Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can I give more? The answer is usually yes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    :confused: ......

Let's just say when I got to Lisdoonvarna last Saturday night I made up for lost time!

Eden Tri 5 mile challenge- 10miles total

First 5miles in 33min 50secs@6.46min/miles

Second 5 in 43min 50secs@8.46min/miles

Arrived in Edenderry today with the intention of blowing the cobwebs off after last weeks dose. Wanted to get 5 fast miles into the legs but wasn't fully sure on how i was going to do it. Wanted to do this event as i feel its for a great cause and there was 11 hardy souls who were hoping to do 100 miles over the 24hrs of the challenge in aid of raising money for a BUMBLEance.

Plenty of support and runners buzzing about the registration at St Marys Secondary School, at 3pm the 100 milers were called to the start line and were let go off before everyone else to start there challenge, i surveyed the field and felt i had a good chance of maybe completing the first 5 miles in first place, now this is not a race just a challenge to raise money and there was no prizes for winning any of the 5 mile laps. I wanted to test myself just for myself to see if i could maybe be first over the line.

Air horn sounded and off we went, i fell into 5th place from the off with a female runner and 4 males ahead. A runner from Naomh Muire in Daingean tore off and i figured i was looking at 2nd place at best from here, we ran up Main St and took a left out the Tunnel Rd out of Edenderry, i had moved into 3rd at this stage with a another runner just on my shoulder as we made our way out of town, i have no mile splits cause my Garmin is fecked so this was all by feel. Through mile 1 and i felt good so upped the pace the runner on my shoulder still hanging there and using me as a shield from the breeze.

The leader was a good 400 metres ahead and the 2nd and 3rd were running together and they were 150-200 metres ahead at this stage. We approached the tunnel and my pal was still hanging on, he was kind of annoying me a bit at this stage but i could hear his breathing was starting to labour so he may not be there for much longer. I went through the tunnel and out the other side and the breathing was gone, quick glance over my shoulder and he had fallen back 5 yards our so. I kept the head down and upped the effort as we turned off the main road and onto the Bog Rd. I could see the 3 ahead were starting to come back to me a bit, this part of the route was nice and flat and i pushed here as much as i wanted to try shorten the distance to the lads ahead. Two miles showed and i was still feeling good, breathing in control and legs felt as strong as a prize race horse.

We came to the first water stop and 2nd and 3rd had slowed a bit to take some fluid on board, i put the hammer down and moved past them without a thought. One man ahead, Naomh Muire was coming back to me slowly. I felt i put an extra spurt in here to catch the runner ahead, as we passed through the 3 mile marker i drew along side him, said nothing and went passed him as quick as i could. He didn't respond or try to come with me, jaysus i was leading a race that wasn't a race but was a race with myself:eek::eek:. I had a look at the route ahead, it looked flat till a right turn in the road, got to that and it just went straight up, i checked this climb on Strava since its called Dromcooly Hill, an elevation gain of 25m over 0.9 of a kilometre. Means little to me but it was a tough cnut of a climb and nearly brought me to a stop.

The stride had shortened at this stage and i thought this fecking hill would never end, i eventually crested the hill and it fell off as steeply as it climbed. I opened the legs up again and flew down. Passed 4 miles and had a quick glance behind, could not see anyone, but i was running scared, i dared not let up i didn't want to lose a race that wasn't a race but was a race with myself now i had a good lead. Turned right off the back roads onto the main road back into Edenderry, i knew where i was now. I kept going as hard as i could here but was feeling it, had to run on footpaths to the finish and with about 600 metres left an auld biddy turns into the right blocking the path for a few seconds a threw a few loud expletives at her and she must have heard as she left rubber behind her getting in the gate:p:p.

With 200 metres left i met my missus and 2 kids coming towards me, they didn't see me though, shouted at her "Your going to miss me winning a race thats not a race but a race with myself". She left a few fooks out of her and done her best to catch me, wasn't going to happen the way i was running scared. Into the school and i was greeted with a decent applause as i made my way to the finish, crossed the line a happy happy man and the organiser came over to tell me my time and that he wasn't expecting anyone home that quick. I had just won a race that wasn't a race but was a race with myself:):). Can i claim it as a race win lads???

Second loop was a handy 5 miles and no heroics or pushing on that one, a great event for a great cause and i will be back next year to show my support again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Love it! Well done, of course it was a race! You beat other people didn't you :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Are you sure that thing wasn't a sponsored walk ;)

Well done nicely run.

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Nice one B!
    Well done!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Notwork Error

Haha! Well done B, good going man.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭career move

Good stuff :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Great report, B, of course you won the race that might have been a race but was definitely a race with yourself... :p:p

....but what's a BUMbleance??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Well done on the win B.
    Amazing what the fear of a bitter lemon behind you can do for your running :)

annapr wrote: »
    Great report, B, of course you won the race that might have been a race but was definitely a race with yourself... :p:p

....but what's a BUMbleance??

It's a child's ambulance Anna, a stress free & fun way as possible for children to travel by ambulance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,088 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

Loved that report B. Excellent stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Fantastic report...and win :D Well done!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

Well done on the win B. Really enjoyed the report too.

Sunday 27.9.15

4.05miles@9.11min/miles in 37min 10secs

Recovery run around the GAA pitch, quads fairly sore today after pegging it down that hill yesterday. Used the phone to measure this cause the Garmin is for the bin i reckon, its 4 years old and is starting to act up big time. The progression run I done with TbL the other week my watch was .09 of a mile short on his every mile and was 8-9 secs slow per mile. Its served me well in fairness. Santi might be good to me!!

Have entered the Seeley Cup 10K in Belfast on the 28th of November as a goal race to keep me honest, have been at a lose end lately with no committed goal in mind till now. It looks like a quick race with a decent standard of runner so minimum goal will be to bag myself a new PB. Will do 2 sessions a week from here till then and hope that serves me well. Will run two races before hand, Longwood 10k(pacing duties) and a 5k in Navan on the 1st of November that looks quick enough to.

No goal?? Devastated :)

Will hand over my watch for long wood...

Firedance wrote: »
    No goal?? Devastated :)

Will hand over my watch for long wood...

Sssssh, not telling people the plan.

tang1 wrote: »
    Sssssh, not telling people the plan.

Oops! Ok say nothing :D

Monday 28.9.15

Rest, tense day, my mother was in University Hospital Galway getting a lump removed from her colon so anxious hours waiting on a phone call. Thankfully all ok, shes had a rough time the past 3 years with her health. A knee replacement, broken hip/replacement, broken wrist with a steel plate inserted now. She has always kept her mood up and has a smile and hug for me everytime i see her.

Tuesday 29.9.15

6.68mile@7.55min/mile in 52min 52secs

Under pressure time wise to get this done, had 1.5 hrs max to get run done shower and pick up my daughter. Glorious morning for a run and the miles flew past, kind of sorry i had such a short window time wise as i would have done another 2-3 miles if i had the time. Body feeling good, receed the Longwood 10k route, definitely conducive to quick times.

Wednesday 30.9.15

8.75miles@7.48min/miles in 68mins 11 secs(including 8x3mins @ 10k pace off 2mins recovery)

Another lovely morning for a run, had been looking forward to doing this and glad to say it went well. All the reps felt controlled and comfortable even in the morning heat, never thought i'd be wearing a singlet and shorts on the last day of Sept after our summer. Splits for reps:

Goal pace was 6.30 or so, apart from the third where i lost the run of myself a small bit i am more than happy with them.

Rest of week:

Will have to rest tomorrow rather than do a recovery run as wont have a window to run at all. Few easy miles Friday hopefully and a 5k race Saturday, theres a 5k on in the closet town to me down home on Saturday morning so will race that to see if theres been any improvement since Bohermeen or as i like to remember it the day the Lemon got squashed:p:p:p. Sunday morning will be spent marshaling at the Athlone 3/4 marathon shouting a few Boardsies on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

No comment, apart from glad your mother is recovering.

Soft looking reps by the way :)

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭career move

Great news about your Mum :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Happy news about your mother B :) and best of luck Saturday if you do it!

Ah that's great news B, big relief no doubt.

Super reps there, some people are obviously jealous :D good luck on Saturday!

Ososlo wrote: »
    Happy news about your mother B :) and best of luck Saturday if you do it!

+1... and nice splits too :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

Nice work and nice to hear good news on your Mum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Glad to hear the Mam is doing well. Based on recent races and those paces, surely you've caught up with your old self at this stage?

RedRunner wrote: »
    Glad to hear the Mam is doing well. Based on recent races and those paces, surely you've caught up with your old self at this stage?

Not till i beat one of my current PB's R would i be happy to say i have caught my old self. Bit to go yet i feel, longest injury free period i have ever had since i started taking running seriously(did i jinx myself??) so hopefully that will continue and i'll run at least one PB by years end.

did you race? how'd it go??

Firedance wrote: »
    did you race? how'd it go??

1st place in the 5k plus 400m, it was a good training run, if it measured right i'd say i'd have went sub 19. Won't write much more than that really cause no disrespect there was zero competition there, next finisher was over 2 mins behind me. If it was competitive i'd have been nowhere. I'm happy with the effort though, pushed myself even though I ran solo.

still, 1st place is 1st place regardless, cool :)

ah here, first place is always worth mentioning !!!! well done :D

what was it, the Tang half-parish games? ;)