Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread too point uh

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,338 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Did you get soaked?

There was some pretty heavy rain this morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

A promising start to the week against Buer. Although I have only had one player play and he's had none, I still think it's a fair reflection of the merits of my side.aK7Ohqg.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,886 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

CatFromHue wrote: »
    Did you get soaked?

There was some pretty heavy rain this morning

We started early so missed the rain for the vast majority of the route. Got drenched cycling back from town though.

• Administrators Posts: 55,104 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

A promising start to the week against Buer. Although I have only had one player play and he's had none, I still think it's a fair reflection of the merits of my side.aK7Ohqg.png

Do most games happen today or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

That profile pic....you really are evil.

awec wrote: »
    Do most games happen today or what?

Yes, almost all the games are today.

In America Saturday is reserved for college football and then the NFL plays on Sundays (at 1pm so you can get home from the megachurch after stopping off at Wendy's). 2 games on Monday night this week.

Pudsy33 wrote: »
    I completed the 100km version of the Great Dublin bike ride today. Fantastic event, every junction on the entire route was marshalled and the volunteers and guards were great. Time to relax with a well earned beer and watch my Nfl fantasy team kick all your asses.

My girlfriend did the 60km while I lay in bed sleeping. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,994 ✭✭✭sullivlo

Pudsy33 wrote: »
    I completed the 100km version of the Great Dublin bike ride today. Fantastic event, every junction on the entire route was marshalled and the volunteers and guards were great. Time to relax with a well earned beer and watch my Nfl fantasy team kick all your asses.

I started the 100km but lost the battle with my shoulder injury so ducked off at the turnoff for the 60km. Still happy with my day. Hadn't been on the bike in weeks and have had my arm in a sling for most of the past week. And the arm is back in a sling now. I knew I was in trouble when I "indicated" to turn right in Malahide village and couldn't lift my arm off the handlebars.

Fantastic event though. Some atmosphere back in Smithfield afterwards too. Very glad I did it, and I hope it's a regular event in the sportive calendar.

Congrats on the 100 though. It's a great achievement. I remember the feeling of completing my first long distance event - some buzz!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

sullivlo wrote: »
    I started the 100km but lost the battle with my shoulder injury so ducked off at the turnoff for the 60km. Still happy with my day. Hadn't been on the bike in weeks and have had my arm in a sling for most of the past week. And the arm is back in a sling now. I knew I was in trouble when I "indicated" to turn right in Malahide village and couldn't lift my arm off the handlebars.

Fantastic event though. Some atmosphere back in Smithfield afterwards too. Very glad I did it, and I hope it's a regular event in the sportive calendar.

Congrats on the 100 though. It's a great achievement. I remember the feeling of completing my first long distance event - some buzz!

Sounds painful well done on getting through it

Finally succumbed and bought a Leinster jersey yesterday:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Fair play sullivio, and pudsy. Look after that shoulder! Pissed rain here all day so I didn't get out on the bike, jealous!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,169 ✭✭✭Wang King

Still haven't got my bike yet....did a speed and endurance rest in my gym on Thursday, had to beat all bike times and lift heavier and longer weights... Lost 2.1kg on the bike in 26mins, I nearly fell off the scales.
    I know its a lot of fluid...but still

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

One of the RB's on my bench was worth 22 points today :(

Teferi wrote: »
    One of the RB's on my bench was worth 22 points today :(

How does the bench work? Do you not get any of the points they earn?

The baaaaad man just got me 23 points. Rodgers is phenomenal. Had Harvin on the bench though and he got 15. :(

Unfortunately I had DeSean Jackson but he got hurt early. I still have DeMarco Murray for Monday night.

Pete Carroll just went for an onside kick at the start of overtime. Rams recover. Oh dear.

Rams kick a FG and then stop Marshawn on a 4th and 1.

I would be winning my game versus Buer if he didn't cheat.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,793 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Pete Carroll just went for an onside kick at the start of overtime. Rams recover. Oh dear.

Rams kick a FG and then stop Marshawn on a 4th and 1.

:D:D:D:D:D:D

Podge_irl wrote: »
    :D:D:D:D:D:D

Expand? :D

I have the Rams defense, I assume their win is worth points?

On another note, Sky's NFL coverage is pretty good. Their Redzone updates are great.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,793 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Expand? :D

I have the Rams defense, I assume their win is worth points?

On another note, Sky's NFL coverage is pretty good. Their Redzone updates are great.

I hate the Seahawks. I find them getting their commupence for trying to be smart amusing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

awec wrote: »
    How does the bench work? Do you not get any of the points they earn?

Nah, only players in your active lineup earn points sadly!

Podge_irl wrote: »
    I hate the Seahawks. I find them getting their commupence for trying to be smart amusing.

Their behaviour after that interception left a lot to be desired anyway. Their safety Chancellor has fecked off because he wants more money (interesting that players can actually do that!!) and then Lynch wore a Chancellor jersey in training.

Jameis Winston's first pass was intercepted for a touchdown. Yikes.

Never heard of him

NFL Redzone is great. I'd love a rugby equivalent, but the nature of the NFL really lends itself to it.

For those who've never seen it, it's basically one broadcast which jumps between every game and just shows the games where interesting things are happening. No adverts as well so it's nonstop action for about 7 hours.

Never heard of him

No problem. Here's the clip for you: https://twitter.com/NFL/status/643163322083250176

That must be CGI, the Bucs don't start until next week, the game this week was cancelled.

One of my final picks, RB Danny Woodhead for SDC, has scored two rushing TDs. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,169 ✭✭✭Wang King

Am I playing? Am I winning?!

Wang King wrote: »
    Am I playing? Am I winning?!

What's your team name?