Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

TV3 RWC coverage

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

KERSPLAT! wrote: »
    Not have any controls on the player is a pain, sound, pause, etc

Tapping the picture will pause it.

It seems to be more stable this evening compared to Saturday anyway, might be the demand.

And just as well as I got caught out with the wrong epg info and came down from putting the kids to bed to find I'd been recording the wrong station.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭SarahBM

Downton was last night.

nnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnoooooooooooooooooooooo

:eek::eek::eek::eek:

:(:(:(:(

Oh well, RUGBY!
    :D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Much prefer this guy commentating!

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 12,327 Mod ✭✭✭✭icdg

Stheno wrote: »
    Yeah, seems to be down by about a third

I think it's just perception. They seem to have listened and reverted back to the regular way of taking a half time break instead of the wierd way they were doing so at the weekend (with the "mini break", short analysis piece, then regular break). Because the breaks are less frequent people *think* there are less ads, but there isn't really.

Hopefully it's not just a midweek thing and they have listened - they have also significantly reduced the size of the DOG on both channels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,069 ✭✭✭irishfeen

Its very strange that they haven't corrected the "HD" logo... its just completely in the middle of nowhere.

It sits there on its own during the ads.

Anyone watching on laptop? Picture quality doesn't seem to be as good as on the Android app but that may be related to the relative screen size.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,229 ✭✭✭LeinsterDub

No analysis during breaks in play. Just orkward silences and promos for tv3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭SarahBM

Is anyone elses sound a bit funny? Sometimes it sounds like an echo or like you can hear a radio in the background.

Or maybe its just me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭HankSchrader

SarahBM wrote: »
    Is anyone elses sound a bit funny? Sometimes it sounds like an echo or like you can hear a radio in the background.

Or maybe its just me

Sound was a bit off I thought too. Lots of crowd noise and muffled commentary. It's like they were tinkering with the audio.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Sound was a bit off I thought too. Lots of crowd noise and muffled commentary. It's like they were tinkering with the audio.

It was like that last weekend, but better this evening.

The highlights show is not bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,618 ✭✭✭BoardsMember

Hugo "sort of" McNeill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,864 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

watched a couple of games today and Sunday - its far from perfect , but nowhere near as bad as some of the grumbling here would suggest.
    Cooper, Williams and Wood are good - commentary is far from appalling (take a bow TG4 ;)

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I enjoyed that highlights show.

Now if only Cooper could realise that at the end of the show the camera pans to a panoramic view and he looks like a twat talking to a wall

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,327 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

I've noticed that a bit too.

I'd a head ache after the Eng v Fiji game cos of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭conf101

thebaz wrote: »
    watched a couple of games today and Sunday - its far from perfect , but nowhere near as bad as some of the grumbling here would suggest.
    Cooper, Williams and Wood are good - commentary is far from appalling (take a bow TG4 ;)

I partially agree. I think Wood and Williams are great and I love listening to them. I can't understand why so many people give out about Williams, he gives quality analysis.

Cooper, on the other hand, is shocking. He's one of Ireland's best broadcasters, but he's simply not a sports broadcaster, and that's no bad thing. He does politics and current events really well, but he's just not able to keep the conversation and analysis flowing when it comes to sports. He asks a question and ignores whatever the response is, just continues on with the next question on his list. He massively stifles some great analysts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 884 ✭✭✭zefer

irishfeen wrote: »
    TV3 are a PSB broadcaster... its not asking much for them to do things with a bit of class... they just look so amateurish.
    Jaysus... as I said - very amateurish ... people could have had this game recorded to watch later but will be left with TV3 news on 3e.

They are making things up as they are going along..
    Absolutely ridiculous that they didn't update the EPG schedule on the channels before the game .. there will be loads of people who will have recorded the game on 3e...
    Why do TV3 have to tell us "LIVE" on screen?... doesn't make a bit of sense really, they even let it on when replaying earlier highlights.. totally defeating the purpose of whatever they are trying to do...

What is it with you and TV3? All your posts are completely negative towards them? Why don't you just watch on ITV if you don't like it?? I really don't get it. I don't have TV3 HD, so watch the game on ITV HD, why don't you do the same..?

I actually flicked between ITV and TV3 last night at half time and they both had the exact same amount of breaks, food for thought

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,000 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

conf101 wrote: »
    I partially agree. I think Wood and Williams are great and I love listening to them. I can't understand why so many people give out about Williams, he gives quality analysis.

Cooper, on the other hand, is shocking. He's one of Ireland's best broadcasters, but he's simply not a sports broadcaster, and that's no bad thing. He does politics and current events really well, but he's just not able to keep the conversation and analysis flowing when it comes to sports. He asks a question and ignores whatever the response is, just continues on with the next question on his list. He massively stifles some great analysts.

This x100. Cooper is brutal. I've said this in the past. There is no continuety with his style. Question...answer...Interesting point made that could be followed on by other pundit...no...New question. At least McGurk sits back and listens and even lets the others draw out opinions. Cooper just has a list of questions that he feels he needs to ask.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,949 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

conf101 wrote: »

I fully agree with this. Matie Willams and Keith are quality as are most of the other panelists. Shane Jennings is very insightful also.

Cooper is the problem for me. Why was he given this gig? Just because he'd done the GAA before? He's dreadful and would not make it as a broadcaster elsewhere, let alone be allowed on TV. He appears to have no feel for the game either. I don't expect him to be an expert, but he's just reading from a list.
    Then again, Tom McGurk was awful on RTE and hadn't a clue either.
    When I see people like Treasa on TG4 Joanne Cantwell I think they are head and shoulder above many of these chancers.

And in fairness, the lads doing the analysis for the Scotland/Japan game were good too, I skimmed through it last night after recording it and they were decent.

Cooper seems to be the weak link for many. And yes, Treasa would be better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭Redgirl82

zefer wrote: »
    What is it with you and TV3? All your posts are completely negative towards them? Why don't you just watch on ITV if you don't like it?? I really don't get it. I don't have TV3 HD, so watch the game on ITV HD, why don't you do the same..?

I actually flicked between ITV and TV3 last night at half time and they both had the exact same amount of breaks, food for thought

It is pointless, some people just like to moan. It will be the same people giving out about how poor RTE is for the 6Nations. Then complaining about TG4 having the Rabo in Irish

Then also complain if watching Sky or BT because X, Y, Z is wrong. You can never please some people so I wouldn't even bother trying......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭cup of tea

How many times did they mention Matt Cooper Red Rock was on during the coverage?. This was in addition to notification of red rock popping up on the bottom left corner of the screen every five minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,725 ✭✭✭✭MJohnston

cup of tea wrote: »
    How many times did they mention Matt Cooper Red Rock was on during the coverage?. This was in addition to notification of red rock popping up on the bottom left corner of the screen every five minutes.

Sadly this might actually be a more popular show for them than some of the pool matches.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭total former

cup of tea wrote: »

Well, there was a lot of b*tching here about the switch in channels, so I presume they had to.

A lot of b*tching about absolutely everything in this thread, of course.

Isn't that the point ?

In fairness, there has been a bit of praise of late too. They kept the French game on the HD channel last night (even though the Sky EPG was wrong, was the UPC one too ? ) and people have praised the recent bunch of analysts.

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Isn't that the point ?

Yeah, it's gone to absolutely farcial proportions now though. People complaining about the size of the TV3 logo in the corner of the screen, TV3's debt restructuing etc.

It's time to just get on with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,725 ✭✭✭✭MJohnston

Yeah, it's gone to absolutely farcial proportions now though. People complaining about the size of the TV3 logo in the corner of the screen, TV3's debt restructuing etc.

If some of this complaining has led to the improvements in coverage that we've seen since Friday night, long may it last.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭conf101

There have been a few ridiculous posts and complaints, but they don't represent the whole thread.

By and large credit has been given where it's due: a good panel of analysts is rightly being praised, for example. But there's no denying that TV3's coverage has been far below the standard required for a rugby world cup and comes across far too often as amateurish and clueless. IMO people are right to complain about it.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 511 ✭✭✭RichieRich89

I fully agree with this. Matie Willams and Keith are quality as are most of the other panelists. Shane Jennings is very insightful also.

Cooper is the problem for me. Why was he given this gig? Just because he'd done the GAA before? He's dreadful and would not make it as a broadcaster elsewhere, let alone be allowed on TV. He appears to have no feel for the game either. I don't expect him to be an expert, but he's just reading from a list.
    Then again, Tom McGurk was awful on RTE and hadn't a clue either.
    When I see people like Treasa on TG4 Joanne Cantwell I think they are head and shoulder above many of these chancers.

They should get Williams to present it. He was very good on 'The Breakdown' on Setanta

MJohnston wrote: »
    If some of this complaining has led to the improvements in coverage that we've seen since Friday night, long may it last.

It's far more likely that it just took TV3 some time to find their feet, not having broadcast a rugby match for 8 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,241 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Matt Cooper is TV3s default guy for sports.

He did the RWC in 07 and their GAA coverage up to 2013.

From listening to his radio show he certainly seems to be a fan of rugby.

As for the Red Rock pimping people should not be surprised.
    Red Rock is their bread and butter and a small commercial station needs to make sure they do not lose sight of that.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 23,997 Mod ✭✭✭✭TICKLE_ME_ELMO

Yesterday's coverage was much improved from the weekend. The sound during the anthems is the only thing that's annoying me now which isn't really that big a deal. Hopefully the improvement wasn't a midweek fluke.