Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread too point uh

• Administrators Posts: 55,122 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Wonder if mfceiling is enjoying his time in the kitchen right now with X Factor on. :D

Should watch a bit of it mf, there was a granny singing No Limit by 2Unlimited.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,003 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

awec wrote: »
    Wonder if mfceiling is enjoying his time in the kitchen right now with X Factor on. :D

Should watch a bit of it mf, there was a granny singing No Limit by 2Unlimited.

No xfactor tonight awec. Birthday boy today so it was a night out on the tiles.

By night I mean evening.

By tiles I mean a quiet meal.

Almost 11.30...#partyanimal

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

mfceiling wrote: »
    No xfactor tonight awec. Birthday boy today so it was a night out on the tiles.

By night I mean evening.

By tiles I mean a quiet meal.

Almost 11.30...#partyanimal

Jaysis you and Wang are great examples of living it up in your middle age, between him leaving the wedding last night about ten, and you home early from your birthday!

/tries to remember last birthday..................

edit: ****e, I was home before 11 too :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,169 ✭✭✭Wang King

Stheno wrote: »
    Jaysis you and Wang are great examples of living it up in your middle age, between him leaving the wedding last night about ten, and you home early from your birthday!

/tries to remember last birthday..................

edit: ****e, I was home before 11 too :D

Auld wan!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Craft beer festival was great craic...

Hangover not so much craic.

Every so often I shut my twitter down, normally when the bs hurts my eyes, could do it for anywhere between 2 days and 3 weeks, reactivate it then.
    Shut it down for 24 hoyrsbir so yesterday and its complety wiped my followers list :)

Wang King wrote: »
    Every so often I shut my twitter down, normally when the bs hurts my eyes, could do it for anywhere between 2 days and 3 weeks, reactivate it then.
    Shut it down for 24 hoyrsbir so yesterday and its complety wiped my followers list :)

Sure just message the three of them to follow you again?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Three? You think he even has that many?:pac:

Fcker!
    I nearly dropped my phone

I deactivated and reactivated again and they're both back, happy days!

Just read about the league international between Ireland and Serbia being abandoned, mad!

Phew I've just figured out that my holiday trip is not on any dates we have world cup matches :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,566 ✭✭✭OldRio

8 weeks ago decided to get fit again. Lose weight. Cut the drinking. Something about looking at that big 60 getting nearer and nearer. Scary.

I've lost 16 pounds. Only 5 pounds more to reach my target weight. Running 5k three times a week. (C2 5K a great help)
    Back lifting weights in the gym (OK my hay barn if truth be told) Found a new part time job, I'm semi retired. Been off the drink for a while.

But today, feck it, beers in fridge. Lamb in oven. Home grown veg prepared. Merlot breathing at the correct temp.
    Dublin v Mayo on TV.

I'm going to enjoy the day.

Two things about that post that gladden my heart....
    1 congrats on getting your fitness in order &
    2 .....thank fck there's someone older than me in this forum!!

OldRio wrote: »
    8 weeks ago decided to get fit again. Lose weight. Cut the drinking. Something about looking at that big 60 getting nearer and nearer. Scary.

I've lost 16 pounds. Only 5 pounds more to reach my target weight. Running 5k three times a week. (C2 5K a great help)
    Back lifting weights in the gym (OK my hay barn if truth be told) Found a new part time job, I'm semi retired. Been off the drink for a while.

But today, feck it, beers in fridge. Lamb in oven. Home grown veg prepared. Merlot breathing at the correct temp.
    Dublin v Mayo on TV.

I'm going to enjoy the day.

Fair play, wish I had the motivation. Few beers won't kill you.

I'm watching the GAA
    been ages since I watched it, is it always as nasty?

I'm watching the GAA
    been ages since I watched it, is it always as nasty?

Only when skangers or Nordies are playing ;);)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Following Mayo may cause side effects such as vocal chord damage and heart failure.

That was a fierce dirty game

God Dublin are dirty. 2 Blacks and a Red. Should have been more. Poor game in truth but the last 10 minutes was exciting.
    Empty bottle. Not good. Must rectify.

God Dublin are dirty. 2 Blacks and a Red. Should have been more. Poor game in truth but the last 10 minutes was exciting.

I don't get the logic behind a black card sending a player off and allowing a replacement

Is the logic to punish the player but not the team?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,341 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

I find it a very odd rule too.

A foul is a foul and the black card still allows a team to commit a foul while still staying at 15 men.

Bizarre really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Yeah, only one team were dirty there today alright :rolleyes:

Did you see the injury to O'Carroll off the ball after 5 mins? 10 stitches in a facial wound, gone for the game... I'm sure he hit himself, the dirty Dub.... ;)

Connolly deserved his red card but it was for retaliating after he was grabbed around the head and dragged to the ground, again off the ball. I'm sure the nice Mayo man was only trying to give him a friendly hug... :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,341 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Oooh the Galway lad sticking up for the Dubs, I guess the saying your enemies enemy is your friend is true after all :pac:

CatFromHue wrote: »
    Oooh the Galway lad sticking up for the Dubs, I guess the saying your enemies enemy is your friend is true after all :pac:

In fairness mayo got multiple yellows iirc

Do players get cited and go before a panel of they get carded?

Zzippy wrote: »
    Yeah, only one team were dirty there today alright :rolleyes:

Did you see the injury to O'Carroll off the ball after 5 mins? 10 stitches in a facial wound, gone for the game... I'm sure he hit himself, the dirty Dub.... ;)

Connolly deserved his red card but it was for retaliating after he was grabbed around the head and dragged to the ground, again off the ball. I'm sure the nice Mayo man was only trying to give him a friendly hug... :rolleyes:

2 Blacks and a red says it all really. How many free's did Dublin give away?
    Agree with other posters about the black card. Utterly daft rule.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

I don't get the logic behind a black card sending a player off and allowing a replacement

Is the logic to punish the player but not the team?
    The GAA tried a sin bin but didn't want it. This is a half way house. It punished team and player. After 3(?) black cards you cant replace the player who is black carded.
    In fairness mayo got multiple yellows iirc

Do players get cited and go before a panel of they get carded?
    No they don't if yellow. They face discipline committee if red carded. Is no citing system really...

The GAA tried a sin bin but didn't want it. This is a half way house. It punished team and player. After 3(?) black cards you cant replace the player who is black carded.

No they don't if yellow. They face discipline committee if red carded. Is no citing system really...

Ah ok so three blacks and you start losing players, still a bit daft

If there is no punishment for yellow or black cards what's the point of them? Sorry for the dumb questions am comparing it to rugby where a yellow is ten minutes in the bin and possible citing

• Administrators Posts: 55,122 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Yellow is the same as football I think.

awec wrote: »
    Yellow is the same as football I think.

Yeah I looked it up, two yellows and you are sent off