Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Chit Chat- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

Joined up last yrs autumn born calves and spring maiden.
    V hard to pick them out from spring maidens there so big.
    Making me wonder could they have gone incalf :rolleyes:

Had u a bull calve with them for any bit?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 661 ✭✭✭browned

Had a discussion group visit last week and one of the farmers suggested buying in repl's instead of rearing them. Dismissed the idea at the time but can see the logic of it. Have only the one block of land so heifers are taking up potential cow ground. Nic rates are more often than not around the 5-7% on a 90 cow herd so numbers are too small to contract rear them. Think it would be easy to source 10-15 from the one herd on a continuous basis. Are any other posters not selling surplus stock doing something like this or thought about it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Milked out wrote: »
    Had u a bull calve with them for any bit?

None just saying there so well grown could I have served them to calve this soring and kept meal to them all yr would I get them bug enough calving down at 18 mths or would u get in trouble with dept

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

browned wrote: »
    Had a discussion group visit last week and one of the farmers suggested buying in repl's instead of rearing them. Dismissed the idea at the time but can see the logic of it. Have only the one block of land so heifers are taking up potential cow ground. Nic rates are more often than not around the 5-7% on a 90 cow herd so numbers are too small to contract rear them. Think it would be easy to source 10-15 from the one herd on a continuous basis. Are any other posters not selling surplus stock doing something like this or thought about it?

It makes perfect sense to buy in your replacements ready to go but try and find some willing to sell their early and best potential replacements , now theres a trick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

keep going wrote: »
    It makes perfect sense to buy in your replacements ready to go but try and find some willing to sell their early and best potential replacements , now theres a trick

Could head down that road here also, but would personally prefer to keep control of myown heifers, It's an interesting part of dairying anyways, breeding the best possible replacements from your best cows, That has to be worth a decent few quid every year in improved solids/fertility etc, and the huge question is can you get a similar lift just buying in?

As was said the biggest limitation with contract rearing is when you only have a small replacement numbers. What might work as an alternative to trying to source replacements from the one dairy farm (and risk getting his seconds), why not approach him about contract rearing your heifers with his group? This would be very little extra work for him (they would be run with his own group of replacements), it would provide him a steady income also, it would suit a dairy farmer who has a large enough outside block and already limited on his own milking block.

keep going wrote: »

That's be the main reason why I was dismissive of it but I would calve from 10th of feb onwards while most would start on 24th of jan, more so now with quotas gone so in a way I'd be taking the later heifers. Just looking through the list of top 200 ebi herd and there's a good few new entrants on there as a result of buying surplus heifers

http://www.donedeal.ie/view/10343217

Who was doing this in spring except with cold milk?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,124 ✭✭✭jaymla627

browned wrote: »
    That's be the main reason why I was dismissive of it but I would calve from 10th of feb onwards while most would start on 24th of jan, more so now with quotas gone so in a way I'd be taking the later heifers. Just looking through the list of top 200 ebi herd and there's a good few new entrants on there as a result of buying surplus heifers

I wouldnt be using the top 200 ebi list as a barometer for sourcing top class dairy heifers, any dairy farmer can get high up on that list by just using the highest possible genomic dairy bulls every year it sure as hell dosent mean he will have a good herd of cows....

jaymla627 wrote: »
    I wouldnt be using the top 200 ebi list as a barometer for sourcing top class dairy heifers, any dairy farmer can get high up on that list by just using the highest possible genomic dairy bulls every year it sure as hell dosent mean he will have a good herd of cows....

Mearly saying that high ebi heifer are being sold and using a new entrant on the top 200 list to show that.

http://www.donedeal.ie/view/10275081 Look at the state of them for feb born calves. Pure neglect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

http://www.donedeal.ie/view/10275081 Look at the state of them for feb born calves. Pure neglect.

A bit of TLC for the winter will smarten them up but jaysus I wouldn't advertise stock like that until they had a dose and a bag of nuts inside them . If I got them for €130 I would chance them

Bullocks wrote: »
    A bit of TLC for the winter will smarten them up but jaysus I wouldn't advertise stock like that until they had a dose and a bag of nuts inside them . If I got them for €130 I would chance them

Your right about them coming right but I too wouldn't advertise till I got them right.

We had a jex heifer like that last yr after she got an awful dose of worms. Finest if a heifer now and incalf too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 918 ✭✭✭Sacrolyte

Are they long calved?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭Mehaffey1

Sacrolyte wrote: »
    Are they long calved?

Coming on 7 months old. They are in a right state for sure even worse than our dairy calves which were, in my opinion, a disgrace

Going through latest milk recording this morning.
    One cow has a fat of 2.9 :eek: where alot 4.5 some even up as far as 5.5
    Even looking at her milk when you strip her out its like water.
    Not a massive yielder either at 6500 l

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,170 ✭✭✭WheatenBriar

Glanbia plc spin out shares arrived in the post this morning

Share price after dropping in last few wks.
    Was around 19e a few wks ago iirc.

Anyone think it'll rise with the spin out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,170 ✭✭✭WheatenBriar

Share price after dropping in last few wks.
    Was around 19e a few wks ago iirc.

Anyone think it'll rise with the spin out?

Its dropped because all shares dropped due to China
    Glanbia are particularly affected
    Yes they are a hold,theres another 7 or 8 euro's in them next year when china and the markets improve,longer term,they are a definite hold, but even in the short term,markets are always depressed in low summer trade volume,so that alone means a rise is likely from October onwards if you get me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,796 ✭✭✭stanflt

jaymla627 wrote: »

Speak for yourself!!!

http://www.donedeal.ie/view/8819916

Wonder will this take off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

http://www.donedeal.ie/view/8819916

Wonder will this take off

Go call up and see the price of it, per kg of DM. But I'd be amazed if it works out any way competitive with transport etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,748 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

latest results 3.74pr 4.27 bf:) cows on good after grass, never had pr as high here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,828 ✭✭✭visatorro

3.70 prot 4.02 fat. cows on about 14 litres, 3 kilo of 16% meal. nippling a bale of hay. feck all grass. that's including winter milkers. cows wouldn't be that milky but I'm delighted with solids. I remember records coming back and the herd averaged less than 3 prot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,705 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

3.84 p 4.22 fat 23.7 Ltrs on 3.2 kg 18% nut .like most of rest of ye solids exceptional for time of year .good buffer to low milk price

visatorro wrote: »
    3.70 prot 4.02 fat. cows on about 14 litres, 3 kilo of 16% meal. nippling a bale of hay. feck all grass. that's including winter milkers. cows wouldn't be that milky but I'm delighted with solids. I remember records coming back and the herd averaged less than 3 prot.

Good solids esp when you are tight on grass Its slow but improving away the herd bit by bit will be the most rewarding part. In dairygold milk statement it gives the top and bottom 10% in solids and price and generally here in July, Aug, sep we'd have been just inside the top 10% with solids mainly due to autumn calvers being at end of lactation but in last few years we've been further away and our solids have improved so it just shows the improvement on most spring herds the last few years.

3.8p and 4.27 bf here at 17L with no meal as trying to get thru after grass on heavy ground before any rain comes. Will introduce again at weekend. All autumn calvers dried off first one due the second week of Oct. May dry a few more culls have 10 dried so will sell in a Cople of weeks

Found this on glanbia connect tonight. Great job.
    No carry overs last 2 yrs so % have dropped but alot more yield.
    3.95p 4.72 bf 18l all autumn calvers dried off. Yesterday's reults

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,828 ✭✭✭visatorro

anyone milking once a day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Mulumpy

3.81p 4.38f 22lts on 2kg of 16% nut

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭mf240

3.61 prot . 3.8 fat. 22.5 litres 3 kgs 16% nuts.