Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clean Break - RTE.

• 14-09-2015 10:53pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭

Clean Break, is a new four part drama series due to air on RTE from September 28th.

So, what do you think of the trailer ?

Could this be another drama that the nation falls in love with like Love/Hate.
    Or will this prove to be a waste of money by RTE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,023 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

It better be mad and not tamed down for sunday night Glenroe audience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

From the trailer, it looks to be good. With the absence of Love/Hate this year, I hope this series lives up to that standard. The Glenroe curse I think influenced Irish drama for too long and that's why we got half cooked fare like The Big Bow Wow and Trouble in Paradise that sort of pointed in the right direction but were afraid to go all the way and ended up very poor.

Love/Hate changed Irish drama and set the bar and broke the glenricular curse. Clean Break will no doubt be a sort of reworking of Love/Hate. It looks good and hopefully it does not disappoint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭s8n

I think they should bring back Glenroe tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

s8n wrote: »
    I think they should bring back Glenroe tbh

Whatever one thinks of it, Glenroe was a series that worked in its day and indeed, was probably good in its early series. Later on, it became stale and the original writers had moved on from it.

Bringing it back now would probably not work. Since the series was based so much on the Mick Lally and Joe Lynch characters and since those two actors are dead, it would not be the same. As well as this, Mary McEvoy's character was killed off in the series too. Other characters were also killed off in it and a lot of the other actors are probably dead by now too. Bringing back Miley and Biddy's children and cameo roles by Emmet Bergin, etc. would be one way to do it but it would be a different series.

But what if Glenroe actually did survive past 2001 and was broadcast up until say 2014? The most likely way it would have gone is like Emmerdale. Gone would be statements like Well holy god and Are there antin stirrin and it would take in influences from Love/Hate and so on. Rural criminality and dissident republicanism would come into it and who knows, even Fran the man might surface in his caravan! Just look at how Fair City evolved for a comparison of where Glenroe would be at if it survived to this day or to recent years.

But back to Clean Break. The current audience of course want series to be like Love/Hate. Whether Clean Break and other future dramas inspired by Love/Hate will be as good or as popular remains to be seen. I am looking forwad to Clean Break and very soon we will see if it is a second Love/Hate or a second Big Bow Wow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Starts this Sunday in Love/Hate's old slot. It's looking interesting - the guys who wrote it gave a recent interview and explained that the cool thing about using a smaller town as a setting instead of a big city is that you can portray characters having hidden connections to eachother going back generations a bit more realistically. So it could be highly tense if they play it right.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,662 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Happy Valley, anyone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,532 ✭✭✭delahuntv

Same producers as love/hate so it should be good - they didn't pander to the pc brigade in love/hate, so I'd expect decent drama without need of toning down.

I still expect the usual naysayers whining and coming out with classics such as "he came our of dunnes and next second he was outside jimmys pub a mile away - i know cos i live there" type comments

M

Bit of a brutal start to the promoting of the show, they had no guests on either LLS or RDS. I would say they will have them on next week when they are an episode in where if you missed the first episode it would be a waste of time, much the same way they put rugby guests on LLS and RDS when there's actually live rugby on. Scheduling on RTÉ is criminally rubbish.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Whatever one thinks of it, Glenroe was a series that worked in its day and indeed, was probably good in its early series. Later on, it became stale and the original writers had moved on from it.

Agree. It was a product of its day. It's best it be left there.

But what if Glenroe actually did survive past 2001 and was broadcast up until say 2014? The most likely way it would have gone is like Emmerdale. Gone would be statements like Well holy god and Are there antin stirrin and it would take in influences from Love/Hate and so on. Rural criminality and dissident republicanism would come into it and who knows, even Fran the man might surface in his caravan! Just look at how Fair City evolved for a comparison of where Glenroe would be at if it survived to this day or to recent years.

You can just be sure that if they were still showing Glenroe, they would have made the theme tune all modern and had it resembling a 80s Europop track in an attempt to shake it up and be down with the kids.

M

Starts in half an hour, hopefully it's good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,818 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

I'll a have a look at this.

Sure there is f**k all else on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

Here goes

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

What town is this set in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,802 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

based in Wexford, was filmed end of last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 675 ✭✭✭Shifty Shellshock

Wexford

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,907 ✭✭✭Badabing

Wexford town brother

M

The car dealers looks like a place in Dublin, I could be wrong.

What the **** was the pit boss gawking at, if i was playing there id ask him can i help you or would you mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,593 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

What was that last male actor in?

Recognise the voice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Hollister11

Not impressed at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭baldbear

The car dealers looks like a place in Dublin, I could be wrong.

Beshoffs Howth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,693 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Sunny South East my ass. Showing nothing but dreary rainy shots of Wexford Town.

Now it was understandable Love Hate having Dublin look grim as not even Hollywood could doll that up, with Wexford? Come on now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,738 ✭✭✭caviardreams

Anyone know what else the friend of the girl who saw the dead body being dumped was in?? It's really annoying me that I can't remember :o

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 210 ✭✭Tompatrick

More Amber like sh1te it appears

The bank manager lad was the baddie in Mr Selfridge, Lord Loxley, never knew he was Irish

Anyone know what else the friend of the girl who saw the dead body being dumped was in?? It's really annoying em that I can' remember :o

Kelly Thornton she was in Love Hate too

M

The wife on the deeds was how you would keep your house when your business folded, lots did it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,593 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

If he doesn't own the cars in the showroom, how can the bank take them?

Ted_YNWA wrote: »
    Kelly Thornton she was in Love Hate too

No I meant the male guy - her friend. But thanks a million, she looked familiar too!

If he doesn't own the cars in the showroom, how can the bank take them?

I guess the writers have a loose grasp on banking law

Happy Valley, anyone?

Similar plot unfolding alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,741 ✭✭✭jd

No I meant the male guy - her friend. But thanks a million, she looked familiar too!

Think he was in Raw, a couple of years ago.

Casino money.

jd wrote: »
    Think he was in Raw, a couple of years ago.

That's it! Thanks - you put me out of my misery! :pac::pac:

Keep all in the house, send the da in to the bank Mon morning to clean the vault....isn't that how it usually works? This will get messy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭baldbear

This is a poor mans happy valley. So obvious what was going to happen there with the little girl.

M

Feckin stamp collector.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 675 ✭✭✭Shifty Shellshock

Ah it got going there near the end! Next week might be decent. The characters aren't too bad. Nice to have an Irish drama not set in Dublin lately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭secondattempt

Enjoyed the last few minutes!

The stamp collection, or Danny giving himself away ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,693 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

The actor playing the bank manager is dreadful.

The conversation he had on the phone with the wife, and the one after with the police, were terribly acted out. Same monotonous voice, no emotion and bad timing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭secondattempt

Ted_YNWA wrote: »
    The stamp collection, or Danny giving himself away ?

The bit of excitement in the woods!

I liked it. An odd choice by the 2 kidnappers to chase after Danny...wouldn't it have been more usual to just shoot the young one, in fact shoot her and the mam....sever all links...maybe Irish kidnappers are still decent lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Wasn't bad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,588 ✭✭✭2ndcoming

Pants. That's all I can say really. Very disappointing.

7/10.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,063 ✭✭✭Hitchens

Why t f do they have to have that mood 'music' constantly playing in the background? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,063 ✭✭✭Hitchens

Ah right, I'm watching it on +1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

Look the concept and overall storyline is decent enough, but unfortunately the dialogue is neither clever nor witty, the characters aren't particularly likeable or memorable, and it's not quite edgy enough for what it wants to achieve.

In a way we've been spoilt by Love/Hate and The Fall because at least we know that there can be good quality Irish Dramas that can compete with the rest of the world, but Clean Break isn't quite in the same league and just lacks that certain punch we've come to expect from Sunday's primetime slot.