If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

DCM 2015: Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Peter D61 wrote: »
    I'm also on the Irish runner plan and I don't see much of a taper for the half next weekend.

Hi Peter, you need to remember that the half is not the goal race. The plan gives you the option of an extra rest day and a range for your Medium Long Run on Wed that allows you keep this at 6miles if you feel the need. So you have the option to only run a total of 10 miles between now and next Saturday.......that's as good as mini tapers get ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

At mile 12 I actually was tempted to pack it in, go home and hide under the covers. 2 things kept me out there: 1) 16 miles was on the plan and I needed to stick to the plan and 2) I would have to report the run back to my coach and to you guys.

Garmin, turned on at my starting point and recorded until it hit 16 miles then cool down of 1.3 miles gives 17.3 total. Both show the same route on the map. What gives? (I google mapped my run yesterday, the route I planned was supposed to be 16 miles but according to my watch I hit 16 long before I should have!). Anyway, phone or watch I did at least hit 16 miles!

Well done keeping at it! I'd trust a Garmin or smartphone over Google Maps / MapMyRun. They don't take into account crossing roads and minor route changes, they're just point to point.
    Well done everyone on their running this week and good luck with the taper into the Half! I am looking up flapjack recipes this week! Unless, everyone would rather 'screw the flapjacks' and go for pints?! I'm ok with whatever you decide! :D

Flapjacks followed by beer and a steak sandwich is my carefully planned post-race recovery plan for Saturday :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭Peter D61

FBOT01 wrote: »
    Hi Peter, you need to remember that the half is not the goal race. The plan gives you the option of an extra rest day and a range for your Medium Long Run on Wed that allows you keep this at 6miles if you feel the need. So you have the option to only run a total of 10 miles between now and next Saturday.......that's as good as mini tapers get ;)

Thanks FBOT01 I hadn't looked at it that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭conor_mc

No 16m lsr for me this weekend. :( Been nursing a head cold all week that eventually worked up to a sore throat and a headache (sinuses?) for the past three days.... very unlike me to suffer from headaches, and with the HM next week I figured there's no point pushing it this week. Got home around 5pm today and with the sky clearing up nicely, I had two options - either get out early for 8 miles while it was still bright and dry and be back for the kids bedtime, or wait until after they were all off to bed and head out for the 16m in the dark, damp and cold. So out I went at about 5:30pm for a run along the seafront out to St. Annes and back, 8 miles done @ 9:33 average.

Wise choice, or am I just a big wuss??? :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

Bah, this headcold/flu didn't go anywhere. Tonights off the table, and probably tomorrow too. Chances are Tuesday will be out too. Now, I know there's no point in trying to catch up on training, but is there anything to be said for saying another mass....errrr....doing a small 3 miler Thursday, IF I'm able and feel recovered, or will I just stick to the 2 on Friday and do the half on Saturday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 916 ✭✭✭JMSE

conor_mc wrote: »
    No 16m lsr for me this weekend. :( Been nursing a head cold all week that eventually worked up to a sore throat and a headache (sinuses?) for the past three days.... very unlike me to suffer from headaches, and with the HM next week I figured there's no point pushing it this week. Got home around 5pm today and with the sky clearing up nicely, I had two options - either get out early for 8 miles while it was still bright and dry and be back for the kids bedtime, or wait until after they were all off to bed and head out for the 16m in the dark, damp and cold. So out I went at about 5:30pm for a run along the seafront out to St. Annes and back, 8 miles done @ 9:33 average.

couldnt blame you conormc, i dont trust myself so i like to aim early that way temptation doesnt get in the way

2.5 hours done, about 50 minutes of that in the company of the boss lady! So nice to have someone to run with so thank you!

I struggled a little bit for a while after you left me, I thought "oh god I've still 90 minutes left!", what I should have done was met you for the latter part. Lesson learned. I also should have ran with you back your way because I did another couple of laps of Shankill park before getting bored, Dubgal had mentioned that she'd ran bray seafront on her way to meet me so decided to head down there, from Shankill to Little Bray I struggled, I took some cola gel chews to try them out, and tbh, because I felt I could do with them even at that stage. Well. I won't be using them again! Tummy hurt for ages. Anyway, gott my second wind once I was on the prom, ran to end of the seafront, and back to the park for another lap on heavy legs before heading home.

Went to shops and got a bottle of rock shandy from fridge, took a sup and instantly felt like I was going to puke - then I remembered the advice on cold drinks!!!!

Epsom salt bath is my new favourite thing.

I have had dinner and now I'm having a glass of wine!

Sports massage tomorrow.

Oh and my toenails hurt!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Toulouse

My week went a little something like this:

Monday: 4 miles @ 11:05/mi
    Tuesday: 8 miles @ 10:35/mi + gym (core and upper body)
    Wednesday: 5 miles @ 10:30/mi

Okay, I know I took the p1ss with the second two runs. I was mulling over some stuff and my head wasn't engaging with my legs so they just did what they wanted while I zoned out and thought about other things.

I was determined not to repeat the same on my LSR so on Saturday I did 12 miles @ 11:28/mi. Splits were as follows:

11:45
    11:40
    11:30
    11:42
    11:51 (Uphill)
    11:00 (Downhill)
    11:40 (Uphill)
    11:05 (Downhill)
    11:27
    11:31
    11:43
    10:41 (Slightly faster to beat the rain)

Took an Isogel at 5 miles and then bribed myself with a jelly baby every mile until the end.

The run itself was fine. I felt strong throughout. Got a bit of a niggle around my left ankle at about 8 miles. Stopped at 10 miles to give it a bit of a rub and it was fine for the final 2 miles. That's yet another niggle in my lower left leg so there must be something going on with it. Going to stretch, foam-roll and tiger balm like a demon until Wednesday when I have a sports massage booked.

Went out for 4 recovery miles @ 11:31/mi this morning. Ankle was okay, got one dart of pain but then nothing else so that was good.

That's about it with me!

Good to see you back PJD, I'd noticed you'd been quiet!

Mrs. Mc!! Did you survive the hen? Hope you had a great time :D

Unless, everyone would rather 'screw the flapjacks' and go for pints?! I'm ok with whatever you decide! :D

I'm still in the 'screw the flapjacks' camp but I had forgotten that the Ireland v Canada match is on.

So I need to leg it home after the race, get changed and head to meet the lads to watch the match. However if the group is heading to Ryans then I'll hop off the bus for 1 before heading into town.

Edited to add: If anyone wants to come with for the match then they are more than welcome. The more the merrier!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

Lowlights of today's LSR: I had a bug fly into my eye on my run. And another one up my nose. Oh, and a runner ran past me and farted and I ran into his fart cloud.

That is all.

"Bribed myself with a jelly baby after every mile"

Aw that's just the best line ever :pac:

Sums the whole bloody thing up :D

Fcukers were eating chocolate ice cream in bray. How bloody dare they.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Toulouse wrote: »
    My week went a little something like this:

Monday: 4 miles @ 11:05/mi
    Tuesday: 8 miles @ 10:35/mi
    Wednesday: 5 miles @ 10:30/mi

Okay, I know I took the p1ss with the second two runs. I was mulling over some stuff and my head wasn't engaging with my legs so they just did what they wanted while I zoned out and thought about other things.

I was determined not to repeat the same on my LSR so on Saturday I did 12 miles @ 11:28/mi. Splits were as follows:

11:45
    11:40
    11:30
    11:42
    11:51 (Uphill)
    11:00 (Downhill)
    11:40 (Uphill)
    11:05 (Downhill)
    11:27
    11:31
    11:43
    10:41 (Slightly faster to beat the rain)

Took an Isogel at 5 miles and then bribed myself with a jelly baby every mile until the end.

The run itself was fine. I felt strong throughout. Got a bit of a niggle around my left ankle at about 8 miles. Stopped at 10 miles to give it a bit of a rub and it was fine for the final 2 miles. That's yet another niggle in my lower left leg so there must be something going on with it. Going to stretch, foam-roll and tiger balm like a demon until Wednesday when I have a sports massage booked.

Went out for 4 recovery miles @ 11:31/mi this morning. Ankle was okay, got one dart of pain but then nothing else so that was good.

That's about it with me!

Good to see you back PJD, I'd noticed you'd been quiet!

Mrs. Mc!! Did you survive the hen? Hope you had a great time :D

I did it was a bit of a wild one but great fun I'm just not able anymore but a few extra hours sleep this afternoon when I got home had me all refreshed and I even did 5 miles easy this evening at 11.38 pace along Clontarf seafront, definately got rid of any hangover from last night. Legs felt good. I've a sports massage booked for tomorrow night so hopefull legs will be well loosed out for HM on Saturday. Well done on the LSR nice steady splits. Welcome back PJD hope Scotland went well. Well done everyone on LSRs this weekend just catching up on all the reports now. Can't believe how quickly the weeks are going past.

Absolute b*stards!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Toulouse wrote: »
    I'm still in the 'screw the flapjacks' camp but I had forgotten that the Ireland v Canada match is on.

So I need to leg it home after the race, get changed and head to meet the lads to watch the match. However if the group is heading to Ryans then I'll hop off the bus for 1 before heading into town.

Not going to be able to make Ryans I'm afraid, have to leg it home for a family occassion that evening. I will just have to wait till Mc Grattans for pints on DCM day instead.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭mobfromcork

17 mile LSR done in Cork today as we were down there for the weekend. I tried to vary my pre LSR routine a bit this week and went out without any breakfast/coffee. I used to run 3 mornings a week up to 8 or 10 miles doing this for a long time so not a total rookie at it but just wanted to see how my body would manage the slightly longer run on less available carbs.
    I had a glass of water and hit the road in a very, very rainy Cork city at around 7.15am. I had a small back-pack with 750ml of water, a few gels and a half pack of fruit gums (current running treat of choice). First few miles were fairly quick. I was soaked to the skin in minutes but wasn't cold. The persistent lashing rain drove me on in a way. I was subconsciously running quicker and kept having to slow myself down. I think that happens when battling against the elements sometimes. I stopped to take a sup of water and a fruit gum from the bag at around 10 miles and again around 14 miles. I did the whole run a little too fast but felt ok most of the way around. My stomach started rumbling with hunger a bit around mile 15 or 16 but I was on the home stretch then. My legs were a bit heavy for the last mile or two but I'm not sure was this due to the uphill parts at those sections or was it the lack of energy from not having my porridge/gels. New shoes worked out fine on my first LSR with them but they got a good drenching.
    I'm not doing the Dublin Half next week and my brother has a 20 mile on his plan so I'm going to do that with him instead.
    Best of luck to all with the taper or otherwise this week.

Mark

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭jake1970

39.1 miles
    Monday: 4 miles @9:16 REC

Tuesday: 7 miles @8.33 G.A.

Wednesday: 5 miles/4x100m strides @9:15 REC

Friday: 4 miles @9:25 REC

Saturday: Athlone half marathon @6:45 chip time 1:28:56

A goal sub 1:30, B goal PB

My half PB was 1:32 from Bohermeen back in March and since then i have completed a 10k training cycle in which i got 2 5k and 10k PBs, then i started into marathon training. So with both the extra speed gained and the high mileage from marathon training i thought that a sub 1:30 for the HM might be possible. I arrived in Athlone about an hour before the race start, registered and headed for a 2 mile warm up got back to the car and changed into my racing gear.The plan for this race was to head out with the 1:30 pacers.

miles 1-4
    6:40
    6:50
    6:45
    6:44
    So off we went, there was a big group with the 1:30 pacers so i decided to hang back a bit because i knew that the roads narrowed and it would become a bit of a crush. All was well for the first 4 miles, legs were feeling good, breathing was good.

miles 5-8
    6:38
    6:47
    6:52
    It was around here that the roads narrowed even further and the surface wasnt great. mile 5 was my fastest mile of the day, too fast i thought. The next 2 miles i really struggled maybe it was because of that fast mile. I had brought a gel with me and i decided it was probably a good time to take it. mile 8 was slowest mile but there was a bit of an incline near the end of it. By now the pacers were a good 100m ahead of me and i decided that there was no point in trying to catch them, i was still on target for a sub 1:30 and i knew that if i kept the pace @6:50 i would get my A goal.

miles 9-12
    6:47
    6:39
    6:40
    6:51
    At the start of mile 9 we came off the narrow country road and back out on to the main road, this section of road i think is the fastest section of the race. I had struggled on the previous few miles but now the pace had increased and i was feeling good again(gel?). I was starting to catch and pass other runners which is always good for confidence. By mile 12 i was starting to feel the increase in pace so i slowed back down to my target pace.

mile 13.1
    last mile and a bit and i kept it nice and steady, to be honest the legs were feeling very tired now but i still managed to pass a few more runners. By now the pacers were at least 200m ahead of me:confused:. There was no sprint finish, the legs had nothing more to give. I crossed the line and looked at my watch(1:28:57) chip time 1:28:56, i was absolutely delighted. Im still on a high.
    went for a 1 mile cool down after for a total of 16.1 miles.

Sunday: 3 miles@9:29 REC
    Legs are very tender today, i think there will be a lot of recovery miles this week.
    The week ahead is a high mileage week(55miles) i think i will need to rethink this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

I managed to drag my jetlagged a*e over Killiney Hill to Dun Laoghaire pier and back for my 16M LSR: 25.7km @ 6:23 [16.0M @ 10:16].

Mostly uneventful and more a mental exercise than physical. I really didn't want to go but kept at it for the same reasons as TFGR:
    2 things kept me out there: 1) 16 miles was on the plan and I needed to stick to the plan and 2) I would have to report the run back to my coach and to you guys.

Well done you - and it shows (again) that this thread is invaluable.

The good thing about the run was that it was very slow, so FBOT01 and Bungy Girl won't have to roll-up any sleeves :)

The bad thing was that I got the fuelling all wrong. I went much later than usual (waiting until the rain stopped) and had had far too little to eat - and didn't bring anything with me. At about 22km I was starting to get dizzy and realized what was happening. I stopped at the petrol station about 2km from my house, bought a bottle of water and a Twix, the latter was devoured before I even left the shop.

The water was almost freezing cold, so as I drank it I was thinking about Neady's experience, but thankfully it didn't have any adverse effects.

Lesson learnt.

I hear you - on DL pier I ran past a fried fish-van which smelled delicious, followed by a Teddy's ice-cream van. I was half salivating, and after turning around, I had to run past them again :D
    I'm not doing the Dublin Half next week and my brother has a 20 mile on his plan so I'm going to do that with him instead.

Still running this in Cardiff before the game? You might not be able to jump up and celebrate Ireland's many tries (hopefully!).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

conor_mc wrote: »

chrislad wrote: »
    Bah, this headcold/flu didn't go anywhere. Tonights off the table, and probably tomorrow too. Chances are Tuesday will be out too. Now, I know there's no point in trying to catch up on training, but is there anything to be said for saying another mass....errrr....doing a small 3 miler Thursday, IF I'm able and feel recovered, or will I just stick to the 2 on Friday and do the half on Saturday?

You boys will need to look after yourselves because if it turns out to be the dreaded Manflu who knows how long you could be out.........get yourself off to bed and have the other half fill the hot water bottle and bring up some tea and toast. Get a good night sleep and hopefully, you have caught it early enough ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Hi BobDylan, well done and yes, absolutely normal that you're finding this week hard. Enjoy the mini taper and recovery if you're doing the half this weekend :) Make sure you get plenty of sleep too, this will help your body recover too.

Hi Phoebas, another not feeling the love but hopefully you will realise by now that this is ok. Are you doing the half? Well done on the 400 miles!

BC1, hi there and good call on the lace loosening :) A too tight lace can cause all sorts of niggles so always wise to stop and adjust. Great to hear you enjoyed your run and are getting to work out a gel strategy. I see FBOT has answered your lsr query so nothing to add there. I'll clarify on the ratio thing though, 35:65 is a loose max ratio, you shouldn't be over 40% on a regular basis. Hope that helps :)

Hi duffer, good going and yes, a zoo trip after a lsr is one - painful - way to keep mobile. A necessary evil tho. Hope you had an icecream or two around the way :)

Hi frash, hope you're recovering ok from the stag! Yes, sorry HM Sat of course! Just easy easy running prior to Thursday so and if you feel the HM still in your legs, give yourself opt-out points at 16 and 18 miles. Depending on how your legs feel up to Thursday, you could always make the call in advance to keep it at 17-18 miles. Keep mobile prior to getting on the plane and bring a stick roller in your case - if you have one - to roll that evening.

Diego you certainly do (live/run and learn) :) And for future ref, feck the pace on hills and go by effort :) Recover well!

Neady 15 miles at PMP...and you made it sound so easy :cool:
    Loving the rage running...sometimes just got to be done! Ahem but hopefully the 9 miles on Thursday were easy peasy.....?! That beepbeeping girl should have been dropped, how annoying. Recover well for a few days and no rage running early in the week, gottit?! :pac:

Nop was going to suggest something else but I see you wangled a pass and got out for it. Impressed, you must have brought Mrs Better Half a nice present back?! Well done and the emergencies money? Great call! (keep forgetting mine :o )

JMSE, I hope you went back out the door for the missing .1 mile????!!
    Well done :)
    Watch the slow down over the last 5 miles, it might suggest that pacing earlier in the run could have been a bit more conservative. Try aim for even enough splits throughout, first few miles should definitely be your slowest overall.

Ratracer, chrislad and conor mc I see Nurse FBOT has been on to ye, but get the hot water bottles yourselves ye big wusses and yes, early bed to whup that man-flu's ass ;)

singer, well done :) Be sure to keep the blister sterile if you've burst it. For some reason, I prefer to wait a day or two before bursting. You've just reminded me....

EVERYONE TRIM YOUR TOENAILS TONIGHT OR IN THE MORNING IF RACING AT THE WEEKEND!!

Recover well now, you want to be nice and fresh for Saturday so easy miles with maybe a few strides later in the week.

kennyg, well done, good run with nice steady splits! Looks like it's coming together for you. Loving the food recovery too :)

PJD, welcome back and well done on the 30k. can't believe you still even think about that dark side still... :rolleyes: :D

Hi PeterD61, well done. Nice big loop you took in, bet you never thought you'd be running that?! Watch the knee, better safe than sorry if it's not better by Thursday. It is difficult to slow down, but keep practising, you'll get there! Keep your torso strong and tall when running, that will help.

Conor mc, not a wuss at all. Takes strength and determination to shake those running demons sometimes :D Good call. Get well soon. Remember, "a day off in time can save nine down the line...." ;)

Chrislad, listen to the body...if the cold is in the head, you're probably ok to run, but take it easy. If it's in the chest, definitely not. If it's in the throat, your call but better to be safe than sorry...

Whoopsa, well done for toughing it out and not boxing the feckers eating chocolate and icecream ...Thank you for the company! I was smiling for most of the rest of my run, meeting you had broken it up beautifully so sorry if I got most of the benefit :o

Oh and in case you missed it...

CUT TOENAILS!!

Enjoy the wine! :)

TFGR, another one to tough it out on your lsr, well done. That mental stamina will stand to you on M Day. And 16 miles eh?????! Well bloody done :)

Toulouse, good running, well done. Hope the leg and ankle niggles iron out with the SM . Niggles are pretty inevitable, the trick is preventing them from turning into something more sinister and you sound pretty on top of things. Let us know how your torture session goes anyway :D

Hi mobfromcork, well done on the 17 miles Mark and good observation of rain running. Funny, I always seem to run faster in rain with less effort, probably body saying c'mon now... :D Great report, thanks :)

Jake1970, great report and well-deserved, congrats! I have to admit, I read those splits with a touch of envy...next year ;)...
    Definitely recovery miles this week, allow your body to adapt. Or was the HM written into the plan at this stage?
    But the pacers... :confused: ?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭BIRDCAGE1

Peter D61 wrote: »
    I'm also on the Irish runner plan and I don't see much of a taper for the half next weekend.

Hey Peter, its good to find someone else on here using the same plan. I hadn't seen that much of an issue with this weeks plan to be honest, I was planning on doing the 8 miles mid week.
    I have been considering my options for the HM on Saturday and I reckon I will go for a reasonable 2:10 goal, instead of the 2:00 goal that I have been toying with over the last few days. I don't to risk any injury this close to D-Day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭JacEim

Crazy week with travel / work / family etc etc.... But got the running done!!

The week gone was a big one after the recovery week before that.

Mon: Rest (I really wanted to run!!)
    Tues: 7M - intervals (8 x 800m at fast pace)
    Wed: 5M - steady
    Thurs: 8M - steady
    Fri: Rest
    Sat: 3M easy
    Sun: 20M !!
    Up at 6am on Sunday morning for a scone, cordial and the usual prep - not nice when it is dark outside (are we just a little mad to be getting up at 6am on a Sunday morning)
    Out on the road at 7am and it was a lovely morning.... For about 20 minutes! Lashing showers for the entire run which just made me want to get through the run. Had to take a bio break au Natural after 8M (Mrs J is not allowed to bring me for a curry in future before a long run!)
    Had left water and two gels which I picked up after 15 miles. Was holding the water and trying to take a gel (bad mistake - squirted into eyes...)
    No issues with legs / breathing at all and ran nice negative split with a fast last mile. Am surprised I have no real issues at all with the body apart from bloody nipples on every long run (is there a cure because body glide is not working for me!)
    Had a proper ice bath afterwards, family had a great laugh at me sitting in the icy batch in my shorts with a big warm towel wrapped around me (cue lots of photos / videos which have already been shared with their cousins..). Anyway - it really works!!!
    Writing this on a plane, another week of running (oh yeah - and work) begins.

DG - my mrs is away with the girls next weekend so unfortunately no Charleville. However we are bringing our Gaelic football team to Spike Island Asventure centre and the kids and I are doing the Sonia O Sullivan 5k in Cobh so a busy weekend to look forward to...

Keep the faith everyone, another week down, 6 weeks to D day, we'll all be having a nice pre race breakfast around this time!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Neady83

nop98 wrote: »
    I managed to drag my jetlagged a*e over Killiney Hill to Dun Laoghaire pier and back for my 16M LSR: 25.7km @ 6:23 [16.0M @ 10:16].

The good thing about the run was that it was very slow, so FBOT01 and Bungy Girl won't have to roll-up any sleeves :)

The bad thing was that I got the fuelling all wrong. I went much later than usual (waiting until the rain stopped) and had had far too little to eat - and didn't bring anything with me. At about 22km I was starting to get dizzy and realized what was happening. I stopped at the petrol station about 2km from my house, bought a bottle of water and a Twix, the latter was devoured before I even left the shop.

The water was almost freezing cold, so as I drank it I was thinking about Neady's experience, but thankfully it didn't have any adverse effects.

Lesson learnt.

Well done Nop, not easy to keep going with the tiredness and lack of energy. Glad you had the cash on you to get yourself a snack, bet that the most welcome twix ever (never as good as savouring it with a cup of tea though ;) ).

I saw one or two people being carried to the finish at the half marathon this weekend and at the end with foil blankets wrapped around them. It was my first time seeing so many casualties at a race. I think it was a mixture of the heat and underfueling. It opened my eyes again to how tough these distances are on the body.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b

JacEim wrote: »
    bloody nipples on every long run (is there a cure because body glide is not working for me!)

On wet days and for all longer runs I do the following. Picked up this tip from a boards thread earlier.

Try two strips of kinesiology tape. Most chemists stock same. Its not cheap but you will get a year or so from a roll as you can use it sparingly.Its easy to take them off after a shower and you may need to shave before putting them on. I believe that taking them off without shaving is only second to Man Flu!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Clearlier

Taping over the nipples is often recommended. Not sure how that works with chest hair though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭Peter D61

BIRDCAGE1 wrote: »
    Hey Peter, its good to find someone else on here using the same plan. I hadn't seen that much of an issue with this weeks plan to be honest, I was planning on doing the 8 miles mid week.
    I have been considering my options for the HM on Saturday and I reckon I will go for a reasonable 2:10 goal, instead of the 2:00 goal that I have been toying with over the last few days. I don't to risk any injury this close to D-Day.

I've been thinking that way myself, I wasn't considering injury when I said I would try to follow the 2hr pacer. A moment of madness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Emsy 1

Morning y'all... 12 miles done yesterday really enjoyed it found a new route with lots of fancy houses to swoon over. from about 5miles on my shoulder was killing me I am thinking maybe the core work is aggravating it!! well that and my posture, I have been doing my best to run tall though. Plenty of icing and resting it this week. So excited for the half its going to be a bit hectic getting down not finished work till late and will have to do a few stops on the way to give the kids a break. Looking forward to hopefully meeting some of u.
    Enjoy the taper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭ZV Yoda

Did my 12 mile lsr yesterday. Not great. That foot pain returned at 12km. At one stage it was so bad I was tempted to stop & get a lift back home. I persevered, slowed the pace and ran on grass wherever possible. That eased the pain & I eventually finished the 20km at 6min/km.

Hopefully it'll sort itself out this week since the plan mileage tapers. Getting apprehensive about the HM.