Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The OnePlus 2 Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭tylerdurden94

Finally up and running with it today so far so good really digging the fingerprint sensor, little bit smaller than OPO and fits a bit better in hand, only thing bugging me so far is the DPI icons feel too big for my liking what's the best way to change this, rooting?

Was using Nova Launcher for a little bit and it was pretty good but there was a nifty little feature in Oxygen OS that you can tap in the middle of the screen to get the pull down app drawer which I think is super handy, decided today that I'd root the phone and use an app to change the DPI used this YouTube clip HERE & this app from Google Play HERE

The root video went well even if I was a little confused by it at times but it all worked out in the end as for the DPI settings it didn't work with the "set DPI" I used the update build.prop & set it to 400, phone acted a bit spazzy but I'm not sure if it was from the app as I was also updating a ton of apps maybe just too much all at the once but working solidly since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭The-Rafalution

Is there anyway to hide notification previews without stopping the notification? When I get a message, it previews the message but only way I can find to stop this is to turn off notifications for the messaging app. Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,777 ✭✭✭sentient_6

Is there anyway to hide notification previews without stopping the notification? When I get a message, it previews the message but only way I can find to stop this is to turn off notifications for the messaging app. Thanks

I only know at the moment how to do this in Exodus not Oxygen OS, if it's even an option, but what your looking for is to disable heads up notifications. Check under settings - accessibility?

sentient_6 wrote: »
    I only know at the moment how to do this in Exodus not Oxygen OS, if it's even an option, but what your looking for is to disable heads up notifications. Check under settings - accessibility?

Can't seem to find anything other than disabling the alert for messages. Surely it's possible to keep the alert and disable the preview

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,777 ✭✭✭sentient_6

Can't seem to find anything other than disabling the alert for messages. Surely it's possible to keep the alert and disable the preview

Ya I know, honestly id look into rooting and a custom rom like Exodus, my phone is on route now should have it this evening, will have Exodus on it by tomorrow!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭guyfawkes5

Is there some system for getting an invite that doesn't involve marketing for OnePlus or knowing someone already with the phone? I've signed up for the waiting list but they rather intimidatingly list millions as already being ahead of you.

It looks like a very good phone but every review mentions actually buying the thing as the biggest stumbling block.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,634 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

guyfawkes5 wrote: »
    Is there some system for getting an invite that doesn't involve marketing for OnePlus or knowing someone already with the phone? I've signed up for the waiting list but they rather intimidatingly list millions as already being ahead of you.

It looks like a very good phone but every review mentions actually buying the thing as the biggest stumbling block.

People are buying them from other sites but they are the Chinese version other than that I suppose its ebay/adverts etc.

Shame - the phone comes across as being designed and made by hardcore hardware neckbeards who know their stuff (going in the opposite direction of a lot of recent phone iterations, they're not shrinking their battery), but then the marketing is handled by someone on the opposite end of the spectrum who probably think of this as 'crowdsourced marketing' rather than just irritating barriers to consumers actually being able to pay you for the item.

Regardless, if anyone has an invite laying around I would appreciate one. Feel free to PM me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,046 ✭✭✭thomasj

guyfawkes5 wrote: »
    Shame - the phone comes across as being designed and made by hardcore hardware neckbeards who know their stuff (going in the opposite direction of a lot of recent phone iterations, they're not shrinking their battery), but then the marketing is handled by someone on the opposite end of the spectrum who probably think of this as 'crowdsourced marketing' rather than just irritating barriers to consumers actually being able to pay you for the item.

Regardless, if anyone has an invite laying around I would appreciate one. Feel free to PM me.

Just because the battery capacity is increased doesn't mean its better. A lot of people giving out about the battery life of the xperia z3+ and the htc m9 over their predecessors despite the bigger battery capacity.

Reviews that are out so far say the battery life in the OnePlus two is worse than the OnePlus one despite the battery increase.

thomasj wrote: »
    Just because the battery capacity is increased doesn't mean its better. A lot of people giving out about the battery life of the xperia z3+ and the htc m9 over their predecessors despite the bigger battery capacity.

Reviews that are out so far say the battery life in the OnePlus two is worse than the OnePlus one despite the battery increase.
    This was meant an example of their thinking differing from other manufacturers rather than a singular reason the phone is better. Battery capacity can be nullified by other factors that drain more power in turn, but ultimately it still means the capacity is there and it was a design decision to prioritise this.

A pattern I've noticed over many recent phone releases is that battery capacity has remained the same or even been lowered (presumably to lower costs and reduce dimensions), with their press releases touting that effectively more efficient software will compensate for this. In some cases these updates will come in the future and are not currently available.

It was a bit odd personally to search for a phone and prioritise battery life as I'm coming from a Nexus 5, and have only a few options attempt to cater to this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭voxpop

Anyone seeing the issues reported around grounding and dodgy home button?

The one big bug for me so far is on the lock screen top left corner it displays "Hutchinson 3G IReland limited" anybody know a way of turning this off?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 3,096 Mod ✭✭✭✭ktulu123

Would love a way of turning that off too. Also any tips for the phone now that I finally have it?

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭TheZPPanda

voxpop wrote: »
    Anyone seeing the issues reported around grounding and dodgy home button?

I've been using mine this past few days with zero issues. Very responsive and the fingerprint sensor is excellent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,405 ✭✭✭✭listermint

The one big bug for me so far is on the lock screen top left corner it displays "Hutchinson 3G IReland limited" anybody know a way of turning this off?

Yep change provider :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭mundogas

A friend just returned an invite I sent him. Anyone interested. Think I just need an email address.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭voxpop

TheZPPanda wrote: »
    I've been using mine this past few days with zero issues. Very responsive and the fingerprint sensor is excellent

Good to hear - maybe fixed in later batches of phones

@mundogas - there is an invite thread on this forum. I would offer it there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,566 ✭✭✭ZeitgeistGlee

Anyone else's charger giving off a loud buzzing sound when it's plugged in but not connected? Not eager to use one that could potentially fry the phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,634 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

mundogas wrote: »
    A friend just returned an invite I sent him. Anyone interested. Think I just need an email address.

PM sent,I can pass it onto someone on the invite list.

Anyone have any issues getting 3g on Vodafone? I can't get any data connection. 3g is ticked as my preferred network

Lads anyone else noticed a flicker on the screen when they're scrolling? Just up around where the notification slider is? I have adaptive backlight off already and the brightness around a fifth of the way up the bar. Between this and the messing around with the menu button I'm kinda half-wishing I'd stayed with my OPO. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭one man clappin

Just got an invite and am trying to decide whether to jump or not?
    Is the OPT better than the OPO?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭Danger781

Just got an invite and am trying to decide whether to jump or not?
    Is the OPT better than the OPO?

Depends what 'Better' means to you

- NFC
    + Fingerprint scanner

- Cyanogen MOD
    + Oxygen OS

+ Faster CPU / GPU
    - Apparently runs hotter

+ Bigger Battery
    - Apparently unimpressive SOT

+ Better Camera
    + Dual SIM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭Devia

Lads anyone else noticed a flicker on the screen when they're scrolling? Just up around where the notification slider is? I have adaptive backlight off already and the brightness around a fifth of the way up the bar. Between this and the messing around with the menu button I'm kinda half-wishing I'd stayed with my OPO. :(

Sounds like a dodgy battery. Did you contact oneplus? Would you consider sending it back?

Devia wrote: »
    Sounds like a dodgy battery. Did you contact oneplus? Would you consider sending it back?

Not yet, wanted to see if anyone else had it and maybe it might've just been Oxygen being Oxygen. :(

As I posted earlier I've unlocked the bootloader & rooted the phone, went ahead an encrypted it but now looked into installing Xposed and it doesn't seem to work with Android encryption as it won't accept the password (I've a pin lock) when booting up so can't make any changes with TWRP, time to factory reset and start over again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭Tazzer

I have been debating whether or not to look for invite as I've had an iphone for the last few years( currently 4s) , but when the oneplusone came out I really liked the look of it. So I got an invite yesterday from a friend, so I bit the bullet and ordered the two last night. I'm hoping someone can let me know that I've made the right choice :-)

Did anyone have issues with shipping addresses? As I put in my billing and delivery address (delivery parcel motel), but when the order came through it has it the other way around - i.e. shipping is to my address and the billing is to parcel motel. I'm hoping it goes to my address!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,439 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

Tazzer wrote: »
    I have been debating whether or not to look for invite as I've had an iphone for the last few years( currently 4s) , but when the oneplusone came out I really liked the look of it. So I got an invite yesterday from a friend, so I bit the bullet and ordered the two last night. I'm hoping someone can let me know that I've made the right choice :-)

Did anyone have issues with shipping addresses? As I put in my billing and delivery address (delivery parcel motel), but when the order came through it has it the other way around - i.e. shipping is to my address and the billing is to parcel motel. I'm hoping it goes to my address!

Did you order off the Irish site ? There was no need to ship to parcel motel, it only adds an extra delivery charge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭Tazzer

emmetkenny wrote: »
    Did you order off the Irish site ? There was no need to ship to parcel motel, it only adds an extra delivery charge.

Yes, I triple checked to make sure it was the Irish one.
    And that's what I thought about the delivery, but when I put in my own address, it said it wouldn't ship to my country, so that's why I added my parcel motel address and then it accepted it. Here's hoping it does go to my address so I wont have to pay parcel motel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,342 ✭✭✭davo2001

Tazzer wrote: »

I bit the bullet, had previously been the owner of an iPhone 3gs, 4 and 5. When I got the 5 in the space of 2 years I had to change the battery twice (once under warranty, the second time apple wants €90 to do it, I did it myself for a tenner). Then the charging port went faulty and Apple wanted €300!! (Again, did it myself for 20 quid). All this after paying €800 for a phone! Feck that.

Toke the plunge and bought a OPO and used Android for the 1st time, believe me, you won't be disappointed! There is a learning curve when moving from iOS to Android, give it a few days and don't be afraid to mess around and google whatever issue you have.