Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

DCM 2015: Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭Chops1234

God fair play to you lot who have to get up that early to get here. Don't know if I'd be that dedicated (to my shame lol)

TFGR - flapjacks look great. Don't think anyone will miss that sign :) Hope to get over to say hello.

Best of luck again to everyone running today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

Arroived in da big smoake.

I think I'm supposed to talk like this now. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b

.... and leaving the house. Best of luck everybody including our LSR friends this weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 791 ✭✭✭conor_mc

Who was it that posted the 80's motivational music spotify playlist a couple months back? Put it on in the car coming over to the Park this morning..... Chariots of Fire shuffles on.... Jesus wept, the goosebumps!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

Suppose I better get off the internet and get my arse up to the park...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭sideshowbob321

Good luck to all today
    I'm on route see yis at the start line ðŸ˜႒
    I couldn't figue out how to add my name to the list!
    Sideshowbob321 2779

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

I'm a bit early to the start! Wandering around with my balloons on a stick! Say hello if you see me!

Edit: Oh gosh!! Someone just asked me if I'm a pacer!! Eek!! :P

Also, saw chrislad and Singer already. Looking good guys!!

For those of you at home: Everyone's off! Fabulous start! Very exciting stuff!

At mile 4ish. Singer just passed with the 1.30 group. Looking fresh still! Spectators are great! This us so much fun!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭skittles8710

Best of luck everyone today running the half! Can't wait to hear how ye all got on :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭Chops1234

Well all finished! Just getting a lift home now - traffic is a nightmare trying to get out of the park.

My time just got texted to me 2:04:15. Happy I came in under 2:05. Couldn't keep up with the 2 hour pacers. Those green balloons just kept getting further and further away :)

TFGR and Pink - nice to meet you after (and whoever else was there!) Flapjacks were delicious. Sorry to eat and run but was running with a mate and getting a lift with them so had to go find them.

Hope everyone did well and got the times they were aiming for. Enjoy the rest of the day :)

Same boat as Chops. Finished in 2:03:29.

Last two miles killed me. On the plus side, I got pbs for 10k, 10 mile, 20k and Half. :)

Lovely to meet you all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 375 ✭✭brennarr

I'm a bit early to the start! Wandering around with my balloons on a stick! Say hello if you see me!

Edit: Oh gosh!! Someone just asked me if I'm a pacer!! Eek!! :P

Also, saw chrislad and Singer already. Looking good guys!!

Thanks so much for the flap jacks, they were yum :)

Finished in 1:43, a bit disappointed as I was in line for a 1:38 finish until the last 3 km but just fell away - I don't think the 4 km run to the start line in the morning didn't help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Flapjacks were yum thanks TFGR a nice finish to the race. Still stuck in traffic getting out of PP would have been quicker to run home !! Got my pb 2.07.05 so am chuffed. Nice to meet everyone afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

Just back home and checked my time again - 1:48:13, which is a PB by just over a minute I think.
    Nice to meet up with ye all at the finish, but I'm bad with remembering names, so putting two names to each face might just be beyond me.

Feeling a bit hungry now - I knew I should have went for that 4th flapjack.

I underestimated the distance from the finish to Heuston. I got there with about 10 seconds to spare. Had to run the last mile. Legs were not impressed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭PJD

Sorry for not hanging around too long. As some of you saw, one runner was recieving CPR near the finish line. It upset me quite a bit as i passed and I didn't feel very sociable afterwards. I dont know the outcome and I am acutely aware that these things happen; but right now as I am home with my wife and baby, it just resonates more. Apologies if I was off with anyone or didn't get to say hello. Thank you for the effort with the balloons, flapjacks and banners. We really are a team now. Paul

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭coolhandspan

Hi all, quick race report. Decided not to start with a pacer, ran with a few mates who all had gps units. We went out at 7:45 min miles for first two, then purposely quickened to bring time back to 7:30s avg. hip felt good, found running comfortable until mile 9 , then really had to work hard. Hill to finish was really really hard for me, thought about walking but kept grinding. Finished in time of 01:36:12 . Delighted . Looking forward to reading others reports here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭coolhandspan

Only see post above about runner , devestated to hear that, hope person is ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 791 ✭✭✭conor_mc

Phoebas wrote: »
    Nice to meet up with ye all at the finish, but I'm bad with remembering names, so putting two names to each face might just be beyond me

Putting two names to your own face was almost beyond you!!! 😆

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,207 ✭✭✭✭Crash

Only see post above about runner , devestated to hear that, hope person is ok.

If anyone knows about the end result there, would really appreciate a Pm. Was waiting to cheer on my wife when he went down, saw a couple of runners assisting with CPR and ran down to the stewards to get the ambulance called. Was nearby when he was getting treatment and for my own piece of mind as much as anything would like to know if he's OK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Neady83

PJD wrote: »
    Sorry for not hanging around too long. As some of you saw, one runner was recieving CPR near the finish line. It upset me quite a bit as i passed and I didn't feel very sociable afterwards. I dont know the outcome and I am acutely aware that these things happen; but right now as I am home with my wife and baby, it just resonates more. Apologies if I was off with anyone or didn't get to say hello. Thank you for the effort with the balloons, flapjacks and banners. We really are a team now. Paul

Oh god, sorry to hear that PJD and sorry you had to witness it. It does give you perspective on everything. I saw a few casualties at last weekends half, nothing that serious and I was shook after it so can only imagine how you're feeling. I hope that person is ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭neilthefunkeone

Hey all.. Hope all went well today..

Was in nice and early to the park but still ended up parked ages from the start.. Walked a bit and put in a nice 1 mile warm up.
    I was in between the 1.50 and 2.00 pacers and took off waaayyy too fast. Very close quarters for the first 2 miles and I kinda got dragged along with the crowd. Averaging 8.30 miles.

Up around the zoo and the back road, was feeling good and tried to lower the pace but I was being an ass and kept on around the 8.30.

Out on to tower road and still feeling grand.. No niggles!!

Took my only gel at mile 8.

Now out of the park and right.. This road has got me last 2 times and no different today.. It wasn't a conscious effort to slow down but pace dropped right back as I plodded along..

The turn into the park... I know its there and I know the hill but I couldn't inject any pace into it.. Was a very slow drag up the hill and really ate into me..
    Last corner and this is usually where I get a little sprint on but the sight of a poor fella on the deck getting chest compressions hit me.. I just dropped off and basically slow jogged for the line.. I got really emotional it was horrible.. Hope he is OK..

So it was a 1.56.. Happy to come away feeling good and OK..

Quick hello to TFGR and whoops.. I wasn't feeling great so I just had to go.. But the flapjacks were lovely..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭Stevo1983

Great day out.
    The run went well for me. I managed to keep the 1:40 Pacers in my sights for the entire race.
    Enjoyed the course except for the road that took us out of the park towards the end. It felt like it went on forever.
    The hill at the end took a minute off me but I was delighted to finish in 1:41.
    Knocked 5 minutes off my time from the RNR half.
    Onwards and upwards, bring on the big one:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭Stevo1983

That bloke sadly passed away.
    RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭Sunny Disposition

Did my first 20 mile lsr this morning. Was a bit tired last night and a little worried before setting off but it went really well, very comfortable throughout, amazed I have got fit enough to run that kind of distance without stopping. Took two gels, seem to be doing quite well with the High Five ones, not too hard on the stomach. Brought a sports drink with me and finished it about a mile from home. When I got in the door I drank two litres of water fairly sharply!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭PJD

On official Facebook site. RIP 23 year old male. So sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

PJD wrote: »
    On official Facebook site. RIP 23 year old male. So sad.

Heartbreaking for his family and friends. RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Stevo1983 wrote: »
    That bloke sadly passed away.
    RIP.

God that's awful just see it on FB he was only 23 it's so sad.

Oh my god :(