The General Chat Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭Applause

NOS3 wrote: »
    I might get the cookworks slow cooker for €16 in Aldi. I think it's 2.5L. Does anyone know if they are a good brand? :)

Ah, you've got me torturing myself looking at the special buys now, even though I am 1000km away from Ireland. :P I'm drooling at the Italian stuff, even the spice mill. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭iwantmydinner

There is a Cookworks kettle in my apartment and it is class. Fast-boiling and no drips. If that's any help.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,057 ✭✭✭MissFlitworth

How much was the box of 12? There's no prices on their FB menu.

Minimum order of 12 at €2 per doughnut and €3 delivery, so total cost €27. Which, I know, sounds expensive for doughnuts but small business, big fat overheads (I'm assuming), great doughnuts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,154 ✭✭✭Dolbert

Minimum order of 12 at €2 per doughnut and €3 delivery, so total cost €27. Which, I know, sounds expensive for doughnuts but small business, big fat overheads (I'm assuming), great doughnuts.

Suddenly I wish my maternity leave was over solely because of the proximity of my workplace to these doughnuts. They have Reeses peanut butter cup ones this week, sweet jeebus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

I'm on mobile so I can't search, is there a thread with tips and ideas for catering for a large group? Thinking of hosting a party at home and need some good casual-but-not-too-casual finger and buffet food ideas.

It might make more sense to have it catered or just hire a venue. Trying to keep costs down though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭bigronnie9

Whispered wrote: »
    I'm on mobile so I can't search, is there a thread with tips and ideas for catering for a large group? Thinking of hosting a party at home and need some good casual-but-not-too-casual finger and buffet food ideas.

It might make more sense to have it catered or just hire a venue. Trying to keep costs down though.

How large a group? I recently hosted a party for about 25/26 adults and used a good few cooking club recipes to feed the masses, I still have my list here, nothing fancy but you might get some idea for a buffet:

Pulled Pork (3kg shoulder) (cooking club)
    Tandoori Chicken Drumsticks
    Honey BBQ Chicken Wings
    Burgers (on the BBQ)
    Sausages (on the BBQ)
    Red Lentil Dahl (green saffron recipe x2)
    Falafel (cooking club)
    Potato Salad (had apples etc in it, actually turned out lovely)
    Cous Cous (with sundried tomatoes/roasted peppers&red onions)
    Spicy Mac n Cheese (cooking club)
    Caramelised Red Onions
    Little Goats Cheese and Caramelised Red Onion Tarts
    Also naan breads/pittas torn up and toasted for with the dahl / falaffel

Had a good bit of leftovers the next day(and the next day after that :D), and everyone was impressed with the food (especially the vegetarians)

Managed to have it all prepped beforehand so all I had to do was delegate BBQ duty to my brother in law on the night!
    And also afew people offered to bring stuff so all the deserts were brought thank god, loads of these left over too..... I find it hard to know how much to have for a crowd!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

I got my "All in the Cooking" book today, I'm looking forward to going through it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,176 ✭✭✭angeldelight

Only tip I have is calculate your ingredients costs plus how long it will take you to make it all before you decide to do it yourself. Sometimes there isn't much in the difference costwise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,361 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

bigronnie9 wrote: »
    How large a group? I recently hosted a party for about 25/26 adults and used a good few cooking club recipes to feed the masses, I still have my list here, nothing fancy but you might get some idea for a buffet:

Honey BBQ Chicken Wings
    Burgers (on the BBQ)
    Sausages (on the BBQ)
    Falafel (cooking club)
    Caramelised Red Onions

Had a good bit of leftovers the next day(and the next day after that :D), and everyone was impressed with the food (especially the vegetarians)

Managed to have it all prepped beforehand so all I had to do was delegate BBQ duty to my brother in law on the night!
    And also afew people offered to bring stuff so all the deserts were brought thank god, loads of these left over too..... I find it hard to know how much to have for a crowd!

Wow really impressed, how long did it take you to prepare/cook all that? It must have been some shopping list....... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,036 ✭✭✭Loire

I was debating whether to post this but decided what the heck. Last year we went to Portugal on holidays. We ate in the apartment for breakfast and lunch. For dinner we went out every night as the only supermarket near us was pants and didn't stock any fresh meat, fish or veg. All told we spent somewhere between 600-700 on dinners. We don't eat out regularly so it was nice to get out but after the 3rd or 4th night we would have much preferred to be eating in. This year, after talking to my father-in-law who mentioned his neighbour bringing sausages on hols for breakfast, I had a brainwave...I went to the butcher the week before we left for our hols. Bought steaks, lamp chops, chicken and sausages. Picked up some salmon darnes at the mongers. Wrapped them all in portions and froze them. Just before the taxi came to bring us to the airport I packed the food in the suitcase. 5 hours later we were in Spain and when we got to the apartment it was time to check the "expirement". Lo and behold the food was still frozen! (The cold cargo area in the plane not doubt helped here - ever notice how cold suitcases are when you collect them from the carousel?). Anyway we got 7 dinners worth which saved us about 300 euro. Better though, the food was better than a lot of junk on offer out and we were able to sit out on the balcony with a glass of wine!

Loire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,361 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

^ Nice one!

The place in Spain we've gone to for the last couple of years has a great supermarket a short drive away. Food way cheaper than home. Real problem getting fresh herbs and chillis though. I'll bring our own chillis next year if we're lucky enough to borrow the house again, don't think herbs travel too well! :rolleyes:

• Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 28,863 Mod ✭✭✭✭oscarBravo

Nice one, Loire!

I will say this: be sure to check out any restrictions on bringing foods to whatever country you're flying to. Spain, no bother - but if you tried that in Chile, for example, you'd be asked on landing to declare any food you've brought, and if you lie and are caught out, the fines are draconian.

Not that you'd have any problem getting fresh produce in Chile. Ye gods, the produce!

bigronnie9 wrote: »

Honey BBQ Chicken Wings
    Burgers (on the BBQ)
    Sausages (on the BBQ)
    Falafel (cooking club)
    Caramelised Red Onions

Thanks. So helpful.

Holy moly that's impressive. We haven't done up numbers yet, but I'm guessing about 30 plus some kids. It could end up MUCH smaller if it seems too costly when I work out the budget.

Couple questions on your menu if you don't mind:

You had most of it done before the day, how did you reheat to serve the Dahl and mac'n'cheese?

Did you fry the falafel the day before? How were they served? Room temp?

Would you mind sharing a pic of how the spread looked? It sounds very impressive!! (No prob if you'd rather not)

Can I get an opinion: BBQ in December under marquee attached to the kitchen/double doors with heaters. Would it work?

Wow really impressed, how long did it take you to prepare/cook all that? It must have been some shopping list....... :)

wasn't too bad, I picked up the bits of shopping spread over the week beforehand ( I knew about 2 weeks before roughly what I was going to be making so I had the shopping list done), spent afew mins Thursday night, about 2 and a half hours Friday night and a couple of hours again on the Saturday.. ill type up exactly what I done there in a minute, it could turn into an essay!!!

• Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 28,863 Mod ✭✭✭✭oscarBravo

Can I get an opinion: BBQ in December under marquee attached to the kitchen/double doors with heaters. Would it work?

It might. I wouldn't plan on it out here in the wild wesht for one reason: wind, rather than cold. Trying to BBQ in high wind is a miserable experience.

oscarBravo wrote: »
    It might. I wouldn't plan on it out here in the wild wesht for one reason: wind, rather than cold. Trying to BBQ in high wind is a miserable experience.

The garden is rather sheltered. We would have 6ft high walls either side of the marquee and then the house forming the 3rd wall, so one open side.

Might not be worth the risk. I was just trying to think of a way to fob some of the cooking off on someone else :D

Thanks. So helpful.

Holy moly that's impressive. We haven't done up numbers yet, but I'm guessing about 30 plus some kids. It could end up MUCH smaller if it seems too costly when I work out the budget.

Couple questions on your menu if you don't mind:

You had most of it done before the day, how did you reheat to serve the Dahl and mac'n'cheese?

Did you fry the falafel the day before? How were they served? Room temp?

Would you mind sharing a pic of how the spread looked? It sounds very impressive!! (No prob if you'd rather not)

I don't have any pictures im afraid :o

This is going to be a belter but I figure if I type it up ill have a reference for next time I decide to host a get together! :D

Thursday:
    spent about twenty minutes Thursday night putting the spice rub on the pulled pork, about 5 minutes making up my tandoori spice mix for the drumsticks, and about 5 minutes making my flour/spice coating for the wings

Friday:
    Friday night after the gym / dinner, we cracked open a bottle of wine and I enlisted the other half to help with the chopping (i've never seen so many chopped onions in one place before! :D ). So say from around half 8 Friday night to about 11 I managed to:

Get the pulled pork in the slow cooker with the cooking liquids (slow cooker in the shed so house wouldn't have too strong a pork aroma!)
    Coated my drumsticks in spices and put in fridge
    Coated my wings, baked them for 45mins until nice and crispy, then let cool and put in fridge
    Made up the falafel mixture and put in the fridge to fry the following day
    Oh and had a rake of red onions with a bit of sugar/butter/balsamic vinegar caramelising while all this was going on (always amazes me how long onions take to caramelise)

Also chopped all veg for the couse couse/potato salad. Balmed out on the couch then wrecked from the heat in the kitchen

Saturday:
    Added yoghurt to the drumsticks and stuck them back in the fridge to marinade.
    steamed the potatoes/made the cous cous and roasted the veg for it.
    Other half made up the potato salad (cant remember where she got the recipe,can find out if you want, had vinegar and stuff in it and was delish!)
    Covered up the cous cous and potato salad once done.
    boiled up the pasta and made the buffalo sauce, added it to pasta in an oven dish (didn't put in the oven, just covered and put aside)
    cooked those little jus roll pastries in the oven, and once they had cooled spooned some goats cheese and caramlised onions into each, covered and put aside
    next up was the dahl, made in a huge frying pan with a lid and left it in the pan once done(I think we even served it just on the table in the pan :p)
    out to the shed, got the pork, shredded it, sauced it up and back in the slow cooker on the 'keep warm' setting
    fried up my falafel and wrapped in tinfoil.

Saturday Evening:
    Think we were aiming to feed people at 8, so started the cooking at half six (people arriving and my tiny kitchen made this a very hot affair, thankfully the weather was good so we had a gazebo set up out the double doors)
    Threw the drumsticks in the oven (I cook these the same as my wings, 30 mins, turn them them, 15 mins)
    So once I turned the drumsticks I got the BBQ going and the brother in law took over that thank god
    set up my wings/falafel/mac n cheese and tartlets on trays so they could be put in the oven to heat once the drumsticks were done
    Covered the drumsticks in tinfoil, banged everything else into the oven to heat up, turned the heat on under the dahl again, and made up my honey bbq sauce for the wings for once they were hot.

Just served it up as a buffet then:
    Pulled Pork served in the slow cooker dish just brought it in
    Dahl served in the pan
    Potato salad, cous cous, bbq wings, left over caramlised onions and Mac n cheese served in big bowls
    drumsticks, sausages, falafel, burgers and tartlets all served on big plates then
    Along with all condiments and burger buns/naans/pittas

Just left everybody grab a plate and help themselves (which after afew drinks they loved doing!)

NOT SO PRO TIP: invest in some cheap paper/plastic plates and plastic cutlery, feck cleaning up after that many people! :eek:

Think that covers everything, definitely my longest ever post on boards :D
    Will be handy to have here for next time actually,seems like a lot but I knew what I had to do each evening/sat morning so took any bit of stress out of it!

As for BBQ in the winter, if you have a heater/gazebo id say go for it, would be a nice change at that time of year!

Would you like to come to a party :p

That sounds like a hell of a lot of work. Fair play to you.

Would you like to come to a party :p

That sounds like a hell of a lot of work. Fair play to you.

it wasn't that bad really, I was knackered on the sunday though...could of been from the booze though!

Is it for your son's first birthday Whispered? We're contemplating ours too, think it'll be tae and sandwiches! And cake of course, lots of cake.

Dolbert wrote: »
    Is it for your son's first birthday Whispered? We're contemplating ours too, think it'll be tae and sandwiches! And cake of course, lots of cake.

Yep :) yours is the 8th right? Ours is the 13th. Because we didnt have a christening we are thinking of having a welcome/birthday party.

It's a bit nerve wrecking tbh. First time since our wedding for 4 families to get together but I do want to make something of it iykwim.

Have you anything set in stone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,858 ✭✭✭homemadecider

That's not bad at all. I might have to suggest this to 11 colleagues next week. I think I need one of those doughnuts in my life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,987 ✭✭✭Tilly

Guys, have any of you bought herb plants in the supermarket like basil and kept it alive longer than a week? Or am I just the killer of all things green (including my hanging baskets) :(

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 12,110 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dizzyblonde

Tilly wrote: »
    Guys, have any of you bought herb plants in the supermarket like basil and kept it alive longer than a week? Or am I just the killer of all things green (including my hanging baskets) :(

I've got a one and a half year old parsley plant in the garden that I bought in the supermarket and planted out in the ground. I also have a two week old coriander plant wilting horribly inside on the kitchen windowsill :(
    Basil tends to only last a month or so on the windowsill, at least for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,745 ✭✭✭✭kylith

I've a basil plant going for a few months now, but my coriander and parsley are looking done after only a couple of weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,987 ✭✭✭Tilly

So I'm a murderer or all things green then. My basil lasted about 4 days. My Mam rings me every night to remind me to water the baskets and they still die no matter what I do. Thank god I don't have a pet or kids!!! :p

Yep :) yours is the 8th right? Ours is the 13th. Because we didnt have a christening we are thinking of having a welcome/birthday party.

It's a bit nerve wrecking tbh. First time since our wedding for 4 families to get together but I do want to make something of it iykwim.

Have you anything set in stone?

His birthday is on a Tuesday so we'll just have the families over on the Sunday. I'm thinking finger food and snacks, not full dinner
    Thank god I don't have a pet or kids!!! :p

I have both and I still kill plants :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

I find Basil from the supermarket lasts longer if you split it into two or three pots. The pots they come in are too small and the plants are squashed together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,366 ✭✭✭tampopo

I was in town today, and after all the big build up with the doughnuts and all, I dropped into Vice in Abbey street to see what they're all about.

Nice they are too. But small. So I had two!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,212 ✭✭✭dee_mc

Basil gets potbound very quickly, so it's a good idea to split the plant or even pop it into a larger pot. Still wouldn't expect it to last much longer than 10 or 12 weeks, but to get the best out of it pinch off any little flowers as soon as they appear and only ever water from the bottom, seems to suit it's root system. Keeping basil is a faff but it's worth it!