If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

DCM 2015: Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

Firedance wrote: »
    last years finish was fab, crowds lined the streets from mount street bridge all the way to the finish line throwing flowers at your feet cheering you on like your some sort of Olympian athlete, my favourite part by far :D

I think this year's finish looks even better - no heading down the Shelbourne Road and turning up at the canal, just a nice straight line down Northumberland Road from Ballsbridge. Once you're at the canal the finish line should be in sight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

smashiner wrote: »

Over the moon to be back in the game....looking forward to the HM on Saturday.[/QUOTE]
    I know the feeling smashiner and don't get carried away in the excitement of being back :) Nice easy miles this week to ease you back into it.
    It's high time that I say thanks to everyone who is contributing to this thread.

It has become part of my routine each evening after my run to put my feet up and read though all the posts. The advice here is brilliant and reading others experiences has made me realise that the ups and downs I have been going through are pretty normal..... so thanks all and hopefully we all make it to the start line in Dublin in one piece :)
    Thanks LP on behalf of the team! Really nice to hear :) Pop in now and then to let us know how you're getting on won't you?

I'm looking forward to rest day tomorrow, that's not because I don't love running, it's because my legs need a rest and my head needs to be normal for a day so I'm going out for dinner and will have a glass of wine like normal people do.

Thanks so much lads, if it wasn't for ye I'd have given up by now :)
    +1 to the rest day! I'm probably a fully fledged running addict by now but for me, 24 hours with zero running does the world of good. Enjoy, you've certainly earned it!
    Chops1234 wrote: »
    So as per the plan it was a 6 & 4 mile this week and then rest until Sat. I went out and did the 6 mile yesterday. At about mile 3.5, I noticed a pain in my toe (toe next to the little one) It went away which was grand. However by last night it was nice and bruised and sore. I must have hit it off something but don't remember doing so. Going to leave the 4 mile now and hope it's ok for Sat as I will be gutted if I can't to the half!

Just a little moan........

EDIT: Am afraid to ask if it's still sore by Sat, could I just tape it up or something!

EDIT (again!) - Just got to work and it wasn't too bad to walk on. Think I had a little panic attack over it when I woke up! Won't run on it today anyways and fingers crossed for Saturday!
    +1 to clearlier's advice, give it a test beforehand. And if it comes on seriously during the half, pull out and live to fight run another on the day that counts :)
    chrislad wrote: »
    Feeling a lot better today so I'm going to give a 3 mile run a go at lunch time and see what happens. If it's good, I'll do the 4 mile tomorrow, rest on Thursday, and then the 2 mile before Saturdays half.
    Great to hear chrislad, take it easy and keep the sleep topped up!
    Might be an early morning run convert, found it very exhilarating being on the roads just as everyone was waking up.
    It really is exhilarating isn't it? Glad you enjoyed that one. What are your effort levels like during the run btw? And were you using headphones....?
    Toulouse wrote: »
    4 miles done yesterday evening, did a small little bit of the marathon route that runs by my house, up the rather long drag on St. Laurence Rd. and along Sarsfield up into Inchicore. 4 miles @ 10:44/mi

Then 8 miles this morning into work. Unusually I didn't meet any other runners today!!

Am feeling pretty tired in general and the legs were heavy this morning. Sports massage tomorrow and I can't wait, bloody sick of rubbing my own legs. Ankle holding up fine so not worried about it.

Then 30 easy minutes on Thursday and I should be good to go on Saturday!

Aww Whoopsa!! I'd say it was a mix of tiredness and pride in how far you've come. I fully expect to cry when we hit College Green on the big day.
    Well done, done and dusted for the day:)
    And you will....but when you hit Merrion Square ;) Very good aquinn :D:D
    JacEim wrote: »
    So woke up this morning after a bad nights sleep (worrying about my foot).... and guess what - no pain in my foot and I can walk absolutely normally this morning.
    I am taking this as a positive indicator but am still going to rest it today and tomorrow along with going to the physio (luckily I sit on my ass all day for work which should help)
    Great to hear JacEim, could be something as simple as a tight muscle. Good call on keeping the physio appt.
    ZV Yoda wrote: »
    Woke up yesterday & foot felt fine, but wore runners all day in an effort to cushion / support foot (just in case). Ran 6k this am (switched back to new runners). No foot pain. Pushed myself pace-wise to really test out the foot. Started at 5:53/km and continually increased the pace, finishing at 4:50/km. Nothing broke or fell off. I dunno. Maybe all this running has turned me into a bit of a hypochondriac. 10k to do tomorrow, then 2 days rest before the HM.

I'd like to echo the comments of others above: Dubgal - I don't know how / where you get the time to devote so much energy & enthusiasm into the thread, but it is much appreciated. As for the rest of you - it's reassuring to know everybody else has their ups & downs as the mileage starts ramping up. It's hard to believe there's only 6 weeks left to the big day.

Even better - only 3 weeks to the final taper!
    gomer_woo_hoo.png
    Aw shucks thanks ZVY :o and great to hear about the foot....but you're not getting out of a gentle nagging ;) I still think a physio appt would be useful, even for peace of mind.....
    last years finish was fab, crowds lined the streets from mount street bridge all the way to the finish line throwing flowers at your feet cheering you on like your some sort of Olympian athlete, my favourite part by far :D

It really was amazing wasn't it. Really emotional :) You've all that to look forward to guys!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭ZV Yoda

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Aw shucks thanks ZVY :o and great to hear about the foot....but you're not getting out of a gentle nagging ;) I still think a physio appt would be useful, even for peace of mind.....

That's a fair point. I was going to go to physio on Mon, but since I woke up with no pain, I'd have felt like a bit of a numpty explaining to the receptionist that there was nothing actually wrong with me.

If I have any niggles after the mid-week 10k tomorrow, I promise I'll book a physio appt right away. That way, I'll have peace of mind in advance of the HM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Clearlier

That's a fair point. I was going to go to physio on Mon, but since I woke up with no pain, I'd have felt like a bit of a numpty explaining to the receptionist that there was nothing actually wrong with me.

If I have any niggles after the mid-week 10k tomorrow, I promise I'll book a physio appt right away. That way, I'll have peace of mind in advance of the HM.

I second the gentle nagging :).

You could explain to the physio that you've had pain in x area but that it's gone now. They'll examine it and may find a weakness that you can address to prevent the pain from coming back. Worst case scenario they'll give you a massage when they can't find anything wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

Singer wrote: »
    I think this year's finish looks even better - no heading down the Shelbourne Road and turning up at the canal, just a nice straight line down Northumberland Road from Ballsbridge. Once you're at the canal the finish line should be in sight.

In sight...but still a long long way away! You guys are lucky you'll get all the big crowds, that will stand you in good stead at the line!

Personally I prefer finishes that are 'just around the corner'. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

if they are 'running physio' who has lots of runners/sports clients they won't bat an eyelid and will still spend ages sourcing the original pain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭Myles Splitz

if they are 'running physio' who has lots of runners/sports clients they won't bat an eyelid and will still spend ages sourcing the original pain.

+1 on this

Even when you go for maintenance work (general sports massage) you will generally be asked for area's of particular interest and they will be able to assess if there is anything underlying going on. More often than not they will be able to tell you even before the area elicits pain.

I have had plenty of people on the plinth that I have asked whether they were having trouble in a particular area, even after saying no when working on the area they nearly leapt off as we had found points of dysfunction.

Pain is just the message response to the brain, it doesn't always have to be present to indicate something is up.

As ultraman would say interesting article on marathon training here, nothing in here that dubgal hasn't said over and again but worth a read nonetheless :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

3 miles done and dusted. Felt fine throughout, just a bit slow starting. No real fatigue from the flu thankfully. A nice easy 4 mile tomorrow then a day off. And sleep. Lots of sleep.

you're not getting out of a gentle nagging ;) I still think a physio appt would be useful, even for peace of mind.....
    Clearlier wrote: »
    I second the gentle nagging :)
    +1 on this

Feckin' hell.. if that's "gentle nagging", I really don't want to feel the full wrath of Dubgal & her heavies!

He he... OK point taken. Apt booked for Thursday (earliest I could get). He is a sports / running physio who also runs marathons, so I'm sure he'll sort it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭duffer247

Delayed report from Saturday
    15 mile lsr completed. Headed out around 9.15am after a breakfast of porridge and tea! Couple of easy miles up to Tymon park where I stashed my FD10 water bottle, which by-the-by is quite leaky. I headed off in great sunshine doing 3 mile loops of the park pausing for water every time I passed the main gate. There's decent hills in Tymon which is good practice. I had aimed to gel at 10m but on realising I would be still 2 miles away from water I waited to 12 to consume. I had a jelly instead which was gorgeous! At 12m I walked as I had the gel and some water and started again but found the next mile really hard even though I was heading for home. I set my mind to thinking of chocolate milk and by mile 13 I felt a bit better.
    I was very tired that day and after nipping into town and out I had a lie down and really needed it.
    Splits;
    1. 10.38
    2. 10.34
    3. 10.31
    4. 11.19
    5. 10.46
    6. 11.02
    7. 11.14
    8. 10.26
    9. 10.31
    10. 10.35
    11. 10.27
    12. 10.12
    13. 10.13
    14. 10.45
    15. 11.44

Really enjoyed this run, but it does take it out of you, doesn't have to be a bad run to feel tired.

Feckin' hell.. if that's "gentle nagging", I really don't want to feel the full wrath of Dubgal & her heavies!

He he... OK point taken. Apt booked for Thursday (earliest I could get). He is a sports / running physio who also runs marathons, so I'm sure he'll sort it out.

^^^^ :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭aquinn

WTF, I've been eating really well. Only one snack bar today. HUH.

Are you calling me fat? :D

Phew, not me then. That's ok.

aquinn wrote: »
    WTF, I've been eating really well. Only one snack bar today. HUH.

I know!!! very upset, clearly more lbs need to be ran off :D:D:D

SOBbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbb

aquinn wrote: »
    SOBbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbb

to clarify, the lbs need to come off ME not you :pac::pac::pac::pac:

I assumed that you were talking about me!

maybe we all need to go for coffee & cake and talk it out :p

Can't, I've had my daily snack and now that needs to go. Mean novices.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭Myles Splitz

maybe we all need to go for coffee & cake and talk it out :p

I think they are saying that we should probably stick to just coffee :confused::D

Clearlier wrote: »
    Are you calling me fat? :D

Ooops... given the circumstances, I now realise "heavies" was possibly not the best choice of words. :o

What are you still doing here? Have they not kicked you out yet? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭BIRDCAGE1

So today was a rest or 4 mile run. I opted for the run and got myself sorted with my usual routine and headed out the door for my short walk before starting to run..... but I never got that far today. At the point where I normally start running I just didn't feel right, my right hamstring and calf muscles still felt really tight and both my legs in general felt very heavy and fatigued ...... so I decided to just call it a day and head back home.
    I've been toying with the idea of making an appointment with a physio for some general maintenance work, for the last week or two, as it seems to be taking me longer and longer to fully recover from my weekend LSRs. I think now might be a good time to make that appointment.

Ooops... given the circumstances, I now realise "heavies" was possibly not the best choice of words. :o

Not the heavies I had in mind, I was envisioning the thuggy kind of heavies. That probably doesn't make things better....
    How bout we start again....pick your hero, team ;)superheroes.jpg

Not the heavies I had in mind, I was envisioning the thuggy kind of heavies. That probably doesn't make things better....
    How bout we start again....pick your hero, team ;)

Yeah, I meant "heavies" as in "sending the boys around" in a Vinnie Jones kind of way.

Of course, I realise I'm just digging myself a deeper hole here, so I'm going to stop typing now. Otherwise, I may as well get myself one of these...

jcbSmallWhiteBack.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭laura_ac3

How bout we start again....pick your hero, team ;)superheroes.jpg

Has superman spun the earth on its axis to allow him to enter the race twice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

laura_ac3 wrote: »
    Has superman spun the earth on its axis to allow him to enter the race twice?

It's probably Superboy from the alternate Earth Prime.

What? Don't look at me like that! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭duffer247

As ultraman would say interesting article on marathon training here, nothing in here that dubgal hasn't said over and again but worth a read nonetheless :)

"You know you are seven weeks away from your marathon" - just these simple 10 words gave me a tingle :pac: !!