Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Dwelling You Call Home

• 26-09-2015 6:28pm
    Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,339 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Given the recent talk of a new housing crisis emerging, what type of abode do you call home? A grand manor or a shoebox bedsit?

Do you share with others or live alone? Still live with your parents?

Are you happy where you are? Plan on moving soon?

I myself live in a 2 bedroom ground floor apartment built in the 1970s in the inner suburbs of Dublin. I live alone. I'm pretty happy here. Plan on moving to a 2 or 3 bed terraced house in the next couple of years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 692 ✭✭✭fuerte1976

Live with the wifey & our 2 precious (sometimes challenging) children in a semi detached on verge of dingle peninsula. Not far from town for her, not far from beach for me. It's not too much off what we wanted..

** oh and the Mongrel..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,496 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Rent a 3-bed detatched house in Firhouse with my sister.

I actually bought around the corner from my folks with my other sister when I was 23. She bought me out when I moved in with my ex. Spent six years commuting from Tullow to Dublin daily, then left him in our house when we split. 33 now and can't see myself ever being in a position to buy again. Not sure I'd even want to, tbh. Happy enough now, apart from the fact that I always seem to do about 90% of the housework.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,561 ✭✭✭hairyslug

With the wife and 3 kids, currently in my parents old house, our house is just to small for us (2 bed bungalow) so we are in the process of moving out to a more "rural" area where we can get so much more for our money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,628 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

In a new house in a new estate, sharing with one other person.

Tis' grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭junospider

Live with wife,kids and dogs,house was built in 1800.
    Cool in summer,cooler in winter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Want to downsize, just two of us, no kids and no plans for any. Looking into building a tiny house or some other living.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭Medusa22

Live in a 2 bed ground floor apartment with my OH in Cork, the apartment is about ten years old. I like the apartment and it's grand except for the kids staring in the windows at me all the time, they drive me mad, can't just get out of the shower and walk around in the nip without showing my arse to half the neighbourhood. It's ok though, I send my cat to spy on their parents when they're having sex :D

In a bungalow near Athlone with wife and kids, started building it 10 years ago and moved in 9 years ago and finished the house next year. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,068 ✭✭✭LoonyLovegood

Share a semi detached house with a nurse. It's grand, but I can't see myself staying here forever. Hopefully I'll be able to rent something better in a couple of years, but I don't ever want to leave Galway or the surrounds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

4 bedroom bungalow on a couple of acres. Built myself in 1970. Just my wife and I left now, as the kids are all grown up. But plenty of sleepovers by grandchildren. Perfectly happy here; it has always been a happy home.
    It's not a big house but it has served us well.

No intentions of moving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,899 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

I live in the house I grew up in, which is about 2 years older than me. When I was 24 (eighteen years ago), my parents decided to move, so rather than moving my stuff out, I bought the house. I've been living here by myself all that time, with 2 years left on my mortgage.

No plans on ever moving...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 692 ✭✭✭fuerte1976

I live in the house I grew up in, which is about 2 years older than me. When I was 24 (eighteen years ago), my parents decided to move, so rather than moving my stuff out, I bought the house. I've been living here by myself all that time, with 2 years left on my mortgage.

No plans on ever moving...

You couldn't move….

• Closed Accounts Posts: 772 ✭✭✭the dark phantom

3 story new build Living on my own, Teenage son and step son stay over.

I could have moved but I wanted a place of my own, and the way I did it was handy. Plus no new neighbours to get used to...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,804 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

4 bed semi built in 1976.
    Just got a new condenser gas boiler installed and the walls pumped.

Winter eh...bring it on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

I live by myself in a 2 bed, 2nd floor apartment built in the earl 00's. My spare room is well used between visiting family and friends, I enjoy living alone but having guests now and then.

Tiny second storey 1 bed apartment, suits me perfectly and is a perk of my job. I stroll the 5 minutes to work across landscaped gardens populated with squirrels. Sadly, I have to move on soon. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭JTL

Dublin city centre apartment.

Share with one other guy.. Don't want to but necessary due to cost.

Hoping to get on the property ladder in next few years but Dublin house prices are very off putting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I live in a renovated 1940s farmhouse, five bedrooms, three ensuite, main bathroom and bathroom at back door, living room, kitchen/dining area and the milkroom serves as a laundry room. Also have a large garage, two large turf sheds, a barn which is converted to a recreations area, large vegetable garden, small orchard (four apple trees, three pear trees and a few gooseberry and blackcurrant bushes), three lawns and room for a pony. Just me and the dog here. :)

I live in a renovated 1940s farmhouse, five bedrooms, three ensuite, main bathroom and bathroom at back door, living room, kitchen/dining area and the milkroom serves as a laundry room. Also have a large garage, two large turf sheds, a barn which is converted to a recreations area, large vegetable garden, small orchard, three lawns and room for a pony. Just me and the dog here. :)

So, so, so jealous. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,616 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

3 bed bungalow, 10 minute walk to work. Grew up nearby so family live close. House built in the 80's so not properly insulated, but apart from that happy enough. Wife and two kiddies here and another one the way in a few weeks..can see us needing to move a bit further out to get a bigger place in a few years.

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,711 ✭✭✭knucklehead6

4 bed semi d. I rent out one of the rooms to a lad who's never here at the weekend.

Then it's just me and my two mutts.

I'll be carried out of here on my back, either in a stretcher or a box

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Candie wrote: »
    So, so, so jealous. :(
    Don't be, it's grand to look at and all, but you have to be working at things all the time to keep them halfway in shape.

I suppose the upside of my tiny place is being able to clean it from top to bottom in little more than an hour. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,991 ✭✭✭✭fits

Rent two properties. A renovated farmhouse in ireland. Wake up looking out at stone walls and cows. Its a lovely house. A 1950s two bed apartment in finland with a sauna and bike/ski/furniture storage and laundry room in the basement.

Gonna build a small energy efficient house shortly.

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,978 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

1 bed apartment in south Dublin with my husband, our 4 year old son and our 2 dogs. Obviously we need something bigger, but seeing as we bought in 2006 the negative equity is eye watering so buying another place is out. Also I'd say we'd have difficulty renting with a kid and 2 mad hounds! It's not ideal, what with the 3 of us sharing a room, but we've laid out our furniture to maximise the space, and it works for us. We're 10 mins away from both our families, so we love the area. It'll be a long time before we'll be in a position to move, so we just embrace what we have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

I live in a blue box. But it's bigger on the inside.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

2 bed, 2 stoey duplex that my wife owns in west county Dublin.

Nice area, no kids as yet but all going well that will change in the next 12 months or so.

Would love to have a bigger place, ideally detached with a nice garden but prices in the areas we like are massively prohibitive.

My parents own a farm so I could get a site and build the dream house for a fraction of what it would cost to buy but its about 90 minutes from Dublin and with both of our jobs it would likely mean commuting.

No major panic on us yet though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,424 ✭✭✭Grueller

Me the wife two kids one dog in a four bed on an acre three miles from our nearest town where both my wife and I work. Kids in local primary school a mile down the road. We built the house in 2004/5 and moved in just after getting married in late 05. We came home from honeymoon to here, the kids were brought home to here along with a million other small but very personal memories.
    So yeah, really happy here but like with any house it is only a house and it is the people within that make it a home so I would never rule out selling and moving on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

For some reason, even though I own my own house for over 16 years, I always call my Mam and Dads house home. I'm oddly sentimental about it I suppose.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

Live in a modern (id guess just over 10years old) 2 bed apt. just inside the M50 with a friend of mine who I went school with.

We both left the town we're from and moved to the big shmoke for college 6 years ago, had a few places during college, but have been in this place for the last 2 years now.

Its grand, wont be here forever but suits perfectly for the foreseeable future! Grand and handy for both our jobs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,079 ✭✭✭questionmark?

For some reason, even though I own my own house for over 16 years, I always call my Mam and Dads house home. I'm oddly sentimental about it I suppose.

I moved out a long time ago now, have lived in a few places around Ireland and overseas due to my line of work. My parents place will always be home. Love visiting there. Middle of the countryside, no street lights, few acres out the back...bliss absolute bliss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

I'm just after buying my own house. It's a 1960s terraced house. I ended up brining it back to a builders finish and a total renovation but I bought far below my means thank god. I'm going to be broke for the next 6 months or so but it means my mortgage is going to be tiny. Living on my own in my own castle is worth every cent!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭wetlandsboy

Bought a 5 bedroom house in suburbia four years ago. Beautiful house, great neighbourhood, near work ... and I couldn't have been more miserable. As a single man living alone, I couldn't have been lonelier or have felt more out of place. Earlier this year I sold, am currently renting a 2 bed apartment in the city and am just loving life. Big lesson from all this is that type of dwelling or home is unimportant; it really is all about location and lifestyle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

I live in a four bed Victorian terrace with four other people and can never use ye jacks in the morning when I need to.

The joys of London.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Me, wife, 2yr old and two dogs live in a nice sized house is the arsehole of nowhere, thankfully I work 15 minutes in one direction and the wife works 10 minutes in the opposite direction, so it's ideal.

Its on hill and looks out over fields stretching for miles, with a field of horses right in front, the 2yr old loves that.
    But if we transplanted the whole family somewhere else, then that would become home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

I used to live in an old tyre until some prick slashed it. :mad:

These days, I live in a flat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭inajock

Our place is near enough most places but in the middle of nowhere.Here about 8 years id say and still unsure of the address.Three bed dormer its warm, the roofs sound, food in the fridge,haven't had to have leave the house to fight with the neighbours so alls good.Homebird, always great getting home to me gaff.kid heading of to collage and a jack russell obsessed with food.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,339 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

I feel really fortunate to have a roof over my head when I think of those at the very bottom of the housing system - homeless, living in B&Bs and hotels or sleeping rough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 255 ✭✭Mother Brain

Im in a three bed semi just outside the M50 with my little brother and a friend of his.

I've another brother crashing on the fold out couch bed in the extension due to aforementioned housing crisis too.

The parents have both since fled to other countries / continents (they're divorced and he's remarried) So we don't have a 'home' like most irish people seem to in that sense.

It's a lovely place though and could see myself living here a few years if I don't move away myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

I'm the same! Own place for about 11 years and still say "I'm going home for sunday lunch". or "Yeah, I'm over home in the mothers, I'll chat ya later".

People think I'm weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,273 ✭✭✭flas

Living in a 1 bedroom apartment for last 4 and half years with my fiancé,15 minutes walk from O'Connell street in Dublin,it feels like home to us at this stage,lived in phibsboro for 6 years at this stage,our apartment now has separate kitchen,living room,bedroom hall way and bathroom,pretty big apartment compared to other ones I have seen around here!

We are both looking to move back down the country,far better standard of living,more land and a giant house for the price of a 2 bedroom ****box in Dublin,its crazy,my brother just bought a 5 bedroom huge house 1,hour 15 minute drive from Dublin city centre where he works(Smithfield) for 100grand,he was living in lucan,spending 1,300 on a 1 bedroom apartment and commuting for 1,hour 10 minutes roughly everyday,Dublin makes no sense when you look at it that way...

Sometimes, when I'm leaving my parents' house, my mother says "Visit soon. This will always be your home" or something similar.

Eh...Ma? I've never lived in that house!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,561 ✭✭✭hairyslug

Which do people find better as they were growing up, living in an estate or house wherre your neighbours are 500m away on either side. Love the idea of having the land and space but the wife likes the idea of community that comes with living in an estate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,252 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Top floor, two bedroom apartment overlooking a swimming pool and hot tub. Living in Tempe, Arizona..a college town for what's known as a party school. It's a pretty nice place but I'm not going to stay here much longer. Also, getting tired of apartment living.

I'm here with two others and a dog.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭Diamond Doll

I'm living in a rented three-bed house that my ex and I moved into together a couple of years back. He's since moved out so it's just myself here, with my son here some of the time. I don't particularly like living here anymore now that the relationship has broken down, but my poor little toddler is very confused with all the change in his life recently, so I like to give him some bit of familiarity when he's with me. So I'll stay put for now at least! Once everything has settled down, I'll probably look for a cosy little apartment for the two of us. I find the house far too big for us at the moment!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,687 ✭✭✭Heroditas

Three bed semi-d just outside in M50 with wife and two young children (and the three cats).
    Hopefully upsizing within the next year but staying in the same area. The in-laws are nearby so we'll be staying nearby for the benefit of the kids.
    Babysitting is also handy too!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,831 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Me, wife, two kids. Five bedroom with office and study for kids. 20sq m covered decking, exactly where I choose as a site when a kid. Built in 2008 after building our first house in 1995.
    On 1.5 acres. Have some wood planted, two lawns and a secret garden in the wood down a twisty path. Have small orchard planted and a chicken run. There's space for a veg garden and poly tunnel but after a lifechanging accident in 2009 I can't see it ever being done, I struggle with grounds maintenance as it is.

Live by the sea (about 500m). Small bungalow on about an acre. Only myself, her good self and 2 bow wows so plenty big.
    Have a large veggie garden, fruit garden/orchard.

Used to live on outskirts of Dublin and while everything was conveniently placed there, the peaceful quietness, several daily beach walks with the bow wows and personal space I have here, just doesn't compare.

Very happy here and hope we both live long and well enough to enjoy it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

4 Bed bungalow, about 70 years old, in about 8 acres, view of the mountains from our bedroom window. Me d'wife and d'dog. Oh and about 50 chickens and ducks.

5 miles from nearest shop, 17 miles from town.

We absolutely love it.

But like Backwards Man said there is always something going wrong. Last year was the flat roof which needed repair. This is the year of the drains - if I see another feckin drain rod ...