Neither driver willing to give way.

• 25-09-2015 07:21PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭

These two are a prime example of why people get road rage, yet in this situation they are blocking each other in a tunnel. Although the woman has right of way, the old man is almost down the tunnel. The stand-off lasts for 35 minutes or more. The old man apparently wasn't able to reverse his car & judging by his attempts, it seems like it's the case. As for the woman, she wasn't able to reverse her car because... well I'm sure you can see why in the video.

Anyone else ever see anything so stupid from two drivers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,605 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Ello ello,what's going on ere then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,949 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

35+ minutes, where was Plod?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 255 ✭✭Mother Brain

Look at the cars they're both driving...

Wonder what the problem was? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

What a silly woman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Seen a film last year at JDIFF (Italian I think) which was about this very scenario, where a road becomes blocked because neither driver is willing to give way. Not sure if they ever reached an impasse or not, I fell asleep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Mesrine65 wrote: »
    35+ minutes, where was Plod?

Stuck in traffic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,133 ✭✭✭jonon9

And why didn't anyone call the police within the 40 minute standoff? I would be really pissed off if I was stuck in that traffic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

It seems like every time I use the entrance to the Phoenix Park that's between the Halfway House Pub and the main Castleknock entrance (can't for the life of me think of the name for it now!) there's an incident like this, thankfully not of the 35minute variety though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

UK cars should always give way to Irish cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Good stuff, thanks for sharing, I love watching this type of thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,417 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Two pig ignorants, is life that long ffs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,779 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

This happens regularly enough on a country lane that leads to the strawberry beds near my house. Usually they end up beeping at each other - like the more you beep, it will slowly dissolve the car in front of me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Ok having watched it I got a few chuckles but I couldn't understand why nobody offered to back up the man's car if he was unable to do so. Also the woman was weird, she wasn't even acknowledging the people speaking to her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,605 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Ok having watched it I got a few chuckles but I couldn't understand why nobody offered to back up the man's car if he was unable to do so. Also the woman was weird, she wasn't even acknowledging the people speaking to her.

She had the courage of her convictions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭rizzodun

Is it unreasonable judging from that clip to lay all the blame at the feet of the woman? She would have clearly seen the other car was already in the tunnel on approach so why didn't she just slow the hell down and let him clear the tunnel?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭HardenendMan

Ok the auld man shouldn't be on the road because he can't reverse a car.

But why on earth didn't one of the chaps just jump in and do it for him?

I've had to jump into cars sometimes to help elderly people reverse out of car parks.

Ok the auld man shouldn't be on the road because he can't reverse a car.

But why on earth didn't one of the chaps just jump in and do it for him?

I've had to jump into cars sometimes to help elderly people reverse out of car parks.

Completely off topic but I remember running out of a filling station shop after paying for fuel and jumping into my car, whacking my knee off the steering wheel as my wife always had a habit of pulling the seat forward when she drove it and never putting it back, I turned in pain to her in the passenger seat and screamed "for fucks sake!", only to be met with a blank, yet terrified stare from some old doll, I had jumped into an identical car parked at the pump behind mine. The husband was still in the shop so I made a hasty getaway.

EDIT: In my own car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭skibum

Yer wan was a right "Cee U Next Tuesday", what ever meds she is on for the menopause are not working, need to triple her dose.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

30 minutes into the indecent?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

I only watched a few seconds but no way would I have been able to keep my cool with either of them if I was stuck behind

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

Who said women can't park..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,422 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Severard wrote: »
    Although the woman has right of way, the old man is almost down the tunnel.

Eh, that's not a tunnel. That's a bridge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭housetypeb

She won.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭DakarVert

Yer wan was a wagon.

But in fairness the old guy shouldn't be driving if he couldn't reverse. Especially since the Merc is an auto.

Here we have an elderly man and a middle aged women. Both deemed as 'Safe Drivers' with cheap insurance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,280 ✭✭✭✭Sand

Both of them are definitely not handling the situation well. She apparently had right of way, the ould lad was in the wrong. Christ, the fellah was driving a car whilst claiming to be unable to perform the fairly simple manoeuvre of putting it in reverse and holding a straight line. Take the handbrake off, keep the hands on the steering wheel and there is enough big men there to roll the car back for him if he's that bad a driver. One of the lads there could even offer to jump in and reverse it for him.

The crowd ganged up on the female driver because they thought she would be the easiest to break. I wouldn't describe myself as a feminist, but its fairly easy to see the dynamic at play there.

Absurd confrontation either way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭ALiasEX

rizzodun wrote: »
    Is it unreasonable judging from that clip to lay all the blame at the feet of the woman? She would have clearly seen the other car was already in the tunnel on approach so why didn't she just slow the hell down and let him clear the tunnel?

She could have entered first or around the same time and she braked where she is and expected him to break and reverse but he kept driving until their bumpers said how do you do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,832 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Sand wrote: »

The crowd ganged up on the female driver because they thought she would be the easiest to break. I wouldn't describe myself as a feminist, but its fairly easy to see the dynamic at play there.

Absurd confrontation either way.

yeah they defintely ganged up on her. But it was perhaps made easier by her top being down whereas the old boy seemed to have windows and doors locked and wasn't listening to anybody.

I think in these situations someone has to be the bigger person and back down. The old lad didn't seem all there tbh but yer one knew exactly what she was at. Several drivers complained directly to her about how selfish she was being but she didnt even flinch.

Anyway the whole thing was truly absurd, makes me glad I ride a motorbike so I can just ride around this kind of stuff and be on my way. I can only imagine the length of the traffic jam they created in both directions and the several hundred people they delayed.

ALiasEX wrote: »
    She could have entered first or around the same time and she braked where she is and expected him to break and reverse but he kept driving until their bumpers said how do you do.

True I suppose seeing the start could really change the opinion. TBH if it was me I'd throw it into reverse and back up, but I've met people like that who think 'right of way' completely circumvents 'common sense'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭ALiasEX

Plot twist: she couldn't reverse either but wasn't letting on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Wow, that clip is infuriating. The woman was being completely unreasonable to not back down even though he was in the wrong. But how can you not reverse an automatic in a straight line? How did it take that long for them to convince him to lower his window?