Another light sentence handed down by the courts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,002 ✭✭✭handlemaster

No, cos thats 'inhumane' and would cost too much.

There has to be a way to give harsher sentences and give these thugs a punishment without turning into a police state or dumb torture fantasies.

Is it inhumane to live in eastern Europe ? If it was cheaper its cheaper. Checks could be carried out to make such torture doesnt happen 😅

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

Is it inhumane to live in eastern Europe ? If it was cheaper its cheaper. Checks could be carried out to make such torture doesnt happen 😅

Its inhumane to ship people off to Eastern Europe to facilities run by god knows who in god knows what conditions. Whats to say Eastern Europe would even want them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

The guy who did this one served less than six months of an 18 month sentence. That Garda was out for about two years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Its inhumane to ship people off to Eastern Europe to facilities run by god knows who in god knows what conditions. Whats to say Eastern Europe would even want them?

Tell you what Instead of jailing people why does one not volunteer to put them up in ones house and rehabilitate them. I think one will be revising inhumane very fast.

What a great response :roll eyes: There is a difference between punishment/rehabilitation and torture. By all means lock them up, take away their dole/benefits, whatever, but shipping them off to 'eastern europe' is inhumane, and kinda bizarre.

What's inhumane about Eastern Europe ? We have companies with Call centres there they don't seem to be treated badly.

So we'd be sending them to eastern europe to work in a call centre then? specially since thats not what the original poster meant.

Nope, But just labelling Eastern Europe as inhumane is terrible. Any links to the Terrible inhumane conditions ?

I can tell you thousands of irish go to eastern Europe every year on holidays and find the locals to be quiet welcoming. Jail time is not leisure time. If the prison system is in the EU why not and the relavant government wants to participate and its cheaper for the Irish tax payer why not. Simple economics. There could be a starter plan of let's say anyone convicted to ten years and has already been convicted of other crimes on let's say 50 separate occasions can be sent off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

I can tell you thousands of irish go to eastern Europe every year on holidays and find the locals to be quiet welcoming. Jail time is not leisure time. If the prison system is in the EU why not and the relavant government wants to participate and its cheaper for the Irish tax payer why not. Simple economics. There could be a starter plan of let's say anyone convicted to ten years and has already been convicted of other crimes on let's say 50 separate occasions can be sent off.

It would be much more effective to ship them off to the Scandinavian countries which have proper, rehabilitative, prison systems.

Alternatively we could take an approach not harking back to the 19th century and put our own house in order.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 426 ✭✭custard gannet

Can prisoners be shipped out to an eastern european country where it would cost the tax payer less to have them serve out there sentence there in prison ?

We don't even deport offenders from there upon completing their sentence, so there's not much chance of sending Irish offenders there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Should've been sentenced to have his head locked in a pillory before a 100 pound hammer should so deftly be raised to a height not less than that of 8ft and there upon be let loose to swing freely upon thy grace of pendulum in motion towards and thereafter make contact with thy culprits temple and in one said swoop of motion proceed to continue though thy culprits head until thy hammer maketh egress on the side opposite of said temple of which it had entered firstly.

We don't even deport offenders from there upon completing their sentence, so there's not much chance of sending Irish offenders there.

Not deportation just to serve the sentence and after to return to be a law abiding citizen as i am sure they would have changed their ways in the time been !

It would be much more effective to ship them off to the Scandinavian countries which have proper, rehabilitative, prison systems.

Alternatively we could take an approach not harking back to the 19th century and put our own house in order.
    Can scumbags be rehabilitated . I would think very few.

Not ones from here with over 20 previous is a lifestyle then. Difference is in the Nordic countries you are not let get a load of convictions. That's why they can be rehabilitated, You know actually jailing people first time around and then treating them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

Not ones from here with over 20 previous is a lifestyle then. Difference is in the Nordic countries you are not let get a load of convictions. That's why they can be rehabilitated, You know actually jailing people first time around and then treating them.

The vast majority settle, go straight and have children of their own. The problem being they were never rehabilitated and the cycle starts again. The vast majority of petty criminals are easily rehabilitated. Drug addicts take a lot more work. We've proper facilities for neither.

We are quite literally at the bottom of the pile in relation to a properly functioning corrective system, we don't even have spent convictions legislation. I venture a guess that baring South Africa in terms of developed nations probably the only country worse at it than us is the US.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 499 ✭✭Shep_Dog

The prisoners' families would have difficulty visiting them there?

Shep_Dog wrote: »
    The prisoners' families would have difficulty visiting them there?

Should think of that before committing numourous crimes. What I suggested was someone who has already had 50 plus convictions could be sent. Look the soft touch isnt working. The cost of this to the state is very high for imprisonment never mind the attacks on innocent members of the public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

A mugger celebrated his 18th birthday by holding a knife to a student’s throat and threatening to carve his initials on his forehead once he had killed him.

Declan Breen, of 9 Bothar Waithman, Ballybane, stole the terrified victim’s phone wallet and runners, in what was described as a humiliating and terrifying ordeal in a letter from the victim, who refused to come to court out of fear of reprisals.

Breen received sentences totalling 13 months at Galway District Court this week for what Judge Mary Fahy described as “the lowest of the low” type of robbery and one, which she said, had become a “life changer” for the victim.

Breen had just turned 18 – on July 8 last – the night he robbed the victim of his €300 mobile phone, €20 cash and a pair of €100 runners at The Line, Renmore.

Breen pleaded guilty to that offence and to also having a knife in his possession which was produced during the course of the robbery.

Garda Sheena Gill explained the 19-year-old student was too afraid of reprisals to come to court to give evidence of his ordeal.

Garda Gill gave evidence the victim had been in town the previous evening with friends. They had gone for a meal and he was walking along “The Line” to his house in Renmore at 12.30am on Tuesday, July 8 last, when he was attacked by Breen and a 16-year-old, who cannot be named due to his age.

The victim saw both youths pull their hoodies up over their heads before they approached him.

They asked him for a cigarette and when he told them he didn’t smoke, he was punched into the face a few times with closed fists.

He ran from them but they caught up with him, punched him again and told him to empty his pockets.

One of them held him by the arms while the other searched him.

They asked him if he had any drugs, especially “weed”, and he told them he didn’t.

They became more aggressive towards him and took his phone. They asked him for the PIN and went through his pockets again, taking out his wallet. They took €20 from the wallet along with his student age and bank cards.

They demanded to know the PIN for the bank card and he gave them a false number.

They demanded to know where he lived and he gave them a false address.

They warned him that if he contacted the Gardai they would burn his house down with his family inside. They also warned him that if he had given them a wrong address, they would burn that house down anyway, and he would be to blame if there were children in that house.

Breen then told the victim he would have no problem killing him.

He told him to remove his runners which he put on himself.

Both attackers then left in the direction of Eyre Square but they returned a few seconds later and Breen took a knife from the juvenile.

“He (Breen) slid the knife across the victim’s throat and carried on with his threats to get him if he went to the Gardai.

“He then slid the knife across the victim’s left cheek. He prodded him with the point of the knife on his cheek and also slid it over his ears, threatening to cut them off.

“Breen said he would kill him and carve his initials into his forehead, while rubbing the knife on it,” Garda Gill said.

Garda Gill said she and her colleagues caught up with Breen and the juvenile a short time later in Eyre Square.

Inspector Brendan Carroll said Breen had 18 previous convictions for robbery, burglaries, thefts, possession of articles(weapons) and criminal damage.

Breen, he said, had served prison sentences as a juvenile in the past for some of those offences and he was currently serving a eight-month sentence for theft, possession of articles, criminal damage and larceny.

Garda Gill explained the victim was too afraid to come to court but his father was present. She said the young man had written a letter, explaining the impact the attack had had on him and it was handed into court for Judge Fahy to read.

The judge said she was shocked that the accused would treat another young person in that manner.

She said that while listening to the evidence, the word “humiliation” had come to mind and on reading the victim’s letter, he had used that exact same word to describe how he felt during his ordeal.

“He has said that when asked to take off his shoes, he felt humiliated.

“It’s the lowest of the low and I have heard lots of stories during my time as a judge.

“It’s shocking; a young boy, having to go home in his socks, bleeding,” Judge Fahy said.

Insp Carroll said the victim’s mobile phone and runners were found in Breen’s possession.

“Who would want them back? Who would want to touch anything that had been touched in this manner?” Judge Fahy asked.

Defence solicitor, John Martin said his client had turned 18 on July 8. He reminded Judge Fahy she was familiar with Breen from the juvenile court and knew about his background.

Breen’s mother, he said, died when he was very young, his father had minimal input in his life and his uncle was his legal guardian and was doing his best.

Mr Martin pointed out that heretofore his client’s convictions had involved property and these new offences were the first to involve aggression towards a victim.

Mr Martin said his client had taken pills and abused alcohol on the night and the way in which the crime was carried out appeared to be a lot different from before.

He said Breen apologised for his behaviour when he was picked up by the Gardai that night.

Garda Gill explained the juvenile had been dealt with under the Juvenile Liaison Scheme due to his young age.

Judge Fahy said this had been a more serious type of robbery.

“In other cases, robberies or assaults are over a phone, but I have never seen such aggression or such personal threats or humiliation as displayed in this one,” she said.

Judge Fahy said the maximum sentence she could impose in her court was 24 months and she would have to give the accused credit for the plea.

Bearing in mind he was currently serving an eight-month sentence for other offences, Judge Fahy said the appropriate sentence for the robbery in this case was seven months, to run consecutively to the sentence currently being served.

She imposed a further, consecutive six-month sentence for possession of the knife.

Judge Fahy then strenuously warned Breen that if he made any threats to the victim’s family by any means, she would not be accepting jurisdiction and he would be sent forward to a higher court where he would get five years.

He grinned back at her and shook his head. He continued to smirk and grin.

“I’m warning you,” Judge Fahy repeated.

Referring to the victim’s letter again, Judge Fahy added: “The reality is that for this young man, the marks on his face will fade, but the trauma he has sustained will not fade for a very long time.

“It’s a life-changer for him, due to the defendant’s actions. I just hope he makes a complete recovery.”

http://connachttribune.ie/students-night-of-terror-as-knife-held-to-throat-506/

This is as bad as anything i've ever read. 13 months, should have been years at least. Good jaysus, this is unreal. This lad could kill the victim when he's let out by all accounts

Something needs to be done with this sort of ****.

'she knew his background' 'and apologised'

Are you ****ing kidding me? In what sense in this an excuse? Plenty of people have tough upbringings, me included, but we don't turn into violent robbing scum, jesus.

I don't know what the solution is. As I said before the idea of having them shot or shipped off to Siberia is pretty silly, but at the same time, this can't be allowed to continue like this.

'He grinned back at her and shook his head. He continued to smirk and grin.

“I’m warning you,” Judge Fahy repeated.'

What the **** is this like?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/man-who-broke-gardas-nose-with-headbutt-said-it-was-worth-the-charge-31507410.html
    Jonathan Conway (33) had been arrested for an alleged robbery when he attacked the officer in a city garda station.

Judge Aingeal Ni Chonduin described him as a "nightmare on the streets" and jailed him for eight months.

Conway, of Fortlawn Avenue, Blanchardstown, pleaded guilty to assault causing harm to Garda Sean Burns at Store Street Station on July 13, 2013.

Garda Vincent Campbell told Dublin District Court officers responded to a call that a woman was allegedly being robbed at at ATM.

The accused had allegedly pinned her against the machine and taken €50 from her.

When taken to the station, he told Garda Burns to get his hands off him "or I'll stick my head in you."

He was told he was in an area of the station where audio and video was being recorded and he replied: "It will be worth the charge."

i think judges are currently the biggest issue in the criminal justice system.

spiralism wrote: »

This is as bad as anything i've ever read. 13 months, should have been years at least. Good jaysus, this is unreal. This lad could kill the victim when he's let out by all accounts

But it couldn't have been years. Because the maximum sentence is 2 years and the Courts have to take a guilty plea into account, which often means about a third off the sentence. Realistically it could have been 16 months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 394 ✭✭Brian from Bray

It makes my blood boil when I read some of the stories in this thread. What the heck is wrong with these feckin judges handing down such light sentences to scumbags who have a long list of convictions. The whole system needs to be revamped and fcuking fast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

But it couldn't have been years. Because the maximum sentence is 2 years and the Courts have to take a guilty plea into account, which often means about a third off the sentence. Realistically it could have been 16 months.

And 13 month sentence with automatic 1/4 remission equals less than 8 months not accounting for good behaviour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭Pink Lemons

spiralism wrote: »

I'm used to seeing extremely lenient sentences but 13 months??? After reading that then reading how long he got I honestly can't wrap my head around it, and the fact he's only 18 means he has a lifetime of doing the very same **** to look forward to when he gets out, just after his 19th birthday...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭captbarnacles

Would the judge not have been able to refuse jurisdiction as she threatened to?

Should have been referred to a higher court. The bit at the end was particularly unsettling. That **** will get out and immediately go for the fella he mugged like he said. He even shook his head when told to stay away from the poor fella ffs.

I know prisons are overcrowded but this is absolute madness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

The first case there is about an 18 yr old with 18 previous convictions:eek: Jesus wept!!

Would the judge not have been able to refuse jurisdiction as she threatened to?

Why she didn't is mind boggling. He openly indicated he's after the fella he robbed as soon as he's out. He could bloody well kill him or burn the house down like he said. The fella threatened to murder children. If this was the states he'd be going away for decades

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭captbarnacles

The judges response was typical 'break the law again and you are in serious trouble' so they do. Again and again and again until maybe they finally kill or maim someone and get a few years.