Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*********Motors Chat - Round 9 *********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭Interslice

CIP4 wrote: »
    A Getz or ka ye that would be ideal for those long college commutes. The article goes on about commuting to college which you think would mean you would be traveling a decent distance as if you lived home wise close to college you wouldn't be renting. Then all they do is suggest tiny town cars. Who writes these articles at all. I kind of get the logic behind it I think if I hadn't as much college course work and lectures I'd of commuted.

http://m.independent.ie/life/motoring/car-news/how-investing-in-a-5000-car-for-college-can-be-a-good-alternative-to-skyhigh-rents-31529712.html

What % of first year students has 5000 euro to blow on a car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 544 ✭✭✭SBPhoto

The real SQ5 is a TDi, a 3.0 I believe.

SQ5 is powered by the 309bhp, 479lb ft twin-turbo V6 diesel introduced in the A6 0-62 in 5.1sec and they are also developing a Q3 RS diesel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭CIP4

colm_mcm wrote: »
    It's the indo. I dont think a great amount if thought went into it apart from how much space it would fill.

PCP suggestion is comical

You gotta love pco the amount of people I know that could never afford a new car in there wildest dreams before pcp are now flat out driving new cars because 250 euro a month and then I'd often say to them ah sure it's grand you can buy out the car after 3 years and still have a fresh car and they look at me and say ah no I'll get another new one sure it would be getting on at 3 years warranty out and it will cause me trouble. I mean ffs the same people were driving rough unmaintained scrap a few years ago and now a 3 year old car is too old for them. It's a stupid system but I suppose it promotes new car sales.
    Interslice wrote: »

Ah I'd say a reasonable percent the majority of my college class would have cars in excess of 5k in some cases alot in excess off. But I know there is some that couldn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,291 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

They'll get some shock when they need to come up with another deposit when they go to finance again. This is the bit that most people aren't grasping.

I don't particularly like the system. I think I'd go hp whenever I buy a new car sure far higher repayments but pay off the yoke after 3 years ta fcuk and move on this thing off carrying debt that most will never clear. I'd like a new car in early 2017 but it's very hard to get it too make sense financially I mean no matter what way you look at it a new car is expensive and will loose a decent amount of money in the first few years. But buying a 2-3 year old car is just not the same to me anyway.

Oh in other news I got short listed for a job I really want going to meet them in the next few weeks :) I know I could get a higher salary with other companies but I would prefer this job can't be all about money and I'm young so all the salaries being offered seem like big money to me with no outgoings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,083 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Ah I'd say a reasonable percent the majority of my college class would have cars in excess of 5k in some cases alot in excess off. But I know there is some that couldn't.

You would be surprised. My sister had a brand new Astra in college from my folks gratis but it was when things were much better.

Often do think I should have bought something nice and modern myself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

My newest car has been 9 years old at the time of purchase. :P

You would be surprised. My sister had a brand new Astra in college from my folks gratis but it was when things were much better.

Often do think I should have bought something nice and modern myself

I know of plenty of them stories would be class to get a brand new car for free. I suppose it wasn't that out of the ordinary during the boom I remember a main dealer genuinely complaining about selling to many cars in the fact he couldn't keep them in stock and demo stuff and cars in the showroom were being sold as quick as they were putting them in.

The good times :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,871 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

So after some "enthusiastic" driving, I may or may not have glazed over the front pads a bit :o fair whack of smoke and heavy smell. Seem to be okay now after regular driving, will take it handy for the next while and see what the craic is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,866 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

GvidoR wrote: »
    My newest car has been 9 years old at the time of purchase. :P

A man with sense :) newest I've had was 8 at the time. It had no engine and all.

What a load of bollox that article... On top of college fees and other expenses how on earth will they afford this?

Unless mammy and daddy are paying for it....

Dream of a Merc or BMW? For a few months in college I drove an E39 and a C200.... My own cars. Not even 10% of that €5k budget to buy. Stick that up your smoke pipe :rolleyes:

I know of plenty of them stories would be class to get a brand new car for free. I suppose it wasn't that out of the ordinary during the boom I remember a main dealer genuinely complaining about selling to many cars in the fact he couldn't keep them in stock and demo stuff and cars in the showroom were being sold as quick as they were putting them in.

The good times :D

I bought a car for 300 to see me through the first 3 years of college :). Anyone telling someone to get a car loan out when starting college is a twit. Money better spent socialising and trying new things. Unless your a petrol head or whatever but that not what the article was on about! Even if they had the cash I'd be saying stick that in the bank for havin the craic and buy yourself an aul bangernomic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

I had a mk3 Golf and a B5 Passat during college.
    Both 1.9, an sdi and tdi.
    They both cost under the 1k.

Absolute madness spending huge money during college years when you can be doing all the mad things you are supposed to do!

The two cars were amazingly reliable too, never touched either except for general servicing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,866 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

Even today, with a nice IT admin position where I would often go to different sites and conferences I drive a maggoty €295 car with an XUD under the bonnet. Broke a valve last Monday so swapped the engine for one I found in a skip. Seriously. The engine under the bonnet was in a skip

I would like to have a W211 E220CDI but I'd say the XUD is a lot quicker, a lot more fun and far cheaper to run, hard not to notice that :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,196 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

It's the indo. I dont think a great amount if thought went into it apart from how much space it would fill.

PCP suggestion is comical

Indeed. And how about the cost of EDT and insurance for an 18-year-old, not to mention the fact that you can't drive the blasted thing by yourself for at least six months!

Even today, with a nice IT admin position where I would often go to different sites and conferences I drive a maggoty €295 car with an XUD under the bonnet. Broke a valve last Monday so swapped the engine for one I found in a skip. Seriously. The engine under the bonnet was in a skip

I would like to have a W211 E220CDI but I'd say the XUD is a lot quicker, a lot more fun and far cheaper to run, hard not to notice that :D

Hahaha that's brilliant, I attend conferences etc and it is funny to park in the centre of the sea of silver a4's, 520d's and insignias.
    I get some looks getting out of a now slammed e36 at them things :D

Or scraping over a ramp in front of them is always funny :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭thisyear

YbFocus wrote: »
    I had a mk3 Golf and a B5 Passat during college.
    Both 1.9, an sdi and tdi.
    They both cost under the 1k.

Absolute madness spending huge money during college years when you can be doing all the mad things you are supposed to do!

The two cars were amazingly reliable too, never touched either except for general servicing!

Ah classics, I had a mark 1 and a polo, both reliable as hell except for once I let oil go low I the mark 1 and going around the old red cow it stalled itself, some safety feature, I was crapping myself trying to get it off the junction pushing it during rush hr!!!!

thisyear wrote: »
    Ah classics, I had a mark 1 and a polo, both reliable as hell except for once I let oil go low I the mark 1 and going around the old red cow it stalled itself, some safety feature, I was crapping myself trying to get it off the junction pushing it during rush hr!!!!

Should have said both were petrol 1l

My golf would do 103mph on the motorway everyday and it would never do 1 more :)
    One day it did and when I switched it off it wouldn't start until we towed it :)

I am sure it had nothing to do with it but it was a funny coincidence.

It achieved 104mph that day :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,781 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

I spent 3.5 hours standing in the rain today with a succession of AA men after I'd used their mobile battery fitting service. Cold, very wet and only 50 feet from my door, ie in the car park. The first one set off the immobiliser then blew a fuse operating the central locking then checked the fuses visually (ie taking them out in succession to see if they were blown) without a voltmeter. He put one of them back in the wrong slot which completely shagged the car. Next guy out confidently said he'd be done in 10 minutes because he thought they keys needed to be reset. Eventually he moved onto the fuses, identified a second fuse box the first guy had missed, replaced the blown 5 amp fuse for the central locking (in hindsight that should have been an obvious fix as it was the first thing not working) and then identified the mis slotted main fuse and everything was back to normal, almost.

All that work for no extra pay, no idea how they make money from the service.

YbFocus wrote: »
    My golf would do 103mph on the motorway everyday and it would never do 1 more :)
    One day it did and when I switched it off it wouldn't start until we towed it :)

I am sure it had nothing to do with it but it was a funny coincidence.

It achieved 104mph that day :)

That sounds about right, it's like the car felt it was important to punish you for pushing your luck!!!

I'll never forget that morn on red cow so long as I live!!! Which didn't feel like much longer at the time!!

I drove a 1985 Suzuki GP100 during college, and bloody glad of it I was. It was two-stroke, reliable as the day is long on a rebuild-a-year (the two-stroke service), ran on barman's farts and did 50mph flat-out to the goat's ear. Nowadays I could fill the yard with new cars but for some reason I have no more interest than the man in the moon. What am I going to replace the General and the cool little Xsara with without spending about €60,000 like some sort of lunatic?? :D

jimgoose wrote: »
    I drove a 1985 Suzuki GP100 during college, and bloody glad of it I was. It was two-stroke, reliable as the day is long on a rebuild-a-year (the two-stroke service), ran on barman's farts and did 50mph flat-out to the goat's ear. Nowadays I could fill the yard with new cars but for some reason I have no more interest than the man in the moon. What am I going to replace the General and the cool little Xsara with without spending about €60,000 like some sort of lunatic?? :D

These look great for half less than that... http://www.4starclassics.com/jaguar-xjs-v12-convertible-for-sale-2/ youve the weather for them down there too ;)

Another classic, what would that thing do to the gal?

Jaysis, there's a question. IIRC around 80 miles. You had a drop of 2T oil with that as well, mind.

These look great for half less than that... http://www.4starclassics.com/jaguar-xjs-v12-convertible-for-sale-2/ youve the weather for them down there too ;)

Ah yes, it's a proper XJS too - the 6l V12!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭Jesus.

Goose my turbo has started making a feint whistling noise. Kind of sounds like a Police siren in the distance.

Is it on its way out?

Jesus. wrote: »
    Goose my turbo has started making a feint whistling noise. Kind of sounds like a Police siren in the distance.

Is it on its way out?

It's feeling inadequate, so it's pretending it's a supercharger. :D

Sorry. Dunno, I suppose it could be a bearing or summat. Did this start suddenly?

Jaysis, there's a question. IIRC around 80 miles. You had a drop of 2T oil with that as well, mind.

Ha ha, suzukis version of a hybrid!!!!

It's somewhat larger stablemate, the RG500 Gamma, was a 500cc square-four two-stroke with a pair of counter-rotating cranks. It wasn't, umm, quite so economical. :D