Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread V2.0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,767 ✭✭✭SterlingArcher

Reason 4562 why I hate adverts.Ie

Heres the sale, a really fair price. And a good starter rig for someone.

http://touch.adverts.ie/towers/gaming-pc/8945790

The flip.

http://touch.adverts.ie/other-computers/ultra-spec-gaming-pc-bundle/8947604

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭Monotype

Over 100% markup! Did that 2600 turn into a 2600K? The first was a decent offer but the "online prices" in the resale are a complete joke. I don't think you can really sell in the hope that anything will get "a good home". People are always around to scrounge for good intentions and make a quick few euro on the ignorant.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 7,451 Mod ✭✭✭✭pleasant Co.

Link back to origin and say the market price has dropped so offer €100

• Closed Accounts Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Fakman87

Can he be reported for this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

Looking for some help here from people.

OH's PC is not loading up some games properly. Not even demanding games, ones like Bastion, Democracy 3 and Dragon Age 3.

She's using a GTX 960 with an Asus ROG Swift 1440p monitor. When launching the game it will display for a brief moment, and then the screen goes no signal.

Drivers are all up to date, but it just seems like games she's installed recently won't launch, Hearthstone and WoW launch fine for her without any issues.

Even tried changing the resolution to 1920x1080 and no help.

Any ideas?

Hmm, turns out it was G-Sync. Works fine with some games, but not with games like Bastion with her setup. How annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Sonics2k wrote: »

She's using a GTX 960 with an Asus ROG Swift 1440p monitor. When launching the game it will display for a brief moment, and then the screen goes no signal.

Out of curiosity how does the 960 do running that 1440p monitor?

Pretty good for the money. She gets an average of 60fps in WoW on High/Medium settings, dipping down to 30fps on more intense raids. Ashran tends to kill it.

She's not one who needs to get a constant high FPS, as long as it's playable she's grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭Danger781

Could be a myriad of things to be honest. You need to start ruling out possibilities one-by-one to determine what is causing the black screens. Start with the software end:
    - What happens if you somehow forcibly exit the game through Alt-F4 or whatever. What happens if you alt-tab back out of the game? Is it only games?
    - Try connecting up a second monitor and see if that also goes blank. If it doesn't then you should be able to bring up task manager to make the game quit and see what happens.
    - Try launching the games in windowed mode rather than full screen. I think Steam has some launch options for this assuming your OH is using Steam.
    - If all else fails you could do a full OS reinstall to rule out any other odd software issues..

If software is not the issue / you don't want to perform an OS reinstall then start looking at hardware:
    - Try different cables
    - Stress test the graphics card
    - Stress test the CPU
    - Stress test the RAM

That's all that comes to mind at the moment..

EDIT Well it seems you figured it out..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,923 ✭✭✭kearneybobs

Sonics2k wrote: »
    Looking for some help here from people.

OH's PC is not loading up some games properly. Not even demanding games, ones like Bastion, Democracy 3 and Dragon Age 3.

Drivers are all up to date, but it just seems like games she's installed recently won't launch, Hearthstone and WoW launch fine for her without any issues.

Even tried changing the resolution to 1920x1080 and no help.

Any ideas?
    Is the HDMI cable plugged into the GPU. Might be plugged into the on board graphics..

Maybe try plugging it into the on board port to see if it's your GPU causing the problem.

Looks like you figured it out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Speaking of adverts, swap offers are reaching a new low....

Guy selling an Fx-4100 processor. One of the comments:
    Swap for reptile tank in my ads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭N64

I have a fractal design R4 and I'm thinking of purchasing one of those corsair all in one radiators and mounting it at the very front of the case and having the two fans on the rad as intake. I only have one exhaust at the back of the case (nothing installed in my side panel) Would this work out nicely temperature wise?

Here's a example of what I'm talking about:

https://youtu.be/mqLxS38SCVA?t=104

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,204 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

N64 wrote: »
    I have a fractal design R4 and I'm thinking of purchasing one of those corsair all in one radiators and mounting it at the very front of the case and having the two fans on the rad as intake. I only have one exhaust at the back of the case (nothing installed in my side panel) Would this work out nicely temperature wise?

Here's a example of what I'm talking about:

https://youtu.be/mqLxS38SCVA?t=104

You're heating the air as you bring it in to the case which isn't ideal. Is there no way to mount the rad at the top of the case?

Edit: Like this.

900x900px-LL-f70ddd8e_DSCF0856.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,753 ✭✭✭cadete

Speaking of adverts, swap offers are reaching a new low....

Guy selling an Fx-4100 processor. One of the comments:

Is that your reptile tank terror? I have a half eaten banana in my ads I would swap for it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,132 ✭✭✭game4it70

The hoses of the AIO might not be long enough to reach to front of case.I'd use the rear and have it exhausting.
    Having it exhausting will only be a couple C hotter than in-taking and will keep the cpu heat out of the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭Digital Solitude

Lads would ye say €720 is a fair price for an i3 4160 and GTX950 based machine? I've all good quality parts in it, Windows 10 Pro, 120gb SSD and the rest of the usual stuff.

Given what it cost me I think its fair but does anyone think otherwise?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Lads would ye say €720 is a fair price for an i3 4160 and GTX950 based machine? I've all good quality parts in it, Windows 10 Pro, 120gb SSD and the rest of the usual stuff.

How is that 950, performance wise?

No idea, still waiting on the case and couldn't be arsed building on my bed :pac: I'll see what I think of it when I get home Wednesday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Honestly? Not really. Lad from here, TerrorFirmer, selling a very nice pc with i5 and 690 for around 800eu and I am pretty sure he would take 750eu for it. That is a fair price.

I am not being a dick, but I think 720 is too high for i3 and 950 second hand Pc. Then again, you ask for opinion. :)

Honestly? Not really. Lad from here, TerrorFirmer, selling a very nice pc with i5 and 690 for around 800eu and I am pretty sure he would take 750eu for it. That is a fair price.

I am not being a dick, but I think 720 is too high for i3 and 950 second hand Pc. Then again, you ask for opinion. :)

Its essentially brand new, I haven't even unboxed it yet. Terror how the hell are you making money off that? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Its essentially brand new, I haven't even unboxed it yet. Terror how the hell are you making money off that? :eek:

You see, it does not matter if its almost brand new or not. You already buying it privately. Might as well just throw a few extra quid and get from retailer and have proper support if something goes wrong etc.

Might be just me, others might give you other point of view m8.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,635 ✭✭✭Redfox25

cadete wrote: »
    Is that your reptile tank terror? I have a half eaten banana in my ads I would swap for it :D
    He really likes last weeks pizza boxes too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 TrevorDUB

Any troubleshooting advice for a seemingly broken DVI port?

Turned my PC on today and my main screen (DVI) won't be detected / no image is displayed in both windows and the nVidia utility. When I plug it in to the first port, it works just fine. I don't have any other monitors to test it with as the other monitor I have is VGA only and will only work on the first port using a adapter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭Danger781

TrevorDUB wrote: »
    Any troubleshooting advice for a seemingly broken DVI port?

Turned my PC on today and my main screen (DVI) won't be detected / no image is displayed in both windows and the nVidia utility. When I plug it in to the first port, it works just fine. I don't have any other monitors to test it with as the other monitor I have is VGA only and will only work on the first port using a adapter.

So If I'm understanding you correctly your monitor will get detected on one DVI port but not the other? Did this port ever work? Would be odd for your graphics card to have two of the same DVI ports. Likely DVI-I and DVI-D which are different connections..

dual-dvi.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,141 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

You see, it does not matter if its almost brand new or not. You already buying it privately. Might as well just throw a few extra quid and get from retailer and have proper support if something goes wrong etc.

Might be just me, others might give you other point of view m8.

Yeah the above is accurate. Irrespective of how new it is, or the use you have given it, it's already depreciated in value.

So the price point you want is one to entice someone who is about to buy something like that new, taking the gamble on a private sale but making a significant saving.

Your probably also banking on getting someone knowledgeable that will know the performance of those parts. On the surface, most people will see i3 and 950, think them as old, and wouldn't see €700 as an attractive price.

Adverts is mental though (if thats where you are selling) and the normal guidelines of buying and selling rarely apply.

I've picked up a rake of bargains the last year as it seems people are still feeling the pinch and seem to be offloading things left right and centre. Unfortunate for them as sellers, buy pretty nice for someone like me as a buyer.

If you need it gone fast you probably need a better price then €720, or prepare yourself to take a lower price. If your not in a rush, hold out for a while and see how it goes. Although after about two weeks you fall off the pages and your hoping for search hits. If you've built a machine to flip for profit, just get it gone ASAP with a margin.

I see a fair few people on adverts, around the PC stuff too, who build to flip for profit, and they appear to me to hold onto stuff was to long instead of clearing out and moving to the next flips.

I'm in no rush to cut it, might give it a few weeks and then slash it.

Any particular benchmarks anyone wants on the 950?

Danger781 wrote: »
    So If I'm understanding you correctly your monitor will get detected on one DVI port but not the other? Did this port ever work? Would be odd for your graphics card to have two of the same DVI ports. Likely DVI-I and DVI-D which are different connections..

Yeah, that's correct. Port did work up until the last night (without moving wires or whatever) so it just seemingly died. Did a bit of troubleshooting and it does work but only when the graphics card drivers aren't installed and when it's running at a ultra low resolution.

The same configuration works with another Nvidia graphics card, so yeah. It seems like the port is dead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭grindle

TrevorDUB wrote: »
    ...it does work but only when the graphics card drivers aren't installed and when it's running at a ultra low resolution.

Seems like it might be a driver issue - have you tried rolling back to the previous version?

Or even going to device manager and scanning for hardware changes can fix strange driver conflicts sometimes.

Had a DS3 pad get messed up after installing a midi instrument to the port underneath it and scanning for changes set it right again.

¯\_(ツ)_/¯

grindle wrote: »
    Seems like it might be a driver issue - have you tried rolling back to the previous version?

Or even going to device manager and scanning for hardware changes can fix strange driver conflicts sometimes.

Had a DS3 pad get messed up after installing a midi instrument to the port underneath it and scanning for changes set it right again.

¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Yeah, I tried a few driver revisions. It's fooked.

EVGA have agreed to accept it in for RMA. I'm trying to figure a cheap way of getting it to them though. Anpost are the cheapest but they only insure up to the value of €150. DHL, UPS, GLS etc. are all pretty expensive.

Anybody know of a decent insured shipping service to Germany?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Just experienced sudden SSD death syndrome on my primary machine. A days worth of dev work gone and 2days worth of setting up the new one.

F'ck. My. Life.