Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Turning a mule into a race horse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,893 ✭✭✭Hannibal Smith

You're missing the wood for the trees in my post. He has far more potential than a sub-4 so what's the point when he could be using this time to build to a more ambitious target in the long-term instead of running below his capabilities off limited mileage. I've being in position before with similar PB's over the short stuff when I ran my first marathon, I ran 20mpw for that and finished in 4:07, I remember thinking all those guys running sub-3:30 were God's. 5 months later, I ran 3:15 off of 35-40mpw, they weren't God's at all, they were just preparing better than me. I sold myself short in the first marathon by not putting in the preparation and I feel PM is doing the same now.

That's why I'm calling him stubborn, he won't accept that good prep will lead to the results. I feel like he is trying to get by on the bare minimum to get a result when he could be doing so much more and realising his current potential. Call me a dick for saying it but that's my thoughts and I mean it in an encouraging way.

Anyway, I'm out!

Im not missing anything. Ive already said ive no authority or knowledge on the marathon stuff. But calling him stubborn when hes already said hes in two minds about it and when he has already said he has little motivation for the lsrs is a bit baffling? He knows exactly what good prep will lead to :D

To say he's just putting in enough to get by is total bs. He went looking for advice on a marathon plan based on the time he could put in etc and this is what he came back with. Isnt that what youre supposed to do with training figure out what schedule is realistically supposed to work for you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

For me, it all boils down to the last few weeks. If you've done the work, you can do the 14 miles at MP two and a half weeks out from the race. If you can do that, you can hit the pace for the 26.2. That's the simple beauty of the meno plan. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,088 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

Looking up this week I have to say. More advice and thoughts sought and given away from boards too about the mileage level versus chances of sub 4 etc. In particular talked with ECOLII in his current form wink.png who has always advised on or provided my training plans. We've tweaked things slightly midweek to increase the mileage a bit but as the plan was stepping up mileage and / or intensity anyway his main thoughts were more towards getting my motivation back and the possibility of me wussing out on the day chasing a sub 4 (he was politer than that but I got what he was getting at) and that perhaps more for testing resolve and gaining confidence that some extra miles would help. Told him my motivation was back already pacman.gif

Tuesday
    5 easy @ 9:36 avg pace

As much as I'm adjusting the long run and MP paces easy is still easy and a relatively shorter run like this am quite happy to stay in and around the 9:30 - 9:40 easy pace I've been used to.

Wednesday
    1 Easy, 5 @ MP, 1 Easy Cool Down

9:32, 8:45, 8:43, 8:54, 8:58, 8:54, 9:54

A little too fast for MP but the first two splits in particular were wind and hill assisted. Made a concious effort to slow it down a bit for the next 3 to get close to MP. Felt comfortable all the way.

Friday
    5 easy @ 9:40 avg pace

"Bread and Butter" run was the phrase used to describe these to me earlier in the week. Nothing remarkable. Just a nice easy run which was extended off the original plan.

Saturday
    Skipped this. Was meant to be an easy 3 miles with Sundays run down as a steady 12 (one of the step back weeks) I felt though that I needed another go at the long run after last weeks trouble with it. I'm racing a half next weekend so won't be doing one then which would leave only one proper long run done over the next 3 weeks of evaluating is this marathon for me or not. So I figured I would take the miles from this and add them and a little more to the Sunday run instead. This left me with a weekly mileage increase rather than the planned step back.

Sunday
    18 Mile LSR with Mile 17 @ MP
    Crucial long run for me today. First one with the pace dialled back to a more appropriate long run pace for a sub 4 marathon goal. Headed out from the house down to the canal at Castleknock and followed the canal all the way to Phibbsborough and back. What this meant was a second half of 9 uphill miles. Gradual enough with 1 mile quite sharp. Aiming for between 10:00 and 10:15 pace which I was there or therabouts on. Couple of miles came in slightly slower. Was less than 2 miles in and the first of the little niggles started at me but this time round I had a determination in me that was missing last time out and it didn't phase me at all. 9 miles down and time to turn around. Got a little tougher then as the canal climbs zapped me a bit but kept going handily enough. Mile 15-16 have a 100ft climb in them but again no problems. I knew at Mile 14 that I had this in the bag and Mile 17 would be ran at MP to prove it to myself. The climb then on 15-16 was relatively easy and was actually a bit fast on 16 as I was waiting to go off at MP like a dog on a leash. Started mile 17 a little fast but eased off to come back to MP. Legs only really started aching on the last mile which was grand by me.

10:13, 10:18, 10:00, 9:54, 10:17, 10:17, 10:13, 10:22, 10:22, 10:15, 10:02, 10:14, 10:08, 10:16, 10:12, 9:51, 8:55, 10:21

Total running time 3:02:32 avg pace 10:08

Don't know if it was the pulling back on pace or the mental attitude changing not letting the little stuff snowball, or a combination of both but this was a far easier on the body run than the last couple and was quite enjoyable.

Total Weekly Mileage 35 - going in the right direction.

Nice quiet week on the log :pac:

Mixed bag this week. Less mileage due to a few external influences and a "race" today.

Tuesday
    5 miles @ 9:20 avg pace

Bog standard 5 mile easy run with nothing more to say about it !

Wednesday
    8 miles - 5E 2HMP 1CD

Extending the midweek run into medium territory. Plan was to do a couple of miles in this at HMP with a HM on Sunday on the agenda. Get a feel for the pace.

9:32, 9:20, 9:40, 9:55, 9:16, 7:57, 7:58, 9:50

HMP based on a 1:45 target. Easily hit (today that is!)

Friday
    3 miles steady @ 9:13 avg pace
    Things started to go wrong here. I ended up with literally 30 minutes to run and it was the only time I got. Death in the family meant a lot of time spent on non running stuff and Mrs Mule was out for the night so I had the little mules to myself. Still 30 minutes was better than nothing !

Saturday

Woke up ill. Went to work. Came home ill. Went to bed instead of running. It was the right call to make.

Sunday

Half marathon raced at Donadea Forest Park

Work causes me grief getting races organised as I can't run on Saturdays. I wanted to do a half to judge how I was doing for DCM and the only one on Sunday I found was Longford. However I was advised that the course may be a little short and that left me with a dilemna ! Ultraman1 very kindly offered to officially measure a half marathon out at Donadea based on their 5k course with a bit extra tagged along. Menoscemo offered to pace me for a crack at 1:45 with Tunguska and dublin runner joining us too as well as a few of Ultraman1s clubmates from Donadea and a legend of a dog too whose name I can't remember !

I was absolutely bricking it this morning. Woke up a bit better but not quite 100%. I had been told as well that the Donadea course was relatively tough and that anything up to 1:48 would still be a relatively decent result. I wanted 1:45 though. And if that translated to a 1:42 out on the roads then that was great :D

Meno was saying before the start that pacing would be difficult enough given the trees effecting the GPS coverage. Also there is a climb up one side of the loop and decline down the other which also would effect pacing. This wasn't an easy hit this per mile gig at all. He had a plan to pace by time for the extra bit added onto the start and then the 4 x 5k loops of the forest we would be doing.

Mile 1-4

We started off as a big group - some shot off a little ahead but my focus was on Meno. In Meno we trust etc :) We got back to the start of the first full lap slightly ahead of schedule but that was fine as it was a little decline to that. First loop around wasn't too bad but the hills on mile 2 were a bit of a concern especially given I would see them 4 times in total. :eek: Before mile 2 was up I felt a pain in the left foot. On the side / top and a place never hurt before. This never went away as it turned out. Got back around to the start of the second lap bang on target for the full lap. Kudos to Meno here as the GPS was all over the place ! Mile 4 straddled the start so part of this was on lap 2.

7:54, 8:20, 8:10, 8:00

Mile 5,6,7 - Lap 2

Tunguska came up to me at this point to ask how I was doing. I actually wasn't doing too good at this stage. Very worringly for this early it was becoming a real struggle to keep up with the group - the group itself was dwindling as not everyone was doing the full distance nor the pace itself but again Meno was the man to follow so all was good. I was though starting to fall away ever so slightly. By mile 7 where I should have been getting back some time lost from mile 5 it just wasn't there.

8:34, 7:58, 8:16

Mile 8,9,10 - Lap 3

Another check in from Tunguska early here (he was taking a bit of time out each lap having being that bit faster so would join me for the start) Spoke even less to him at this stage - was focusing on trying to run and had feck all convo in me. Meno gradually pulled away during this lap. As he explained to me afterwards he had slowed a bit to let me catch up but I had slowed too in response. Basically I was hanging onto a gap that if he slowed I would still maintain so he decided best thing to do was to go back to 1:45 pace so I could see where I needed to be. We both knew though that 1:45 was gone and for me attention shifted to getting a PB Again I didn't make up the lost time on the 1st mile climb. Ultraman1 had dropped back and it was me and him for the rest of the run as Meno was too far ahead.

8:44, 8:16, 8:46

Mile 11,12,13

Mile 11 broke my heart. The hills seemed so much steeper for this. Especially the last one which also seemed to have doubled in length too. Plenty of encouragement from Ultraman1 here but I was at a relative standstill. Beeped in at 9:21 and I was absolutely disgusted. At this stage a PB (1:49:13) was looking unlikely too. I wanted to dig in and push for the last couple of miles but was also afraid to push too soon and end up walking home. A brief spurt at Mile 12 was cut down to size the first hill we came to and I had to pull back and let Ultraman1 come through again. Again plenty of encouragement and counting down from him, telling me how far out we were. I was hanging together though I had got the pace back to 1:45 target pace. I wasn't paying too much attention to the watch now as I was hurting too much. I figured I would push and hang on until close enough to finish and try and push some more. Praying for the left turn to the finish straight to come up. Saw it - Could have cried with happiness. It wasn't it. Could have cried just cried. :D but eventually I saw it. Glanced down at watch. The time wasn't showing but the distance was. The watch was going to be short - this was actually good news. Turned left ran as hard as I could down to the finish line. Hit stop.

9:21, 8:20, 8:01 (pace)

Watch came up short but a look at the Strava map clearly shows where the GPS came up short and cut most of the corners on the run so this is a proper and accurate half marathon time.

New PB 1:47:53

Reflections:

Ever so slightly disappointed with the time. Wanted 1:45 out of this today but that time is fairly close to a 1:45 out on the road so can't be too put out. Also as great as it was to have the pacing this wasn't full race conditions. Mile 11 was a shambles but dug in enough to pull it back for the last 2 home. All round it was a solid enough run. Huge thanks to the lads for organising and running this with me. PB Beers are in hand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Fair play pat especially for gutiing it out after the 2nd lap. Most of your splits were deinitely much faster than your watch measured.
    I Had the first 4 miles @ 7:40; 8:15, 7:55, 7:50 (and even my watch came up a little short, but only 0.04). Definitely shows that you can't trust a garmin in a forest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

[/B]Half marathon raced at Donadea Forest Park

Work causes me grief getting races organised as I can't run on Saturdays. I wanted to do a half to judge how I was doing for DCM and the only one on Sunday I found was Longford. However I was advised that the course may be a little short and that left me with a dilemna ! Ultraman1 very kindly offered to officially measure a half marathon out at Donadea based on their 5k course with a bit extra tagged along. Menoscemo offered to pace me for a crack at 1:45 with Tunguska and dublin runner joining us too as well as a few of Ultraman1s clubmates from Donadea and a legend of a dog too whose name I can't remember !

New PB 1:47:53

Reflections:

Ever so slightly disappointed with the time. Wanted 1:45 out of this today but that time is fairly close to a 1:45 out on the road so can't be too put out. Also as great as it was to have the pacing this wasn't full race conditions. Mile 11 was a shambles but dug in enough to pull it back for the last 2 home. All round it was a solid enough run. Huge thanks to the lads for organising and running this with me. PB Beers are in hand.

well done on the pb!! good confidence boost I hope. The generosity of people on here never ceases to amaze me, well done lads for putting that together. You are the best.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Well done P, super stuff that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Nicely done PM.

Fair play to Ultraman and the lads as well, that's great support.

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

Fair play to Ultraman and the lads as well, that's great support.L
    Well done pat...i always thought u were a burd...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

ultraman1 wrote: »
    Well done pat...i always thought u were a burd...

Maybe you now know why he wanted to get you into the woods PM :)

TbL

menoscemo wrote: »
    Fair play pat especially for gutiing it out after the 2nd lap. Most of your splits were deinitely much faster than your watch measured.
    I Had the first 4 miles @ 7:40; 8:15, 7:55, 7:50 (and even my watch came up a little short, but only 0.04). Definitely shows that you can't trust a garmin in a forest.

Absolutely. Check this out for example ...

20824655928_6c9a1e83f9.jpg

Cuts nearly every corner. It all adds up to a very inaccurate distance (and a nice surprise at the end to not be as far off as I thought I was pace wise)

Firedance wrote: »
    well done on the pb!! good confidence boost I hope. The generosity of people on here never ceases to amaze me, well done lads for putting that together. You are the best.

You don't know the half of it. The lads were only too willing to help out. ultraman1 ran an an ultra in Achill this weekend too, had gone out of his way to measure the course in the first place and hung on with me for the duration when I don't think that was his plan at all going into it. dublin runner was in Mayo at 3am and still turned up today. Meno ran this unwell himself and Tunguska was straight away volunteering to step in if he needed to drop off. They travelled from south Dublin to run too. Can't ask for better support. Very grateful for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Absolutely. Check this out for example ...

20824655928_6c9a1e83f9.jpg

Cuts nearly every corner. It all adds up to a very inaccurate distance (and a nice surprise at the end to not be as far off as I thought I was pace wise)

Fair bit of swimming done there I see, you must have been following Dudley dog into the lake to cool down each lap ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

Well done PM, that's a cracking time. Really sound of the lads too - shows what a great community we have here even if we sometimes forget it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭PaulieC

Well done PM - you're right about that loop, the hills get bigger and longer each time around. And well done lads, sound carry on altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭kit3

PaulieC wrote: »
    Well done PM - you're right about that loop, the hills get bigger and longer each time around. And well done lads, sound carry on altogether.

The loop gets longer too !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭dublin runner

Nicely done.

Sometimes it's not always about the result. What mattered yesterday was that you dug it out when it got tough. I'll be honest, I did slightly doubt you (you were looking tired early on!) but you fought it out. That sort of attitude will really stand to you, as will the experience.

Great morning and cake.....mmmmmm! I love the 5k loop but I really think it's suited to a smaller, short agile runner (light of feet etc.). It's very deceptive. I find that it bloody tough. Get the miles in and a very good run in DCM is on the cards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭aquinn

I'm so impressed with the assistance provided for you yesterday. What outstanding support. Well done lads and PM.

Well done P - not that easy facing into more laps if you're struggling & having the focus all on your run brings it's own pressure. DCM will be a piece of (very nice looking chocolate biscuit) cake after that :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,202 ✭✭✭Gavlor

Nice one pat.

Side note: I am a motivational genius.

Gavlor wrote: »
    Nice one pat.

And extremely modest ;)

Nicely done.

Sometimes it's not always about the result. What mattered yesterday was that you dug it out when it got tough. I'll be honest, I did slightly doubt you (you were looking tired early on!) but you fought it out. That sort of attitude will really stand to you, as will the experience.

Great morning and cake.....mmmmmm! I love the 5k loop but I really think it's suited to a smaller, short agile runner (light of feet etc.). It's very deceptive. I find that it bloody tough. Get the miles in and a very good run in DCM is on the cards.

Cheers A and thanks again for coming out for the run.

Yeah I wasn't in great shape as early as 4 miles in which I can only put down to not being 100% well. We were slower than my 5 mile race pace yet it felt like 5 mile race effort. Was a little disheartening tbh. Am taking the positive out of it that I did hang on all be it not at the pace I wanted to :D

Gavlor wrote: »
    Nice one pat.

qcxtr.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭MaggotBrain

Hey PM sounds like you had a interesting half! Fantastic time for a looped course, and a great signpost for DCM if you decide to pursue it.

Tuesday

5 miles avg 9:47 pace

A sore and tender run after Sundays HM. Didn't quite feel like a bread and butter run.

Wednesday

8 miles - 7E 1MP

Watch messed up on this one. I noticed after approx half a mile there was no pace showing just time. I reckon it went into indoor mode or similar. Reset the watch and started a new run recording 7.5 to make it the scheduled 8 for the day. Bit of tiredness creeping in midway so dialed it back pace wise to keep the effort easy. Mile 7 ran at MP before cooling down.

9:29, 9:28, 9:35, 9:21, 9:54, 9:50, 9:01, 9:55

Thursday

1ST, 2MP, 1ST

A small 40 min window to get a run in. Decided to grab the opportunity. Warmup walk before launching in and cooldown walk after.

9:16, 9:02, 8:51, 9:19

Woke up on Friday morning with a bit of an injury :mad: This was well beyond the usual niggles and pain and was more of a very tight and painful feeling leading from my right ankle up the inner leg to the inner knee. Was fine to walk on but if I put my leg in a certain position which stretched that muscle / area at all it was very tender and sore. Sat out the scheduled run on Saturday completely as a result and reslolved to take it easy today on the LSR or cancel it completely if things weren't much better.

Got up today and there was an improvement for sure but I was still very wary. Scheduled today was 18 miles. I decided to head out taking it relatively easy, willing to bail early if needed but also to do a max of 3 hours running to err on the side of caution. Things went quite well all things considered. I did stop at a shop after 12 miles to take in some lucozade. The injured spot was a bit tender by then so I gave it a few minutes rest and very gentle stretching before continuing. Also had a very brief stop for a phone call I had to take around 5 miles in. Wasn't too bothered by either of these. I know it's not ideal to stop at all mid long run but today I just wanted to strike a balance and get the running time in without exasperating the niggle.

Route took me down to Blanch and through the park before turning up the NCR towards the canal back home. Similar to the last LSR this left the second half predominantly uphill with a steep enough 85ft over 0.6 of a mile incline back home near the end. The joys of living up a hill :pac:

Ended up with 17 miles of running done @ 10:10 avg pace. Walking warmup and walking cooldown took it to 18 miles and over 3 hours so will call it a little off plan. On Friday I was looking at missing it so will happily take that run today.

So 3 weeks have passed since I said I'd give it 3 weeks to decide if DCM was for me this year or not.

Positives: There is no question that the desire is back. Today was a good example of that. Didn't want to miss the LSR when in fairness I possibly should have. Mileage has increased a bit - averaging out at 34 miles over the last 3 weeks including a raced HM which cut the mileage down a little.

Negatives: Niggles and feckin injuries. It's a delicate balancing act between getting the miles in and not overdoing it and putting myself out through injury and not by choice.

Middle Ground: Raced HM although a little off the time I wanted was still within the realms of a sub 4 marathon.

When I first expressed a doubt whether or not DCM was on for me this year I was more on about the desire (or lack of) that was my issue. That kind of snowballed a bit here after into other points. Obviously I am aware that more mileage would make for a better performance and I have a better time than sub 4 in me. At the same time given the training base I do have in me and the niggles etc sub 4 is still a decent challenge and would by no means be a certainty. It's also fair to say that concentrating on shorter distances for a while would make sense too. But the fact is that I do want this. I want a sub 4 marathon this year and I'm going to continue to work towards this. I won't enter until the very last minute in case the miles required for sub 4 push too far and turn niggles into injuries. I don't want anything over 4. That's not an option and I wouldn't be bothered entering if that was on the cards. Sub 4 or bust. :)

Thanks again to all of you who gave your thoughts on this. I know I'm going against the views of most of you by going ahead but please don't think I don't respect them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Hi P.

I'm no expert, but one thing I've noticed on your log recently is the proportion of your weekly mileage that's made up of the long run (Close to 50% if I'm not mistaken). From stuff I've read on here, that seems to be a bit much. I think the general consensus is that 25-33% is about right. Maybe that's the cause of some of your niggles?

yaboya1 wrote: »
    Hi P.

I'm no expert, but one thing I've noticed on your log recently is the proportion of your weekly mileage that's made up of the long run (Close to 50% if I'm not mistaken). From stuff I've read on here, that seems to be a bit much. I think the general consensus is that 25-33% is about right. Maybe that's the cause of some of your niggles?

Hi P - Good to see you getting your own mojo back !

The core niggles are from tight calves and have been present before the long runs stepped up towards marathon distances. Injury on Friday morning highly likely to be mileage related. The 50% is too high I agree but again it's balancing off getting in the long run without putting in an astronomical jump in mileage too. A 20 miler would need to be part of an 80 mile week at 25% or a 60 mile week at 33% and I would absolutely fall apart to be honest if I stepped up to that at the moment. But yeah it does need to be a lower percentage and we have upped the midweek mileage a bit to bring it down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

How's the body P, quiet this last week?