Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

DCM 2015: Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

Ug. Absolute shambles of a 6 mile run tonight. Doesn't even warrant the name. 2 shoddy warm up miles followed by 4 miles walking. Not even going to post it to Strava or the spreadsheet. Utterly disgraceful. :mad: The only redeeming factor was actually going the full 6 miles.

Tomorrow's 6 miles will be better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭frash

Mrs Mc wrote: »
    Have a hen night in saturday so taking Friday off work to get LSR done.

I've a stag night on Saturday night after hopefully a 14 miler!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Any feedback on the 9m at pace guys?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

Just in from the 9m PMP run. I went a tad faster than PMP, but I'm happy that the splits were quite steady. Only 13 seconds between my slowest of the 9 and my fastest. PMP is 10:18. It was a bit hot, and I'm obviously running on fatigued legs, but I probably could have done another 3 miles or so comfortably at that pace, and definitely a bit more at the slower warm up and cool down paces.

1 11:01 /mi
    2 10:10 /mi
    3 9:54 /mi
    4 10:03 /mi
    5 9:51 /mi
    6 9:55 /mi
    7 10:01 /mi
    8 9:53 /mi
    9 10:06 /mi
    10 9:56 /mi
    11 11:34 /mi

Dubgal72 wrote: »

Ask and you shall receive! :D

That was quick chrislad :D

chrislad wrote: »
    Just in from the 9m PMP run. I went a tad faster than PMP, but I'm happy that the splits were quite steady. Only 13 seconds between my slowest of the 9 and my fastest. PMP is 10:18. It was a bit hot, and I'm obviously running on fatigued legs, but I probably could have done another 3 miles or so comfortably at that pace, and definitely a bit more at the slower warm up and cool down paces.

1 11:01 /mi
    2 10:10 /mi
    3 9:54 /mi
    4 10:03 /mi
    5 9:51 /mi
    6 9:55 /mi
    7 10:01 /mi
    8 9:53 /mi
    9 10:06 /mi
    10 9:56 /mi
    11 11:34 /mi

That's really encouraging, lovely work and well done! Weren't you one of the doubters (in yourself) when the pace runs started?!

Edit from post below, you weren't. Got to find a real doubter now :rolleyes:

From July 1st
    chrislad wrote: »
    I just finished my 5 miler, actually turned out to be 5.5 but I just added an extra .5 to cool down. I'm aiming for about 4h 30 in the full, which is about 10:18/m, but I've been doing about 10:45-11:00 in my runs, so I think I may be able to aim for 4:15. In that vein, I had 3 miles at 9:53, 9:50, 9:43, after a 10:48 warm up followed by about 10:50 for the last mile and a half. Legs felt good, it was fairly hot and tough going (I did go through about half a litre of water on the run!) but I'm happy enough with it. No real aches or pains, especially in the shins, so all positive here. Looking forward to the easier run tomorrow though! :D

It was definitely easier than yesterdays though. I only had about a 45 minute window to get the run done about 6pm, at which stage it was about 24 degrees. Not fun!

Just to remind you how far you've come :) (and us that we actually had a summer....24 degrees?? What's that?!)

That's really encouraging, lovely work and well done! Weren't you one of the doubters (in yourself) when the pace runs started?!

I'm still somewhat doubtful, as I doubt I could have kept that pace up for another 16 miles. :)

That said, I do trust in the plan, and I hope that the tapering will rest my legs enough and that the group and crowd will get me over the finish line not dead :D

I do see a significant improvement in terms of my condition throughout the run (I would have been well able to maintain a conversation) and the condition I arrived home it. All much better than 4 months ago if I were to attempt such a distance.

From July 1st

Just to remind you how far you've come :) (and us that we actually had a summer....24 degrees?? What's that?!)

Sheesh, I wouldn't have been able to find a post that old. You must have a good file :D

*goes into incognito mode*

Edit from post below, you weren't. Got to find a real doubter now :rolleyes:

Here you go :D

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=96254563&postcount=1872

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 betty swollox

Afraid I had to give the 9 mile pace a miss tonight. Long day at work followed by trip to Crumlin hospital with my youngest. There's always tomorrow and to be honest I think my body is telling me to rest😟

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

Quick hello from Seattle, WA... Have managed to get a couple of easy runs in since arriving (3, 7, and 5M). The 3M was done straight of the plane and was painful but very useful in terms of dealing with the jetlag (-8 hours). The other two runs were 6am starts and quite hilly.

I hope to do the 9M tomorrow with a colleague, who turns out to be a 90 minute HM runner. :eek: My PMP is his easy pace! :)

Afraid I had to give the 9 mile pace a miss tonight. Long day at work followed by trip to Crumlin hospital with my youngest. There's always tomorrow and to be honest I think my body is telling me to rest😟

Hope the wee one is ok :(

Really noticing the training this week, pretty tired at work most afternoons, legs feel okay but pretty drained. Anyway, a rest day today and then 18 mile lsr tomorrow evening.
    Me too am knackered at work this week spending the afternoon yawning and struggled to keep eyes open on Monday at a meeting with about 20 people in a stuffy room. Trying to get to bed earlier but not managing it. Have a hen night in saturday so taking Friday off work to get LSR done.

Same same, quite tired and I rarely get stressed about little things but I find the tiredness is making tiny things seem big.

It is hard work, I'm non stop even outside of running, so I hardly get a break. I think most of us here are the same. I do have a girl that comes to clean my house - the one luxury I hate to be without - and I've let my house get so messy this week that I cancelled her because I was too embarrassed for her to come :o that's never happened before. I can't really handle a messy house and it feels like it's getting messy all the time now :o

I can't believe I'm admitting that on the Internet :rolleyes:

This week was all messed up because it was supposed to be a race week but it's not now, so my trainer told me to take tonight off even though I had 60mintrs easy planned. Feels weird. I nearly went anyway, but he has me doing a parkrun Saturday so figured maybe my legs might thank me for the rest. I had a chocolate sundae instead. Totally the same thing. Totally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b

Got my 1w/up, 9mls pmp and 1 mile c/down in this morning. Averaged out at 5.36 mins/km (on the pmp) and managed to hold the pace within 5 secs per km without too much fuss. Have to say that I am tired this week but am taking each days run as it arrives and not thinking too much beyond that. Looking forward to a reduced LSR this weekend and will concentrate on some recovery for the forthcoming HM. I normally do a 5km recovery run on the rest days (Boards Plan) but I might just take the rest day on Friday this week.

Very happy with progress and am working hard on my achilles to keep in in check. DG and friends.... thanks for the support.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b

Betty S...... hope the visit worked out for the youngest. Mind yourself as well after a stressful event like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭smashiner

Ug. Absolute shambles of a 6 mile run tonight. Doesn't even warrant the name. 2 shoddy warm up miles followed by 4 miles walking. Not even going to post it to Strava or the spreadsheet. Utterly disgraceful. :mad: The only redeeming factor was actually going the full 6 miles.

Tomorrow's 6 miles will be better.

Don't worry about it too much TFGR, we all do a 'junk run' every once in a while....I ran 10K home from work this evening, all uphill and I felt that I had a cement block on each shoulder!! :rolleyes:

Dust yourself down and go again, if you find yourself doing a few junk runs in a row, it might be that your body might need a day or two off and come back fresh.

IMO with only 5 weeks of heavy training left, the shorter runs should be a prepp for the LSR's at this stage and skipping the odd small run will do no harm so long as the LSR goes well at the weekend.......best of luck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Notwork Error

Have a hen night in saturday
    frash wrote: »
    I've a stag night on Saturday night

Have ye told FBOT yet?:pac:

Cheers whoops and Denis b

All ok with the youngest he has been in and out of Crumlin since he was born in January, won't go into details. Just a precaution tonight luckily he is tucked up in bed now ready to wake the house at 5:30am.

In January? :eek:

Fair bloody play to you!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Have ye told FBOT yet?:pac:

Only if frash is going to be at a cocktail making class in Harrys or 37 .... And sure maybe if we cross paths a 3 mile easy around Stephens green ....but not sure the heels will allow it !!!!

In January? :eek:

Fair bloody play to you!!!

Sorry whoops my username is deceptive, i'm actually the dad :) . Although my wife is training for a HM so yes she is the superhero

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭mobfromcork

Just back from my PMP run. Went ok but legs felt tired from the start. I did my 20 mile on Sunday instead of Saturday so an extra day's recovery might have helped.
    I did 10 miles @ pace with a short cool down. My first mile is a gentle downhill and I always find it hard to do as a warm up. Planned PMP is around 7.55 or 8.00 per mile.
    Splits

I felt comfortable enough at that pace most of the way around. I had a stitch for the first time in ages around mile 7 but just increased the depth of my breaths in and it went after a few minutes. No niggles so far and did a bit of stretching and foam rolling when I came back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Notwork Error

Hang in there lads and don't get discouraged by runs over the next few weeks! Tiredness is all part of where he are approaching in training. Some days are going to be a grind from here until the taper as that's what marathon training does to your body to make it come strong on race day.

Try to remember during these times that fatigue is feeling of preparation and keep the eyes on the prize. Ye're nearly there and recovery is just around the corner.

Aw :( Poor babs....Yup, definitely take it easy....
    nop98 wrote: »
    Quick hello from Seattle, WA... Have managed to get a couple of easy runs in since arriving (3, 7, and 5M). The 3M was done straight of the plane and was painful but very useful in terms of dealing with the jetlag (-8 hours). The other two runs were 6am starts and quite hilly.

I hope to do the 9M tomorrow with a colleague, who turns out to be a 90 minute HM runner. :eek: My PMP is his easy pace! :)
    No bother to you! ;)
    denis b wrote: »
    Got my 1w/up, 9mls pmp and 1 mile c/down in this morning. Averaged out at 5.36 mins/km (on the pmp) and managed to hold the pace within 5 secs per km without too much fuss. Have to say that I am tired this week but am taking each days run as it arrives and not thinking too much beyond that. Looking forward to a reduced LSR this weekend and will concentrate on some recovery for the forthcoming HM. I normally do a 5km recovery run on the rest days (Boards Plan) but I might just take the rest day on Friday this week.

Very happy with progress and am working hard on my achilles to keep in in check. DG and friends.... thanks for the support.
    That's great steady pacing Denis, you're doing a good job programming that inner metronome. All of you will be feeling it in the legs this week but it's all part of the training. Doubly important to sleep, eat and rest well tho :)
    And you are more than welcome, thank you!

All ok with the youngest he has been in and out of Crumlin since he was born in January, won't go into details. Just a precaution tonight luckily he is tucked up in bed now ready to wake the house at 5:30am.
    Ah good, sleep well you too.....

Well had a sh*te run tonight. 8 miles easy on the plan. Dropped the youngest to GAA training and left my car at the club heading out the clontarf road. First few miles went grand nice and steady legs loosed out by 2/3 miles. Lovely evening passing a few Raheny shamrocks out doing their training saying our hellos on the waypast. From mile 4 on the calves started to tighten and the Achilles started to hurt. As I pushed through I thought about LSR brought forward to Friday and didn't want to jeopardise that. Also remembered DG posting about the % of 3 missed miles v's the overall miles. Stopped and stretched at 5 miles and started again. Decided to listen to the body and pack it in at that stage. Rang the hubby to come get me. Not sure if it's a combination of increased miles and tiredness but really feeling it this week as do a lot others it seems or whether I'm missing my running buddies as I haven't had to do too many long miles on my own recently as I found tonight tough. Anyway home now had food just finished stretching and going to get to bed early tonight. Rest day tomorrow.

Just back from my PMP run. Went ok but legs felt tired from the start. I did my 20 mile on Sunday instead of Saturday so an extra day's recovery might have helped.
    I did 10 miles @ pace with a short cool down. My first mile is a gentle downhill and I always find it hard to do as a warm up. Planned PMP is around 7.55 or 8.00 per mile.
    Splits

I felt comfortable enough at that pace most of the way around. I had a stitch for the first time in ages around mile 7 but just increased the depth of my breaths in and it went after a few minutes. No niggles so far and did a bit of stretching and foam rolling when I came back.

Again, managing 9-10 miles comfortably at PMP is a very good sign at this stage so well done. One of the purposes of this type of session is get your brain and legs talking to each other so you recognise your PMP (7:55-8:00 m/mi). There are two more pace runs in the plan so make your focus on these to keep to the planned pace, even when you feel comfortable going faster.
    Great news on the no niggles front :)

Glad to hear all ok.