AFTER HOURS BEERS *TONIGHT* 10TH OCTOBER - THE DUKE DUBLIN

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Earthhorse wrote: »
    The Swan? Awful venue. If it isn't the after work crowd, it's the footie crowd and if it isn't them it's the Scottish crowd playing to their bagpipes. Not to mention the hipsters with their e-cigarettes. Not cool.

Very hard to get seats in there too....

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

No, I will not be there
    I'm just saying it now... we're not going to the Living Room.

Mercantile might not be a bad shout. There's a private room/area that can be booked, and it's pretty central too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭conorh91

Mercantile is a great suggestion. Popular with Dubs and easy for the culchies to locate; you can also return next day for Sunday lunch and recover your coat/ phone/ dignity

+1 for that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Flannerys Vintage Bar

Date poll added. Poll is multiple choice, so pick all the days you could attend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

No, I will not be there
    Ill be there anyway, havent been to a Boardsies meetup in quite a while :)
    So, tis the mercantile is it? the 10th october?

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

No, I will not be there
    candy-gal1 wrote: »
    Ill be there anyway, havent been to a Boardsies meetup in quite a while :)
    So, tis the mercantile is it? the 10th october?

No dates or venues confirmed yet! Date will be decided by this poll, and then we'll stick up another with the venue :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,212 ✭✭✭Patser

Poll?

I'm dead now ain't I.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 dylanphelan

I posted here, but not quite getting the warm Irish welcome I expected :-)

(won't let me post URL)

So - I am heading over to Ireland for the first time in early September. I am a 34 year old guy from Cape Town, got an Irish passport a few years ago. I have a few cousins there and will be meeting up with them too.

I'm keen on meeting locals that'd like to have a few beers, maybe show me some of the local spots. I'm not that interested in overly commercial tourist spots.

I'm considering coming to live in Ireland next year, so I want to get to know the people, experience the culture etc...

I will have a car and will be travelling all over... I have 2, max 3 months to do this.

I enjoy a good pub crawl, scenic walks, food markets, wine.. maybe buy a bike and do some cycling.

Cheers :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Yes mint aero shall bestow all with the grace of his presence.

No autographs on the night.
    Royalty fees apply if I'm pictured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Hans Bricks

Sure you're all about 40 are you not ? Even at 23 I might as well be wearing nappies in your presence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,978 ✭✭✭PandaPoo

Sure you're all about 40 are you not ? Even at 23 I might as well be wearing nappies in your presence.

Yeah coz us 20 somethings have a great reputation at after hours beers!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,142 ✭✭✭Hitchens

Do ye all throw ye're keys into a hat afterwards? :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,371 ✭✭✭✭sammyjo90

Afterwards?
    Thats the first thing we do, get it out of the way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

Hitchens wrote: »
    Do ye all throw ye're keys into a hat afterwards? :cool:
    That's it exactly and then the hat sorts us into different groups and we all play a game of Quidditch and we tell everyone that it's for all ages but deep in our hearts we know it's not true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

PandaPoo wrote: »
    Can we do it when I'm not up the duff? I missed the last one :(

November is good for me :o

Erdinger non alcoholic, it actually tastes like beer.Word of warning tho panda,any more than three or four and you'll be sh1ttin brown water for a few days....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Where in Dublin sells Tennent's?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Most places if you can get your time machine set to the 80's :p

Where do ye fancy having it then lads? I'll book a table/tables :)

Doyles in phibsborough has/had it on draught.A little further afield,The Huntsman up in gormanstown had pitchers of it for €11.Although technically that's just across the Devlin river in Co Meath,good boozer though to be fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 595 ✭✭✭ElvisChrist6

No, I will not be there
    Where do ye fancy having it then lads? I'll book a table/table

There's a pub up Tomo called Bakers that are very welcoming to groups and you'd get a good laugh with locals too. There's ballads on Saturdays that aren't too loud and they do things of food and all.

Where do ye fancy having it then lads? I'll book a table/tables :)

Bodkins on north king street.Cheap drinks, good tunes, cool staff and the all important pool tables :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,827 ✭✭✭fussyonion

Another vote for Mercantile.
    Not saying I'm definitely going but I'm fecked if I'm being left out!

PS Can someone confirm if whoopsa is scary in real life?

fussyonion wrote: »

Mercantile is south of the river..I've no business being Southside...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,513 ✭✭✭✭Lucyfur

Terrifying. Proper scary.

:pac: she's the nicest you'll ever meet. And she's a ride

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,212 ✭✭✭Patser

Ehm, just to point out and I know lots won't care.

But the next day (11th) Ireland play France in what looks to be a huge game in Rugby, and later that day Poland in football in what also looks a hugely important game.

I've to ration my liver cells

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,424 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

Lucyfur wrote: »
    Terrifying. Proper scary.

Yeah, she hugs people and everything :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,827 ✭✭✭fussyonion

Peregrine wrote: »
    Yeah, she hugs people and everything :eek:

Ah here, that's me out so.
    I'd be after someone scary now, to be honest...I'd be wanting them to be Mod-like and everything.

Someone like Zaph. Or, if push comes to shove, Gordon.
    Now if they were going, I'd be first there on the night.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

Ah here, that's me out so.
    I'd be after someone scary now, to be honest...I'd be wanting them to be Mod-like and everything.

Someone like Zaph. Or, if push comes to shove, Gordon.
    Now if they were going, I'd be first there on the night.
    Hot male mods with ban whips. We know your game.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

eternal wrote: »
    Hot male mods with ban whips. We know your game.

I've got an expired box of Walnut Whips if they are any use.