People asking women when they will have children

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

Whoopsa, I can only imagine how painful it'd be to be asked that :/

I'm asked by relatives and the boyfriend's family quite frequently. Apparently I'll 'change my mind' about not wanting children and although I only have a slight chance of conceiving anyway (bad PCOS), I get "oh well majella down the road has that and had two, it'll be grand."

I'm only 26, I thought I'd be left alone for another while yet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

People feel any questions regarding children is fair game. There is a 12 year gap between my two children and people will often ask if they have the same father. It's unbelievable how rude and inappropriate some people are

Novella wrote: »
    I had my first baby eleven days ago and I've already been asked several times, "Will you have another one?". The birth of my daughter was quite traumatic and while I look fine to people so I'm sure they think nothing of asking, I am actually dealing with a number of postpartum health issues and having another baby is the furthest thing from my mind.

Plus seriously, ELEVEN DAYS.

And you're on here posting when you could be making a little brother or sister for her?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 935 ✭✭✭Whitewinged

I just had a baby 2 months ago and my husband asks me every single night "when are we making the third one?" :)

Ah no seriously, maybe the facebook thing will add to make people more concious and thoughtful of the personal questions they ask.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,159 ✭✭✭dazberry

A neighbour objecting to planning permission for an extension described us in his submission as "They are a childless couple...". Presumably this suggests we didn't need the space as we are... well... childless, not stopping to think why we are "childless". Miserable old c**t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 557 ✭✭✭Walter Bishop

dazberry wrote: »
    A neighbour objecting to planning permission for an extension described us in his submission as "They are a childless couple...". Presumably this suggests we didn't need the space as we are... well... childless, not stopping to think why we are "childless". Miserable old c**t.

Good lord. Normally I say live and let live, especially with neighbours, but I think I'd be calling in for words with him after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,809 ✭✭✭Addle

or the reasons they may not yet be having children.
    Or maybe they don't want children at all, and don't owe anyone other than their partner, if they have one, an explanation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭OneOfThem

Tarzana2 wrote: »
    Yes.

Anyway, you're just playing devil's advocate so bleh.

I'm not. I genuinely believe that we shouldn't be trying to encourage the world to tip toe around each other on egg shells and coming up with a list of new taboos.

Rather, people should just accept that sometimes someone may unintentionally upset or offend them, it's not a big deal though, and just something you have to learn to deal with as an adult.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

My niece and nephew (7 and 4) have recently decided that they'd prefer 2 girls and 2 boys in their family so any time they're heading off anywhere in the car, they bring the biggest female and male dolls/toys so they feel like they have their complete perfect family. 'Tis a bit funnier but slightly more sinister than the usual family/friends making the hints.

My sister is thinking "Not a chance, lads!". :D

dazberry wrote: »

Jesus.

Christ.

Just...Jesus...

I personally have very strong feelings on this and always have.A co worker of mine got married 6 years ago and now has 3 kids. everytime I see him it's the same "oh clock is ticking mate, any kids on the scene yet". I hinted a few times that this was a none of his business. then one day he caught me off guard and I just asked why this seemed to be his only conversation starter? I told'em it was thin ice and he doesn't nor will he ever know my circumstances in relation to kids.. Mind yer own fooking business!do people not realise there my be a very personal reason for this! also that's a big reason my wife got off facebook. every girl in her job who had kids couldn't wait to bombard her wall with fooking pics of xmas morning.."Oh daddy and kids on Xmas morning... oh mammy what are ye like # the waltons!!!fook right off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,612 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

Well if you need Facebook message to tell you that...

meeeeh wrote: »
    Well if you need Facebook message to tell you that...

nobody does but sometimes it's nice to have this acknowledged because more fragile people may actually believe "hey maybe I am weird". so in that respect it's one of the very few times I'd say facebook is ok.

I do see what you mean though, it shouldn't take a facebook message to teach grown adults sensitivity, forethought or common sense.

think of how childish it sounds, like a 4 yr old.. mammy why doesn't uncle **** have any babies?? yea good question kid, lets prod them on that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Penny Dreadful

Do people actually DO this? I always assumed it was just a TV trope. It's none of anyone's f*cking business, any more than "when was your last period" or "when did you last remortgage your gaff".

Oh they do! I'm just back to work after maternity leave and some of the people I thought were my friends I never saw or heard from all of the time I was away.
    Now I'm back and they're all over me like a rash. First day I was asked if I was pregnant again. When I said no they kept insisting basing their assumption on the fact that my face had changed shape.

If they had bothered to come near me while I was off they'd have known that I had a miscarriage in the summer and also had developed a serious auto immune illness since the birth of my baby and was on drugs to treat it, hence the change in my appearance.
    :rolleyes::mad:

Oh they do! I'm just back to work after maternity leave and some of the people I thought were my friends I never saw or heard from all of the time I was away.
    Now I'm back and they're all over me like a rash. First day I was asked if I was pregnant again. When I said no they kept insisting basing their assumption on the fact that my face had changed shape.

If they had bothered to come near me while I was off they'd have known that I had a miscarriage in the summer and also had developed a serious auto immune illness since the birth of my baby and was on drugs to treat it, hence the change in my appearance.
    :rolleyes::mad:

Im a bit confused and not to be insensitive here. so you were out on maternity leave and whilst so, had a miscarriage? and guys who you called friends did not know this??? and now you're back, they assume you had a child??? realy?? wtf!!!! you need to redefine your standards as friends go!!

that's unreal. I'd just say it and end the discussion. Id understand if they didn't come near you if they had some how learned without your knowledge and hence had trouble with how to approach you but to call yourself a friend and then not know you were ill and had a miscarriage, fooked up!

sorry to hear that by the way, I really am...:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

We're not interested in having kids at all but everyone is telling us we are and that we just don't know it, like a looming death sentence that's incoming.

Add to the fact that our lives will be incomplete and "empty" without children, that there is inherently something wrong with for herself to not have the want to be popping babies out. "Are.........are you infertile?" as one woman put it to both of us.

They really don't sell it either, they tell us we'll be having kids whether we like it or not and that "It's hard work, lots of sleepless nights, enjoy your childless life while it left, etc" and we're regularly told we'll have to get rid of all of our animals to accommodate for "the little one(s)"

We find it more offensive and annoying that people tell us we'll have to get rid of our animals for the sake of children, as if they're used up and have no more purpose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭Diamond Doll

rusty cole wrote: »
    Im a bit confused and not to be insensitive here. so you were out on maternity leave and whilst so, had a miscarriage? and guys who you called friends did not know this??? and now you're back, they assume you had a child??? realy?? wtf!!!! you need to redefine your standards as friends go!!

that's unreal. I'd just say it and end the discussion. Id understand if they didn't come near you if they had some how learned without your knowledge and hence had trouble with how to approach you but to call yourself a friend and then not know you were ill and had a miscarriage, fooked up!

I think what she meant is that she had a miscarriage while on maternity leave, after the birth of her baby.

Sorry for your loss PD.

so had one child and lost the second? sorry I know nothing as you can gather on this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 935 ✭✭✭Whitewinged

OneOfThem wrote: »
    I'm not. I genuinely believe that we shouldn't be trying to encourage the world to tip toe around each other on egg shells and coming up with a list of new taboos.

Rather, people should just accept that sometimes someone may unintentionally upset or offend them, it's not a big deal though, and just something you have to learn to deal with as an adult.

I think thats it. It all comes down to intent of the question.

In the example where someones saying they should get planning permission because you dont have children, the intent is malicious.

In the case where someone consistently asks the question over and over even though you already explained, thats provoking and mean.

In the case where people are putting up christmas photos on facebook, that is not people being smug, its just them celebrating christmas.

i have a friend in her early 20s, she was asking me what labour is like. Then she said "and would you do it again?", thats just curiosity.

For me, the intent of the person and the question would be the main factor of whether or not i was offended. You can be hurt without being offended.

Yea there are nosey, unthoughtful people and sometimes things they say are hurtful but most of the time, they are not trying to be hurtful. We will all unintentially put our foot in it at some stage in our lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Penny Dreadful

so had one child and lost the second? sorry I know nothing as you can gather on this.

Yes, I gave birth in September of last year and fell pregnant again unexpectedly in April and had a miscarriage in July.
    I had decided to take unpaid leave after my paid maternity leave finished so hadn't returned to work.

These people that I thought were my friends visited once (and they live close by me) for 20 mins while I was off and then that was it.
    I had decided not to be involved with them to any degree again - you do learn who your friends are before the miscarriage anyway.

What astonished me is that as soon as I returned to work they were all over me and somehow think its ok to ask really personal questions when they weren't bothered when they had to make an effort.

I almost did tell them about the auto immune illness, treatment for it, miscarriage, etc but then thought they have no right to know that degree of personal stuff about me (which they'll only gossip about) and so that I wasn't pregnant and to leave it at that.

ah that's ****e form to be honest.. don't feel bad, they say if you've 2 real friends in your 30's your doing better than most.

yes keep that all to yourself and maybe family, those who matter and those who care. don't mind the facebook friends of this world, it's more about them than you to be honest.

you'll always get a measure of people in times you're most in need.

I read this recently

"it's easy to be happy when the mortgage is paid, the cars are there, the children are fed and happy, you're all healthy and things are going just great"... the real measure of a person is how they act when things get bad!! that's when the real growth takes place"

you've done superb in my mind and I'm sure to all on this thread, you're aces in our book, so go have a coffee! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,439 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

So much this! I think these sort of pronouncements on social media or journalists with nothing to say, or bloggers who are 'offended' by absolutely normal social interactions, should quite frankly be told to grow up. There's plenty I'm uncomfortable talking about or being asked about, but to be told to be conscious of what I can and cannot ask of someone by someone completely outside of the people I usually interact with, is just nonsense.

I'm aware that people are sometimes thoughtless, I've put my foot in it more times than I'd care to mention, I've congratulated a friend on her pregnancy only to be informed she wasn't pregnant. She understood I had meant well and wasn't at all offended, I was more upset that I'd goofed and might have upset her than she was. It happens! I'm uncomfortable with women talking to me about their menstrual cycles and their periods and all the rest of it, but I'm able to maintain perspective on what's perhaps reasonable, and what's just too much information altogether! The problem with too much information altogether is that by the time I've shot back in my chair and tried to hide my disgust, the information is already out there. More than I needed to know.

I often get asked personal questions, and unfortunately for other people, I never remember to carry a list with me of topics I'm comfortable with, and topics I'd rather we avoid, compare lists and we can talk about what's left. That's no way to interact with other people. It teaches people nothing, and people learn nothing from being told what they can and cannot talk about.

My experiences have been a mixed bag. I've met women who remind me of the iphone meme - "How do you know when a woman does/doesn't want children? They'll tell you!", and they do, often times simply throwing it out there like a subject changer, and it catches me on the back foot because I'm just thinking "Ohhhh-kay?". I've worked with people who when my wife was pregnant they were already asking when were we having another one, how many were we having, etc, etc. Even now people still ask, and I don't particularly think they mean to be malicious, or competitive, or intending to humiliate or offend or anything else. 99 times out of 100, they're just making what they think is polite and interesting conversation by their standards, and for the one person who is asking as an opener to wax lyrical about themselves and how great they are and all the rest of it, well there are many ways to nip that one in the bud too.

One of the simplest ways is simply to tell them "that's really none of your business", or "I really don't/didn't need to know that". That's treating a person like they're a mature adult, instead of expecting people should be mind readers. I'd personally take it worse if I felt a person couldn't be themselves around me and I could see it written all over their faces that they want to ask a question out of interest, but they're afraid to in case they cause offence. I'd consider that far more patronising tbh, the same as I consider a complete stranger on social media telling me what I should or shouldn't be conscious of with regard to any particular topic one cares to mention, not just when it comes to family planning, etc.

I prefer people to encourage people to be honest and open with each other, and learn for themselves from their experiences, rather than treat people like children who need to be told by whoever what they can and cannot say. People learn quicker than they can be taught anything, and when they learn something for themselves, they understand and retain it better than being told by someone, how to interact with everyone else.

I think thats it. It all comes down to intent of the question.

In the example where someones saying they should get planning permission because you dont have children, the intent is malicious.

In the case where someone consistently asks the question over and over even though you already explained, thats provoking and mean.

In the case where people are putting up christmas photos on facebook, that is not people being smug, its just them celebrating christmas.

i have a friend in her early 20s, she was asking me what labour is like. Then she said "and would you do it again?", thats just curiosity.

For me, the intent of the person and the question would be the main factor of whether or not i was offended. You can be hurt without being offended.

Yea there are nosey, unthoughtful people and sometimes things they say are hurtful but most of the time, they are not trying to be hurtful. We will all unintentially put our foot in it at some stage in our lives.

This is it really, in a nutshell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭ibstar

so OP. When are you having children?

I do completely agree with you in principle, people get offended very easily these days I feel. I think most people are well intentioned. I suppose from experience I know that there are so many affected by this issue, a lot more that people realise and so saying to people "hey, maybe don't ask that one question" isn't the worst thing in the world.

While I'll never get offended by anyone asking me about my situation, I sometimes can't help that my emotions will leave me upset, that's not me being childish about it. I've had to deal with very adult issues from a relatively young age. If you are trying for a baby, or know that you're unable to have a baby, or have lost children, or miscarried, then you are likely to become emotional about that fact. It is natural to do so. Indeed, we are told it is such a natural thing for a woman to have and carry a child, and it is of course, but when you are struggling with this thing you are being told should be so natural, it can take its toll on you. Being reminded of that constantly by other people, well intentioned or not, may end up upsetting you and try as you might not to let it, you can't push away that feeling of sadness no matter how hard you want to. I guess it's one of those things that you couldn't understand unless you are going through it. And that's not being dismissive, it's true of most things in life.

So yes, I agree that you shouldn't get angry at people asking a relatively normal question (when there is no ill intention) but it can only be a good thing if people just think twice about asking about such things, even if it's perhaps to rephrase the question. "Would you like to have children some day?" is a better question than, "So when are you going to start popping them out?". Little things like that :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭OneOfThem

Yeah I can get on board with that Whoopsy. Bit of tact never went astray.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

Meh, what's next - it's not ok when I ask fat birds when they're due?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭Medusa22

I'm in a relationship with a woman so I'm not asked that often, but I'm still asked sometimes. When I say that we aren't going to have children, some people tell me ''well, it is still possible, you know'' as if I didn't know that we both have wombs :pac: Then I just tell them that neither of us want them and that's the truth. I have Cystic Fibrosis which these people know, and while it is not impossible to have children, many women with this condition are too unwell to have children and they often have fertility problems too, but that still doesn't stop people asking. Sure, I most likely have PCOS and I went to my GP to get tested for it a few years ago (before I met my OH) and my GP told me that there was no need, that infertility was the main problem with PCOS and that getting pregnant would be like ''a hole in the head for you, because you have CF''. I was so glad that I didn't want children so that comment didn't hurt, but imagine if I did?

Having said that though, I suppose this thread has made me think because sometimes I do ask people or couples if they want to have children (as in one day, can you imagine yourself having kids or do you think you won't have any because they are little snot machines :D) so I suppose I should mind my own business a bit more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,439 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

biko wrote: »
    Meh, what's next - it's not ok when I ask fat birds when they're due?

I always encourage people to use their best judgment, or as OneOfThem says, a bit of tact never went astray. People won't get it right all the time and sometimes they will goof, but I'd rather see them learn from that, than be told by anyone else what they can and cannot say to or ask of someone else.

Nobody can actually tell you what to say and what not to say. As an adult you should be mature enough to be able to use your best judgment. Expecting that other people need to tell you what to say, is absolving yourself of any responsibility for your own intentional stupidity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

We never had an issue with this but as soon as we had our first child the amount of people saying to us that we would have to give him a wee playmate was astonishing.
    We decided to have just one child, left it as late as practible to have him and are very happy with our choice..and are very lucky to have him in our lives.
    But it does grind on me that people still think it is ok to try to change our minds and encourage us to have more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,946 ✭✭✭✭Neyite

stinkle wrote: »
    infertility isnt a new thing though

No, but it is more hidden now though. Family planning in this country is relatively new from about the eighties, and also from that time, artificial human reproduction became the norm.

A generation ago, it would never be asked of an unmarried couple, and you'd soon realise that a couple who didn't have kids for the first few years of marriage, then eventually either remained childless or adopted, had problems in that department so you'd never ask. There was sod all a doctor could do in terms of fertility. Those who could have children had them usually quickly, and easily and frequently, whether they wanted them that way or not.

Nowadays we have the contraceptive options, and if a couple want their own biological baby, there is a good chance that they can now thanks to medical advances. But people also have choice. People can choose now to say they don't ever want children and reliable contraception and sterilisation ensures that for them. Its socially acceptable to say that you don't want them, whereas you'd get a dressing down in days gone by from your local priest for daring to even think of interfering with a Divine process.

I agree with Whoopsy - I don't think I have the right to get offended when someone says something that unwittingly hurts me. I didn't get offended when the guy I worked with joked I was so huge I must be expecting twins (I had been, but lost one) I didn't get offended when I picked up my OH from work one day and his boss started joking that we needed to get a move on for #2 (I was miscarrying what would have been 4th child at the time) It sucks but they weren't to know.

I reserve the right to get offended when someone tries to tell me why I'm unsuccessful though! I've been told its because I need to eat a raw food diet. I need to go on a holiday and relax. I need to say *this* Novena. I need to do a handstand after sex. I need to go to *this* faith healer. :rolleyes:

I've a standard response that I use now and it seems to work.