"we are going to do something different" - suggestions!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,519 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

Oh my god I love the idea of a buffet dessert table! We stayed in a hotel in Clifden, the Abbeyglen, and they do this for the dessert course at dinner (as a guest in the hotel, I haven't been to a wedding there). It's great to have choice, sample a few different things and make (a few!) return trips to the table for more!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

Don't follow trends....everyone is doing little signs atm, doing them is not doing anything different.

My suggestion is actually don't add anything yourselves, just buy the package from your hotel and don't do anything else - you think you are doing something different but really it's been done a million times before. And also no one really notices - the package the hotel offers is nice enough. Don't waste your money.

*I may have got out of the wrong side of bed today after a bad night's sleep....grrr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭michellie

hotshots85 wrote: »
    Crisp sandwich buffet with the evening food, we did it and it went down great. Nothing beats a crisp sambo after a few drinks.....

I just saw this on facebook, the tayto one ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,663 ✭✭✭Milly33

I had the crisp sandwich table all planned but it didn't come out till the second day twas great though..

evening wedding or starting them later is great.. we had ours at three and the day flew by, having it all ready to go is the key..

Seating couples together too is spot on, we had the groomsmen with their ladies with parts of our family and it got them all chatting there was no like oh who are you then...

Late evening food if ye are doing the wedding late is a waste of time, crisp sambos is defo better idea for people as that is all they want. just make sure ye have someone there to set it out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭hotshots85

michellie wrote: »
    I just saw this on facebook, the tayto one ??

No we bought a few large boxes of crisps, some nice baskets to have them put out in and they were set up beside the evening food. Hotel had staff hand out buttered bread at no charge, people could just make their own. It went down well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,513 ✭✭✭✭Lucyfur

We had a small wedding so instead of a top table, we had a horseshoe shape where we all sat together.

I didn't throw the bouquet..we got married abroad and on the morning of the wedding the housekeepers in the hotel were so nice and showed such an interest in us that we gave them all the flowers the next day.

But I agree with having a day just right for you and your partner :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭Moody_mona

Milly33 wrote: »
    I had the crisp sandwich table all planned but it didn't come out till the second day twas great though..

Milly would you mind telling me about the crisp sandwich table??

• Site Banned Posts: 1,734 ✭✭✭Second Toughest in_the Freshers

as someone (a male) who has been to a few weddings in the last few years, but has none on the horizon himself, this is what I would say... spend less on flowers (at the end of every pew? on every windowsill? in every nook and cranny?), table displays, party favours (chocolates, candied almonds, personalised matchbooks etc. even disposable cameras at every table...) half the audience won't notice or appreciate it.

a few flowers on the alter, a couple tealights on every table, be grand.

spend the money on food, anything after one complementary drink won't be noticed, (or the appreciation will depreciate with each free glass,..) but very good food will be noticed

evening wedding or starting them later is great.. we had ours at three and the day flew by, having it all ready to go is the key..

Seating couples together too is spot on, we had the groomsmen with their ladies with parts of our family and it got them all chatting there was no like oh who are you then...

Milly!!!!!!!!!!!! You got married! And no photo of you over in the wedding photo thread??? (Unless I missed it!)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 353 ✭✭discodiva92

Any pics of this crisp sandwich thing

hahah not yet I was trying to last night but could not figure it out ill try again there...

well for the sambo table. I just had a nice silver frame with a picture of tayto's and a tayto sandwich.. I had the bags in a nice little basket and was planning to have bread out with little tubs of butter. we just did not get around to it, dinner ran late, so the band ran late etc it would have been a waste.. I did put the crisps out the next day and they were demolished..

we got some scampi frys and bacon fries too for the bad and they were eaten within a an hour id say.. Must say ideas like this are much better than a huge cake....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭michellie

Any pics of this crisp sandwich thing

Hope this works,boards isnt working well for me this evening!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭heldel00

Bridesmaids in really classy jumpsuits.
    Louise McSharry from 2fm had her bridesmaids wearing these and they looked fantastic.

heldel00 wrote: »
    Bridesmaids in really classy jumpsuits.
    Louise McSharry from 2fm had her bridesmaids wearing these and they looked fantastic.

Okay we 're going to need a photo of this!!??!! Classy jumpsuits = does not compute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,809 ✭✭✭Addle

A quick google image search will show you how stylish and flattering jumpsuits can be.

Addle wrote: »
    A quick google image search will show you how stylish and flattering jumpsuits can be.

I'll be honest I've never in my life seen a "classy jumpsuit" on an Irish person, or an Irish person looking classy wearing a jumpsuit.

Which is why I said I'd need to see a pic. And which is why I went looking for a pic:
    https://rsvpmagazine.ie/louise-mcsharrys-bridesmaids-were-the-coolest-ever/

And which is why I stand corrected, THESE jumpsuits on THESE girls are very nice....and classy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭acon2119

I'm assuming some brides don't have parents walking them up the aisle and giving them away anymore, but I know that many do because I have never been to a wedding that didn't have a relative giving the bride away.

I think it would be nicer for the bride to walk up the aisle herself (no one giving her away) or even for the bride and groom to walk up the aisle together, enter the church/ registry office or hotel venue together

A "not typical" wedding dress. A dress with a colour in it for example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭heldel00

amdublin wrote: »
    Okay we 're going to need a photo of this!!??!! Classy jumpsuits = does not compute.

Eh I can just about put up a post! Haven't a clue how to do links/images etc.
    But I see you did it for me. Thanks am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

acon2119 wrote: »
    I'm assuming some brides don't have parents walking them up the aisle and giving them away anymore, but I know that many do because I have never been to a wedding that didn't have a relative giving the bride away.

I think it would be nicer for the bride to walk up the aisle herself (no one giving her away) or even for the bride and groom to walk up the aisle together, enter the church/ registry office or hotel venue together

That's what we did, we walked in with our daughter between us. We travelled to the venue together which I suppose is quite unusual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭acon2119

eviltwin wrote: »
    That's what we did, we walked in with our daughter between us. We travelled to the venue together which I suppose is quite unusual.

I like it! :):):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 852 ✭✭✭shortstuff!

hahah not yet I was trying to last night but could not figure it out ill try again there...

well for the sambo table. I just had a nice silver frame with a picture of tayto's and a tayto sandwich.. I had the bags in a nice little basket and was planning to have bread out with little tubs of butter. we just did not get around to it, dinner ran late, so the band ran late etc it would have been a waste.. I did put the crisps out the next day and they were demolished..

we got some scampi frys and bacon fries too for the bad and they were eaten within a an hour id say.. Must say ideas like this are much better than a huge cake....

This just came up on my fb feed, have a look at joe.ie :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,302 ✭✭✭Gatica

I think trying to do something different is just gonna send eyes rolling... Mainly do what you want to, and if it happens to be the same or different, it doesn't matter!
    I think buffet dinners are a great idea. There's usually more variety on the menu and you can have as little or as much as you want. I wish we'd done that instead of sit-down dinner. I also wish we didn't bother with soup course, who eats all 4-5 courses anyway?!
    We'd a round table with all parents sets with their partners and younger siblings, rather than the weird traditional setup. I hate the idea of having a crowd staring up at me. Bridal party sat at nearby tables with their partners. Why should their partners sit alone?

Wish we didn't bother with first dance, but I guess I see the point with it being the start of the dancing alright.
    We'd ceremony on site, so we didn't need to have cars or to drive anywhere for photos. Best decision ever. Also got incredibly lucky with the weather and had it outdoors in the sunshine. People could start drinking right away and munching away (though regrettably didn't seem to provide enough food :( so we started dinner early instead)
    Loved our band, so no regrets there either.
    Wouldn't have bothered with the cake or the cutting of it. Most cringy moment for me tbh. The cutting bit is all fake and set-up, plus you already have dessert so who wants to eat more cake again later...? maybe some, but for the most part no one cares.
    eviltwin wrote: »

That's what I wanted too, to walk up with both my parents, but mum chickened out last minute... ah well.

I think I'd prefer a diy buffet style crisp table e.g. a couple of packs of brennans bread, butter and packets of crisps in packets. Stack of small plates and knives.
    Rather than the packed lunch type of individual crisp sandwich "packs".

I think the packed lunch type look a bit too, eh "packed lunch" for me.

That's what I had planned. Just pop some small breads or large loafs in a basket and some gluten free rolls too. Little tubs of butter so no one gluten free has to worry and bobs your uncle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭An Bhanríon

As others have said, doing 'something different' for the sake of being different seems a bit silly. However, doing something different from the norm for your wedding because that is what you and your partner would really like and you think it would work well with your guests is another story. And I do think one has to consider the guests, no matter how much people say 'have the day you want'.

A few things we did that I think would be considered slightly different (they are not exactly radical, but they were things that suited us as a couple and things we haven't seen at many weddings):
    We had no photographer. This means we don't have all those lovely posed photographs from our wedding, but it meant we could spend every minute of the day with our guests, which is what we wanted.
    We had no wedding cake. We figured nobody would miss it and it was just an extra thing to organise and an extra thing to pay for.
    Our car was a family banger, cleaned and decorated for the day, driven by siblings - which was great fun!
    Although we did stay in separate houses the night before the wedding, we both turned up at the ceremony before most of the guests so we could both meet them beforehand. We also walked up the aisle together. There was no grand entrance of the bride!
    We had congregational singing during the ceremony. We asked a few people to sit together to start off the singing and the rest joined in. Luckily, we knew a few musicians who accompanied the singing. This mostly worked well, not with some of the lesser known songs, but most of the songs we chose were very well known and the congregation had all the words in the ceremony booklet.
    No bridesmaids or groomsmen. Our mothers were our witnesses.
    The table we sat at for the wedding meal had a small number of close family members with us, but mostly friends we hadn't seen in years who had travelled from abroad to be at our wedding. We figured this was a great opportunity to catch up with them.
    The bride made a speech! A full speech, as would normally be done by the male members of the wedding party. I had seen this at two weddings before and figured 'if they can do that, so can I'. And it went down really well!

And the rest of our wedding followed very much the normal Irish wedding format. Because that is what our guests know. And that is what most people are comfortable with. I think if you have a really small wedding there is a greater chance for really breaking the mould of the traditional wedding day, but once you get as far as fifty or sixty guests I think that becomes increasingly complicated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭Ms.Sunshine

amdublin wrote: »
    I'll be honest I've never in my life seen a "classy jumpsuit" on an Irish person, or an Irish person looking classy wearing a jumpsuit.

Which is why I said I'd need to see a pic. And which is why I went looking for a pic:
    https://rsvpmagazine.ie/louise-mcsharrys-bridesmaids-were-the-coolest-ever/

And which is why I stand corrected, THESE jumpsuits on THESE girls are very nice....and classy!

I agree with you, jumpsuits dont look great on Irish People.... And those ones look nice from the top up but havent seen them on the rest of their body.. Which in my opinion is where they gather or fall badly aka. Around the bum!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,295 ✭✭✭FortySeven

Walk down to the registry office, sign the papers. Job done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭ChewChew

acon2119 wrote: »

unfortunately my Dad isn't with us anymore so i had been thinking what was I going to do. Go it alone seemed the best option. I know my mam would do it, but she wouldn't feel 100% comfortable so I've settled on getting my nephew to do it. He'll be almost 10 when I get married :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭sm213

My mams giving me away.
    Moving further away from having a cake as time passes. Can't justify the expense especially for what I'd want.
    No photographer just two trusted family members and whoever else wants to.
    My dress was just over 100 euro that's different :)
    Not going on a diet.