Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*********Motors Chat - Round 9 *********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

There's a few funny ones there tbf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,894 ✭✭✭✭bear1

So Noonan has said fuel tax will be increased. Cnut.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 694 ✭✭✭5W30

bear1 wrote: »

Ah yeah sure, barrel of oil has gone down let's make ourselves a fortune by raising the tax so the price is as high as before! Great government :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭CIP4

I want!

http://www.autotrader.co.uk/classified/advert/201507245465029?fuel-type=petrol&make=volkswagen&maximum-age=up_to_6_years_old&keywords=gt&page=1&search-target=usedcars&body-type=hatchback&model=golf&radius=1500&sort=default&transmission=manual&postcode=ln12na&onesearchad=used%2Cnearlynew%2Cnew&logcode=p

That seems to be the lower end of the scale, 09 ones go up to nearly 8k pounds! That said, the mileage is around 40k miles. Am I right in saying vrt wouldn't be as heavy on a 1.4 tsi as opposed to a 1.9tdi?

Don't be posting them up here :pac: I personally wouldn't touch that older type 1.4tsi with the supercharger and chain trouble maybe it was sorted by 2009 though. As for the mk6 there was no 1.9tdi in them 2009 ones were 2.0tdi 110bhp and when the new engines came in in 2010 they were all 1.6 tdi 90 bhp in Low spec and 105bhp high spec and the odd 2.0tdi cr engine in 140 and 170 bhp. I think if I was going for the 1.4tsi is go mk7 2013 onwards as by then all the issues were fixed but maybe they were fixed in the mk6.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Ah here what the ****!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,196 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Well the divil fcuk him. From a height. Twice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,903 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Is therea link to that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,540 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Is therea link to that?
    Found it

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/fuel-hikes-on-cards-in-final-budget-talks-31589567.html

Looks like a "put it out there, hang it over their heads, then expect praise and thanks when you don't follow through on the threat" kinda thing at the moment.

Ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,306 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

griffin.jpg

Gotta love Irish politicians. They're a parody onto themselves.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,575 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

They must have heard the fact that Renua wants to put up fuel and there's an appetite in the population for motor tax to be abolished and fuel prices to be increased.
    So Noonan thought this would be a good plan, with one little adjustment...
    And that's what happens when you shout for tax increases loud enough.
    I thought I saw his name on a pack of bread the other day, but then I realised it said "Thick Cut"

da dum tish...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,866 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

The. Humpy. Bastard :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,894 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Sorry I was in the airport and couldn't post a link but I'm fecked off with that tit. He does nothing for the motorist at all except fleece the living bejaysus out of them.
    Fags and pints are on the up too, sure feck it I've given up the fags (for now) and I don't head out to a pub enough to be pissed off about it but for the love of Christ could they not leave the fuel alone??? Surprised they haven't thought about increasing the tax rates...

Bet it won't happen, they are going for the "sure don't ye have more money in yer pocket now after us" buzz. They will wave this around the place and then when it doesn't happen some people will be thick enough to believe they are better off.

Every time I think I have money in my pocket the price of something goes up or a new stealth tax appears. Sorry I didn't f*** off to Canada years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

They want us all driving nissan leafs or 1.2 diesels and sure if ya don't fcuk ya how dare you enjoy driving sure why would you want a car with power sure your only allowed the speed limit and sure every car can do that :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Sorry I didn't f*** off to Canada years ago.

Lets go.

GvidoR wrote: »
    Lets go.
    thelma-louise_14-e1399524417314.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,196 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

So. Two new rear brake discs and a new caliper, as well as pads. Also, I mightn't have the General back until Monday. Immortan Goose is most displeased!! :mad:

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSCmgNdA7HkzqrejZqjDSdX09QeoPe2Bm3TWOIlFbO0kmC6HYCwng

I was taking the Ballymun exit on the M50 northbound this morning.

Lane 1: empty.
    Lane 2: L-plate driver undertaking
    Lane 3: Citroen van doing 90~ km/h and a cop on a bike behind him

The sirens went on and the van was pulled over. Unfortunately the dashcam didn't pick it up as it was to the right side of the car :pac:

Success! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

3 lanes. Fancy. I'm lucky to have one over here. :pac:

3 lanes on the M50 are about as useful as half a lane in the country side to be fair. If you want to drive at 100 km/h you need to weave between the 3 lanes :eek:

5W30 wrote: »
    I was taking the Ballymun exit on the M50 northbound this morning.

Lane 1: empty.
    Lane 2: L-plate driver undertaking
    Lane 3: Citroen van doing 90~ km/h and a cop on a bike behind him

The sirens went on and the van was pulled over. Unfortunately the dashcam didn't pick it up as it was to the right side of the car :pac:

Success! :)

Was that a white 02 shape bingo van? And what time? I encountered a silly dickhead at the same crack on the m3 at about 8.... Being an absolute nuisance

Well, it would want to be considering I use it every morning.... ;)

I'm kind of surprised that everyone is so upset over the fuel obviously it's annoying but I had kind of excepted that there would be 1 or 2 cent on the price which will equate to under 50 quid extra per year for most people. I'd be more concerned as to what they will be doing with PAYE and USC. USC in particular as to me that's a fcuking joke and a step too far. It's sickening looking at your payslip looking at how much your down especially once you go over the low bracket of 35k euro which most do.

The thing is that it won't be 1-2c if it does cone to fruition. Go hard or go home, iirc the last jump was 5 or 10c was it not?

Ah well there is no way they are going throwing 5 or 10 cent on it as they want to get in again.

CIP4 wrote: »
    Ah well there is no way they are going throwing 5 or 10 cent on it as they want to get in again.

Nothing would shock me. Patriculalrly seeing as diesel is down to 1.10 in places, that's nearly 2007 money.

Obviously, these are everywhere

Was that a white 02 shape bingo van? And what time? I encountered a silly dickhead at the same crack on the m3 at about 8.... Being an absolute nuisance

No, it was also an 02 shape Berlingo but it was dark green :P

5W30 wrote: »
    No, it was also an 02 shape Berlingo but it was dark green :P

Another disease to the roadl if its DW8 powered! :(