Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Milk Price- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭mf240

rangler1 wrote: »
    Beware of statistics, if we were all average we'd be walking around on less than two legs

79% of statistics are just made up. (Like this one)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

mf240 wrote: »
    79% of statistics are just made up. (Like this one)
    8 out of ten times that's 100% right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

8 out of ten times that's 100% right.
    Does that mean 2 out of ten times its 100% wrong:-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,923 ✭✭✭White Clover

kevthegaff wrote: »
    Does that mean 2 out of ten times its 100% wrong:-)

Not really ! In 2 out of 10 cases as mf240 says there's only a 79% chance of them being wrong !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Theyres a huge difference on farms
    1.farmer- some guys talk on the phone all day, etc
    2.facilities for calving, milking, machinery, contr are the big time savers
    3. Breeding, compact calving and fragmented blocks of land also play a part
    4. Online buying, bulk meal, fertilliser delivered all save trips to co op

Lads do be wondering how me and bro are playing sport and milking cows, routine is huge!

kevthegaff wrote: »
    Theyres a huge difference on farms
    1.farmer- some guys talk on the phone all day, etc
    2.facilities for calving, milking, machinery, contr are the big time savers
    3. Breeding, compact calving and fragmented blocks of land also play a part
    4. Online buying, bulk meal, fertilliser delivered all save trips to co op

Lads do be wondering how me and bro are playing sport and milking cows, routine is huge!

Some lads like working and its a hobby aswell as a job.

Id prefer to be fooling around the yard in the evenings than looking at sport or the soaps.

There was a local lad that used to calve 160 sucklers and finish 600 cattle on his own.

He often used to lamb a bundle of ewes in late december to "punch in the christmas"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

I remember someone telling me they were at a sheep conference once and teagasc wheeled out this young farmer and he was telling everyone how he could manage 150 ewes on his own. Everyone listened for about 15 minutes and when it came to questions his neighbour stood up and said I hope your mother and father don't hear ye saying their doing nothing.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Not really ! In 2 out of 10 cases as mf240 says there's only a 79% chance of them being wrong !

I don't know the name of the film but there was a line about his aftershave attracting women "60% of the time it works every time " !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭FarmerDougal

Bullocks wrote: »
    I don't know the name of the film but there was a line about his aftershave attracting women "60% of the time it works every time " !

Black panther aftershave - Anchorman!

Bullocks wrote: »

Completely off topic. But...

Two bachelors went to lisdonvarna and one lad was having no luck with the ladies.

Back in the b and b, the other fella advised him that it was the smell that was putting them off and to have a shower and cover himself in brute. He did as he was told and they headed off.

Sure enough his luck changed and as he was dancing with a nice woman he say to her " do ya smell the brute"

"No" she says "but i can feel it":D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭alps

kowtow wrote: »
    I think the point is that for the grand "Irish milk plan" to take place they need to make a slave of someone else as well.

Unless you can still buy them, that is.

Slaves will come under Capital Expenditure. I'm not sure there will be any budget for CE this year. Family labour is the only true "free labour"

Must ask the accountant if a slave under capital expenditure could be depreciated...? Seeing as family labour is not appreciated..😈

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

The good news is that according to Teagasc we're only going to need *some* free labour in the future, when milk prices recover.

http://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/average-dairy-herd-to-grow-by-33-cows-extra-labour-needed-for-dairy-farms/

Can't believe that we actually base a national business plan on free labour. In any other industry it would be an April Fool.

I think you missed the previous sentence where it referred to paid or un paid family labour.....don't think it insists they have to be free, although does everyone get paid here from the time they're able to milk cows,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

mf240 wrote: »
    What i have to laugh at is lads that wont spend anything only the bare minimum on the yard and facilities. But change the car and the jeep every three years.

A rhetorical post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

I think you missed the previous sentence where it referred to paid or un paid family labour.....don't think it insists they have to be free, although does everyone get paid here from the time they're able to milk cows,

At Irish COP with 500,000 litres and a milk price in the twenties they would have to be free.

As would the "farmer" paying them.

At Irish COP with 500,000 litres and a milk price in the twenties they would have to be free.

As would the "farmer" paying them.

A genuine dairy farmer told me he could do it for the mid twenties incl labour and to me he looks to have too big of a staff and I know he has repayments and must produce round your example

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,817 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

A lad was asking me this morning if he sells the shares he got in the spin out what are the tax implications considering he didnt pay for them iykwim

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

whelan2 wrote: »
    A lad was asking me this morning if he sells the shares he got in the spin out what are the tax implications considering he didnt pay for them iykwim

Yes Capital Gains.

He needs to speak to his accountant. If he thinks he didn't pay for them, he really needs to speak to his accountant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,817 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Yes Capital Gains.

He needs to speak to his accountant. If he thinks he didn't pay for them, he really needs to speak to his accountant
    :) he wasa saying any shares he had sold before he had physically paid for

whelan2 wrote: »

Nice little bonus even after tax, hard to see them being worth keeping if you need the money. What's everyone elses forecast.
    I didn't pay for them either, came from two grandfathers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,170 ✭✭✭WheatenBriar

Nice little bonus even after tax, hard to see them being worth keeping if you need the money. What's everyone elses forecast.

If you didn't pay for them,then surely you pay the 33% tax on the whole lot except the 1000 or so allowance?
    If you inherited, you pay on the difference in value between the day you got them and now which could also be a lot

I say this only half seriously as everyone should take their own advice according to their circumstances.

If it were me I'd consider taking holding some of the shares, and selling some to spread around the various listed processors who have de-merged out of farmer ownership.

They've taken ownership of the cream of the milk you supply, and will supply into the future, and left you with the skim. In return they've given you shares.

Since you're only going to be paid for the skim, you maybe ought to try and turn those shares into something which continues to give the value you would have had before giving away the most profitable part of the milk. Since it's wise not to have all your eggs in one basket, and since (as a shareholder) you'll be paying for a lot of netjets and mercedes it might be wise to spread the money around a bit among various similar public processors and hope that at least some of them do well. If you are adventurous you might add small restaurant chains, high end supermarkets, and other similar businesses to your list - basically anything that makes the higher margin goods from primary foods.

But as I said, you must take your own advice according to your own circumstances. We are in shaky financial territory at the moment, so keeping a good chunk of it in cash in a reserve account and then picking your moment to buy in might be very wise.

And after a few years you'll be able to figure out whether what were given in shares was better than what you gave away in return.

Edit: *actually on second thoughts, that's not what I'd do at all. If it were me I'd get together with a few other producers and use the money to buy a milk lorry or two, break out of any unreasonable milk supply agreements, and let the bloody greed b***ds pay for the milk or take it to someone who will. But then I'm pretty vindictive like that.

I say this only half seriously as everyone should take their own advice according to their circumstances.

If it were me I'd consider taking holding some of the shares, and selling some to spread around the various listed processors who have de-merged out of farmer ownership.

They've taken ownership of the cream of the milk you supply, and will supply into the future, and left you with the skim. In return they've given you shares.

Since you're only going to be paid for the skim, you maybe ought to try and turn those shares into something which continues to give the value you would have had before giving away the most profitable part of the milk. Since it's wise not to have all your eggs in one basket, and since (as a shareholder) you'll be paying for a lot of netjets and mercedes it might be wise to spread the money around a bit among various similar public processors and hope that at least some of them do well. If you are adventurous you might add small restaurant chains, high end supermarkets, and other similar businesses to your list - basically anything that makes the higher margin goods from primary foods.

But as I said, you must take your own advice according to your own circumstances. We are in shaky financial territory at the moment, so keeping a good chunk of it in cash in a reserve account and then picking your moment to buy in might be very wise.

And after a few years you'll be able to figure out whether what were given in shares was better than what you gave away in return.

Edit: *actually on second thoughts, that's not what I'd do at all. If it were me I'd get together with a few other producers and use the money to buy a milk lorry or two, break out of any unreasonable milk supply agreements, and let the bloody greed b***ds pay for the milk or take it to someone who will. But then I'm pretty vindictive like that.

That'd be my thoughts too. (not the milk lorry, never milked cows, neither did the people from where the shares came) have some from the last spin out and some I bought then as well, don't want them to do an FBD

If you didn't pay for them,then surely you pay the 33% tax on the whole lot except the 1000 or so allowance?
    If you inherited, you pay on the difference in value between the day you got them and now which could also be a lot

Thought as much, they were old coop shares and couldn't be traded at the time I got them, so probably only had hope value....wherever you can cash that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

Fingers crossed.

Volume, unfortunately, is about 40% less than it was at the same auction last year - no way of knowing if this has been traded through other channels or stored yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭boggerman1

Fingers crossed.

Volume, unfortunately, is about 40% less than it was at the same auction last year - no way of knowing if this has been traded through other channels or stored yet.

Looks like the ifa protest worked yesterday.oh us of little faith in the ifa.ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

Fingers crossed.

You'd be hoping, traded. It would take major funds to store 60%. And it would be the mother of all gambles to store that amount or even a proportion of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Fingers crossed.

Read an artical yesterday can't remember where but it said that product that's not offered has been sold through other channels as you say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭alps

You'd be hoping, traded. It would take major funds to store 60%. And it would be the mother of all gambles to store that amount or even a proportion of it.

No gamble whatsoever.....all you need us the capacity and the funds.....this is a dead cert to increase in value....I'd put my farm on it...

Oops I have....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭restive

Dairy farmers might find the link below of interest.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MtatFY9rwfQ