Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,827 ✭✭✭corny

Everything you said is bang on. Except the late 90s part, more the late 00s.

Also, Dublin play in Croker Park in the Leinster Championship because the other counties voted to have them there.

The biggest factor in calling bollox in this advantage chat is simply how awful Cork are overall in both codes. They should be ashamed to see how they've performed since 2005 given the player pool and resources at their disposal.

Meath have started to get their house in order again. Kildare's youth structures have gotten an overhaul. These will reap rewards. As will Tipp and Roscommon.

And soon they'll dine back at the top table with Dublin, Kerry, Tyrone, Mayo and Donegal.

Counties vote for Dublin to play in Croker when not drawn against them. When they are drawn against them they mysteriously change their minds.

I'd ****ing love if Dublin got to grips with the likes of KK in the hurling while staying at the top in the football. The whining would be epic.

SNeaLHP.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,727 ✭✭✭✭Godge

What irks Dublin fans is the double standard.

Kilkenny utterly dominate in hurling and nobody whines about why it's unfair or that we should spilt the county in half. Kerry have won far more All Ireland titles than Dublin and yet nobody complains that Dublin have to split their resources between football and hurling whereas Kerry hurling is the poor cousin of their football brethren and they focus their coaching and resources on one game.

Dublin are just doing things right. They have good administrators, excellent structures and they maximize their revenue streams (in the same way Kerry do magnificently by the way). When other counties stop having ridiculous internal politics ruining them (Cork) they will likely come on as well.

This is an excellent post.

When Dublin have won 11 in 15, then we can have the conversation about splitting the county.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

Dublin is fcuking Dublin, one city, one entity, one team, why would or should we EVER consider splitting it in two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

In the 28 years between the last AI of the Heffo era (1983) and the first one of the current period of success (2011) we won the All Ireland, once. In 1995. That is one AI win in nearly 30 years. The whingers and begrugers should think about that for a minute. During that time, I bet they all thought that the state of the game was just fine. When we were on the outside looking in at everyone else winning Sam, for nearly 3 fcuking decades, there wasn't a bloody peep out of any of them about the overall health of the game. Things were just fine and dandy then. But now that we have been consistently successful for a few years, the world and his mother thinks that "something should be done". The hypocrisy of it all is laughable.

But I'm done talking about this shyte now. People are determined to spoil the party and I'm sick of it...so onto more important stuff.....how are the hangovers....how are the voices....anyone go into town last night? Thought O'Connell St was a brilliant choice of venue for the celebrations. It's utterly mental that it took winning the the damm thing 3 times, before it occured to someone that Merrion Sq was a piss poor location for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭wackokid

Congrats to all you Dubs. Great team to watch in full flow.
    I have a wee question for you lads. Close up camera shots show the Kerry team all had GPS units on their back.
    Nothing visible on the Dubs but I suspect they wore something to transmit data upstairs?
    Is there a small digital GPS unit that can be hidden?

Nope. Dublin players don't wear the GPS trackers.

We can't afford them.

Maybe we could all take up a collection? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭danjo-xx

wackokid wrote: »
    Congrats to all you Dubs. Great team to watch in full flow.
    I have a wee question for you lads. Close up camera shots show the Kerry team all had GPS units on their back.
    Nothing visible on the Dubs but I suspect they wore something to transmit data upstairs?
    Is there a small digital GPS unit that can be hidden?

God is this the way 'sport' is going:eek:

Are soccer players into this too.

James Horan was on Off The Ball over the weekend and he was asked about Mayo using them. He chose not to, as he thinks they are over rated. It's not even a matter of resources, as he said he was approached by a couple of GPS tech companies who would have given them to Mayo for free, in return for promo rights, but he turned them down. Perhaps Jim Gavin thinks they are over rated too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

I assume they're very heavy considering how slow the Kerry boys were.

Slattsy wrote: »
    I assume they're very heavy considering how slow the Kerry boys were.

6/10

:cool:

Good luck to them finding one strong enough to measure how fast Jack Flash runs. It would probably just explode on his back long before half time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,827 ✭✭✭corny

Yeah not sold on how useful they are but I do wonder who covers the most ground for Dublin. Flynn? McCaffrey? McMahon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

To the tune of tie a yellow ribbon..

I'm coming home I've done my time

been in the kingdom such a long,long time

But I got Jim Gavins letter telling me I'd soon be free,

That Fenton, Philly and brogan, where coming to get me...

Dubs cried when they seen me, da da da da....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭themandan6611

...3 in 5 is not exactly a problem IMO.

or 4 in 20 years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Nidgeweasel

I get their usage in training and even in the earlier rounds, but in a final?

I'd love to know the reason for it if anybody is au fait with these things.

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Nope. Dublin players don't wear the GPS trackers.

We can't afford them.

Maybe we could all take up a collection? :D

Thanks for that ProudDUB. No doubt the Kerry stuff is sponsored too.
    Hard to understand why Jim Gavin thinks they are surplus to requirements and the great traditionalists feel they are helpful. No need to put one on McCaffrey or Phil McMahon as they would both bend the needle. Rock could do with a prod of something though? and when Mannion and Costello return methinks Dean will be moved sideways. What youz all think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

Mannion woukd be welcomed back, O'Gara in the rain yesterday would have been nice remember that game against laois in the rain a few years ago in the league. It lashed down he caught everything, won everyone over. On a dry day I've seen him kick the ball off his own face!!

Costello was fine all season , Rock held a place ahead of him in every game.
    Dean was a good sub. Nothing went his way in the championship this year. It's been his worst, I wouldn't be so hard on him. The frees he missed were difficult, cluxton is missing them anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

ProudDUB wrote: »
    .............But I'm done talking about this shyte now. People are determined to spoil the party and I'm sick of it...so onto more important stuff.....how are the hangovers....how are the voices....anyone go into town last night? Thought O'Connell St was a brilliant choice of venue for the celebrations. It's utterly mental that it took winning the the damm thing 3 times, before it occured to someone that Merrion Sq was a piss poor location for it.

You and I among others have been hanging here long enough to know that you can anticipate the reaction to Dublin either winning or losing. I'm past caring what others think tbh .. I've served my time thru the 90's - saw them losing 2 finals and 2 semis, then missed 95 not getting a ticket - 2011 was my 1st experience of being there to see them win - I'll never be an apologist for what we're currently achieving.

I've seen the growth of football in my old club BK on the back of the countys success, with the shambles that was underage football in BK 20 years previous still clear in my mind. The facilities and quality of football across all juvenile clubs is improving year on year. I've 3 lads including my own fella who are involved with the development squad - the other 2 young fellas were primarily Rugby and Soccer players - if it wasn't for the relevancy of Gaelic Football to sport in the capital I'd have lost those fellas long before they had the opportunity to demonstrate their ability.

The AI Football Championship stands alone as the only elite competition which gives the entitlement to all teams to compete - Hurling doesn't .. Rugby Union/League, Soccer, Basketball, Athletics, Horse Racing etc at the elite level all demand the basic question .. show me you're good enough to compete. The fact that we continue to eschew this basic principle and instead look to blame the successes of others as the barrier to their own development is misguided at the very least. There is a finite talent pool of elite athletes and that's just the way sport has always been.

... anyways to answer yer question there was a particular incident in the game Sunday which escapes me at the minute where I started to roar but ended about 7 octaves higher where only the dogs in the street could hear me - must've taken a gallon of porter over the vocal chords to get me back in jig ;)

Very well said Docta. Woof woof ! :D

If I was Dean Rock, I'd be very worried about my jersey for next year. O'Gara & Mannion will be back & the likes of McHugh and Costello will see their game time increased. So you'd have to wonder what he can contribute more than them, especially if his accuracy in the dead ball situations is not quite as set in stone as we all thought it was a couple of months ago. Time will tell I suppose.
    I get their usage in training and even in the earlier rounds, but in a final?

I'd love to know the reason for it if anybody is au fait with these things.

It works just like a sat nav in your car. The GPS tracker monitors the players movement and speed on the pitch. It sends up the data to the satellite, which beams it back down to whoever is monitoring the data on the sideline. It can tell where exactly on the pitch the player is making his runs, at what speed and how far he has traveled since it was activated at kick off.

So if you know (from monitoring a player in training) that he can run X amount of miles during a game, before he starts to tire significantly, once he gets close to that mileage in an actual game, you'll know it may be time to take him off.

I'd say its pretty worthless for the younger players who can run all day. But if you are trying to micro manage the time that an older/recently injured player spends on the pitch, I can see its uses.

Sure Colm O Rourke is the main instigator at dividing Dublin hoping that Meath might bate one half.
    I don't know anybody else who begrudges the Dubs their hours in the sun, or should I say years.
    Ok, if youz do the 5 in row I will love ye all the more. Wouldn't that sicken Spillane? LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,429 ✭✭✭Pierce_1991

Why does nobody ever talk about splitting Kilkenny in two for hurling?

Because they're not Dublin...

Slattsy wrote: »
    Because they're not Dublin...

Good point. Who cares though, CHAMPIONS!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,049 ✭✭✭Floppybits

Oh if only we could split Kilkenny in 2 what an addition he would be to the Dublin hurling panel. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,927 ✭✭✭eire4

Beacuse the people talking about splitting are all jealous bitter Dublin haters. To me it just makes the success Dublin are enjoying and deserving all the more enjoyable.

Aaron Kernon:

"Dublin have some of the best footballers I have ever seen and they are one of the best teams I have ever seen. They probably don't get the credit they deserve because they are Dublin. People talk about their pick and their resources but what has to be remembered is that these players have distractions in the capital city unlike those faced by players from other counties. I'd say it's very, very easy to run away with yourself in Dublin."

Bit in bold says it all really. Comes from great stock and knows his stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

Good Ulsterman.

And that's generally to be expected generally from those in the know in Uladh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

So my player of the year for Dublin was Bastic.
    Has his third title. Got stuck into the league.

Stood his ground in every game. Has been creative although it goes unnoticed.

Hard as nails when he came on in the first mayo game.
    In the final he showed again that our midfield can compete better than reported.

Hopefully he still has some unfinished business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Stoner wrote: »
    So my player of the year for Dublin was Bastic.
    Has his third title. Got stuck into the league.

Stood his ground in every game. Has been creative although it goes unnoticed.

Hard as nails when he came on in the first mayo game.
    In the final he showed again that our midfield can compete better than reported.

Hopefully he still has some unfinished business.

Bastick does'nt get half the credit he deserves. Gavin found or developed a side to Basticks game that I had not seen before, setting up attacks, switching play, calmly slotting the odd goal away.

Considering he's in his mid 30s and is holding his own in a team mostly made of young lads with rocket boosters attached to them is some testimony to him.

Personally I'd have Bernard Brogan right up there in the player of the year discussion. He sometimes gets a bit of stick for taking on shots when there's a better option but I don't think this is a selfish trait, I think he just has the confidence in himself to take on tricky shots. When it doesn't work it looks bad but for the vast majority of the year it did work. He was also central to the period of play against Mayo that was arguably the most important few minutes of our season. 4 points down and he scores one goal and sets up another.

Looking at the golden boot list the other day was quite funny. He finished 4 points behind Cillian O'Connor having scored 1 point from a free all season while COC scored 1-29 from placed balls. I'd love to know how many of them were tap overs from 20 meters that he took 5 minutes to take.