"Haunting Image Of Drowned Boy Sums Up Consequences Of 'The Syrian War'"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Clandestine

Ireland shouldn't take a single person.
    Why?

-Where will these people be housed when we have an extremely long housing waiting list?
    -Who's going to pay for their care? Food? lodging? etc.
    -Why should Ireland pay for other leaders mistakes? Ireland had nothing to do with what occurred in Syria/Libya etc.
    -What number is enough? Let some in, more will follow. Look at Germany or the UK now
    -25% of Irish people aged 18-24 are NEET. Our unemployment rate is atrocious, not counting people who are underemployed or working part-time.

Our border should be secured

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,195 ✭✭✭eviltimeban

This drawing, right in the feels:

http://i.huffpost.com/gadgets/slideshows/449850/slide_449850_6007184_free.jpg

This is what every child deserves at the end of each day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

RIP Aylan (and all the other innocent victims).

On top of this and the many other tragedies is the paucity in leadership/dynamism/get up and effin go in our so called leaders in Europe. Bunch of overpaid wasters the lot of them. What would it take to get a group of extremely bright humanitarian people together in a room to figure this **** out. Mary Robinson springs to mind someone like her should lead this and F Merkel, F Enda, F Cameron and F the UN. Surprised a proper caring 'big name' has not come forward to bang heads.

We can forget the US they couldn't give a rats unless there is oil/looking after Israel involved.

Useless shower of parasites the lot of em politicians.

OH and BTW the answer isn't open all the doors the answer is in attempting to fix WTF is going on in all these countries people need to escape from. I know it is not easy but nothing is being done on the diplomatic side. It's just a case of maximising sales of bullets, bombs, fighter aircraft etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭Tinder Surprise

Why?

-Where will these people be housed when we have an extremely long housing waiting list?
    -Why should Ireland pay for other leaders mistakes? Ireland had nothing to do with what occurred in Syria/Libya etc.
    -What number is enough? Let some in, more will follow. Look at Germany or the UK now
    -25% of Irish people aged 18-24 are NEET. Our unemployment rate is atrocious, not counting people who are underemployed or working part-time.

image.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

Why?

People who are homeless still get a roof over their head each night from the state.

How is this any comparison or justification for not helping people who are fleeing these countries.

Yes of course not all are genuine but a lot
    are.

Maybe look at taking a few more in wouldn't be a catastrophe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,949 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

JustTheOne wrote: »
    People who are homeless still get a roof over their head each night from the state.
    What planet did you beam in from?

Tell that to the two homeless kids sleeping on the steps of my place of employment this morning :rolleyes: :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,247 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

All credit to using a child's death to press a political agenda.....

However what is it about this opportunistic image that compels the EU to take 100,000+ illegal migrants & asylum seekers every month?

Mesrine65 wrote: »

Tell that to the two homeless kids sleeping on the steps of my place of employment this morning :rolleyes: :mad:

Yeah ok I actually think your lying.

There is services for everyone who finds themselves homeless in Ireland.

That is FACT.

Where these children Irish?

Did you call welfare or the gards?

You're either bull****ting or coming out with some false outrage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Clandestine

image.jpg

Besides an unsubtle political cartoon, where are your arguments?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭conorhal

How is this any comparison or justification for not helping people who are fleeing these countries.

Yes of course not all are genuine but a lot
    are.

Maybe look at taking a few more in wouldn't be a catastrophe.

Tell that to this guy....

Homeless man with broken back mugged over a dozen times for pain medication - Independent.ie

Lynn Cahill, the woman behind Cairdeas Homeless Action, spoke to Independent.ie about Jude's plight.

"Jude has a broken back in two places... as a result, he has a large hump. He can barely stand - his ribcage is pushed down so far that it's resting on his hipbone".

"He has been prescribed oxycotton for the pain, which is also an opiate. This makes him a target for heroin addicts and he has been attacked more than a dozen times and robbed of his meds".

"Jude walks the streets of Dublin for 14 hours a day before he returns to his spot to bed down for the night on the cold hard pavement".

"It's a vicious circle - I'm heartbroken for him".

Personally I think we should be looking after our own citizens first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,823 ✭✭✭WakeUp

Why?

this is the crux of it is all well and good saying we will take people but we must be able to deal with whatever number of people we take in. so obviously theres a limit and they need to be verified genuine refugees. there has to be balance as if there isnt a balance it will surely and eventually lead to problems.

As a matter of interest, what are you doing about them?

Please don't say walk around them as you go into work.

conorhal wrote: »

We are looking after our own citizens. Not perfectly, but we're trying. For every person like Jude, how many are in care, in hostels, getting treatment for drug addiction, getting treatment for mental health issues, and making a new start at life? Don't just focus on the negatives. There are positives stories too you know, that don't get reported as much, because hey, then we wouldn't be able to give out about the government as much.

Tell that to this guy....

Homeless man with broken back mugged over a dozen times for pain medication - Independent.ie

Lynn Cahill, the woman behind Cairdeas Homeless Action, spoke to Independent.ie about Jude's plight.

"Jude has a broken back in two places... as a result, he has a large hump. He can barely stand - his ribcage is pushed down so far that it's resting on his hipbone".

"He has been prescribed oxycotton for the pain, which is also an opiate. This makes him a target for heroin addicts and he has been attacked more than a dozen times and robbed of his meds".

"Jude walks the streets of Dublin for 14 hours a day before he returns to his spot to bed down for the night on the cold hard pavement".

"It's a vicious circle - I'm heartbroken for him".

So you're telling me he wasn't offered accommodation of some sort?

Just like the fella who died not far from the Dail.

Everyone outraged yet fail to mention he refused accommodation and help even from his own family.

He sold 2 houses his family bought to fund his habit.

We really will jump on anything to have a good rant at the government.

However what is it about this opportunistic image that compels the EU to take 100,000+ illegal migrants & asylum seekers every month?

Is it not simply recording a tragedy?

What is the opportunism? Did the person who took it hold out for a ball of money? Did the child die to make some cheap point?

All credit to using a child's death to press a political agenda.....

Drill it down to just one boy, and work your way up from there.

Yeah ok I actually think your lying.

There is services for everyone who finds themselves homeless in Ireland.

That is FACT.

Where these children Irish?

Did you call welfare or the gards?

You're either bull****ting or coming out with some false outrage.
    I give a f**k what you think!

I'm in charge of security at a state building, there are frequently kids & adults sleeping rough on the premises.

I usually let them use the facilities to clean up & the girls in the canteen sort them out with something to eat/cup of tea.

You're delusional or plain ignorant, "There is services for everyone who finds themselves homeless in Ireland" :rolleyes:

FYI...the gardai give less of a fúck about the homeless than the government do, wise up!

When did it come down to an either/or?

Drill it down to just one boy, and work your way up from there.

Nope.... That means nothing.

Again, state your case.

Why should the EU continue to absorb the influx it currently is?

If you want to convince us that Europe should indeed be dealing with this & more, you will need more than a political cartoon.

I give a f**k what you think!

I'm in charge of security at a state building, there are frequently kids & adults sleeping rough on the premises.

I usually let them use the facilities to clean up & the girls in the canteen sort them out with something to eat/cup of tea.

You're delusional or plain ignorant, "There is services for everyone who finds themselves homeless in Ireland" :rolleyes:

FYI...the gardai give less of a fúck about the homeless than the government do, wise up!

Absolute bs.

Seriously there is services for people who find themselves homeless.

The figures back it up. Hostels b and bs. Social housing.

Stop with the hyperbole that the government don't care.

Nope.... That means nothing.

Again, state your case.

Why should the EU continue to absorb the influx it currently is?

I'm not saying it should. I'm not saying anything about that. The point of this thread was nothing to do with any of that. It was to do with a child dead's body on a beach.

Where you go from there is up to you.

Are the 2 children you referred to above homeless, or temporarily sleeping rough? What ages are they, approximately? Do they have parents around or are they alone?

Absolute bs.

Seriously there is services for people who find themselves homeless.

The figures back it up. Hostels b and bs. Social housing.

Stop with the hyperbole that the government don't care.
    Walk around any of the government buildings in the city before 7.30am any morning of the week & you can plainly see the amount of homeless sleeping rough.

I personally don't put much faith in 'figures', I see what I see, unlike you I don't have my blinkers on.

I'm not saying it should. I'm not saying anything about that.

Grand, so you aren't saying anything.

We may tease more out of you next week when more children drown in the med, as they have every week.

Grand, so you aren't saying anything.

We may tease more out of you next week when more children drown in the med, as they have every week.

Why should I say something? I'm nobody. I don't have the answers.

Read my OP. I'm not making any political comments. There are dead children on beaches. Do what you want with that.

The little "opportunists", huh?

Literally dying to give us more "opportunistic images".

Are the 2 children you referred to above homeless, or temporarily sleeping rough? What ages are they, approximately? Do they have parents around or are they alone?
    I've seen them twice in the last couple of months, 2 boys, probably ages 14/15, traveller accents but polite.

Not too chatty with me to be honest, the uniform probably puts them on alert.

They get on well with the canteen girls though & the coffee shop sorts them out with sandwiches etc., at the end of the day.

When did it come down to an either/or?

When there were only the resources for either/or.
    Not that hard to figure out.

So you're telling me he wasn't offered accommodation of some sort?

Just like the fella who died not far from the Dail.

Everyone outraged yet fail to mention he refused accommodation and help even from his own family.

He sold 2 houses his family bought to fund his habit.

We really will jump on anything to have a good rant at the government.

Yeah and every Syrian migrant is a model human being I suppose or do you imagine they arrive like modern saints on our shores? Perhaps that's how they get here then, walking on water I suppose...