Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

DCM 2015: Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

Right, the plans for Saturday are as follows:

Meet/Greet: Parkgate @ 0930. Park in the Park (:)) at the Garda HQ, see meno's post. ^^^

Participants so far
    > oirishfruitie
    > FeenaM
    > nop98
    > denis_b
    > betty swollox
    > diego_b
    > Anyone else?

Neilthefunkeone, not sure if our proposed route works for you. Toulouse, what about your friend? Revered mentor DG, will you come along and show us how it's done?

Pace: 9:45-10:00 min/mi [6:03-6-12 min/km].

Route: effectively the DCM route, without the bit in the Phoenix Park / Castleknock: Towards the islandbridge, southbound to the SCR ... ah drat, I don't really know. Denis_b will be the navigator.

See my previous post with a map. We'll end back in town, and then run back to the PP over the first few miles of the course. 20M in total. :eek:

Water-station: I have a friend who lives in Terenure and I'll see if I can get him to drag himself out of his bed, and be along the route somewhere with some water bottles, 6M/10k in. Any special wishes (that can be purchased in a Spar), let me know.

FeenaM has volunteered for flapjack-duty (this is an incentive for us to keep up with her!).

Anything/anyone else?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

chrislad wrote: »
    Check out the Marathon Facebook page and the Half Marathon look back video. Specifically 4:20 or so :D

^^^Nothing to see at 4.20. Better just skip it :P

I had a 6 mile run tonight at hard pace. Did really well, chuffed with the run. Another 6 miles tomorrow (easy) before my 18 mile LSR on Sunday. If anyone wants to feel like a speedy elite, come running with me sometime! Your next run will have you running like the wind in comparison! :pac:

Will answer the question about negativity later or maybe tomorrow. Need to think about how to write a coherent response!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b

Nop....

The space in front of Garda HQ will probably be gone by 9.30am as the zoo opens at the same time. I would suggest 9am at the very latest if you want to park there.

denis b wrote: »
    Nop....

The space in front of Garda HQ will probably be gone by 9.30am as the zoo opens at the same time. I would suggest 9am at the very latest if you want to park there.

I am happy to meet at 9am but I thought the committee had decided 9:30....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

denis b wrote: »
    Nop....

I have never had any trouble parking there. I parked up there at about 9:30 the day of the Frank Duffy and there was still loads of space. I don't think much of the zoo crowd park there, mostly they park in the zoo car park or on the surrounding roads such as Chesterfield AV, but I have heard of/known of lot's of break ins in all areas except the Garda HQ so I always park there now when going for a run in PP.
    Just so we are clear this is where I mean to park https://goo.gl/maps/5vZ4BGTyvM32
    As you see there is room for 50+ cars at each side of the entrance to HQ, I think a lot of people don't use this space as they assume it's not for the public...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭FeenaM

nop98 wrote: »

Earliest I can do is 9.30 as husband away for the weekend (now who on earth told him he could have a life too while I'm training for a marathon?) and have to drop 3 kids to 2 babysitters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

smashiner wrote: »
    I think of my wife and daughter a lot as well, when the runs/races get really hard I think of when I will see them....in x hours/mins when I get home. Even on a regular day I can still see my little girl the first time I saw her in the delivery room. I was amazed then and still amazed by her 3.5 years later. My wife in her wedding dress is another one as I first saw her down the bottom of the aisle. Not sure why this come to mind but they are special memories and I can drift away with them.

Great post Diego_b.......delivery room and wedding day stuff really got me......have to go now this room is very dusty and my eyes are annoying me.

Door closes.......sob.....sob.

Going home to watch Steel Magnolias....[/QUOTE]

God I'm welling up here with all the emotional hearts on sleeves .....FBOT take note !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Kennyg71 wrote: »
    Kenny G

When voices start, I usually do equipment check, how's the breathing, how are feet, ankle, calves, Form etc.. , remember that I have work put in, and that I actually enjoy Running.,usually gets my mind back in the run and it passes.:)

You forgot about your nursery rhymes G:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Sorry guys, can't join you on Sunday (another OH daring to have a life FeenaM :pac: ), really wish I could but enjoy. Pretend it's the marathon (although not at marathon pace :eek: ) and that you are the most together, most prepared, smiliest runners ever :)

- take the amount of gels you plan to take +1/2 extra in case of spillages etc
    - if you're not happy with your HM outfit, try something else that you plan to wear on the day, shoes included if you can
    - have breakfast at the same time you plan to on M Day (3 hours before/2 hours etc)
    Etc etc....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

PS, really great reading today and yesterday. I'll get back to everyone that needs a reply tomorrow, got to get some zzzzzzs. If it's urgent or you think I have missed you, drop me a PM

Night night :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭neilthefunkeone

Did I see TFGR leaving the park earlier? Only copped it about a minute later!!

Got my 8 miles in this evening fairly handy... Happy saying that again!! 5 tomorrow and looking forward to the 20 Saturday..

I'll meet you guys in the park so.. Don't mind driving in and means a little more time in the morning!
    If we are on the marathon route then we pass my house in terenure so can have stuff ready in the garden or jump in for the jacks if anyone wants..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

Did I see TFGR leaving the park earlier? Only copped it about a minute later!!

Yeah I was in the park this evening. Round about 19:15 ish? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Kennyg71 wrote: »
    Question for FBOT if around

Had tight calf after Saturday race, up ladder painting Sunday.

So took Tuesday as extra day, did not fancy doing speed session or slow for that matter. Have worked out few knots & got 8 miles easy avg 9.36 this morning, nice and comfortable. Will do 7 in morning. All going well in morning, do u think picking up Tuesday session on Friday worth while or just do 3/4 easy miles, to even out week before 20 miles Sunday,

Or take rest Friday as usual, would work out nearly 50/50 for LSR against rest
    Of week.

G

Firstly tell Mrs Kennyg no more DIY ;)

In relation to the running I wouldn't worry about Tuesday. If you feel like it do 3 or 4 tomorrow but I wouldn't stress about it in the big scheme of things.

Main thing for this week is recover fully from the half and get your 20 in at the weekend.

Enjoy!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b

Great stuff. Will go with the plan. See everybody at 9.30am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭neilthefunkeone

Yeah I was in the park this evening. Round about 19:15 ish? :D

Yep..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

I swear, we are all mad. Finished my 8 mile run last night at about 7:50 or so. Up this morning at 6:30am for a 5 mile run before work. Madness!

Let's hope none of us become this guy...

https://youtu.be/U2TRUUu2uHo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

FBOT01 wrote: »
    Firstly tell Mrs Kennyg no more DIY ;)

In relation to the running I wouldn't worry about Tuesday. If you feel like it do 3 or 4 tomorrow but I wouldn't stress about it in the big scheme of things.

Main thing for this week is recover fully from the half and get your 20 in at the weekend.

Enjoy!!

Cheers FBOT, got 6 in this morning nice and comfortable, so extra day
    off paid dividend. Tightness seems all worked out, have being dogging
    DIY for last couple months, only so long u can get away with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭duffer247

Right, the plans for Saturday are as follows:

Water-station: I have a friend who lives in Terenure and I'll see if I can get him to drag himself out of his bed, and be along the route somewhere with some water bottles, 6M/10k in. Any special wishes (that can be purchased in a Spar), let me know.

FeenaM has volunteered for flapjack-duty (this is an incentive for us to keep up with her!).

Anything/anyone else?

I'm based in Crumlin so any point from Crumlin - Kimmage - Terenure I would be happy to provide a water station etc . Will need an eta (no pressure :pac:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭smashiner

Good link here lads on hydration.....although you might have to grow a moustache to access the link....

https://www.mo-running.com/blog/hydration-dehydration-rehydration

Bananas and coconuts all the way....we all will end up in Dublin Zoo in the Chimp enclosure not at the start line of the DCM....:pac::D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 375 ✭✭brennarr

Got my long slow run done in the phoenix park yesterday evening instead of the weekend as we have wedding stuff to do :rolleyes:

Completed 32.23km at a 5:27km pace (not sure of mile pace) - just a few minutes under 3 hours to complete.
    Was my third run of the week and I felt good consideration I done the HM Saturday too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

brennarr wrote: »
    Completed 32.23km at a 5:27km pace (not sure of mile pace) - just a few minutes under 3 hours to complete.
    Was my third run of the week and I felt good consideration I done the HM Saturday too.

Sounds a little bit fast - you ran the HM in 1:43, Vdot reckons your easy pace is between 05:43/km and 06:04/km ( https://runsmartproject.com/calculator/ ). What time are you planning to go for in the marathon? Are you racing the 3/4 Marathon or using it as a training run?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 375 ✭✭brennarr

Singer wrote: »
    Sounds a little bit fast - you ran the HM in 1:43, Vdot reckons your easy pace is between 05:43/km and 06:04/km ( https://runsmartproject.com/calculator/ ). What time are you planning to go for in the marathon? Are you racing the 3/4 Marathon or using it as a training run?

My previous DCM in 2013 I completed in 3:43 but embarrassed to say the furthest I ran before that was a HM race 6 weeks before that (31 August) in 1:30.42

I feel my training is going a bit better this time around and I would hope to get as close to 3:30 this time around.

I'm not sure what to do for the 3/4 yet. I believe they have 3:30 marathon pacers running at 105% of the pace so might be an idea to try run with them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭PIORUN

chrislad wrote: »
    I swear, we are all mad. Finished my 8 mile run last night at about 7:50 or so. Up this morning at 6:30am for a 5 mile run before work. Madness!
    we're pretty crazy..I finished 8 mile run Tuesday night at 10:30 pm then got up on yesterday at 5am to do 5 mile before work!...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭coolhandspan

http://www.runnersworld.co.uk/training/pre-marathon-paranoia-and-how-to-solve-it/13941.html?utm_content=buffer0b8b9&utm_medium=social&utm_source=facebook.com&utm_campaign=buffer

Maranoia (n): Mental anxiety found in marathon runners, characterised by the irrational belief that last-minute disaster is imminent :eek::eek:

Brilliant I think half of us are suffering from MARANOIA, [above] lol

Good article explains irrational fears during marathon training..:rolleyes::rolleyes::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

PIORUN wrote: »
    we're pretty crazy..I finished 8 mile run Tuesday night at 10:30 pm then got up on yesterday at 5am to do 5 mile before work!...

A few weeks ago I did a 6 mile run at 21:30 or so, then a 20 mile run the next morning... so I think that counts as a 14 hour marathon PB?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭HibernianRunner

8 Stages of Marathon Running:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭duffer247

FeenaM wrote: »

Or does it have benefits? Anybody else feel they have emptied the bank a bit??

You raise a good point, my main reason for the HM was the milestone nature of it, that if it goes well then its a good indication of how the training is going - what I didn't cater for was if it didn't go too well, what indication is this?

duffer247 wrote: »
    I'm based in Crumlin so any point from Crumlin - Kimmage - Terenure I would be happy to provide a water station etc . Will need an eta (no pressure :pac:)

Hey duffer247, that would be appreciated - as my friend is not available! Where along the route do you think you can be? The further, the better :) Bushy Park? Not really sure what works for you. I'd say we'd be there about 10:35-45 or so.

duffer247 wrote: »
    You raise a good point, my main reason for the HM was the milestone nature of it, that if it goes well then its a good indication of how the training is going - what I didn't cater for was if it didn't go too well, what indication is this?

Exactly, in hindsight I think it should be ran at PMP so then you can assess how you might be to continue for twice the distance. By actually racing it, I feel it has put a halt to the progress I was making and there is not enough time to get back on track.

If it didn't go well, then I suppose you reassess your pace for the full marathon unless there was other factors involved in in not going well?

Would be interested to hear from some of the mentors if this would typical to race a HM in some of the more advanced plans at such a late stage of training?