donegal.

Must be a quiet week up there. Vaguely remember a few "oujia boards are the Satan" scares coming out of there in the 80's.....
    Was even reported to the gardai by the father of a girl being "cyber bullied" over it. Personally I see it as harmless fun but can see how some people are taking offence to it.

http://www.donegaldaily.com/2015/10/05/anger-at-students-unions-sickening-s-a-ginger-night/

Mention sex and some eejit will always get offended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

There will be plenty of pop, rock and metal, but no Soul

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

In fairness, crass is the only word for it. Immaturity at it's worst.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Usually only get that if you try to access it outside Ireland. Body of the article:

LYIT Students Union is under fire today for promoting casual sex and 'targeting' people with red hair in a 'sick' night out at The Pulse this Wednesday night.

Anthony and Michelle Dunleavy, from Glenvar, say they were so "disgusted" at the event due to take place at the Letterkenny's nightclub they made a complaint to gardai.

The club says free condoms will be given out on the night which LYIT Students Union is calling 'Shag A Ginger' Night.

"It's so crass, it's hard to even think of the words," said Anthony Dunleavy today.

"It's cyber-bullying and basically discriminates against redheads."

A Garda spokesman confirmed today a complaint was made but that there are no laws against discrimination on grounds of appearance.

Said Anthony: "It's thoughtless, crude and horrible. This is outrageous. It is promoting casual sex as well."

The Students Union is yet to comment on the issue.

I'd say the bolded and underlined is their malfunction.

Its hardly discrimination if they say "shag a ginger". "don't shag a ginger" maybe.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

All the gingers: "STFU FFS Anthony!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

It is pretty poor taste and whoever came up with the idea should maybe have slept on it longer. I don't see getting upset about it though.

On the plus side a few gingers should get the ride at least.

All the gingers: "STFU FFS Anthony!"

Yeah you wont be able to find ginger hair dye or wigs for love nor money this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

"Shag a ginger"?? Sounds like a humanitarian mission to me! :pac:

It is pretty poor taste and whoever came up with the idea should maybe have slept on it longer. I don't see getting upset about it though.

On the plus side a few gingers should get the ride at least.

Imagine ringing the gards to make a complaint about it though. That would have been an interesting conversation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 Tommy Kay The DJ

Think I might dye my hair red and head up there for the night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,116 ✭✭✭Trent Houseboat

Which is a bad thing because...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

...sex makes you pregnant and then you have to push a human outside of you and that breaks your spine and puts you in a wheelchair for the rest of your life.

Also you have to feed a baby all the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭eeguy

jimgoose wrote: »
    "Shag a ginger"?? Sounds like a humanitarian mission to me! :pac:

I'd imagine there's a few flame tops that did well out of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭EazyD

Imagine being the Gard taking that call, Find it hard not to be in stitches.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,211 ✭✭✭✭beertons

I don't know about yee lot, but I'm off to dye my hair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 935 ✭✭✭Whitewinged

Well im not going, im blonde ffs! :)

Seriously though it is really offensive and imagine if you do have red hair and go. Is it assumed that is the reason you are going on the night out?

I imagine a lot of people with red hair would not go and you will end up with alot of people wearing wigs making a joke of it. Also even if someone decided not to go, they are still being put in a position where it seems acceptable to be picked on because of their appearance and will get stick prior to the event. Its really a bad idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I'm totes onboard with Shag A Ginger Night.
    **** you PC people, gingers are hot no matter what you say, racists!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

In fairness, crass is the only word for it. Immaturity at it's worst.

it's a bit rapey too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,443 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Causing quite a stir in Donegal. Was even reported to the gardai by the father of a girl being "cyber bullied" over it. Personally I see it as harmless fun but can see how some people are taking offence to it.

http://www.donegaldaily.com/2015/10/05/anger-at-students-unions-sickening-s-a-ginger-night/

If this is actually happening, then that's what should be tackled, but the theme of the night itself, while I think it's ridiculous and all, I don't see it as particularly harmful in and of itself, no different than ladies nights or any other themed nights.

I wasn't aware that women with ginger hair had any greater difficulty in meeting men than women who are blonde, brunette, etc.

Sure wasn't the most eligible bachelor in Ireland a few years back from Donegal, and he had ginger hair?

It's intended as a bit of fun with a silly internet meme, but if people were taking it seriously and bullying other people over it, then it's those people who should be punished, and not the idiots in the SU who came up with this hair-brained idea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

If it was called shag a black there'd be uproar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 Tommy Kay The DJ

EazyD wrote: »
    Imagine being the Gard taking that call, Find it hard not to be in stitches.

Not if they were a ginger guard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭eeguy

Too right. Tickets would be sold out in no time.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,087 ✭✭✭✭Dan_Solo

Sickening! Sickening!
    I mean, who'd want to shag a ginger? EW!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Certainly got plenty of publicity, I hope they make a fortune from it, but no doubt it'll be cancelled due to the usual brigade who always feel the need to get offended on behalf of other people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 100 ✭✭mullyboyee

Anyone who is actually offended by this would want to take a long hard look at themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,638 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

It makes holy god very very angry.

You can't really state that with any certainty though? I'd say there'd be about as much 'uproar' as the fact there's a 'shag a ginger' night tbh.

It'd be just as crass, and just as silly, but I don't think there'd be any more uproar about it than the idea of 'shag a <insert whatever you like here>' night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,529 ✭✭✭BoardsMember

mullyboyee wrote: »
    Anyone who is actually offended by this would want to take a long hard look at themselves.

Not if they were ginger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,087 ✭✭✭✭Dan_Solo

Not if they were ginger.
    Or they could take a long hard look at somebody ginger.
    Oh I say vicar!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭The Randy Riverbeast

Guys, I'll take one for the team. If all the ladies please form an orderly line we can get this started. I'm getting on the bus now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 935 ✭✭✭Whitewinged

There will be plenty of pop, rock and metal, but no Soul

Not unlike vampires, unless your a "daywalker" then you have a partial soul.

Guys, I'll take one for the team. If all the ladies please form an orderly line we can get this started. I'm getting on the bus now.

Lucy Collet will be busy that night.

She told me to send her regards :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

So a load of flamehaired farmboys turn up on tractors looking for the ride.

Some AC/DC is played. Headbanging is done. All go home virgins with tall tales.

....how is this any different to any other teenage night from Donegal to Denver ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭OneOfThem

This is outrageous. It is promoting casual sex as well."

Fvck! Nearly tripped over my rosary beads and crashed into my life size Virgin Mary statue in my rush to grab the emergency holy water filled super soaker I keep locked and loaded for just these kinds of emergencies of sexual morality.

OneOfThem wrote: »
    Fvck! Nearly tripped over my rosary beads and crashed into my life size Virgin Mary statue in my rush to grab the emergency holy water filled super soaker I keep locked and loaded for just these kinds of emergencies of sexual morality.

Is the Virgin Mary anatomically correct ? Can I have a go ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,596 ✭✭✭hairyslug

Wonder was I the only one to read it as "sh1t a ginger" and was completely confused by the concept of how you would do that.

hairyslug wrote: »
    Wonder was I the only one to read it as "sh1t a ginger" and was completely confused by the concept of how you would do that.

That would be considered special interest and confined to the VIP lounge (with all new plastic sheeting).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,498 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

Although quite silly, its a joke, and an enterprising way to get customers in the door. I wont even go near the ludicrous concerns about sexual morality as this belongs to a Late Late Show debate in the early 1970's.

What does irritate me are the accusations of encouraging bullying. This is an event aimed at college students, are they suggesting that people of this age are using it to bully their peers? Or do we genuinely need to 'think of the children' who may see this advertised?

And genuine question, is ginger bullying really a huge issue in Ireland these days? Bullies will always find a way to abuse their victims, whether its hair colour, weight, clothes, being a 'teachers pet', where a person lives etc. Because thats what the pyschopathic little scrotes do

I say all of this as someone who is ginger and was subjected to bullying in school. But I can see the funny side when someone takes the p!ss out of ginger people (assuming its actually funny such as the South Park episode). This night out, while a little crass, is completely harmless in my opinion.

Dan_Solo wrote: »
    Sickening! Sickening!
    Yeah, fuse wire pubes. No thanks

Lucy Collet will be busy that night.

She told me to send her regards :p
    Shes no Julie Kenneddy. Id hit that like a ginger step child

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭Custardpi

hairyslug wrote: »

The vindaloo from my local Indian achieves pretty much that result the next day. Btw, can anyone recommend a good brand of hair dye?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

Yeah, fuse wire pubes. No thanks

I once exhorted a gentleman to do the needful to a redhead and he declined explaining "it'd be like poking the fire".

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,885 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

Sickening! Sickening!

Ah feck off.Gingers need love too!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

I expect there would alright, and I expect if it was "shag a blonde" it would have got less coverage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭Medusa22

This is a trap. Do not attend this event. It has actually been set up by a group of gingers to further their agenda, they want to dupe innocent non-gingers into having pity sex with them in the hope of reproducing and further infiltrating society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,638 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Medusa22 wrote: »
    This is a trap. Do not attend this event. It has actually been set up by a group of gingers to further their agenda, they want to dupe innocent non-gingers into having pity sex with them in the hope of reproducing and further infiltrating society.

what was the address again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Sickening! Sickening!

I'll do it!:D