Clean Break - RTE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,596 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

This will be a one off series whether it's a ratings hit or not, there's not the characters or storyline to create anything others than a 1 off series.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,983 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

If I were a criminal I would now leave DNA on a cigarette and throw it away at a meet up spot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭Dan Chipowski

The actress who plays Frank's daughter is worse than useless.

No improvement this week at all, it's pretty crap.

GDY151

Ad at the end for Series 1 on DVD, I seriously doubt there will be a Series 2.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭Deathwish4

It's trying, and failing, to be a little twin peaksy in that weird sense. Mentioned already but the actor playing the Mallon girl is simply not very good :(

It's entertaining and i'll see it through to the end so I guess it's got it's good points. Step forward Noel Blake :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

There's one massive flaw in the raid plan, and someone else can correct me if I'm missing anything obvious here - the show room is about to go under. This is well known to the bank and ESPECIALLY to Desmond.

How the hell is Frank supposed to explain how he suddenly came up with several hundred thousand euros in cash to pay his debts? Like... Desmond will surely figure out immediately that Frank is the one who raided him? They already hate eachothers' guts and now Frank suddenly had massive piles of cash to throw around where previously he had nothing to bargain with?

How is he supposed to launder the cash in a town as small as this and with so little time to get it done?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Shifty Shellshock

There's one massive flaw in the raid plan, and someone else can correct me if I'm missing anything obvious here - the show room is about to go under. This is well known to the bank and ESPECIALLY to Desmond.

How the hell is Frank supposed to explain how he suddenly came up with several hundred thousand euros in cash to pay his debts? Like... Desmond will surely figure out immediately that Frank is the one who raided him? They already hate eachothers' guts and now Frank suddenly had massive piles of cash to throw around where previously he had nothing to bargain with?

How is he supposed to launder the cash in a town as small as this and with so little time to get it done?

Ah he'll carry it in a sports bag back to his house and will say he sold a few cars. See, we can be screen writers on here, too.

Mr E wrote: »
    Guys, streaming sites are against the charter. Some recent posts around the topic have been deleted.

I really, really hope someone from RTE reads these threads or sees the number of streams already available and being shared on social media, and asks why. There'd be no need for it if the RTE player didn't have ridiculous restrictions and a total lack of cookie collecting - last week, I was shown a new ad literally every time I clicked to replay a minute of the show or to see a scene again having literally just watched it in the same player box. If you're going to include a seek bar, then set it up so that it remembers whether the user has already seen the ad and doesn't treat every click anywhere in the timeline as a "start from the beginning" click.

eejits...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

Agree about the actress playing the daughter...hopelessly miscast and what should be passionate dramatic scenes are wooden and dead.
    Didn't see the faked suicide coming as I thought Aaron Monaghan's character had potential and would possibly be the hook for a second series...so will keep watching.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,138 ✭✭✭Hitchens

That actor with the lank reddish hair was born for villainous parts :D

Just rewatching there, your man at the bonfire creeping on Corrina is giving me a serious Luke from L/H vibe (anyone remember him? The kettle-lacking, sister-stalking swan-murdering gobsh!te) and I can't help wondering how big a storyline that's going to become. Threatening to burn down someone's gaff for rejecting you is full psycho, could be an interesting side plot...

Who??? Schnowwwy? :D

Was the actor who played Git Loughman drunk rambling in the same scene?

And the casino owner played Martin the traveller character in the third episode of the very first series of love/hate. A very talented and underused actor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

Just watched the second episode now. It was good and showed the main bad guy with the longish hair's vicious side. That guy you mention is very like Luke. Only probably nastier.

Recapping on Luke: he is first seen being loaded into a van by Fran and then Fran sets his dogs on him and Darren kills the dog and Luke then proceeds into a few weird acts like peeping through Stumpy's mother's place and breaking into Fran's, going to the toilet, eating stuff and then stealing his jumper. Fran later has a go at him after seeing the jumper. From there, he is used by Darren on jobs and forms a friendship with him. He is seen with some counseller discussing some past problems. Mary feels sorry for him and he gets a notion of her and she rejects him, leading him to kill the swan. He then steps up his stalking of Mary and Mary eventually catches him. Darren warns him off and he still does not stop, coming into the bedroom of her house when she is sleeping. Darren uses him in the killing of John Boy and Nidge then convinces Darren he needs to be clipped. He is lured into the Dublin mountains and he is I think the only character Nidge himself actually kills after he shoots him.

The Clean Break character is cut from the same cloth and I thought I saw the little girl having nightmares involving him too? He is a nasty piece of work and he could well be used to try and kill the boxer character.

Liking this show so far. Hard to envisage it going beyond the four episodes but its pretty decent. Some super actors, Danny, Frank, Dessie (who is also excellent as Mr Selfridges adversary), and the main villain of the piece who appeared in Amber previously. Some terrific acting talent in this country. It lacks the extra nitty gritty of love/hate but it has its moments.

Im actually shocked that they couldnt find a part for Gareth Lombard (Scobie from Pure Mule) considering he is a born and bred Wexican.

No improvement this week at all, it's pretty crap.

Which daughter? :D

The little one who was kidnapped is a powerful little actress i think

GDY151

Liking this show so far. Hard to envisage it going beyond the four episodes but its pretty decent. Some super actors, Danny, Frank, Dessie (who is also excellent as Mr Selfridges adversary), and the main villain of the piece who appeared in Amber previously. Some terrific acting talent in this country. It lacks the extra nitty gritty of love/hate but it has its moments.

Im actually shocked that they couldnt find a part for Gareth Lombard (Scobie from Pure Mule) considering he is a born and bred Wexican.

It's built so wrong, it should have been purely from the Garda investigating the crime point of view if they wanted to make it a multiple series, there's nothing in it at all that could extend beyond 1 series.

Actually Kelly Thornton who plays Franks 'eldest' daughter was the eldest of the little girls involved in the Tiger kidnapping storyline in Love/hate.

It's built so wrong, it should have been purely from the Garda investigating the crime point of view if they wanted to make it a multiple series, there's nothing in it at all that could extend beyond 1 series.

Perhaps its not the intention. Unless you could take one of the characters a whole new direction

GDY151

Perhaps its not the intention. Unless you could take one of the characters a whole new direction

It's a shame really because the camera work and general vibe is good but as a replacement for the cash cow that was Love/Hate it's a bloody disgrace.

Perhaps Carolan has something big planned and they got this guy to write 'an appetiser' of sorts to fill the gap?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,138 ✭✭✭Hitchens

Had to smile when Tommy 'The Ram' Dillon turned up as the Garda sergeant! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,424 ✭✭✭✭Basq

THIS!!!!... THIS!!!!... THIS!!!!
    Which daughter? :D
    Corrina.. if she was any more wooden, I could prop up my washing with her!

Watched the first episode and found it difficult to concentrate past the horrific acting.. the only actor bar Sean McGinley I recognise was Damien Moloney (Danny Dempsey) who was decent in the last 2 series of Being Human.

Really don't know if I'm bothered watching any more of them to be honest!

Basq wrote: »
    THIS!!!!... THIS!!!!... THIS!!!!

Corrina.. if she was any more wooden, I could prop up my washing with her!

Watched the first episode and found it difficult to concentrate past the horrific acting.. the only actor bar Sean McGinley I recognise was Damien Moloney (Danny Dempsey) who was decent in the last 2 series of Being Human.

Really don't know if I'm bothered any more of them to be honest!

I was hinting at the fact that frank fathered the little girl hence the resentment toward her from her adopted father the bank manager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭johnpatrick81

The 1st episode was an entertaining shoddy one. The 2nd was just shoddy. Terrible. Will find it hard to bother with episode 3. The pretty daughter is indeed abysmal. I think she has 5 different accents already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,221 ✭✭✭brian_t

The third episode is starting at the slightly later time of 10pm on Sunday.

You won't have to choose between it and the end of the Ire v. Poland match on RTE 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Glebee

Overall i quite like this, nothing too texting for a Sunday night watch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,931 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

Slightly better than Amber but thats not saying much!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭rebeve

Think i`m going to give it a clean break .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

Perhaps Carolan has something big planned and they got this guy to write 'an appetiser' of sorts to fill the gap?

Just wondering what does come after Clean Break? There is an 8-week slot up until December after the finale of Clean Break!! Could there be a secret Love/Hate afterall???!!!! :confused: