The Dwelling You Call Home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭pajor

Live in a detached house which was built around 1900 with herself. On a quiet enough street in a small Dutch town. Our landlord has an office at the front of the house, directly on the street. My girlfriend has been living here almost a year before I moved over here, so gelt very at home as soon as I moved in. We pay feck all rent because of generous rent allowance, even though we both work. Might have to move out in a year's time as landlord might want to sell the house. But until then, we're sitting tight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,484 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

4 bedroom 2200 sq. ft. detached on 1.5 acres about 50 mins outside M50. One wife, two kids and one very stupid dog to share it with. I've been advocating for the addition of a goat to assist with the never-ending cycle of grass cutting duties, but I'm constantly being voted down on that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 984 ✭✭✭gutenberg

Living in a flat made from converting a Victorian terraced house into two dwellings, in a university town in England with my partner. House is nice enough (bay window in the living room, and although it's described as one-bedroom there's actually an additional room that I'm using as an office). Only downside is that as it's student accommodation, the soundproofing between the two 'flats' is non-existent.

For the moment at least, part of me still calls my parents' house back in Dublin 'home' :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

We live in 3 bedroom 1960's terraced house, with 3 children. It was very small so we built out and up a few years back. Our youngest was born since then, and the house has shrunk again:(. Living here coming up on 20yrs, but I wouldn't rule out moving to somewhere in the same town, but with more space. The killer about living in a terraced house is everything like oil/sand deliveries has to come through the house:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,590 ✭✭✭theteal

Myself, the new wife and 2 (even newer) kittens live in a rented 2 bed semi in a very unfashionable area in a borough of Greater London - it's considered as Essex to some but not officially for some time. I really like the area, it's a little rough to the eye but there's never a shortage of things to do, we're a 25 minute train to Liverpool St. and a 40 minute drive the opposite direction to the coast. The houses here were built around 1880 for the rail workers apparently - the tracks are only about 100m up the road. They have great character, Victorian style big bay window at the front. We'll be looking to buy in the next 6 months and would love to find something on this or the adjoining road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭starling

Used to live in a beautiful one bed flat in a great location. It had three things you don't always get in that sector of the market: a double bed (yay), an open fire and a bath with a proper sized immersion. Was happy as a pig in sh*te there until I lost my job, couldn't pay the rent anymore, couldn't get rent allowance, had to move back to the family 3 bed semi.

Now I sleep on a mattress on the floor of an uninsulated attic with no heating and pay rent out of my disability allowance. I spend a lot of time in bed dressed like I'm trekking the frozen wastes of the Antarctic. And you know things are bad when you don't even have a goddamn crying chair. I have the worst landlady in the world and am desperately trying to find somewhere else that I can afford, but nobody's taking RA and my choices are limited a bit by my disability. I've been giving serious thought to the county council emergency housing service, but I can't live in a b&b if they're going to turf me out every morning. Put it this way: I actually thought about renting the mattress in this:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showp...postcount=5641
    For me that thread is funny in the "if you don't laugh, you'll cry" kind of way. So I'm jealous of all you lot :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

hairyslug wrote: »
    Which do people find better as they were growing up, living in an estate or house wherre your neighbours are 500m away on either side. Love the idea of having the land and space but the wife likes the idea of community that comes with living in an estate

I bought my house instead of another thinking like your wife that a new place with neighnours closeby etc was a better choice - social, community etc - biggest misconception ever - people go from door to car & are out working or long commuting every day. If you have kids you will make the social connections anyway because of them / People only mske the effort then.
    "When" I buy again I will do what I should have the first time - big place, more space & large garden, detached, no endless noise ,no weekend day long discarded roaring kids kicking balls into the sides of cars & swinging by screaming at full tilt every 20 minutes , no barking dogs discarded in small gardens all day, norevving mototbikes at stupid o clock, or insipid neighbours alongside with their parking on the grass verges & outside my house wrecking my verge but always leaving theirs free.

If I need company or chat there is the pub, GAA, shops, school, community groups etc. Most areas have a fB page now too - its different now to even 10 years ago.

Re an estate; Never again. Buy big & detatched if you at all can. You're stuck with your neighbours for life & just because you have good values & were brought up well dosn't mean they were or are necassarily people you want to know or have anything to do with.

And just because you bought in a good area - like I did - that wont mean they wont put scumbags in beside you or God know who or what - the state will be paying their rent for life - no barriers. And please, before the abuse begins about this, there are no 100%'s in anything - good or bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Myself, himself, adult child and young child plus two dogs in an ex council house in a busy dublin suburb. Love it. The house is small and open plan downstairs which sometimes drives me mad but overall I love the noise and chaos. I want to stay here forever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,021 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

I'm reading all these posts in the style of the opening credits to Hart to Hart....

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,665 ✭✭✭corsav6

Living with the wife(to be) and 2 kids in a 5 bed dormer in north Mayo. The house is 10 years old and was giving to us by her dad. The house is lovely, the views are great and it's located within 10 mins of Castlebar and Westport. Sitting on an acre and a half of unfinished ground, its rough field at the moment. My favourite bit is the large shed, no more servicing the car in the wet.
    Neighbours are just far enough away to not be in our face but still close enough for to be on first name basis.

Edit: can't forget the 2 dogs, never a better intruder alarm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Me & my cat in an End-of-Terreace (some mistakingly refer to as semi-D) house I bought 3 years ago during the crash.

In the Town of Tullamore, 80MB broadband and 5 minute walk to the train station and the park and supermarkets at my doorstep. Mature street, so no hassle, very working class spirit vibe, I really like it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

When I lost my job and went back to college a few years ago myself and my youngest son moved into my parents basement so I could rent my 5 bed 3 bathroom detatched dormer bungalow in my town's suburbs out to pay my bills.

My parents have an amazing house. There are officially 6 bedrooms and 8 bathrooms/toilets but have converted one of the offices and the cinema room (both in basement ) to 2 bedrooms for my sons. Eldest lives in Dublin but comes home to here the odd time.

In the basement I have a massive and I mean massive bedroom with en suite and walk in closet, my boys' bedrooms, a huge laundry room, a drive in garage, a massive living room and a small kitchen.

It suits us at moment as my youngest is doing his LC and when he goes to college next year I will be selling our house and travelling the world working remotely so we will keep our stuff here and use it as a home base for when we want to get together.

My parents spend a lot of the year in Florida so often have the whole place to ourselves. It's so beautiful if it was in Dublin it would be worth millions. Love it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

In the midst of owning, ( donkeys years) I had to move out and rent twice - each time for periods of 3 months or so. I was never happier! Once was to a small room en suite in a large dark beautiful appartment ( which I never spent time in!) - I spent all my time out in the city ( overseas) & was as happy as muck!

The other time I rented an old converted cottage with small enclosed garden miles from anywhere & again spent all my time pottering about, having people over for dinner ( v isolated spot), walking the dog & working from " home" - it was cold, 200 years old, with a rock hard couch & draughty rooms but I was so stress free & as happy as larry. Having a good stress free happy environment is everything. Everything else is cosmetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 899 ✭✭✭FrKurtFahrt

A converted schoolhouse (originally 2 room, no upstairs, built for farmers children) in the middle of nowhere. Four smallish bedrooms in a tight upstairs, and plenty of room downstairs. Lots of garden and parking. Like all old houses, its quirky, and a pain in the neck to maintain. Myself and she-who-cracks-the-whip, and two daughters and a mad bastard of a dog. No public transport no neighbours, no shops and would be utterly isolated without a car. I love it, and will never leave, despite many very generous offers to sell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭SouthernBelle

Myself, OH & 2 kids in a 3 bed semi in a small town with loads of amenities - we're in walking distance to a great variery of shops, bars and reataurants. Extended the kitchen and converted the attic. Can't see us ever moving. :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭The Cool

Living in your standard 3-bed semi in Maynooth with the boyfriend and the dog. I'd move in the morning if I could. We're here a few years but find it quite lonely as we're from the west/northwest and most of the people we had around us here have moved on, to home or elsewhere. Between wanting to be a bit closer to our families, and also the price of houses here, we plan on moving back west before starting the house & kids part of our lives but that's dependent on him getting a job to move to, thankfully I work for myself so I can up and go whenever.
    I'll miss the amenities of the Dublin area when I go but where we're from, you'd have a fabulous house for the price of what this semi we're in is worth. My uncle recently sold his gorgeous, huge house with huge garden in a nice area of Letterkenny for about two-thirds of the price we'd pay to buy the mediocre house that we're renting. I know it's all about location, but this location has no ties for us.
    We're kind of in that limbo place where we're sick of renting but buying is not on the cards yet. We'll see where things go, we're only late 20's so no rush yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,199 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Bought my house 28 years ago. I'm ahem.... mature now lol. A woman too. One of the few to get a mortgage then without permission from a man somewhere! It's a mile from the family homestead. The apple doesn't fall far from the tree!

Still here. Will be taken out in a box too. Love it. Not overlooked, the park and the mountain views out the back, inside M50, twenty minutes to town. Everything on the doorstep.

I consider myself very fortunate altogether. But it wasn't easy back in the 80s either. Mortgage rates were horrendous. But I survived.

All paid off now, and the security of owning your own home is beyond anything else. Sorry didn't mean to offend anyone trying to do it. Hope it works out for ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭Filmer Paradise

hairyslug wrote: »
    Which do people find better as they were growing up, living in an estate or house wherre your neighbours are 500m away on either side. Love the idea of having the land and space but the wife likes the idea of community that comes with living in an estate

Depends on the estate. Chez Paradise is in an estate built less than 15 years ago. Typical 4 bed Semi.

The houses were mainly bought by young couples when built. Now it's mainly couples in their 30s/40s with small kids & teenagers. We'd be a typical example.

As myself & herself work full time there isn't much interaction with the neighbours on a daily basis, though we get on well with most of them. Our kids have loads of pals round the estate & we got to know a few couples fairly well thru them.

I'd imagine in future years when kids move out, us parents retire, & mortgages get paid off, there'll be more interaction between neighbours here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,358 ✭✭✭Aineoil

We, my husband and 18 year old son and myself, live in a cottage built in and around the 1920's. Before that we lived in a very nice

housing estate in Dublin. After my son was born we moved down country.

We renovated the cottage and added on a kitchen and bathroom. The cottage is small and quirky but the lack of storage is a bit of a

nightmare. The garden is fantastic and quite big and the sense of peace there is wonderful. We are separated by fields from our

amazing neighbours. People in the local village are the nicest people you could meet, you could go out to get a litre of milk and

arrive home two hours later because you had so many people to have to chat to.

I'm not from Dublin but I did live there for many years and I missed it so much when I left in 1998.

I will retire in 8 years time ad I don't think I will stay where I am living now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 600 ✭✭✭SMJSF

I live in a 10x14ft bedsit that cant even fit a chair into near O'Connell Street for nearly 2 years now.
    The building was built in the late 1800 to early 1900s. It currently holds 11 bedsits and 4 1 bed apartments.
    I'm hoping once I get a better income to move to Wexford to rent a house or cottage. fingers crossed within the next two years, or else I Will go gaga from living in this space, if I haven't already lost my mind!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Live in Limerick with wife and two kids in the 1st and 2nd floors of a 3 floor building. There's an apartment on the ground floor.

No garden which is a pain, but after 4 years in a shoebox in Tokyo, this 3-bedroom place is grand and spacious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭Aisling(",)

Living at home with my parents,brother and niece in an end terrace house build in 1974.
    Established suburb in the north of Dublin and my parents bought the house off the plans.

I'm 24 so I wish I could move out but as a starter civil servant I've a very low wage and while I could technically rent a room and feed myself that'd be it.Seems to be a common thing to be still living at home as an adult in Dublin.Out of my group of friends only one lad has moved away from home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

Living in a two bed cottage in Co. Waterford on my own. Mum passed on last year leaving me this place-only child, no other immediate family- and been living here since January this year.

Was brought up in this town but not this house, Mum downsized to this place when she got older. Was nice in the summer by the sea and it's lovely to own my own place but I know no-one down here any more except those on my course and can't wait to get back up to the East coast next year to be close to my friends, I miss them terribly and feel lonely down here. :(

The idea was to move down here for a year from Wicklow to save money living rent free and do a horticulture course as a mature student-which I love, but I'll be more than ready to move up to Dublin next year to transfer to the Botanic Gardens (hopefully!) for the next year of my course.

Will sell up this place eventually and use it as a deposit on a place either in Wicklow or Dublin. Or at least that's the plan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,577 ✭✭✭Bonzo Delaney

The grandfather who I served my time with as a carpenter passed away in 2003 he left me the 1950s cottage in Kildare he built himself.
    I took 2007 of work in construction with my dad (a year to early) to redevelop the house with alterations and extensions. When the father and myself had the roof off and house striped back to its bare bones. We decided to demolish the entire house foundations and all. And rebuilt it back up exactly as it was using up to date building methods for 2007 anyway. We kept the original front door (which my dad remembers grandad fitting in 1954 ) as a tip of cap to the bossman.
    Now 8 years later married with 3 under 7 and a stray rabbit ( don't ask) it's a busy house again full of all sorts of comings and goings just like I remember growing up. We're nearly finished it we'll get there eventually.
    Incidentally dad and myself done up the folks house shortly after my wife and I moved in. Someone stopped my mum in the shop and observed that she was getting the house done up. To which mum replied " no ,he's only getting around to finishing it after nearly 40 years"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 731 ✭✭✭chillin117

In a 1 bed apt in Clontarf for 4 years. Actually lived on the street's for 3 months. Now everytime I think of having a drink, I look at my cosy place and don't. My head is in a good place too.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,702 ✭✭✭Danger781

I'm reading through this theread and wondering how the heck single people are affording 2/3 bedroom houses on their own..

Based on Cork prices that could quite possibly be 75% of my monthly earnings!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

At the moment living in a four bedroom bungalow 1,300sq ft on a half acre in the sticks. We've been here 13 years now. We are almost finished building our new house which is a 2,500sq ft two storey on a half acre and hopefully will be moved in by Christmas.

4-bedroom bungalow on the south side of Dublin. I've been living here for longer than I've ever lived anywhere else, and I've had my fair share of addresses over the years. I sometimes like to think that I'll "downsize" in a couple of years, but I have a feeling that inertia will get the better of me.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Modern 4th floor 1 bed apartment in Dublin North. I can see from Howth to the mountains and the boats coming into port. But I'd love a house with a garden and to have a workshed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Danger781 wrote: »
    I'm reading through this theread and wondering how the heck single people are affording 2/3 bedroom houses on their own..

Based on Cork prices that could quite possibly be 75% of my monthly earnings!

Economic crash and right place and right time

But nobody likes my post it serns...